Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭Nippledragon

Delighted with the win, commiserations Donegal. We have been on the end of drubbings like that enough times in finals and believe me it hurts alot more :(

Some of the diving and face holding from the Donegal players was cringe-worthy (I know D.Vaughan is one of our worst players for this and its pathetic). O' Sheas two tackles did not warrant 2 yellows - he didnt touch McFaddens face and you would swear he had chinned him, yet the exact same challenge on Dillon from Murphy and no card?

Hope the ref for the semi is consistent and has better eyesight and awareness as it will be a slug-fest v Tyrone, I just hope we can rise above it and play football like we did Sunday.

Up Mayo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Kieran McSweeney tweeted last night that their rights don't allow them to show it online because Setanta have the replay rights so unless someone puts it on YouTube we're out of luck I'm afraid.

Anyone fancy recording the replay showing on Setanta and putting it online - we're three days from the game now so it shouldn't matter too much to the broadcasters at this stage?

Don't setanta show replays of the matches that do be on rte as well? Doesn't stop rte putting them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Room on the bandwagon for one more...

Ahh, lads, Ros minor champs, Galway U21 champs and Mayo senior champs sounds mighty. And let's not forget Brigids have the club AI too. It'd be some year for Connacht..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Neeson wrote: »
    Don't setanta show replays of the matches that do be on rte as well? Doesn't stop rte putting them up.

Yes - no idea why RTE's deal means they can but TV3 for some reason cannot. But seemingly that's the way it is.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Any joy with finding a good full version of the match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

yop wrote: »
    Any joy with finding a good full version of the match?

Have it set to mp4 so might be easier to upload it or send onto anyone at some stage this week. If anyone wants to pm their emails il attach it off my Google drive if it allows me

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Ok so Clarke is out and Hennelly is in, I have to give it to him on Sunday last he was v good, kickouts were good. Just thought he was a little nervous!!!
    As for Donie!!! He must be reading this forum :) He was top notch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Have to admit it was a joy to watch you lads on Sunday, incredible display. O'Shea put in probably the best midfield performance I have ever seen.

Have to admit the thought of your forwards up against our full back line fills me with a sense of dread. O'Connor just pops up in the right place all the time, its uncanny.

Lets hope we both do our bit and win our semis so we have a cracker of a final. Mayo have dished out a lot of pain to Dublin(2006 still hurts), would be nice to get some payback but I wouldn't begrudge Mayo an AI title, they definitely deserve one for their contribution in the last 20 years or so.

Also my cousins and lots of extended family are from Mayo so the craic would be mighty!

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Have to admit it was a joy to watch you lads on Sunday, incredible display. O'Shea put in probably the best midfield performance I have ever seen.

Have to admit the thought of your forwards up against our full back line fills me with a sense of dread. O'Connor just pops up in the right place all the time, its uncanny.

Lets hope we both do our bit and win our semis so we have a cracker of a final. Mayo have dished out a lot of pain to Dublin(2006 still hurts), would be nice to get some payback but I wouldn't begrudge Mayo an AI title, they definitely deserve one for their contribution in the last 20 years or so.

Also my cousins and lots of extended family are from Mayo so the craic would be mighty!

Thanks for the praise. I THInK Kerry and even Tyrone have big parts yet, Kerry I think pulled the pedal off in the 2nd half.
    Tyrone will physically bring us a big challenge, and cynical edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Syferus wrote: »
    Ahh, lads, Mayo minor champs, Galway U21 champs and Mayo senior champs sounds mighty. And let's not forget Brigids have the club AI too. It'd be some year for Connacht..

Agreed but let's not get ahead of ourselves!:D

yop wrote: »
    Thanks for the praise. I THInK Kerry and even Tyrone have big parts yet, Kerry I think pulled the pedal off in the 2nd half.
    Tyrone will physically bring us a big challenge, and cynical edge.

Yop I really do not think they did,I have never seen a Kerry team other than push on and go in for the kill.I was very unimpressed with Kerry,I thought the first game was of a very poor standard.I think the legs are gone with the high mileage and the players are'nt all of the same great vintage as previous years.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Yop I really do not think they did,I have never seen a Kerry team other than push on and go in for the kill.I was very unimpressed with Kerry,I thought the first game was of a very poor standard.I think the legs are gone with the high mileage and the players are'nt all of the same great vintage as previous years.

Cud be true, they seems very disinterested and I noted on a number of occassions a number of players arguing, not very Kerry like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

I think they're incredibly focused actually, they know this is the last swig of the flask. The legs just are no longer willing to comply with the spirit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 hardy buck salmon

highlights of the match here. (Good quality).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KN5Ft1arJU8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Moneymaker wrote: »

Cheers Bernard...... or Alan:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Lads
    Fairly sure the match can be watched tonight on Eircom.net Setanta sports hub at 10.30. I was watching Tyrone / Monaghan last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

I can put it up but the quality won't be great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Am I only one who wishes this semi final was tomorrow? I'm beginning to get sick of the hype. People talking about the final and this "mayo for Sam" crap that's starting to slowly appear. I hope the public show the respect to Tyrone that they deserve and thankfully I'm certain the players and management will give them that respect.

