John Dundon found guilty of murdering Shane Geoghegan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Find it ridiculous that he says that the person wasn't his intended target, due to mistaken identidy - as if that'd lessen the crime, MURDER IS MURDER!

So yeah, may he rot in jail...

I was curious about how this would play out. We always hear that murder requires intent whereas manslaughter does not. So I was wondering if Dundon would be convicted of mother even thought he didn't INTEND to kill the victim.

It's a trivial point. Poor Shane and his family....

Enjoy the next 20 years Dundon, with your discman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

thank god for that, glad he got life. i was worried the case might collapse etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

The sad truth is this lad will have a great time in prison. He'll hang around with mates of his already locked up, do drugs, watch tv, get fed. It's small punishment for what he's done.
    That's why I've turned in favour of the death penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Yellow121 wrote: »
    That's why I've turned in favour of the death penalty.

Isn't that an easy way out though?

He get's off scott free. He doesn't have to endure his punishment as his life ends.

At least in prison he has his life taken away and has to experience it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

Bring back hard labour (penal servitude), not the death penalty.

I hope the smug little git gets some penal servitude too, hopefully from his new cell mate, Johnny 'the horse' Macker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Dundon had pleaded not guilty to the murder when he was arraigned on 2 July. He wore headphones as today’s verdict was being read, keeping his head down and nodding to music playing from a CD Walkman.

Crime must not pay as well as I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Apparently he "made a gesture with his hand" as the verdict was read out...

Don't suppose there's any chance of some nice prisoner breaking his legs in jail tonight? That would be nice :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,444 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

I hate to break your fantasies, but he is going to an irish prison not the Gulag. He will have access to pretty much all the mod cons, TV, internet etc and be let out on weekends and to visit his kids communion/mums funeral or whatever.

He is basically being put into a free hotel with all his mates. He'll get 20 years max, serve 10 and get let out.

Emotive silliness. We don't grant human rights. They are innate.

Even filthbags human beings like Dundon has human rights.

Feck his rights - if it was later found out that a few enterprising prison guards decided to waterboard the scummer for acting the maggot in prison, I wouldn't be calling for a prosecution

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

Leroy42 wrote: »
    I hate to break your fantasies, but he is going to an irish prison not the Gulag. He will have access to pretty much all the mod cons, TV, internet etc and be let out on weekends and to visit his kids communion/mums funeral or whatever.

He is basically being put into a free hotel with all his mates. He'll get 20 years max, serve 10 and get let out.

which irish prisons have internet access for inmates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Leroy42 wrote: »

The dumb sh!t can't read or write (At this day and age... :rolleyes:) - so least he won't be enjoying the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Today, I would have no issue if Shell or any other company delivered a sh1tload of free booze to the gardai, proscecutors, and 3 judges.

Limerick is a lot safer today than yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

BeerWolf wrote: »
    The dumb sh!t can't read or write (At this day and age... :rolleyes:) - so least he won't be enjoying the internet.

There's still people in Ireland that can't read or write "in this day and age" and they're not all criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

RGDATA! wrote: »
    which irish prisons have internet access for inmates?

Not sure, but they seem to have no problem phoning Joe Duffy and updating their facebook pages from the Joy....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Give him a 6 x 6 cell, a tv, books, an hour's walk outside every day for the next 25 years

....and forget about him

...........good riddance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Eight Ball wrote: »
    Enjoy the showers you scumbag. Hey John I'm going on holidays next week with my family for the week, what you getting up to yourself? Lol. Think I may cycle my bike in the park later and then stop in for a pint and a bite to eat before I get home and jump into bed with the wife. Who you jumping into bed with, is it bubba?

Not sure if you know this but he cant hear you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭yoloc

What was the evidence that actully put him away. When big cases l;ike this happen i always smell a fish, i think behind the scenes someone would tamper with evidence just to send him down because theres so much media attention with cases like this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Breaking News, Chuck Norris to police Limerick.

Fail of the year ^^^^

Lets hope Dundon never sees the light of day again.

I'm liking the idea of hard labour with a quota attatched for some of the worst crims - scumbag fails to meet the work quota, scumbag fails to get fed that night...

Something difficult, tiring and tedious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

Hope Shane's family can finally get some peace and closure from this. Doubt it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Well done April Collins it took real guts to do what she did

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

MugMugs wrote: »
    Isn't that an easy way out though?

He get's off scott free. He doesn't have to endure his punishment as his life ends.

At least in prison he has his life taken away and has to experience it.

Surely taking someone's life away is the ultimate punishment?
    He'll have a great time in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

yoloc wrote: »
    What was the evidence that actully put him away. When big cases l;ike this happen i always smell a fish, i think behind the scenes someone would tamper with evidence just to send him down because theres so much media attention with cases like this.

Well, why don't you tell us on what evidence you've formed your doubts - I presume you wouldn't just come to this conclusion on tampered evidence without any evidence yourself.

Because that would be really ironic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

We always hear that murder requires intent whereas manslaughter does not. So I was wondering if Dundon would be convicted of mother even thought he didn't INTEND to kill the victim.

Intention does not relate to the identity. The test is met where the accused intended to kill or cause serious injury to some person, whether it was the person actually killed or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭yoloc

Well, why don't you tell us on what evidence you've formed your doubts - I presume you wouldn't just come to this conclusion on tampered evidence without any evidence yourself.

Because that would be really ironic.

What im saying is that this man was already tried in the media and everyone already had him guilty. You know what the guards are like in this country, they can frame anyone if they want. Listen, im not saying this man is a saint, all im saying is that if the guards/government are out to get you, then your fcuked because they will do everything in their power and also tamper with evidence, get witness's to lie just to put you away. You have to agree, this is a massive case for the guards and one they werent going to let go against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Well done April Collins it took real guts to do what she did

Pity she didn't feel the need to go to the cops before the murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Emotive silliness. We don't grant human rights. They are innate.

Even filthbags human beings like Dundon has human rights.

They can has human rights? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

1210m5g wrote: »
    Pity she didn't feel the need to go to the cops before the murder.

Would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Yellow121 wrote: »
    Surely taking someone's life away is the ultimate punishment?
    He'll have a great time in prison.

Well change the system so he doesn't. How's taking his life away ultimate? He won't be around to suffer the loss. It's an easy way out for him. I'd rather be dead than be locked up for life.