A generation of "Cotton Wool Kids"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity, how many of the posters who are advocating letting kids out alone have kids, and can you give us some examples of the freedom you give them that I for example don't give my kids. Some of the posters are giving me the impression that they don't have kids, so I'd like to hear the other side of the arguement from those who do have kids.

I can't remember exactly who said it, but a movie producer once said,
    'I had 1000s of theories on raising kids and no kids, now I've 6 kids and no theories'

Just out of curiosity, how many of the posters who are advoacting keeping kids in grew up playing outdoors themselves?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yeah but if anything happened your kid once it's off the leash there would be a tirade of 'bad parenting' mutterings and abuse and suchlike. Especially from yous cretins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Yeah but if anything happened your kid once it's off the leash there would be a plethora of 'bad parenting' mutterings and abuse and suchlike. Especially from yous cretins.

Things are going to happen, to vulnerable children and the not so vulnerable. Most of the time no amount of parenting bad or good can prevent it. However you can only warn of dangers to try to keep them safe, but let them breathe and grow, jump in puddles they won't get pneumonia, they won't break bones every time they fall over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Things are going to happen, to vulnerable children and the not so vulnerable. Most of the time no amount of parenting bad or good can prevent it. However you can only warn of dangers to try to keep them safe, but let them breathe and grow, jump in puddles they won't get pneumonia, they won't break bones every time they fall over.

Catching pneumonia from breaking bones is one thing, but what if they were run over by and killed by traffic then kidnapped in the car that hit them and it was full of Muslamic paedophiles and they converted your child into a hash addict????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

WindSock wrote: »
    Catching pneumonia from breaking bones is one thing, but what if they were run over by and killed by traffic then kidnapped in the car that hit them and it was full of Muslamic paedophiles and they converted your child into a hash addict????

That intentional? If so, nicely played!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I remember going for a piano lesson with a new teacher, my mum told me "I'll be outside the door, if he does anything strange like touch you in a way you feel uncomfortable, or says anything strange, come straight outside and tell me" I was only about 8 at the time, but it meant I knew what to do if something untoward happened

Your Mum sounds like a weirdo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

WindSock wrote: »

And don't forget the Terrorists...them ****ers be EVERYWHERE!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Just out of curiosity, how many of the posters who are advoacting keeping kids in grew up playing outdoors themselves?

I did when I wanted and then as I got older I found things like music and that kept me in. I don't stop mine going out, they just dont go on their own, end of. The street I live on is just too busy, but we go to the park with their friends, the are involved in school clubs.

Hope that answers your question, but do you have them that you can say you'd let them roam the streets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

So everyone here who spent loads of time outside does it now as an adult too?

Or are only adults allowed to be in the house?

It's all about balance, we spend a few hours outdoors every day, and I allow my kids to enjoy playing inside too.

I remember as a child lots of my friends were outside a lot because their Mams didn't want them inside being kids aka playing and making a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

when I think of some of some of the "playing" outside that I did in the 80's, I'm surprised I'm still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    She said "even your uncle" is not to give you a lift unless I have told you first.!

That either speaks volumes about your mother...... or your uncle!

I did when I wanted and then as I got older I found things like music and that kept me in. I don't stop mine going out, they just dont go on their own, end of. The street I live on is just too busy, but we go to the park with their friends, the are involved in school clubs.

Hope that answers your question, but do you have them that you can say you'd let them roam the streets?

Depends on the age. I agree with a previous poster who said she spuervised her kid at 6; but I personally wouldn't do it when they were about 10. I'd make sure my 10 year old had street sense to look after himself.

It's interesting, compared to berlin, where it's not unsual to see kids of 8/9 coming home from school on the u-bahn on their own.

Depends on the age. I agree with a previous poster who said she spuervised her kid at 6; but I personally wouldn't do it when they were about 10. I'd make sure my 10 year old had street sense to look after himself.

