If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Multi level Marketing Anyone involved?

• 09-08-2013 12:23AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 71 ✭✭

Anyone here ever got involved in MLM?. Companies like Forever living products, Kleeneze, Amway etc?.

They really have a big recruitment drive with the current recession and have hyped up speeches off people making thousands, getting free holidays, cars etc.

Was wondering what are people's opinions on this companies and any experience of being involved?.

Bit dubious of some of their claims but seems some people can do well out of selling their over priced, aloe vera, cleaning products ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,638 ✭✭✭ongarite

Stay the **** away!
    MLM is just a fancy name for pyramid schemes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭uch

No Feck off!!!

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Steer clear its a scam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Reading something recently on one of these; '...a product so revolutionary and effective that shops won't stock it'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,511 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 71 ✭✭Fratoue

Well the likes of Forever living products babble on about being in business for 35 years. Was at one of their information evening and everyone in the audience was like horny teenagers they were so enthusiastic clapping, smiling, agreeing with everything the old lad was saying as he recounted raking in thousands per month and how they could do it too. Of course they were all roped in already and like hungry sharks trying to get other people involved so they would be their 'sponsor' and get a percantage from them.

All the products were mainly over priced aloe vera stuff that can apparently cure and ail everything from cuts that disappear, burns that heal immediately and decade long cripping back pain that is healed over night from rubbing aloe vera gel on the person's back. These were forever living recruits who recounted stories and I'm quite perceptive so could tell easily enough that plenty of them were lying.

Seems a lot of people get involved in these things and would like to know if people have experience. Hopefully won't get shills from these companies telling us about their €5 million euro mansion and ferrari in the drive!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Stupid plans for stupid people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

They suck. They promised me I'd earn €5000 for every 1000 useless posts I made on boards.ie. Haven't seen a penny yet.

Well we know boards keep the dosh for themselves, would like to get relevant posts though!

Bump!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

No really BUMP please.
    I have huge concerns about this. A family member has become involved, and things just don't seem right. Its not pyramid as you don't pay cash up front. You sell a product and recruit new people., to my knowledge.

I have been searching boards for answers. But cant find them.
    Has anyone made a living out of this ?
    Is it a bulling thing ?
    Is it filled with lies.
    Am I the only one that can see that this is praying on people who are broke and want to make some money.
    I seen a ticket to a success day event been held for distributors only.
    Ticket is non refundable. How much did it cost?
    PLEASE GUYS ANSWER.
    I'm genuinely worried about this family member.
    I love them , but they seem to be brain washed.
    I believe they have been turning down paid work(they are currently self employed ) to attend NETWORK meetings, which always happen at night.
    NETWORK meetings should happen day and /or night , am I right.
    IM REALLY WORRIED.
    Advice even by pm please. Thanks cathy

ps Family member if your reading this, know I'm trying to understand .
    You have one child and a baby on the way, paid secure employment is better then wishes and dreams.

A few years ago I came across "network marketing" (same beast different name).

From what I understood was that you were expected to recruit a "sales team" and act as their distributor, this is after you have already become a member of the "sales team" for the person who introduced you into the scheme.

You buy the products from your distributor and sell them on to your sales team or directly to the customer.
    A percentage of the sale price is deducted by each level in the pyramid, the more members the smaller the cut for an individual sales person, but the more sales teams & distributors a senior distributor has, the bigger their share becomes (lots of individuals passing 1% up the chain accumulates quickly).

To make any meaningful amounts of money you need to be near the top of the pyramid with only a couple of distributors above you and a large number of distributors (& sales teams) below you.

Once I discovered how it worked, I walked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

I had an interview with one of these places before, did a bit of reading up on the place, and cancelled straight away.

Most of them come under the parent company "Cobra Group" (It's like they're trying to sound like villains), and new companies keep popping up because people branch out and create their own franchise from whatever company they were hired by. So the "multi-level" part forms the shape of a pyramid. Funny, that.

They mostly seem to be based around door-to-door sales, but the salespeople aren't technically employees so they have to arrange their own taxes and jump through hoops because they're self-employed. This also means that whatever they earn is commission only, and they can end up working ridiculous hours for little or no pay.

All of this under the promise that they can earn more and start their own business, essentially by recruiting new members, whose earnings you then take a cut of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

I linked an episode of Penn & Teller's bullsh!t but deleted it due to an overabundance of boobies.

Google "Bullshit easy money" and watch it on youtube, very informative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

The only one I know a bit about is Amway, from years ago.

