Life in the Corporate World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Where would the initials on these suits be? its so corny im imploding with the cringe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I've worked in the financial, hospitality, retail and social care sectors. Take it from me OP; there are blaggers and passengers in each and every one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

IK09 wrote: »
    tut tut commoner...its referred to as "bespoke"

tut tut wannabe... it's referred to as "monogramming" :P

Where would the initials on these suits be? its so corny im imploding with the cringe

It's usually done above the inside breast pocket :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Czarcasm wrote: »

It's usually done above the inside breast pocket :D

At least its not visible.....still though, very wanky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

At least its not visible.....still though, very wanky

Strategically placed to be visible when you take out your wallet

Boombastic wrote: »
    Strategically placed to be visible when you take out your wallet

Or, you keep your monogrammed wallet in your monogrammed briefcase and keep your personalised gold plated iphone in your breast pocket :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

I don't carry business cards myself
    What's wrong with business cards??

smurfjed

smurfjed wrote: »
    What's wrong with business cards??

smurfjed

It's just my personal opinion that they're an American cliche from the 80's. I've been in business 20 years and my father was also self employed for 30 years before me, never needed nor used business cards.

The only people who carry business cards are people who like to feel important. I'll put someone's business card in my wallet and chances are I'll never look at it again once I have their phone number and email address in my phone.

EDIT: Actually just noticed you signed off the end of your post there and it reminded me of something someone asked me this morning-

"Could you show me how to put in my hand written signature at the end of my e-mail messages?"

I was almost tempted to do this -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭pcardin

It's just my personal opinion that they're an American cliche from the 80's. I've been in business 20 years and my father was also self employed for 30 years before me, never needed nor used business cards.

The only people who carry business cards are people who like to feel important. I'll put someone's business card in my wallet and chances are I'll never look at it again once I have their phone number and email address in my phone.

EDIT: Actually just noticed you signed off the end of your post there and it reminded me of something someone asked me this morning-

"Could you show me how to put in my hand written signature at the end of my e-mail messages?"

I was almost tempted to do this -

you seem to have a twisted understanding of what business card is and how it works. Besides it's not American thingy. Business cards are widely used all around continental Europe. And its nothing to do with self importance. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

" we have an organic culture "
    Is that a nice way of saying "We're rotten to the core"?

Business cards have a place and unless you want to carry around a pen and paper so you can individually write down your details and the details of anyone you want to speak to again every separate time you meet someone then business cards are the way to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Screw business cards. If you're good enough, people will remember your name.

seachto7 wrote: »
    Screw business cards. If you're good enough, people will remember your name.
    Your email and your phone number?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

becost wrote: »
    From my experience, all offices are a bollix to work in ... I used to hate sneezing during work too as you guaranteed some gobshite near you is going to reply with "bless you" and your expected to say "thank you".

People being mannerly in their workplace? The humanity...

The bastards probably expected you to excuse yourself afterwards too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Can't stand management speak, emails full of waffle like metrics, synergy, blue sky thinking, blehhhh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

krudler wrote: »
    Can't stand management speak, emails full of waffle like metrics, synergy, blue sky thinking, blehhhh.

Or my own personal favourite: "revert" instead of "reply".

Don't they know that that makes baby Jebus cry???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Or my own personal favourite: "revert" instead of "reply".

Don't they know that that makes baby Jebus cry???

"Can you revert back to me on that issue?"

Whut? "link in" is my biggest pet hate one after that "can you link in with Mary?" whhaaat? you mean just talk to her? just say that ffs.

pcardin wrote: »
    you seem to have a twisted understanding of what business card is and how it works. Besides it's not American thingy. Business cards are widely used all around continental Europe. And its nothing to do with self importance. :confused:
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Business cards have a place and unless you want to carry around a pen and paper so you can individually write down your details and the details of anyone you want to speak to again every separate time you meet someone then business cards are the way to go.

I'm an advocate of the paperless office, so I keep my "business card" on my smart phone, and bluetooth it over or send it via email where the recipient can directly import it into their email program simply by clicking on it.

