Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

All well and good getting daysul if you do the driving for it

But please for the love of jaayssuss get an auto box !

After two hours on the motorway you can't beat the feeling of pressing the clutch in. Such a relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

manual is for real drivers, auto is for lazy drivers end of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

After two hours on the motorway you can't beat the feeling of pressing the clutch in. Such a relief.

Drove from Cork to Belfast one day, came to Newlands cross and my leg nearly had an orgasm pushing in the clutch :pac: but of an overstatement but you get me

• Moderators Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Some strange urges you got there...

Well then whatever you do don't read my last post :o

Where can you buy number plates anyways?
    The plates (the actual sleeve that numbers are printed on) on my girlfriends car are slightly crumpled and look a bit crappy. Nothing fancy required, just some simple legal prints.

Micksgarage sell them. Their own ones (they have a micksgarage.com surround) are about €7 each and the normal plain ones are about €10 each. Have a pair of the cheapest ones on my van as I couldn't care less about how the outside looks. Wouldn't dream of putting them on a car though.

Cheap

numberplate.png?w=578&n=

Cheaper

numberplate-branded.png?w=578&n=00-D-912345

shaaane wrote: »
    Micksgarage sell them. Their own ones (they have a micksgarage.com surround) are about €7 each and the normal plain ones are about €10 each. Have a pair of the cheapest ones on my van as I couldn't care less about how the outside looks. Wouldn't dream of putting them on a car though.

could ya cut off the cheap surround and would it look the same as the one with out it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Well then whatever you do don't read my last post :o

Exactly what are you lads 'clutching' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

it was last year when i had my civic and it was getting repaired from one of its many crashes by the other parties insurance and enterprise were giving me a rental car and they asked did i want auto (only had a very brief experience with autos) but i said yes and i had it for a week and i was up around donegal, driving around dublin city and delivering pizza in it and it was great, never look back buying one after it.

if you do lots of driving then why not.

plus your buying a diesel as is so the driving is already dead !

YbFocus wrote: »
    Exactly what are you lads 'clutching' :)

It wasn't me who was doing the clutching ;)

Katunga wrote: »
    could ya cut off the cheap surround and would it look the same as the one with out it.

Considered that myself but you'd want a very good eye and steady hand to keep the black border square and the bottom nice and even. Even if you make a balls of it and its not noticed by anyone, you'll always know its there yourself and it will ruin your life :p

Steel ruler and a good sharp knife :)

This battle was fought lately on another thread so we're not getting into it again :) 1.4 diesel fiesta is dead but there are plenty of diesels far from dead.

use the old plate as a template.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

it was last year when i had my civic and it was getting repaired from one of its many crashes by the other parties insurance and enterprise were giving me a rental car and they asked did i want auto (only had a very brief experience with autos) but i said yes and i had it for a week and i was up around donegal, driving around dublin city and delivering pizza in it and it was great, never look back buying one after it.

if you do lots of driving then why not.

You make a compelling argument.

S2000s FOR ALL!!

CianRyan wrote: »

S2000s FOR ALL!!

Auto S2000's ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Auto S2000's ;)

page-16.png

By the way I tasted you lately and your quite nice :)

CianRyan wrote: »

S2000s FOR ALL!!
    Auto S2000's ;)

Autos for some.......S2000's for all!!

• Moderators Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Steel ruler and a good sharp knife :)

I was thinking jigsaw but I have both of those! Might try it myself for the craic and see how they turn out. As I said before, I don't really care how the outside of the van looks :)

Neither for me :) Don't want to send a rod into orbit searching for my powerband :)

Exactly what I was going for!

I was thinking jigsaw but I have both of those! Might try it myself for the craic and see how they turn out. As I said before, I don't really care how the outside of the van looks :)

Ah yeah just take a chunk off and then shave off the remaining bit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

By the way I tasted you lately and your quite nice :)

The Drink Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime is too weak for me,

i was out in newbridge there last week and a gang of us went out and i ordered a pint of said drink and another lad got a pint of guiness.

I downed the whole pint of KSL in one go before your man got a sip of his pint and i had another one and finished by the time he reached the quater mark on his drink..... i had to move on to something stronger so i started drinking scotch on the rocks ! :cool:

The Drink Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime is too weak for me

I agree about the weakness, I don't usually like drinks like that but found that lovely!

The Drink Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime is too weak for me,

i was out in newbridge there last week and a gang of us went out and i ordered a pint of said drink and another lad got a pint of guiness.

I downed the whole pint of KSL in one go before your man got a sip of his pint and i had another one and finished by the time he reached the quater mark on his drink..... i had to move on to something stronger so i started drinking scotch on the rocks ! :cool:

Thanks for the invite :P

I know who's not getting a Christmas card this year

on the subject of drinks every try captain and fanta exotic. unreal.
    had no other mixer gave it a go.

Ah yeah just take a chunk off and then shave off the remaining bit :)

Actually, you were asking me to keep ye updated on my half arsed attempt at a temporary camper conversion. I have updates and will post them during the week. Not much as happened since last time as I'm back to work but it looks much better than it did. It will finally serve its purpose next weekend at a music festival in Cork! :D Cheapest conversion known to man. €18 so far :p

I totally forgot about that haha, yes pictures!! LOTS!! :D love the budget haha