Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,485 ✭✭✭tanko

Jaysus, if you think that field has rushes in it i hope you never see some of my fields:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Wholecrop in, pit covered, tae finished.:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Wholecrop in, pit covered, tae finished.:D:D
    With all the excitement I hope you remembered to milk your cows;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

delaval wrote: »
    With all the excitement I hope you remembered to milk your cows;);)

Ahhh...... I knew there was something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Should be knocked by now. Pick up tomorrow

Mower on tractor will knock tomorrow and pit on Wed, forecast not too bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

After mowing 12ac of itailian ryegrass that i sowed end of april, first cut off it. Its a serious crop of grass but shrinking already, was going to bale it up tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Knocked 26 acres second cut today. Not over heavy got toasted in dry weather but quality looks good. Will bale tomorrow if stays dry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭stanflt

knocked a few paddocks this evening

pbrw.jpg
    hgd1.jpg
    hz8a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,809 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

stanflt wrote: »
    knocked a few paddocks this evening

pbrw.jpg
    hgd1.jpg
    hz8a.jpg
    Nice lookin stuff stan,Knocked 17 acres myself of surplus paddocks.tURNED it out and shake it again around dinner time tomorrow,Proably rake up and bale for tomorrow evening.Serious growth for last 5 or 6 days.Measured this am and cover per cow up to 250 so took out a few paddocks and now back at just over 200.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭restive

I baled and wrapped 12 acres today. Cut on Saturday nice stuff. Just over 9 bales to the acre giving 113 bales in all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

lads when you cut those surplus paddocks do you not have issues with listeriosis with the cow dung? considering cows were probably in the paddock within the last 20 days

ah here now dont be looking for problems. If there is any thing worth picking up on a paddock here after its grazed my father mows it and bales it up, as long as there not goin through a diet feeder there grand, have done it for years and never a problem. Just put them seperate and ye wont mix em up

jersey101 wrote: »
    ah here now dont be looking for problems. If there is any thing worth picking up on a paddock here after its grazed my father mows it and bales it up, as long as there not goin through a diet feeder there grand, have done it for years and never a problem. Just put them seperate and ye wont mix em up

when I was younger and working on a large farm, we use mow after the cows and if there was a bit too much they would bale. bales were always dumped as they said no way in the world would they fed them. but hey the topping shouldnt have being that long in the first place, but I was only the farm hand doing what I was told to collect the beer tokens for college

ah i dont like feeding it either but its the fathers routine so cant do much about it. They were handy this year doh :)

yeah, we lost a few cows in around April from Listeriosis, they were only after being bought in and had consumed it before reaching our place as I would be fairly meticulous as what get fed here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Have half of mine cut yesterday. Will cut the rest today and weather and contractor permitting all will be done by the end of business tomorrow!

yeah, we lost a few cows in around April from Listeriosis, they were only after being bought in.

Did you get your money back or did the lad you bought them off accept responsibility??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

at 30 acres today 14 of which is barley that was under sown,all going into a pit, tyres tyres tyres.

yeah, we lost a few cows in around April from Listeriosis, they were only after being bought in.

Did you get your money back or did the lad you bought them off accept responsibility??

didnt go looking for anything as animals are sold as described and seen, and something like that would be impossible to prove it came with the animals. Same with ragwort poisoning which I had two healthy animals pine away with. all part of the business :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

leg wax wrote: »
    all going into a pit, tyres tyres tyres.

Better than diesel diesel diesel

Mowing away here day opening up nicely. Much better crop than I expected, it stood still in the drought but the amount of young leaf that appeared after the rain has really thickened it.
    Pit stripped and contractor may be here this pm yet, but booked for am. Rain would do harm now!!
    I think I'll mow out a few paddocks and bang them into the pit while we're at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Contractor mowing about 15 acres today, will be picking up in the morning. Crop looks heavier now that its cut, has beem great growth last wk or so. Fingers crossed no rain tonight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭stanflt

Crops have jumped out of the ground in last 10 days

Looking like I'll knock the 3rd cut over the weekend weather permitting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

Timmaay wrote: »
    Contractor mowing about 15 acres today, will be picking up in the morning. Crop looks heavier now that its cut, has beem great growth last wk or so. Fingers crossed no rain tonight...

probably rain in Wicklow by lunchtime tomorrow,if not,it will be there by the afternoon,so get cracking in the morning early!

Pit covered last if pit for this year. Will take out a few paddocks next week.

I'd say we are in for another dry spell though a drop would be nice!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Do you not use sandbags delaval around the edges??

I hope there are no mice and rats reading this forum. They will be up to go winter camping with you if they see those nice fluffy bales of straw spread on the pit for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Why is there such a big lump on the right hand side delaval ?
    Will you be opening it again soon or would you be afraid of the air getting in where the grass is peeping out ?

Jesus, ye're a critical shower. Here was me delighted to be finished