It's interesting, compared to berlin, where it's not unsual to see kids of 8/9 coming home from school on the u-bahn on their own.

My kids are 4 and 6, and we live on a street that has lots of older kids, and TBH, they're little sh1tes, and I personally don't like them and would hate to see my kids turning into them, but at the same stroke its hard to NOT want them to be wrapped in cotton wool, but I still have to give them the skills they need for adulthood. I think it's trying to find the balance but we're dammed if we do, and dammed if we don't.

I do have to say though I'm not one of those mothers who is forever cleaning her kids, they do get filthy, and I let them, a bit of muck won't do them an ounce of hardm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭NeonCookies

Your Mum sounds like a weirdo.

And why's that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Jester252 wrote: »
    I have to laugh at people saying that the world is more dangeruos today. That now we have X,Y and Z issues that could harm the children. These issues are nothing new, they were around when you when a child.

When I was a kid it wasnt possible to download a paedophile from the internet ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

And why's that?

The assumption that someone is possibly a paedophile despite the near stastical certainty that they're not.

Was she a Daliy Mail reader?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

The vast majority of abuse is done by people who are already known to the family. Fathers, Brothers, Uncles, Priests etc.

If you think there werent Paedophiles back in the 70s... you didnt go to a catholic school :)

The assumption that someone is possibly a paedophile despite the near stastical certainty that they're not.

It's more a case of the chances of someone being a pedohphile now being pretty much the same as 30 odd years ago.

There's also the genuine concern of extra traffic and other environmental changes, but at some point you just have to teach them and trust them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    there are so many monsters out there today :/

There were more back in the day, and they were more likely to get away with it too. The world for kids is no more dangerous now than it was 10, 20, 50 or 100 years ago - the difference is that everything is reported these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,678 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I love when people are trying to prove a point they go to the extreme. The fact that you used that line shows how manic you perceive the outside world to be. Which to be honest is pretty dam sad.

I was allowed on my street and up and down a few gardens to the left and a few gardens to the right. within sight. this expanded with age levels. Then around the corner to the green for football past the age of 9-10. Then after that it was the estate.

After that try and catch me, (they did) :)

You just cant keep them wrapped in cotten it really is impacting them socially and effects their own decision making into adulthood.

No one is advocating letting 8 year olds roam the streets thats just plain stupid and you know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

To be fair, it was almost mandatory in the 70s to have a weird bachelor Uncle that always slipped you 10p at chrsitenings and weddings and you thought was the business but your Ma and Da kept you away from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

listermint wrote: »
    I mean its absolutely ridiculous and insane to go through all the permutations of what could go wrong in your childs life. If you spent your time doing that then you would lose the plot.

And this is exactly what has happened to an absolutely ridiculous number of parents.
    Even if you take the playground in the People's Park, Sandycove/Dun Laoghaire, it's been completely dumbed down in recent years. It's gone from being a playground for tweens to a playground for toddlers and infants - swings are lower, fireman's pole is gone, monkey bars seem to be gone, etc.

Why is this? Probably because the county council are all too well aware that if any kid kets the tiniest scrape in the place, the council will be sued on personal injury grounds for a five figure payout.

Even in the 13 or so years since I was a kid, the world has changed so much. Half the things I used to do as a kid would almost definitely be off limits now. You could see it back then - there were always the one or two friends you'd feel sorry for in your class because their parents wouldn't sign the form for them to come on a canoeing day trip or go to Clara Lara, but soon I reckon those trips probably won't even exist because those few kids with the hyper paranoid, over protective parents have gone from being the one or two unfortunate cases to the absolute vast majority.

It's sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭moochers

I live on a street but there is a playground behind my house. My two boys are now ten and eleven so they are allowed to go out playing unsupervised. When they were younger I would always bring them to playground for a few hours, and there were always other parents there too who I made friends with. I was never overly concerned about the predator/pedophile scenario, tbh, I was more concerned about the traffic on the road.

