Things In Football That Grind Your Gears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,363 ✭✭✭✭event

Kirby wrote: »
    That devalues 3-3 and 4-4 draws. They can be the best games and your suggestion makes them meaningless....which is bad.

The best solution is to keep 3 points for a win, 1 point for a score draw.....and nothing for a 0-0 draw.

It would promote better football as parking the bus when a better team comes to town would net you nothing in the end. It would work well in tournament play too. Remember all those boring 0-0 draws at recent world cups and euro's?

I remember people complaining at the last world cup that too many teams wouldn't attack. A team drawing 3 games, barely scoring a single goal, and going through is a crying shame.

So drawing is the same as losing?
    What about a team that has loads of injuries, they are playing with 4 18 year old defenders and a keeper who has never played a game. They are up against United/Chelsea/City and the big team absolutely batters them. They have about 14 shots on goal but the keeper is on fire. He keeps everything out, he is the reincarnation of lev yashin, dino zoff, schmeicel and gordon banks rolled into one. They have laods of other chances but before they can get shots away, the young lads are throwing themselves at everything, blocking shots on the line, getting smacked in the face with balls.
    the game ends 0-0 with the keeper saving a penalty and the follow up in injury time.

You mean to say that they should get 0 points for that?

And maybe a team like chelsea go one up against Hull in the 3rd minute and there isnt another shot in the game from either side. Chelsea get 3 points.

Thats fair?

We dont need to 'americanise' the game and try and make it more exciting, its fine the way it is

That devalues 3-3 and 4-4 draws. They can be the best games and your suggestion makes them meaningless....which is bad.

The best solution is to keep 3 points for a win, 1 point for a score draw.....and nothing for a 0-0 draw.

It would promote better football as parking the bus when a better team comes to town would net you nothing in the end. It would work well in tournament play too. Remember all those boring 0-0 draws at recent world cups and euro's?

I remember people complaining at the last world cup that too many teams wouldn't attack. A team drawing 3 games, barely scoring a single goal, and going through is a crying shame.

Not really, the teams who a 3-3 or 4-4 match will make a difference to will still get the draw which will be the decider after the most wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

event wrote: »
    So drawing is the same as losing?
    What about a team that has loads of injuries, they are playing with 4 18 year old defenders and a keeper who has never played a game. They are up against United/Chelsea/City and the big team absolutely batters them. They have about 14 shots on goal but the keeper is on fire. He keeps everything out, he is the reincarnation of lev yashin, dino zoff, schmeicel and gordon banks rolled into one. They have laods of other chances but before they can get shots away, the young lads are throwing themselves at everything, blocking shots on the line, getting smacked in the face with balls.
    the game ends 0-0 with the keeper saving a penalty and the follow up in injury time.

How often does that scenario happen? I watch a lot of football and hardly ever is the answer. The vast, vast majority of 0-0 affair are dull affairs. Occasionally there will be an entertaining nil all game but it's rare.

Defending is part of the game and nobody is suggesting "Americanising" anything. But rule changes happen. 3 points instead of 2 for a win. I'm sure there was opposition to that change to. But it made for a better system.

In my opinion, teams shouldn't be able to park the bus for the whole game. If you are a goal up and time is running out, it's only natural for players to get worried and play more cautiously. That happens and there is nothing wrong with it. But teams who go out with the plan of not scoring at all and sitting behind the ball for 90 minutes don't deserve the same as a team who atleast tried to score......which is the actual point of the game.

It can go to the other extreme, if we got rid of points then we could have a few clubs who decide to not want to get relegated, so they won't try to win, it'll be the most draws will stay up. It'll just make tactics a little more extreme. I would like to get rid of offside but that's a separate issue. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

People who think a team good at defending is worth less than a team good at attacking.

People who see football as just "entertainment". The Sky Sports generation of immediate gratification, short attention spans and goals goals goals.

People who think that wanting to see good attacking football means that someone can't appreciate good defending.

How often does that scenario happen? I watch a lot of football and hardly ever is the answer. The vast, vast majority of 0-0 affair are dull affairs. Occasionally there will be an entertaining nil all game but it's rare.

Well you're only talking about games you watch.
    You watch maybe what, 5 games a week?
    A rule like this would affect hundreds of thousands of games every week, yet you think it should happen because you see the odd boring 0-0
    In my opinion, teams shouldn't be able to park the bus for the whole game. If you are a goal up and time is running out, it's only natural for players to get worried and play more cautiously. That happens and there is nothing wrong with it. But teams who go out with the plan of not scoring at all and sitting behind the ball for 90 minutes don't deserve the same as a team who atleast tried to score......which is the actual point of the game.

