Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,773 ✭✭✭emergingstar

As we do every year, only to be let down and even more pissed off.

Nope I believe and expect this year to be different I don't mind waiting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Can somebody explain the logic of getting in signings using September 1st as a deadline as opposed to August 17th? Because I dont get it.

keano_afc wrote: »
    Can somebody explain the logic of getting in signings using September 1st as a deadline as opposed to August 17th? Because I dont get it.

Falls on a weekend this year.

Expect, read it again.
    But by all means do your usual moaning about how the squad is not good enough and we need this and that, then slate Wenger for not doing enough then slate the team for not being good enough, it's all you can do.

While you do what exactly?

Where did I say I expect a title challenge without making signings? Because that's what you said I said above.

Nope I believe and expect this year to be different I don't mind waiting

Good for you.
    I don't see Wenger changing 7 years of proven management (not in fans eyes btw) CL qualification and positive bank balance.
    The board may do something themselves like Suarez, Wenger though, nope don't fall for the hype.

While you do what exactly?

Where did I say I expect a title challenge without making signings? Because that's what you said I said above.

Whilst I avoid reading all your same rubbish posts time and time again.

tumblr_loxom5hETm1qkwc9zo1_500.gif

Even if we did all out business now

How many of them new players would start on aug 17th

I'd say one that's only a maybe

So I don't see the panic

You can post a gif, good lad.
    Keep supporting your team :pac:

You can post a gif, good lad.
    Keep supporting your team :pac:

Way to ignore. It's good to have you and your bull**** back though. I've missed you lying about what I've said and then pretending that you haven't read it.

Good for you.
    I don't see Wenger changing 7 years of proven management (not in fans eyes btw) CL qualification and positive bank balance.
    The board may do something themselves like Suarez, Wenger though, nope don't fall for the hype.

The 40m bid proves he is willing to spend.

Don't be foolish to think ye board is behind trying to land Suarez without wengers backing

Way to ignore. It's good to have you and your bull**** back though. I've missed you lying about what I've said and then pretending that you haven't read it.

Lad you're delusional, pleasure doing business with you FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Even if we did all out business now

How many of them new players would start on aug 17th

I'd say one that's only a maybe

So I don't see the panic

But thats only a relevant point because we've yet again left it too late to strenghten the team. The other top 3 are in transition. This, more than any season, was the one to show the hand early. But no, its passed us by again.

The 40m bid proves he is willing to spend.

Don't be foolish to think ye board is behind trying to land Suarez without wengers backing

Does it.?
    So by your summary Wenger bid 40mil for a player who's not going to be sold anyway for a price that they would never accept +£1 and that's just to test the waters eh?
    Very Wenger like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

No one can poach your signings. If he repeats what happened with Higuain, but starts on August 17th, the agent can't f*ck us around, the team we are signing him from can't double the asking price in hope someone else will come in and all in all our chances of completing the signings are much increased.

But thats only a relevant point because we've yet again left it too late to strenghten the team. The other top 3 are in transition. This, more than any season, was the one to show the hand early. But no, its passed us by again.

How is it though even If made all these signings in June

A midfielder might and only might start no one else would

We need the signings but as I said no panic as of yet

Does it.?
    So by your summary Wenger bid 40mil for a player who's not going to be sold anyway for a price that they would never accept +£1 and that's just to test the waters eh?
    Very Wenger like

I think we made that bid thinking it was a release cause

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭wawaman

I fear that come September we will be left holding our d*cks with no major signings. The usual "super quality" players wont have been availible and we get stuck in groundhog season yet AGAIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,470 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

gosplan wrote: »
    I don't know about Amy Lawrence's track record with these things but Wenger not wanting to spend seems pretty plausible.

He has to understand at some stage 2 things

1: the value he's looking for doesn't exist any more. Retaining our budget through successive windows is useless. The money does not serve the club when it's sitting in the bank.

2: this will finish him at Arsenal. We've a chance to push on this year and challenge. The only club I would worry about putting up a rediculous points total is Chelsea if it all clicks. We can catch everyone else with done improvement. If we don't, it's his fault and it will finish him at the club. Right now we're separate injuries away from a crisis at CF, DMF and CB. Of you can't find anyone to strengthen those areas despite a pretty much unlimited budget, then the market is not to blame.

All that said, I'm guessing he's just being a stubborn git and looking for the best possible value from Suarez.

That's it exactly.
    This year Wenger will either sink or swim.
    Apart from Chelsea who are strengthening the other top teams are static or worse off.
    This is the year when with a money and good players available we had it in our grasp to be a serious force and perhaps win the EPL. Alas we seem to have missed the boat again through lack of planning and getting our work done early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

A lot of fans have turned down season tickets, might actually get tickets handy enough this year, thanks Wenger!