Actually, yesterday, we were out on the beach and there were two young lads having great craic on the raft, they were wrestling and trying to push each other off, just before one of them managed to push the other one into the water, he said 'by the way, Im Sean' and then threw him overboard. He then gave the boy a hand back up onto the raft. I had to smile, it reminded me of the good old days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭NeonCookies

There was no hysteria involved. If she was a hysterical Daily Mail reader, she would have insisted on sitting in on the piano lesson, or made sure it was a female teacher (not saying women don't abuse kids, just that this is the generalisation).

I'm pretty sure if more parents educated their kids about what is possible in the world, there'd be far fewer cases of "The man told me I'd get in trouble if I told my parents, so I never did. I hid it from them for years, and it kept happening". I don't mean take away children's innocence and purity and scare the living daylights out of them! She never went into graphic detail, simply said "If you feel uncomfortable, tell me". My mother never treated anyone with open suspicion, she never stopped us going to houses, doing sports, parties, overnight trips. Any warnings were given in a calm way, to educate us rather than put fear in us. We had our freedom. And I'll be doing the same with my own kids in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

The benefits of being a culchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

And this is exactly what has happened to an absolutely ridiculous number of parents.
    Even if you take the playground in the People's Park, Sandycove/Dun Laoghaire, it's been completely dumbed down in recent years. It's gone from being a playground for tweens to a playground for toddlers and infants - swings are lower, fireman's pole is gone, monkey bars seem to be gone, etc.

Why is this? Probably because the county council are all too well aware that if any kid kets the tiniest scrape in the place, the council will be sued on personal injury grounds for a five figure payout.

Even in the 13 or so years since I was a kid, the world has changed so much. Half the things I used to do as a kid would almost definitely be off limits now. You could see it back then - there were always the one or two friends you'd feel sorry for in your class because their parents wouldn't sign the form for them to come on a canoeing day trip or go to Clara Lara, but soon I reckon those trips probably won't even exist because those few kids with the hyper paranoid, over protective parents have gone from being the one or two unfortunate cases to the absolute vast majority.

It's sad.

Yes I worry about what is going to happen to my child. If I didn't, then I would be a bad parent. We're not talking scraps on the knees or even a broken bone. We're talking abduction/death. It's putting my child in a position for this to be possible is where it gets hard. I take my child to Clara Lara myself. Ensure that they get to climb and tree and look for worms in the mud. I like to see them dirty because its shows they've had fun.

Yes there is the same amount of danger out there but with the advancing age of technology, it can be easier for a pedophile to access information about you and your child (April Jones, being one example as he stalked her sister Facebook account)

As I said, it's all about balance. That's for the scouts idea whoever made the suggestion. Never thought of it myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

The benefits of being a culchie.

Where the greatest danger was the bull 10 fields down the back of your house and you still went through that field for a shortcut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

DeVore wrote: »
    If you think there werent Paedophiles back in the 70s... you didnt go to a catholic school :)

I'd imagine it'd be pretty difficult to find many adults in Ireland who are unaware of all that.

listermint wrote: »
    I love when people are trying to prove a point they go to the extreme. The fact that you used that line shows how manic you perceive the outside world to be. Which to be honest is pretty dam sad.

I was allowed on my street and up and down a few gardens to the left and a few gardens to the right. within sight. this expanded with age levels. Then around the corner to the green for football past the age of 9-10. Then after that it was the estate.

After that try and catch me, (they did) :)

You just cant keep them wrapped in cotten it really is impacting them socially and effects their own decision making into adulthood.

No one is advocating letting 8 year olds roam the streets thats just plain stupid and you know it.

So you have kids then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,678 ✭✭✭✭listermint

So you have kids then?

No i have 1 niece and 5 Nephews, Just because Kids didnt come out of my loins doesnt mean i cant have an opinion on them.

Whats your point ?