Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you score in your last round? ... 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Was out in my clubs Captains day yesterday, started off well with 2 pars, but then had an OB on the third, so that was a double bogey 6, was going ok till another double on the par3 8th. Round was over then. Went around in 82 for 69nett. 62 won it. Was annoyed because I was one of the favourites according to the local paper :D. But to beat that score I would have had to shoot a 74. Was Never gonna happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Not sure I can compete with all of the brilliant scoring above, but I had 36 points yesterday off 19 which included five pars, nine bogeys and three doubles, with just one scratch! (a stupid seven on the par three fourth, which included a four-putt disgrace!) I still hit a few stupid shots and missed one or two really stupid putts which would have improved the score, but am happy with it. A glorious day too, weather-wise!

I don't know whether it will lead to a cut but, together with my 33/34(?) from the Heritage the week before, it would appear I'm plotting my way around the course and hitting my short irons better than before...

Although I'm delighted The only way is up!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Anatom wrote: »
    Not sure I can compete with all of the brilliant scoring above, but I had 36 points yesterday off 19 which included five pars, nine bogeys and three doubles, with just one scratch! (a stupid seven on the par three fourth, which included a four-putt disgrace!) I still hit a few stupid shots and missed one or two really stupid putts which would have improved the score, but am happy with it. A glorious day too, weather-wise!

I don't know whether it will lead to a cut but, together with my 33/34(?) from the Heritage the week before, it would appear I'm plotting my way around the course and hitting my short irons better than before...

Although I'm delighted The only way is up!!!

No Anatom the only way is down for you.:) Good shooting for a man who hasn't played too much recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Ben1977 wrote: »
    No Anatom the only way is down for you.:) Good shooting for a man who hasn't played too much recently

Of course, you're right Ben, it can only get better!! :D:D Will hopefully make it to Thurles, although an initial hint was met with stony silence the other day....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Followed up Saturdays 71 with a 72 today for 39 points off 5 in the Monday Open in Tullamore. Only 25 putts but only hit 6 GIR, used the putter a further 6 times from the fringe. It was pretty windy today so I'm happy with hitting as many fairways as I did, at -1 for 14 I was really unhappy and unlucky to bogey the next 2 holes. Couldn't be happier with how I'm playing right now.

GOLFSHOT-72_zpsea2b371a.png

9/13 Fairways
    6/18 Greens
    25 Putts

4 Birdies
    9 Pars
    4 Bogeys
    1 Double

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

YayaBanana wrote: »
    Followed up Saturdays 71 with a 72 today for 39 points off 5 in the Monday Open in Tullamore. Only 25 putts but only hit 6 GIR, used the putter a further 6 times from the fringe. It was pretty windy today so I'm happy with hitting as many fairways as I did, at -1 for 14 I was really unhappy and unlucky to bogey the next 2 holes. Couldn't be happier with how I'm playing right now.

9/13 Fairways
    6/18 Greens
    25 Putts

4 Birdies
    9 Pars
    4 Bogeys
    1 Double

Yaya would you ever feck off with your ridiculously consistently good golf! Making me sick you are. Sick with jealousy. Well done. Unreal handicap drop. Were you a shark junior who is only getting back into it or what's the story? What's the handicap target now? Great to see such good progress tho. Fair play to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

73 in Roganstown off the Blue tees, with a 9 on the last.
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

mike12 wrote: »
    73 in Roganstown off the Blue tees, with a 9 on the last.
    Mike

Thats heartbreaking :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

YayaBanana wrote: »

9/13 Fairways
    6/18 Greens
    25 Putts

4 Birdies
    9 Pars
    4 Bogeys
    1 Double

Conclusive Evidence, if it was needed, of the real difference between a good golfer and a struggling 15-handicapper.... I hit one more Green In Reg than YaYa today (St Margaret's)... and took 16 strokes more for my round - 11 of which were putts...

Mr. Larson wrote: »
    Yaya would you ever feck off with your ridiculously consistently good golf! Making me sick you are. Sick with jealousy. Well done. Unreal handicap drop. Were you a shark junior who is only getting back into it or what's the story? What's the handicap target now? Great to see such good progress tho. Fair play to you.