Personally I don't really have an issue with most of their business model, which pretty much was , use some product, sell some product, show the business plan & encourage other people to become distributors also & encourage them to use some product, sell some product, show the business plan & encourage others to become distributors also & so on..., that's fine with me BUT this is the bit I didn't like,

You would think that the biggest thing that successful Amway distributors would be promoting would be the products & the business plan but NO, a huge amount of effort was spent promoting all the motivational books, tapes (probably CD's now) and events like 'Dream Weekends' etc so I suspect that a good chunk of the money that the successful distributors were making was from selling a lot of motivational books, tapes and events to the lower level distributors & not so much the products & services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

STAY AWAY!!! Further away the better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

They are trouble with a capitol T. Pretty comprehensive thread about them over in the Work & Jobs forum http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056051270

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

The difference between MLM and the typical pyramid schemes you normally come across is this example.
    Pyramid scheme get 5 people to give Euro 1000 each total Euro 5000.
    MLM Get 100 people to give 50 Euro each and cost you 200 Euro to become a distributor.
    You get 5% which is kept in reserve for you by the company for at least 40 days.
    If you become a recruiter of distributors it cost you another 1000 but the new distributor gives Euro200 which you get 5%, kept in reserve for 40 days.
    You are only allowed withdraw maximum 25% of whats kept in reserve per month.
    If you go under a certain level in your reserve you may loose recruiter rites.

Hope this clears these scams.
    Hope this thread is not locked by the time I get this posted.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Years ago I was invited to join one of these MLM schticks as I was "such a talented salesman"(news to me, but whatever). I discovered that it involved interacting with enthusiatic eejits and selling stuff to the public, both of which I despise. I decided to jack it in pronto, which caused much consternation and cultishness with my "team", happily, not two shytes did I give and told them to jam it up their jacksie. My take is that they brain-wash people with tales of riches and endless possibilities while selling crap and or crap products to the public using wear-em down techniques. Avoid, would be my verdict. Especially the enthusiastic people bit. I also don't understand the figures in the post above. They appear to be arseways, but that might be the general idea.

A fairly decent video (one of many) showing how the scam works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Its a pyramid scam and nothing more. The more you recruit the more money you make and so on. You make money on how many you recruit and how much they then get onboard and so on. You make very little on the actual products.
    Its handier to make a few quid with the likes of Kleeneazy and Betterware. You deliver the books and then collect them. You get about 10% or so out of very order you put in to your supervisor and they will get a percentage of all the orders they get in etc. You wont make loads and its a lot of work for the return buts its a few quid extra all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,671 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

First of all, let me assure you that this is not one of those shady pyramid schemes you've been hearing about, Our model is the Trapezoid....

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Don't like dragging up old threads but over the last few weeks, my Facebook timeline has been absolutely polluted by gym-heads promoting Forever Living and trying to hire sales agents. Anybody else getting this?
    Did some searching and it seems to be a very dodgy business model. No doubt Aloe Vera has numerous benefits, but the same products pretty much can be bought on the high street for fractions of the price. Some of the people promoting it have even bragged about the fact that it's a pyramid, but promise that it's "different". Can't really believe are so naive.

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Don't like dragging up old threads but over the last few weeks, my Facebook timeline has been absolutely polluted by gym-heads promoting Forever Living and trying to hire sales agents. Anybody else getting this?
    Did some searching and it seems to be a very dodgy business model. No doubt Aloe Vera has numerous benefits, but the same products pretty much can be bought on the high street for fractions of the price. Some of the people promoting it have even bragged about the fact that it's a pyramid, but promise that it's "different". Can't really believe are so naive.
    Don't worry about warning against pyramid selling, the more often these warnings appear, the less chance there is of people being suckered into them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I've a friend involved with this crap at the moment. She is making a few bob out of it and getting to travel, but I see it as some Jim Jones type cult meself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

Are they all dodge though? Herbalife seems pretty legit.

I've a friend involved with this crap at the moment. She is making a few bob out of it and getting to travel, but I see it as some Jim Jones type cult meself.
    If she is making any money out of it, I can only assume that she got into it at a fairly early stage as that is where the real money is made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

If she is making any money out of it, I can only assume that she got into it at a fairly early stage as that is where the real money is made.

Well she is making a living out of it and has recently had an all expenses trip to one of the big capital cities (don't want to say where in case she is a boardsie and figures me out). The hard sell techniques she uses are unbelievable.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I had a friend try and get me into this, it was some magic potion that could cure all Ills. I had to listen to an hour of obvious sh1te talk, in a previous working life I was an excellent salesman and saw through straight away. Had a few words with my friend pointing out the obvious bullsh1tery of the scheme, luckily he listened and backed away.

Well she is making a living out of it and has recently had an all expenses trip to one of the big capitals cities (don't want to say where in case she is a boardsie and figures me out). The hard sell techniques she uses are unbelievable.:)
    Sounds like she is actually climbing up the pyramid.