Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Went with 80 units nitrogen and see how growth is. Will give it six weeks or if weather keeps up less and have decent aftergrass for flushing ewes. The second cut was coming along well but just went shot very quickly in the warm weather so thought there was little point on trying to wait any longer for little additional bulk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

i am going with 2 bags- 54 units- as triticale/lupins will be ready to cut in 4 weeks and grass silage is going on top.... thats the plan anyway;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Baled and dry ,,, phew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Sami23

Would it be too late to put out fertilizer this coming Saturday for 2nd cut silage or is too late at this stage ???
    Would 3 bags of 24-2.5-10 do the job as could do with few more bales ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Sami23 wrote: »
    Would it be too late to put out fertilizer this coming Saturday for 2nd cut silage or is too late at this stage ???
    Would 3 bags of 24-2.5-10 do the job as could do with few more bales ???

3 bags should be loads. At reasonable growth rates you'll have N gone on Sept 1st. Cut first chance you get after this and apply another bag of same compound and you should have a nice clean aftergrass for grazing mid-late October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Anyone taking a chance on knocking a bit on Saturday? It's looking like the only available window for the moment..... or should I hang tough??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Muckit wrote: »
    Anyone taking a chance on knocking a bit on Saturday? It's looking like the only available window for the moment..... or should I hang tough??
    How long is it closed up? Even if Friday comes dry the ground and crop will still be very wet and you'll get no wilt into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

just do it wrote: »
    How long is it closed up? Even if Friday comes dry the ground and crop will still be very wet and you'll get no wilt into it.

Hang fire till next week, twill come around yet,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Also with the current weather, and despite the forecast, it could get a thunder shower out of the blue (happened me with my first cut during that really good week at the start of June when it wasn't in the forecast at all :mad:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭restive

Muckit,

I am in the same situation. I do not mind hanging tough for a bit but i want to allow time for some decent after-grass to grow in August. I will just have to keep an eye on the forecast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

restive wrote: »
    Muckit,

I am in the same situation. I do not mind hanging tough for a bit but i want to allow time for some decent after-grass to grow in August. I will just have to keep an eye on the forecast.
    Same here going to hang tough though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

what were you lads doing over the last few week that yous didnt cut chancy land. Is the old, "waiting for a crop" mentality back again after a fine few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

what were you lads doing over the last few week that yous didnt cut chancy land. Is the old, "waiting for a crop" mentality begain after a fine few weeks

The cows were busy eating it on me, I was waiting on the rain, and growth to start, before I'd know if I would have any left to cut, catch 22 so! But whats there is light and I'm just going for bulk now so can wait for dry weather.

Timmaay wrote: »
    I'm just going for bulk now so can wait for dry weather.

Ah sure if the worst comes to the worst it will be a decent first cut next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

weather fore cast changing like f**k, tue/wed next week looking best days now!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Ah sure if the worst comes to the worst it will be a decent first cut next year

Would be better than those 8/900kg wet silage bales
    that I just discovered today made sh&te of my bale trailer, had a look underneath it and the axle is almost collapsed after drawing too many of them in it during the winter ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

that I just discovered today made sh&te of my bale trailer, had a look underneath it and the axle is almost collapsed after drawing too many of them in it during the winter ha!

Beware bale trailers in Wicklow on Donedeal so!!

I was feeding a few bales through the feeder in the last few weeks and I couldn't get over the weights of the bales. No moisture, in one case the baler was a day late and it was heading for hay but the bales were all 780-800kgs. I was just wondering was it the nature of the material being baled, does light, leafy material pack that much better or are we underestimating what's in bales all the time?

what were you lads doing over the last few week that yous didnt cut chancy land. Is the old, "waiting for a crop" mentality back again after a fine few weeks

I was waiting for the nitrogen to clear that was applied after the first cut. The second cut came on a lot stronger than in recent years. Last year I cut it around the first of september. This year it was ready at the end of july.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

I was feeding a few bales through the feeder in the last few weeks and I couldn't get over the weights of the bales. No moisture, in one case the baler was a day late and it was heading for hay but the bales were all 780-800kgs. I was just wondering was it the nature of the material being baled, does light, leafy material pack that much better or are we underestimating what's in bales all the time?

id say it packs tighter, thats why its hard to call on quantity this year, less bales on the ground but baled drier so packed tighter,

By the forecast Wed for the wholecrop.

Anyday there is a bit of wind up you can motor on with the wholecrop considering your type soil. Spring wheat here won't be wholecropped until after 1st of Sept :). winter wheat may be wholecropped in a few weeks time as we are so far behind you good farmers

I dunno about that you had yours in the ground long before me. I think based one all my (one) years experience growing the crop :rolleyes: that barley does best without a check. I don't know how much longer it would take to get to full ripe but it's a good crop. Sown 22nd April in perfect conditions and got a nights rain around a week later and has driven on since up until the rain dancers got their wish. That said a lot of things could be gotten away with this year from a husbandry point of view certainly around here. Rain came right and plenty of dry weather keeping disease down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I dunno about that you had yours in the ground long before me. I think based one all my (one) years experience growing the crop :rolleyes: that barley does best without a check. I don't know how much longer it would take to get to full ripe but it's a good crop. Sown 22nd April in perfect conditions and got a nights rain around a week later and has driven on since up until the rain dancers got their wish. That said a lot of things could be gotten away with this year from a husbandry point of view certainly around here. Rain came right and plenty of dry weather keeping disease down.
    :o:o

lo2w.jpg

ye0k.jpg

9s5z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭red bull

Looks like a great cut, when did you cut first ?

Wholecrop today. Kinda got bounced into it. Contractor going at grass next week so not sure when harvester will be available again, could be a week which would be too long. Overdry wholecrop is very hard to manage.

I expect to cut this afternoon and bale on Monday.

red bull wrote: »
    Looks like a great cut, when did you cut first ?
    check out page 15 ;)

Thank Christ it's all over. I don't want to see another silage bale for a long time!!

o2wn.jpg

That field with rushes ain't mine. He has some sweet heifers though

4yrt.jpg

tpey.jpg

5wcl.jpg