Cheers Larson. I was big into golf as a junior but never really took it that seriously, wasn't a member of a club the last 3 years mainly because of the cost but also because I just didn't want to play. Got back into it big time this year and have fallen back in love with the game. Handicap target for the rest of the year now is to stay between 4 and 5. Want to break par this year too so that will keep me working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,632 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Conclusive Evidence, if it was needed, of the real difference between a good golfer and a struggling 15-handicapper.... I hit one more Green In Reg than YaYa today (St Margaret's)... and took 16 strokes more for my round - 11 of which were putts...

PLus

yaya is playing tullamore 7 days a week at the moment. If he wasnt holing more putts, there'd be something wrong. He must know every inch of the greens out there! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,470 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Played in a 4 person team event in Powerscourt on Friday. East course off the white tees. First time playing there.

Team combined for 90 points, of which I scored 41 off 18. Scored on every hole :)

Counted up the strokes and it came to an 85, having been level par for the first 6 holes.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

charlieIRL wrote: »
    played a classic in Castlebearna yesterday with my bro in law and 2 lads off here, thanks a million for the company and the very enjoyable day out.

Nerves got the better of me on the first two holes and I managed to loose my ball on both feckin holes off the tee. Head went down and I thought it was going to be one of those days after I hit my tee shot on the index 3 third wayyyy left....but...got back on the green and 2 putts for a score, then the golf started!! I think i hit all bar one of the rest of the greens in regulation and only the putter was stone cold I could have had the round of my life!! Played 16 holes 12 over and had 5 or 6 feckin 3 putts as i couldn't get the pace of the greens at all.
    2 hi-lights were almost driving the green on the par 4 13th, hitting the longest drive of the day on the par 5 16 (268m uphill!) and hit my second shot to 8 foot leaving a tricky downhill eagle putt - which i feckin missed!!
    Driving was great apart from first 2, measured a few over the 265m mark, short game ok but putter was very bad for a change.
    Still, was well happy at the end of the day!

My prize arrived today for longest drive!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Maybe. Course is playing easy enough though.

Not quite good enough. Great shooting BTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

268m is some slap. Congrats!

Hit 35 points in Fermoy today.
    Was out with a juvenile off 13 (14 years of age)who went around in 39 points. If I had a young fella that's the time to get them into the game- striking was impeccable, putting confident, all round great game. Put my game to shame but a genuine nice guy to boot.
    Great to see it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Macker1

Well done Charlie on winning the longest drive prize (hope you got something decent :D) It was a good day out and I enjoyed the company even if my golf game was a bit off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Well done charlie .... you should have taken my line with the putt :D

Eagle for sure...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭jamok

Played Carton House Montgomerie Today for the first time. For a man who has been hitting the ball as well as ever and having good scores of late I felt it was time to put all of that to the test and try and shoot a number on a tour standard venue like The Monty.

After starting of with a testing up and down for par on the first I felt good about my game and confident about what was to come. Well how wrong I was, for some reason I found it very difficult for the course to suit my eye with its severely undulating fairways and deep bunkers it was a bridge to far for me.
    Even though I had a strokesaver in my hand i seemed to be picking the incorrect line almost everytime and found that very frustrating that what I thought was a good shot was not the line at all.

I'm not sure what score I had today as i picked up and lost a few balls but I would say I probably just about had high 80's. The course itself is in magnificent condition and even though the greens were scarified I could not fault them.

I booked it through Golfnow.ie and got it 2for1 with a coupon code which are avialable online. So for €23.50 I was happy with everything but my own game. Maybe next time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

jamok wrote: »
    Played Carton House Montgomerie Today for the first time. For a man who has been hitting the ball as well as ever and having good scores of late I felt it was time to put all of that to the test and try and shoot a number on a tour standard venue like The Monty.

After starting of with a testing up and down for par on the first I felt good about my game and confident about what was to come. Well how wrong I was, for some reason I found it very difficult for the course to suit my eye with its severely undulating fairways and deep bunkers it was a bridge to far for me.
    Even though I had a strokesaver in my hand i seemed to be picking the incorrect line almost everytime and found that very frustrating that what I thought was a good shot was not the line at all.

I'm not sure what score I had today as i picked up and lost a few balls but I would say I probably just about had high 80's. The course itself is in magnificent condition and even though the greens were scarified I could not fault them.