Well then what do you do with the teams like chelsea under mourinho?
    Teams who go a goal up and then park the bus?
    Talking about what teams deserve, if they score more goals than the other team, then they get what they deserve.

Well then what do you do with the teams like chelsea under mourinho?
    Teams who go a goal up and then park the bus?
    Talking about what teams deserve, if they score more goals than the other team, then they get what they deserve.

Perfect. If a team are capable of scoring and then parking the bus on a consistent basis then they're very well-rounded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭764dak

Liam O wrote: »
    Yeah bring back 2 points and passing it back to keeper for a nice handy pickup. The quality was so much better back then.

No, I didn't say to bring back the back pass rule.

Perfect. If a team are capable of scoring and then parking the bus on a consistent basis then they're very well-rounded.

So you've have no issue with a team parking the bus for 89 minutes but dont like when they do it for 90?

Strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

So you've have no issue with a team parking the bus for 89 minutes but dont like when they do it for 90?

Strange

You aren't hearing what he is saying. You brought up Chelsea under Mourinho and used them as an example....lets examine them, shall we?

They had attacking players. Just look at the Chelsea team during that era under Mourinho. Robben, Drogba, Lampard, Duff, Gudjohnsen, Joe Cole. These guys were there to help score goals. The team had goal scorers in them. To score goals. So what if they were like the old Arsenal who used to win a lot of games 1-0? Whats wrong with that? Nothing. You don't penalise teams for having a good defense.

It's in no way similar to a team like San Marino who put out 11 men to defend for 90 minutes. Extreme example, yes but every league has teams who do this.

This is a concerted effort to kill the game before a ball has even been kicked and isn't the same as scoring early and playing conservatively. They aren't in any way similar.

I'm not saying it's the devil and there are worse issues in the game such as racism and diving. But it shouldn't be rewarded. Two teams who go at it and try to win and end up drawing 2-2, deserve more than a team who's sole purpose is to avoid playing football.

There is no "right" way to play with regards to style. Long ball, short tiki-taka, counter attacking, etc. It's all valid. I'm not a spain or Barca fanatic who hates stoke. But sticking all 11 of your men into your own box is not defending. There is no art or skill in that. It's not a beautifully orchestrated offside trap or slide tackle or quick nudge in the back to win a header.........it's just blocking the box with bodies and takes no special skill.

The one constant is that every team should be trying to win the game and that involves scoring goals. If they aren't atleast trying to do that, than they shouldn't get anything. That's the ethos behind the idea for 3 for a win, 1 for a score draw and 0 points for a scoreless draw.
    People who think a team good at defending is worth less than a team good at attacking.

People who see football as just "entertainment". The Sky Sports generation of immediate gratification, short attention spans and goals goals goals.

If this was for my benefit, you aren't reading my posts properly. The idea is not to devalue defending, it actually promotes it.

A back four working together as a unit is defending. 11 men camping their own box is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭764dak

There's still a flaw in 0-0 vs scoring draws. Normally in 0-0 draws at least one team goes out attacking. So I give two scenarios: 1. if one team defends with 11 and gets a 0-0; 2. if both played attacking and the match ends 2-2. In the first scenario, you would basically punish the team "that tried to play" football. It wouldn't be fair to that team. So it would be better to keep all draws equal instead of scoring draws.

The increase to 3 points for a win hasn't increased the number of goals.

Here's a 2005 study: http://www.garicano.com/index_files/GPH11.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

If Hull City go to Old Trafford and hang on for a 0-0 draw, surely they deserve to take something away with them? It sounds to me like the rule being proposed would make the strong teams stronger and the weak teams weaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

We dont need to 'americanise' the game and try and make it more exciting, its fine the way it is

God forbid we make something more entertaining :pac:

PS I agree that 0-0s should not get anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,311 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I dont care how opposition play. You gotta do what you gotta do I guess.

What annoys me is cheating etc. Time wasting and all that.

EVENFLOW

Time wasting and all that.

So if United were 1-0 in the CL Final with 5 to go, you'd be annoyed if they put the ball in the corner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,311 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

So if United were 1-0 in the CL Final with 5 to go, you'd be annoyed if they put the ball in the corner?

I meant more guys rolling around on ground and Ref pretty much adds feck all time onto it.