Don't get me wrong there's no harm in excitement but we've been here so many times before and its always the same. The bandwagon starts to appear, you know the type.
    We are actually in New terrority here. Usually the casual support doesn't give a damn if we win a quarter but after the donegal demoltion it's just like after we beat the dubs in 06 and 12. Plenty of work to be done yet and I won't be the only one nervous until the ball is thrown in on the 25th. We got a long way to go until all Ireland honours are handed out, I just hope the majority don't forget that **** happens, injuries to key men could hamper us and yknow it's sport ..the in form team sometimes lose their swagger at crucial times. Game 5 should be our only focus and hopefully we move onto game 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Yes, my facebook feed is already filling up with 'got the Mayo tickets today' type posts from people who I know usually have no interest and never go to games. Every county has the types - the Donegal equivalent were the ones leaving at half time on Sunday who have long since returned to their default position as Glasgow Celtic supporters in time for the CL game last night. I'd imagine the genuine Donegal GAA fans were the ones who stayed until the end.

Having said that, most of us are sensible enough to keep a lid on things at this stage - and you can bet James Horan will keep the Mayo lads' feet firmly on the ground.

Here's hoping he can, it can be quite hard to insulate the players from the kind of uncalled for bandwagon created hype.After all the players are part of the community and they wouldn't be human if they weren't aware of it to some degree, much less affected by it.Many would want nothing more than to talk football to them all day.The real GAA supporters would be inclined to try and keep it all low key, only a quarter final and all that especially in view of our finals record.TBH I'm not overly aware of any hype at this stage,I find the majority of people are quite circumspect with regard to our prospects, kind of afraid to believe until an All Ireland is won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭HillFarmer

Best of Luck lads from a Waterford hurling man. I've been rooting for ye the last few years but was blown away by the football ye played the last day.

Delighted to see a team playing exciting game and coming out on top.
    Hope ye go all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Here's hoping he can, it can be quite hard to insulate the players from the kind of uncalled for bandwagon created hype.After all the players are part of the community and they wouldn't be human if they weren't aware of it to some degree, much less affected by it.Many would want nothing more than to talk football to them all day.The real GAA supporters would be inclined to try and keep it all low key, only a quarter final and all that especially in view of our finals record.TBH I'm not overly aware of any hype at this stage,I find the majority of people are quite circumspect with regard to our prospects, kind of afraid to believe until an All Ireland is won.
    iam the same there is not a lot of hype about them ya have the usuall idiots who have no clue about football.a lot of mayo supports are very proud of this mayo team and the way they played on sunday.
    now hes a little thing for you breakfast this morning if O nell was a mayo man would he make the mayo team??
    with the way he has played this yr i dont think he would and thats just shows how strong or panel of players are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

The hype is definitely building imo. You can tell from talking to people. Even look at the amount of flags outside houses and hanging off cars, massive increase from this time last week. Facebook is also littered with it. Like I said a bit of excitement is no harm but you wouldn't like to see go over the top.

Btw there is a good "were you there" video on the gaa app, sums up the scenes from Sunday very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

ColeTrain wrote: »
    The hype is definitely building imo. You can tell from talking to people. Even look at the amount of flags outside houses and hanging off cars, massive increase from this time last week. Facebook is also littered with it. Like I said a bit of excitement is no harm but you wouldn't like to see go over the top.

Btw there is a good "were you there" video on the gaa app, sums up the scenes from Sunday very well.

I think the effect of hype is very overrated when you have a calm manager who knows what he's doing with the players.

Donegal went bananas last year in the build up to the final and it did them no harm.

Can you honestly say that any of Mayo's losses, be it finals or otherwise, in the last 20 years were in any way related to hype?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Padkir wrote: »
    I think the effect of hype is very overrated when you have a calm manager who knows what he's doing with the players.

Donegal went bananas last year in the build up to the final and it did them no harm.

Can you honestly say that any of Mayo's losses, be it finals or otherwise, in the last 20 years were in any way related to hype?
    Remember, this is just a semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Remember, this is just a semi final.

Ok fair enough. But do you not agree that after the Ulster final last year, all the talk in Donegal was about winning Sam and the place went mental up there. They even had a song about it!

Dublin goes into overdrive after a Leinster win (ok maybe not from a lot of the big fans), but there is huge hype around them.

Do you think it has an effect? Personally I think all the talk of Dublin pre-2011 "not living up to the hype" was bullsh*t, was just masking the fact that they weren't good enough.

Padkir wrote: »

Probably not,the point is though the Kerry's etc.....of the world do not get carried away after winning a quarter final,even a performance of great quality.Admittedly it is different for a county where an All Ireland win is taken for granted and Mayo where the craving to win Sam after 62 years is ravenous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Probably not,the point is though the Kerry's etc.....of the world do not get carried away after winning a quarter final,even a performance of great quality.Admittedly it is different for a county where an All Ireland win is taken for granted and Mayo where the craving to win Sam after 62 years is ravenous.

The difference is, the Kerry supporters don't even support until they get to a final. It was visibly noticeable last Sunday that Kerry easily had the smallest attendance on the day. Their "normal" semi final attendance might increase this year because of who they play.

Personally I think it's great to see support in Mayo. I would have absolute faith in James Horan in his ability to keep the players grounded.