Would you support the reintroduction of the death penalty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭epluribusunum

Princess Just give me a yes or no question to answer or I am dome here and will walk away a winner 3 days in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,767 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Princess Just give me a yes or no question to answer or I am dome here and will walk away a winner 3 days in a row.

:D As I said earlier you've turned into your own parody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭Love2u

We will deal with 2 later, but you agree with 1 I take it?

Ok this is the last time I'm going to spell it out for you - "I strongly disagree with the death penalty"
    For the record I agree with nothing you have to say. So stop trying to put words into my mouth and stop twisting things into your own wicked ways of thinking.

Love2u wrote: »
    Ok this is the last time I'm going to spell it out for you - "I strongly disagree with the death penalty"
    For the record I agree with nothing you have to say. So stop trying to put words into my mouth and stop twisting things into your own wicked ways of thinking.

Can you atleast address question 1 then?

There is nothing to fear I promise.

Can you atleast address question 1 then?

There is nothing to fear I promise.

If you reread my posts it should sum it all up for you. If you can't see the answers to your questions and read between the lines then I can't help you. Maybe your telling your own story when you accused me of having to sit with the smart kids in school ;).

I tried to read them and made those assumptions based off them but you said I was putting words in your mouth. So they must be wrong.

So do you have an answer to 1?

I tried to read them and made those assumptions based off them but you said I was putting words in your mouth. So they must be wrong.

So do you have an answer to 1?

I disagree with the death penalty. Have a nice day!

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Em... you said i could ask a question, which I did...

it's easy to win a game when you;re the only one playing.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Em... you said i could ask a question, which I did...

it's easy to win a game when you;re the only one playing.

Is your question what I am waiting for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

**** Sake lads, are ye still at it?

None of you are going to convince any of the other ones they are wrong or you're right.

And as much as some of us think think there may or may not be a need for it we can fairly safely assume the death penalty will not be reintroduced in any of our life times. (unless there happens to be some kind of post apocalyptic Mad Max scenario, and while that may sound cool I don't think we want to be around for it)

There are no winners in a debate like this, you're debating opinions, not facts, and by their very definition they can't be wrong. You may not agree but that doesn't make it any less of a valid opinion.

Now, lets all agree to disagree and go do something constructive. I'm off to walk my dogs.

Yeah this just about does it. Avoidance of logic past 72 hours and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,767 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Yeah this just about does it. Avoidance of logic past 72 hours and all.

You certainly did that alright.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    You certainly did that alright.

Your sarcasm is suffering...

Almost to the point of embarassment for you.

Is it just me, or do epluribusumun's posts remind anyone of a 6 year old who thinks he's outsmarted his parents, while the wind whistles up a gale over his head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

Candie wrote: »
    Is it just me, or do epluribusumun's posts remind anyone of a 6 year old who thinks he's outsmarted his parents, while the wind whistles up a gale over his head?
    In my view his posts add up to harassment and bullying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Piliger wrote: »
    In my view his posts add up to harassment and bullying.

Well he's gone now so I guess we won't need to worry about that too much.
    And if he come's back I'd say Her Royal Highness is well capable of looking after herself :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

For the record, I would not have called for or supported the death penalty in the case of Hitler or anyone else.

Did you hear yourself say that? I think it shows how out of touch so many people are to the human condition and what some people are capable of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

For the record, I would not have called for or supported the death penalty in the case of Hitler or anyone else.
    I agree 100%.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

jank wrote: »
    Did you hear yourself say that? I think it shows how out of touch so many people are to the human condition and what some people are capable of.

I didn't say it, I typed it.

How exactly am I out of touch with it? I've visited more concentration camps and attended more lectures on the holocaust in Irish universities than 95% of the people of this forum. Stop coming up with baseless assumptions because people disagree with your point of view.

Just when I thought it was all over, epluribusunum left the building and now you are taking his place. How much more nonsense do we have to listen to now.

I didn't say it, I typed it.

How exactly am I out of touch with it? I've visited more concentration camps and attended more lectures on the holocaust in Irish universities than 95% of the people of this forum. Stop coming up with baseless assumptions because people disagree with your point of view.

Which in turn makes your opinion and assumption more worthwhile? Really?
    Pot...Kettle..

I just think when people start worrying more about the lives of the perpetrators of genocide and war that we let this whole new liberal progressiveness get in the way. Its thinly veiled social engineering. There is no wiggle room in that argument. Just because I favour capital punishment doesn't mean that I want all criminals hanged drawn and quartered. It should be reserved for the most violent and extreme kinds of crime proven in a court of law.

Something else I never understand are people who are massively pro-choice but are against the death penalty. It's OK to abort an innocent unborn child, but that child grows up to murder and rape a family the state cannot put him to death?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I would not have called for or supported the death penalty in the case of Hitler or anyone else.
    How exactly am I out of touch with it? I've visited more concentration camps and attended more lectures on the holocaust in Irish universities than 95% of the people of this forum.
    Pot...Kettle..
    Quality debating there Jank.

I just think when people start worrying more about the lives of the perpetrators of genocide and war that we let this whole new liberal progressiveness get in the way.

Can you please either point out one instance of this happening or else apologise for making ridiculous accusations? Just one instance is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Something else I never understand are people who are massively pro-choice but are against the death penalty. It's OK to abort an innocent unborn child, but that child grows up to murder and rape a family the state cannot put him to death?

i counter that by finding it interesting how many pro-life people are pro- death penalty.. ..but lets not turn this thread into an abortion thread, the thread is mad enough on its own merits ha

Pot...Kettle..

I just think when people start worrying more about the lives of the perpetrators of genocide and war that we let this whole new liberal progressiveness get in the way. Its thinly veiled social engineering. There is no wiggle room in that argument. Just because I favour capital punishment doesn't mean that I want all criminals hanged drawn and quartered. It should be reserved for the most violent and extreme kinds of crime proven in a court of law.

As much as i want to stay on topic in this thread, i must ask if you have proven figures and facts for your pro-choice, against the death penalty statement? Please don't assume on my behalf that this is the case, speak only for yourself unless you want to produce figures for me.

Can you please either point out one instance of this happening or else apologise for making ridiculous accusations? Just one instance is fine.

Because it is more 'humane' to keep them in jail all their natural born lives?

I don't see how you equate that with people supposedly worrying more about perpetrators of genocide than their victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Not really the same as worrying about the lives of the perpetrators, is it?

I'd be inclined to worry about other perpetrators thought who'll follow in his footseps and do anything I can to avoid a repeat.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I don't see how you equate that with people supposedly worrying more about perpetrators of genocide than their victims.

Of course you can. Why therefore are you defending their rights to be treated as humanely as possible?

Humane is of course subjective in anycase. Just because you may feel better that people are no longer put to death doesnt mean locking them up until they are 92 is more 'humane'. The key word here is "feel better".