That's it exactly.
    This year Wenger will either sink or swim.
    Apart from Chelsea who are strengthening the other top teams are static or worse off.
    This is the year when with a money and good players available we had it in our grasp to be a serious force and perhaps win the EPL. Alas we seem to have missed the boat again through lack of planning and getting our work done early.

Agree with the first part it def is sink or swim

Don't think we missed the boat though

I think we made that bid thinking it was a release cause

Well the clause actually says Suarez would have to be informed and as Liverpool says that doesn't mean we have to sell.
    Now we know they will look for at least £50m for Suarez, no way in hell Wenger is going to risk failure for that fee and changing his philosophy on overpriced players.
    Wenger should move on to getting in some other players, maybe he already has.:D

The season ticket thing is a red herring, even though every year its claimed the 'rumours are put about around season ticket renewal time', it doesn't really add up; the waiting list for season tickets is like 40,000 long. Which disproves that theory but is also a bit worrying at the same time. Even if people choose to object to the board by not renewing their tickets its still very likely that they'll sell out.

AdamD wrote: »
    The season ticket thing is a red herring, even though every year its claimed the 'rumours are put about around season ticket renewal time', it doesn't really add up; the waiting list for season tickets is like 40,000 long. Which disproves that theory but is also a bit worrying at the same time. Even if people choose to object to the board by not renewing their tickets its still very likely that they'll sell out.

Hasn't that figure got a lot smaller?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,680 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Given the amount of players we have release, I can't imagine that Suarez is the only target. With a bit of look all the attention on Suarez will make other signings a little more private.

We were never a club to start targeting high profile players and I'd expect even now the hunt for Suarez is the only high-profile player we want to land - the others will be good squad players (maybe one or two for starting XI) that hopefully will turn out better than the ones we just released.

It requires a membership to stay on the waiting list for a season ticket doesn't it?

Hyzepher wrote: »
    that hopefully will turn out better than the ones we just released.

Jaysus that won't be hard now will it? :D

It requires a membership to stay on the waiting list for a season ticket doesn't it?

Wasn't there someone here who didn't renew these membership last year but got offered a season ticket this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

gosplan wrote: »
    I don't know about Amy Lawrence's track record with these things but Wenger not wanting to spend seems pretty plausible.

He has to understand at some stage 2 things

1: the value he's looking for doesn't exist any more. Retaining our budget through successive windows is useless. The money does not serve the club when it's sitting in the bank.

2: this will finish him at Arsenal. We've a chance to push on this year and challenge. The only club I would worry about putting up a rediculous points total is Chelsea if it all clicks. We can catch everyone else with done improvement. If we don't, it's his fault and it will finish him at the club. Right now we're separate injuries away from a crisis at CF, DMF and CB. Of you can't find anyone to strengthen those areas despite a pretty much unlimited budget, then the market is not to blame.

All that said, I'm guessing he's just being a stubborn git and looking for the best possible value from Suarez.

Brilliant post spot on the money.
    bad2dabone wrote: »
    nobody apart from Kronke is content with that.

Is he though? Now I haven't been the biggest fan of Silent Stan like many other but this season himself and the club have made funds available and made it very clear it's there to be spent and it up to Wenger to spend it and they made sure it was clear it wa up to the manager.

As other have said I think we sorely miss David Dein always got the feeling he pushed Wenger and the club to make the signings we needed.

Well the clause actually says Suarez would have to be informed and as Liverpool says that doesn't mean we have to sell.
    Now we know they will look for at least £50m for Suarez, no way in hell Wenger is going to risk failure for that fee and changing his philosophy on overpriced players.
    Wenger should move on to getting in some other players, maybe he already has.:D

That hasn't been confirmed though as far as Suarez camp was concerned and clearly Arsenal were concerned it was a release clause.

So by your reckoning Wenger bid 40 million for Suarez absolutely smashing his and Arsenal transfer record a bid that if accepted would be one the biggest transfer in the world but at the same time won't bid 50 million because of fear of failure and overpaying for a player? That makes no sense, this summer the club have shown ambition they just need to learn how to get things done and push moves through.

I'm still hopeful we can get the business we need done because I'm a glass half full kinda person but they are leaving it late once again, which let be honest we can try our best to be level headed and say oh plenty of time left it will be grand etc but we all know signing a player early in the window is the best option for all parties I'm sure we had our targets before the summer and we should have been working on them before the window opened done and dusted we must be the most tight fisted penny pinching frustrating club to deal with.

See if you still whistling "the club tried" tune after they don't bring in any big names.
    You are already happy with the club just because of some ****e rumour bid lol
    Wenger has said we are close to signing no one, we can still win the title without any signings.

I accept arsenal aren't going to sign Suarez and his teeth.
    I also accept Wenger will make his usual good value signings, Suarez is not good value.