Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Did.that .actually . Happen . :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Poor old Logie throwing out the clichés here too...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

I told ye! :P

Knew well ye'd win!

Delighted. Disappointed O Shea wasn't taken off, as Donegal were trying to get him sent off all game. Loved seeing Donegal so desperate lobbing in long balls and getting nothing. Murphy isn't the most fair player, think he has a bit of a dirty side to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭scatman carruthers

What do I type into google to get that logie video,can't see it on the tablet. It's quality how wrong he is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Just on the way home now.

I've never seen a more complete performance from Mayo. They were absolutely rampant. Michael Murphy and Colm McFadden have never been so anonymous in a game. Caff and Turbo completely closed them down. Higgins was so dominant all over the backs that I found it difficult to discern what position he was playing. Switched up to the forwards maybe?! Donie Vaughan seemed to be everywhere at once, just like the Galway game he was able to slip up un-noticed and slot in an easy goal, thanks to a utterly listless defence. Boyler was there for practically every ball that came through. Keegan seemed to spend most of his time in the opposition's half. Kevin Keane had no problems slotting over a point soon after he came on. Could anyone have imagined such a situation after what happened in the final last year?! Mark McHugh was brought on under the stealth cover of number 28 (wasn't mentioned in the program, a more clued in supporter beside me filled me in) but couldn't make any impact whatsoever. Full credit to the forwards, Cillian must be chuffed with himself, what shoulder injury?!

Donegal's best player IMO was Neil Gallagher, seemed to well able to get away from both O'Sheas but for all his effort he was starved of ball.

Only real downsides for me today was Andy Moran not really having a huge game, despite the wonder point he scored. Still needs a few weeks to get fully fit? Also the fact that we lost concentration towards the end, Darren Coen missing a few wides may be down to losing intensity but we should be far enough along that we don't go for 'Hail Mary' scores, we have enough fire power up front so that shot selection shouldn't be an issue, should be able to spread it around, the backs are well able to back us up if need be.

Delighted that AOS got man of the match, never seen a red card get a standing ovation but it said it all really! Mayo's mid-field is up there with the top and we've still got the likes of Barry Moran on the bench!

Hopefully Horan can keep cool heads and the players don't absorb the inevitable hype

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

That's two tired clichés in one post.

Did you not think our performance against Down in the quarters was good last year? We followed it up by beating Dublin. We've been good in four out of four championship games this year - we can only play what's in front of us. If we win it will be because we're the best. If we don't win it will be because someone else was better than us, as happened last year and the year before (and a load of years before that of course!).

No doubt if we, for instance, end up losing the final this year to Dublin there will be a catalogue of people here and elsewhere saying that we're inconsistent, can't do finals etc. despite the fact that Dublin have beaten us twice already this year in Croke Park. There doesn't seem to be any logic when it comes to analysing Mayo, people just throw out tired statements that weren't even true years ago when they were first trotted out by Spillane, Brolly and whoever else.
    QFT. That same tired ould crap comes out all the time.

I just hope Tyrone and the winners of Dublin Kerry hold the same opinion should we make that final.

The omens are all looking at a mayo victory , last time KK didn't play a senior hurling champ game at croker was 1951 also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Congrats to all the Mayo peeps. Tremendous performance today. AOS is a fcuking beast of a man !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Does anyone know do either TV3 or BBC NI put up full matches on their website like RTE do? Or is there anywhere else online the whole game can be watched back?

RTE's three minutes of highlights didn't really do the trick for me - there will be a bit more on the GAA app tomorrow but not the full game.

The hype machine will go into over drive in Mayo after this,not a good thing the Tyrone lads will feed off all the rubbish written in the papers for the coming weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Congrats to all the Mayo peeps. Tremendous performance today. AOS is a fcuking beast of a man !
    Iv a feeling a new word is entering the gaa lexicon 'Beasht' 32 posessions it said on Tv3 Good few kickouts Made lot o tackles n blocks He does have the weakness with his discipline But himself and his brother are major part of the Mayo turnaround

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Yep, he'll need to watch the discipline in the semi final, coz you just know that Tyrone are gonna target him, and do their dammdest to get him either sent off, or pick up two more yellow cards. And if he picks up two yellows in his next game, won't he miss the AI final, should Mayo make it that far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,931 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I've never seen a more complete performance from Mayo. They were absolutely rampant. Michael Murphy and Colm McFadden have never been so anonymous in a game. Caff and Turbo completely closed them down. Higgins was so dominant all over the backs that I found it difficult to discern what position he was playing. Switched up to the forwards maybe?! Donie Vaughan seemed to be everywhere at once, just like the Galway game he was able to slip up un-noticed and slot in an easy goal, thanks to a utterly listless defence. Boyler was there for practically every ball that came through. Keegan seemed to spend most of his time in the opposition's half. Kevin Keane had no problems slotting over a point soon after he came on. Could anyone have imagined such a situation after what happened in the final last year?! Mark McHugh was brought on under the stealth cover of number 28 (wasn't mentioned in the program, a more clued in supporter beside me filled me in) but couldn't make any impact whatsoever. Full credit to the forwards, Cillian must be chuffed with himself, what shoulder injury?!

