Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭thecomedian

I didn't have time for pics but I picked this up this morning

http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=48745

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Well wear Geoff. It looks class does BMW driver lads are worse than VAG ninjas for OCD. How does it compare to the TT power wise,sound wise and driving wise? How is the auto v's the DSG.

tossy wrote: »
    Well wear Geoff. It looks class does BMW driver lads are worse than VAG ninjas for OCD. How does it compare to the TT power wise,sound wise and driving wise? How is the auto v's the DSG.

The auto isn't as quick as the DSG but its not bad at all.
    I haven't had a proper chance to compare it to the TT but it seems pretty similar to it.
    It's been very well looked after.
    A change of radio will be the first thing as there is only a tape deck on this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Are ye all paid to drive E46's or something? :pac:

Looks gorgeous though...:o:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I have to say I am not the biggest fan of the e46 but that looks mint.
    A lot of car for small money imo, well wear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

That looks very clean, well wear the comedian.

A single deck in an 04, surely there is a cd changer in the boot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Looks great, stick it to those 325i lads. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

Apologies if this is in the wrong place, but can anyone tell me the make and model of the black car just behind the bloke in this screenshot. The headlights and silver bit on the wing look quite distinctive.

blackcars.png

(screengrab from last week's The Dealership)

[The white one doesn't look too shabby either, but it looks like a coupe]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

corblimey wrote: »
    Apologies if this is in the wrong place, but can anyone tell me the make and model of the black car just behind the bloke in this screenshot. The headlights and silver bit on the wing look quite distinctive.

blackcars.png

(screengrab from last week's The Dealership)

[The white one doesn't look too shabby either, but it looks like a coupe]

It is a Jaguar XF :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭corblimey

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    It is a Jaguar XF :)

You're right, it is tks. I wonder if they take kidneys in part exchange?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

And today I drove:

04 volvo s80 2T
    04 bmw 530D
    2001 merc S class
    2010 bmw 520D
    2001 alfa spider convertable ?
    2003 porsche carerra 4S

Also got a haircut for €12 with a free bottle of beer and a nice fun friendly chat with the haircut woman !

Fun day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Made a quick video there of the car not starting.

I think it's the starter myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

166man wrote: »
    Are ye all paid to drive E46's or something? :pac:

Looks gorgeous though...:o:D

That's poll worthy material at the end of the year: best boardsie E46 :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

dgt wrote: »
    There could even be an award for the best boardsie e46 325i!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Only open to 6 cylinders or is there a poverty spec award?

Max Power1 wrote: »
    There could even be an award for the best boardsie e46 325i!

I'd forgotten that! :p
    ba_barabus wrote: »
    Only open to 6 cylinders or is there a poverty spec award?

Plenty of room for 325i's alone, everyone's E46 included that's half the forum :pac:

coolisin wrote: »
    That looks very clean, well wear the comedian.

A single deck in an 04, surely there is a cd changer in the boot!

Nope nothing in the boot, a funny one alright. I'll pick up a BMW CD player easy enough.
    I'll probably get a few other little changes nothing major for now.

Seats maybe in a year or 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Id call that inconclusive.. have you directly checked the battery power level with a multimeter? Any lower than 11.8v and you have a low battery (which might be an alternator or bad battery). A starter fault wouldnt do that dash lights flickering thing.. but insufficient power in the battery would.

If you ensure you have enough power in the battery, hit the starter with something metal and hard a few times (to unseize it).

The radio switching on doesnt actually mean you have enough power to spin the starter (which will be something like 1.1kw, vs the 10watts to make the radio display come on or the 200watts peak for the entire sound system blaring).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Put the car in self diagnosis mode and see what the battery voltage is it will tell you you dont need a multimeter. I think a good battery would be around 12v.

Dude get a multimeter out and measure that battery, possibly has had it by the sounds of things.

A seized starter solenoid is a loud whirr as the solenoid doesn't shoot out the bendix but still turns it and a seized motor just wouldn't make any noise

I told him exactly this 2 pages ago, but he put up the video in reply!?

Im a big noob lemme alone :(

Matt Simis wrote: »
    I told him exactly this 2 pages ago, but he put up the video in reply!?

I feel a right gombeen, things move fast in here :o

At least we know it isn't the solenoid :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Think I may have an injector going :(
    Ticking noise that gets worse with loud pedal application. With revs but is not an engine problem.

And it seems to be way more noticeable when moving, ticking over its barely noticeable.

YbFocus wrote: »
    Think I may have an injector going :(
    Ticking noise that gets worse with loud pedal application. With revs but is not an engine problem.

And it seems to be way more noticeable when moving, ticking over its barely noticeable.

What engine?

That reminds me, there's a huge metallic clang whenever I shut off the engine in my car.... I think it's the remainder of the crabby exhaust hitting off the subframe :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

What engine?

That reminds me, there's a huge metallic clang whenever I shut off the engine in my car.... I think it's the remainder of the crabby exhaust hitting off the subframe :o

M57 530d, I'd be almost sure it's an injector as I've heard these things going before.

9.8v according to diagnostic mode

Well thats pretty clear then, no where near enough to spin the starter. So you have either:

- Bad alternator (which the ST/Volvo 2.5 is known for, so Im told)
    - Bad battery (independently of alternator failure or now in conjunction with it due to poor charging)

You next tests are simple, trickle charge your battery for 6hrs/overnight (I assume you have a battery charger!), then measure the voltage. Then start the engine, then re-measure the voltage. If the alternator is working, you should read over 13.5v (though not over 15v). If the alternator is weak, you will see 12.5v. If its dead, you will see 12v and dropping.

Once you confirm the alternator, either get it fixed or replaced, I would check if its just the Voltage Regulator on it before replacing it entirely personally.

PS: If the alternator checks out as ok, then you likely have parasitic power draw from a sub-system failure (eg alarm, subwoofer, ECU fault etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

This guy does recon'd alternators, he's based in walkinstown: http://www.almaxautoelectric.com/contact-us.html He could probably do the testing bit for you :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Lads and Ladies be extra careful with yer cars had someone try and rob mine last night but thank god the alarm went off and woke everyone in the house. Please i'd hate it to happen to anyone.