Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Large capacity diesel boi! Way to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

CianRyan wrote: »
    PETRIL LAD, GET IT!!

Diesels are king of the motorway. It's hard for a petrol to keep up with 85 mph @ 40+mpg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

The lower my MPG goes the bigger my smile usually is.
    Feck economy. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Diesels are king of the motorway. It's hard for a petrol to keep up with 85 mph @ 40+mpg.

Considering I'm gona be on most motorways for the foreseeable future it makes sense
    YbFocus wrote: »
    Large capacity diesel boi! Way to go!

I'm gona be on the daysul boat! :pac: I'll be know to by the pertol lads as "one of those" :P

The lower my MPG goes the bigger my smile usually is.
    Feck economy. :p

Oh I'll be smiling loads don't worry about that Mr Ryan :P

Ah I know ya will.
    I'll be jealous once the cold comes back and I don't have a real roof. Haha

Hmm, maybe I'll buy an LS400 for the winter. :p

• Moderators Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

He's going for devil fuel, what a shame. :(

I want an Accord though, slick cars.

I think I know I guy.... ;)

My 530d will return almost 42mpg (calculated not displayed) on a pure motorway spin.
    That's with cruise set at 85-90 like Ronnie said, that's when ya can If there's not a petrolist ahead of you doing 50mph struggling to do 30mpg :D

Ah I know ya will.
    I'll be jealous once the cold comes back and I don't have a real roof. Haha

Hmm, maybe I'll buy an LS400 for the winter. :p

I'll spare a thought for you when it's snowing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

the fastest thing's we travel in run in on kerosene fuel which is very similar to diesel
    this
    Airbus_A380_blue_sky.jpg

and
    this
    1738.jpg

No fear of being stuck behind me I your turf burner. :p

Isn't Kerosene far, far more volatile than Diesel?

It runs on refined peat I'll have you know! :P

Isn't Kerosene far, far more volatile than Diesel?

Used to burn it in an auld Passat, it was like rocket fuel :) car would pull like a train compared with diesel. Although it's thinner and not good for the injector pump.

I actually kinda considered my dads Accord, but I do a grand bit of mileage (girlfriend is in Galway) and the tax is a bit of a stinker. Rough calculations add to about 1500 extra a year, and it'd always by my parents car, never truly my own.
    Immensely happy with my CC though :D

Used to burn it in an auld Passat, it was like rocket fuel :) car would pull like a train compared with diesel. Although it's thinner and not good for the injector pump.

daysul is like kerosene just with lubricants added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

It runs on refined peat I'll have you know! :P

All well and good getting daysul if you do the driving for it

But please for the love of jaayssuss get an auto box !

First I've heard of anyone doing that. I'd love to see a dyno comparison between the two but jaysus yeah, the poor engine must have suffered. Feck all lubrication in Kerosene.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSlKQWEXdHi0kkCW_6xz9lMfbIAp-uWM_IzrDNDfx84OFZ0AYaN

Ah no, what a sad thing to say. :(

(I'm just trolling at this stage)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Kero don't have lube or sulphur hence harder on pumps ;)

Feck all lubrication in Kerosene.

tumblr_m4t756qcBh1roxnzro1_400.jpg

First I've heard of anyone doing that. I'd love to see a dyno comparison between the two but jaysus yeah, the poor engine must have suffered. Feck all lubrication in Kerosene.

I'v heard of loads of people doing that and adding a cap of engine oil for every 10L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Telling ya... automatic is the only way... I never regret getting it !

dgt wrote: »
    Kero don't have lube or sulphur hence harder on pumps ;)

Run some in the 406, I've some Durex tingle here you can mix in with it. :p

Used to throw in a litre or 2 of veg oil in with it, god that car never gave an ounce of trouble, should put it back on the road :)

Do, and let me do a back to back! :D

Telling ya... automatic is the only way... I never regret getting it !

no no no no no no no no no no no no!! I drove a friends auto e60 and went and bought a manual, can't stand them.

I'd be with you on this one, I had a go of one once and just could not get used to it, it's not as fun driving then if you ask me

peasant and proud :pac:

And I drive loads of different cars everyday and prefer auto.... but the french 4 speed ones are crap

I'd be with you on this one, I had a go of one once and just could not get used to it, it's not as fun driving then if you ask me

peasant and proud :pac:

The accidental left foot breaking hurts my forehead.