I did say I dont care how opposition play

EVENFLOW

I meant more guys rolling around on ground and Ref pretty much adds feck all time onto it.
    Oh right
    I did say I dont care how opposition play

I know :confused: United wouldn't be the opposition though, in your case. Unless they were playing FORAS or Hibs, I assume.

Oh right

I know :confused: United wouldn't be the opposition though, in your case. Unless they were playing FORAS or Hibs, I assume.

I know what you're saying.

I dont mind hoof balls or whatever style of play a opposition team play or mine to get job done

Its up to team I support to try win ball back, score a goal etc.

I am more talking about the cheating of diving etc. That annoys me.

EVENFLOW

I dont mind hoof balls or whatever style of play a opposition team play or mine to get job done

Its up to team I support to try win ball back, score a goal etc..

100% correct, I hate whingers who support the likes of Barca, United, Arsenal etc who complain when teams don't set out to "play football".

**** like that, who think their team have the devine right to win every game. Er, no. It's up to the opposition manager to do what he feels necessary to get the best result possible for this team.

If that means sitting back, parking the bus and hoping to maybe nick a point with that strategy, then grand, it could be that point or scoreless away draw that sees them stay up or go into the next round or whatever.
    I am more talking about the cheating of diving etc. That annoys me.

It could be argued that it's players protecting themselves though, no?

100% correct, I hate whingers who support the likes of Barca, United, Arsenal etc who complain when teams don't set out to "play football".

**** like that, who think their team have the devine right to win every game. Er, no. It's up to the opposition manager to do what he feels necessary to get the best result possible for this team.

If that means sitting back, parking the bus and hoping to maybe nick a point with that strategy, then grand, it could be that point or scoreless away draw that sees them stay up or go into the next round or whatever.

Ya I agree fully. I mean I am not going to expect Hull(for example) to play open football at Old Trafford and be annoyed when they dont, when I be delighted that Ireland play a organised approach say in Germany to try get a result.

On your last point I think imo it is cheating. Its not so much the issue here is the player, its the officials not adding on the appropriate time.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Benimar

It probably could be if they didn't do a triple somersault with pike followed by grabbing some random body part. That's where it crosses from avoiding a dangerous tackle to outright feigning of injury ie: cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Penalty Shoot Out If the game ends in a draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

Those who seem to be more interested in talking crap about other clubs than showing support for the club they claim to be a fan of

Not targeted at any specific set of fans, by the way, I acknowledge that it happens across the board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Irish Lads in pubs who either sing songs or say players names with a thick local accent representative of the team they support, Examples:-

Utd or City - Liam Gallagher,
    Arsenal \ Chelsea -Danny Dyer,
    Liverpool \ Everton - Calm down calm down
    Celtic - Rab C Nesbitt

Also, fat lads wearing Jerseys. If it was up to me they wouldnt make them above a medium, they are called replica's for a reason. They are meant to be an exact replica of the players jersey's. Yet go down to your local this saturday \ sunday, and you are guarantee to see some fat scrote wearing an XXXL jersey with Van Persie on the back which has enough square yardage of material to cover all 10 outfielders jersey's, yet he is convinced he still looks like he is a squad member. Ive also seen lads wearing replica shorts and socks in the pub... :rolleyes:

In fairness I have never seen Irish Liverpool fan speak in Scouser accent and others too.

EVENFLOW

In fairness I have never seen Irish Liverpool fan speak in Scouser accent and others too.

Yeah, I've never heard any Irish fan sing with an English accent in all the time I've been following football.

Complete made up post above yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,882 ✭✭✭✭CSF

allybhoy wrote: »
    Irish Lads in pubs who either sing songs or say players names with a thick local accent representative of the team they support, Examples:-

Utd or City - Liam Gallagher,
    Arsenal \ Chelsea -Danny Dyer,
    Liverpool \ Everton - Calm down calm down
    Celtic - Rab C Nesbitt

Also, fat lads wearing Jerseys. If it was up to me they wouldnt make them above a medium, they are called replica's for a reason. They are meant to be an exact replica of the players jersey's. Yet go down to your local this saturday \ sunday, and you are guarantee to see some fat scrote wearing an XXXL jersey with Van Persie on the back which has enough square yardage of material to cover all 10 outfielders jersey's, yet he is convinced he still looks like he is a squad member. Ive also seen lads wearing replica shorts and socks in the pub... :rolleyes:

Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

The sky and media love in for gareth bale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Managers complaining about fixture congestion. Just fúck off.