I booked it through Golfnow.ie and got it 2for1 with a coupon code which are avialable online. So for €23.50 I was happy with everything but my own game. Maybe next time. :)

What's this 2for1 code you speak of? Playing carton in the next couple of weeks so would quite like something like that :)

Jimdagym wrote: »
    What's this 2for1 code you speak of? Playing carton in the next couple of weeks so would quite like something like that :)

The code I used was this one FBBOGO13. You can only get that if you book a "Hot-Deal" and you can only use it once per account.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

mafc wrote: »
    Well done charlie .... you should have taken my line with the putt :D

Eagle for sure...:)

ohh tell me about it!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Casual 2 ball in Macroom in the rain. 104 blows consisting of 1 par (14th), 8 bogies, 5 double bogies and 4 scratches .

All in all a good day, I'll soon get into double figure rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

37 points in Gowran Park today off 14.
    FIR: 6/13
    GIR: 7/18
    37 putts :(

Played solid and should have scored much better, missed 3 times from inside 4 feet. Absolutely flushing my irons, happy enough with the score considering the conditions today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

ArielAtom wrote: »
    Not quite good enough. Great shooting BTW.

Cheers. To make it worse it was a three putt on 16 that cost me. It's good to be competing again after a poor year so far.

Played Rathcore today in a classic. I had never played it before and didn't know what to expect but was very pleasantly surprised.
    The course is in fantastic condition and the greens were excellent.

It was a bit short for me but I would really like to go back and play it off the back sticks because I enjoyed it and think it would be a better test from the backs. As for the golf i had 80 with my own ball and only for 2 doubles due to awful weather that came from nowhere I would have had a decent number.

Unfortunately it was very slow taking us 5 hours to get around but I guess thats pretty regular for a classic.

All in all 8/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Corkblowin

Just need to post this as therapy - gutted this evening.

+6 gross off fotas back tees today in the medal. Don't think I've ever played as well tee to green in my life, but..........

Four 3-putts, a 4-putt, 3 birdie putts inside 6 feet missed & a straight up the hill 4 footer for par that didn't even touch the hole. Puttings always been a strong part of my game but I'm shook after today! :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

1st rd after 10day break lads holiday in ibiza:eek: WHAT A NIGHTMARE came in with 29pts 3blanks 2lost balls 1par on the 1st hole which happened to be the 14th in mountain view hate having to start anywhere but the 1st tbh,anyway 2nd hole index1 grrrrrrrr to soon par5 hit an 8 i was gone head in the bin was so looking forward to getting out but just couldnt let it go. Nett 79 off 19 shocking stuff only good shot nice chip in birdie with a new cleveland 56d wedge i bought yesterday good deal only 70e with a trade of any old yoke,lovely club must get the 54 asap.Back out 2moro must try harder:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

jamok wrote: »
    Played Rathcore today in a classic. I had never played it before and didn't know what to expect but was very pleasantly surprised.
    The course is in fantastic condition and the greens were excellent.

It was a bit short for me but I would really like to go back and play it off the back sticks because I enjoyed it and think it would be a better test from the backs. As for the golf i had 80 with my own ball and only for 2 doubles due to awful weather that came from nowhere I would have had a decent number.

Unfortunately it was very slow taking us 5 hours to get around but I guess thats pretty regular for a classic.

All in all 8/10.

Glad to hear you enjoyed. Just out interest what tees where you off? The yellows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

85 strokes for 36 points around Rathcore today. Two rounds in a row where it was 11 over on front 9 and 2 over on the back 9! Bit of a tight hamstring so probably stretched out by time of the turn (that's my excuse).

1 Birdie
    7 Pars
    7 Bogies
    2 Doubles
    1 Triple (grrrr)
    Putts - 33
    FIR - 93%
    GIR - 39%

Hoping for any kind of a cut as I'm on 12.5.

37 Points off 5 today. Played pretty well again, 9 straight pars on the front 9, then went +3 for the next 3, and had a good finish, before 3 putting the last from 20 feet. All parts of my game were pretty sharp, confidence is sky high at the moment. Re-entry tomorrow so hoping to improve on todays score.

7/13 Fairways
    12/18 Greens
    32 Putts

1 Birdie
    13 Pars
    3 Bogeys
    1 Double