Their business cards I leave them in a box on my desk. I understand for some it's a form of advertising, marketing, etc, but my business is all about using technology to increase efficiency, productivity and reduce costs in a business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

krudler wrote: »

I heard someone here use the phrase "ideas that are bubbling down"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

I use business cards out of necessity. Especially handy for foreign names or a meeting with several people in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

No management speak where I work but I earn a pittance. Trade ya.

I'm an advocate of the paperless office, so I keep my "business card" on my smart phone, and bluetooth it over or send it via email where the recipient can directly import it into their email program simply by clicking on it.
    That's probably the way it's going but there are a number of problems with that at the moment. If a customer/client wants a business card it's silly to deny them that, whatever is easiest for them. Smart phones need compatible software for some business card software. Email works but then what if your email ends up in his junk mail and he forgets about you?

What if the client needs to talk to someone else in the company or just wants a note of a certain spec or price? You can just write these things on the back of the business card in the space of a minute and hand the card to the guy. People can be reluctant to give out their own details (even an email address) and would rather have your details and contact you when they want to.

MY business card basically states what i do, and who i work for...... Great to watch officials who are being obnoxious and how their faces change once they read the card :)

MY business card basically states what i do, and who i work for......

customer: "but there are no contact details on this card how will I get in contact with you?"

smurfjed: "You won't. I'll find you when the time is right" *jumps of the top of the building and flies off into the night.

You are assuming that i have customers :):) My business card is intended to intimidate people, not sell them anything.

I'm still assuming your business card simply states "I'm Batman".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I used to be a "sales executive", the money was great but i was miserable. Now i'm a gardener, i earn half of what i used to earn but i'm a gardener. I look forward to every day, the people I work with are great and life has never been so good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I met an Italian guy who worked for one of the banks in the IFSC, and I was curious to know what was his experience working there. He had been there 10 years at this stage.

He said there was a clique from the south county Dublin area who tended to promote each other to the best positions within certain companies, and if you didn't play golf or rugby you weren't likely to 'fit-in'.

One of the things he was frequently asked was which school he went to in Italy... that seemed to matter a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

I find the main CEO in my place aswell as the company secretary and Chairman of the Main board are all sound individuals that would talk to everyone the same, They don't look for respect but they get it cos of their attitudes.

Its the second tier Director/manager level that are a shower of arse licking ****es

Personal Assistants are the worse!!! If ever I meant a bunch of snobby bitches in life its them ''Do You know who i am/work for'' type of attitude:rolleyes:

That's probably the way it's going but there are a number of problems with that at the moment. If a customer/client wants a business card it's silly to deny them that, whatever is easiest for them. Smart phones need compatible software for some business card software. Email works but then what if your email ends up in his junk mail and he forgets about you?

What if the client needs to talk to someone else in the company or just wants a note of a certain spec or price? You can just write these things on the back of the business card in the space of a minute and hand the card to the guy. People can be reluctant to give out their own details (even an email address) and would rather have your details and contact you when they want to.

I'm self employed so I do everything off the phone, my mobile office so to speak, it's like a frickin' swiss army knife for me, I'm an IT Consultant by profession so I'm often showing MDs and other organisations how to utilise the technology available to them.

Different strokes for different folks really, I'm old school in other ways alright- I cannot stand social networking for example, I know HOW to use it, I just don't have any time for it.

customer: "but there are no contact details on this card how will I get in contact with you?"

smurfjed: "You won't. I'll find you when the time is right" *jumps of the top of the building and flies off into the night.

I'm self employed so I do everything off the phone, my mobile office so to speak, it's like a frickin' swiss army knife for me, I'm an IT Consultant by profession so I'm often showing MDs and other organisations how to utilise the technology available to them.
    WEll that's a different kettle of fish to the people I'm dealing with, handing them a business card in your profession would be counter productive I suppose.

I'm just thinking of the older fellas I deal with in the construction/home improvement area that would avoid email given half the chance.
    Different strokes for different folks really, I'm old school in other ways alright- I cannot stand social networking for example, I know HOW to use it, I just don't have any time for it.
    If it wasn't for it being a requirement for any business these days I wouldn't go next nor near Facebook.