Donegal's best player IMO was Neil Gallagher, seemed to well able to get away from both O'Sheas but for all his effort he was starved of ball.

Only real downsides for me today was Andy Moran not really having a huge game, despite the wonder point he scored. Still needs a few weeks to get fully fit? Also the fact that we lost concentration towards the end, Darren Coen missing a few wides may be down to losing intensity but we should be far enough along that we don't go for 'Hail Mary' scores, we have enough fire power up front so that shot selection shouldn't be an issue, should be able to spread it around, the backs are well able to back us up if need be.

Delighted that AOS got man of the match, never seen a red card get a standing ovation but it said it all really! Mayo's mid-field is up there with the top and we've still got the likes of Barry Moran on the bench!

Hopefully Horan can keep cool heads and the players don't absorb the inevitable hype

Just one small quibble with your analysis. McFadden and Murphy were equally anonymous against Monaghan. Neither of them scored from play nor did McBrearty but McFadden did get 4 points from frees. And of course Donegal only got 7 points in the entire game.

Donegal were gone after that game and I would not have been shocked to see them lose to Laois. But while I was fairly sure that Mayo would beat them I would never have predictied that you would score more against them than you did against London.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Great win for us. Massive day. Respect for the other fans on giving us the congrats. I suspect one or 2 won't make an appearance here for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Does anyone know do either TV3 or BBC NI put up full matches on their website like RTE do? Or is there anywhere else online the whole game can be watched back?

RTE's three minutes of highlights didn't really do the trick for me - there will be a bit more on the GAA app tomorrow but not the full game.

Have it recorded onto a hard drive but file is fierce big, 4GB. I might try and upload it onto YouTube but if ya check out the KilkennyFootball channel hes likely to have it up soon.. It will be worth a watch later :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Have it recorded onto a hard drive but file is fierce big, 4GB. I might try and upload it onto YouTube but if ya check out the KilkennyFootball channel hes likely to have it up soon.. It will be worth a watch later :D

Whos is that? Never recorded it!! Sickened.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

yop wrote: »
    Whos is that? Never recorded it!! Sickened.:mad:

http://www.youtube.com/user/KilkennyFootball?feature=watch

I've no problem sending it on to anyone once I shorten the file a bit:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Well that went better than expected. In truth once the 2nd goal was scored Donegal didn't want to know won by 16 could have been 26pts. IMO it's all in Mayo hands now, keep the good form going,stay focused and the long famine will be ended.

Fowler87 wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/user/KilkennyFootball?feature=watch

I've no problem sending it on to anyone once I shorten the file a bit:pac:

Where in Mayo are you, I could give you a DVD to burn it onto if it suits, or if you can upload it even.
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Congrats Mayo on the win. A super performance. I hope you can go all the way. The fans deserve something to cheer about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

The hype machine will go into over drive in Mayo after this,not a good thing the Tyrone lads will feed off all the rubbish written in the papers for the coming weeks

Not with the players imo. They look incredibly focused. They want the AI badly. Last year could have been their year. They're improving year after year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Not with the players imo. They look incredibly focused. They want the AI badly. Last year could have been their year. They're improving year after year.

Agreed, have never seen a Mayo panel and management so focused before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭MfMan

Another advantage of yesterday's win was that it was at the quarter-final stage. Best thing that could happen Mayo now is to scrape past Tyrone in the semi' in a dogfight of a game and bring everyone, fans in particular, down to earth. So often in the past Mayo have given fine performances at the semi' stage and been unable to replicate it in the next game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

A big plus from yesterday's game was the performance of Alan Dillion. I thought he was absolutely outstanding in the first 20 / 25 minutes (when it was still a contest). From the very start, he got on the ball a lot and delivered some fine kick passes up the field. He had been struggling all year so it was nice to see back in good form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭overshoot

fair play lads, ye were ruthless. Thought if we didnt rediscover some of last years form we would take a good beating but not that bad of a one!
    Hope ye go an and win it now & see ye next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Brendan97

Thought Andy Moran had a quiet game, McGrath stopped most of the ball coming to him, but Moran kicked a really nice point nonetheless and did he get another after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Yeah defiler really hope that the supporters expectations do not get ahead of themselves, Seen it too many times before.James Horan is certainly the man to keep the players in check and guard any any nonsensical hype.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Well done Mayo! Team good enough to win all ireland if they can keep the heads, think this could be the year alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Horan is a class act, I remember going
    to castlebar in the league last year when the fog was around and Connelly was taking Mayo apart, then Mccarthy was sent off for Dublin, Mayo were coming back into it but off the pace, the game was called off.
    The replay was completely different the Mayo team were focused and savage in the tackle, I never saw a team learn and adapt so much between games.
    That was all down to management IMHO.

I don't know how good they are at deploying a plan B in the middle of a game but certainly the preparation and mental focus are top class, they won't be worried about kerry or anyone else, they handled the media well recently too.

Everyone outside Mayo must have them as their second team now.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

I couldnt be happier for Mayo, i really hope they you guys go all the way.
    Pretty much every other lillywhite fan from here is hoping for the same, best of luck Mayo.