Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Football Championship Thread 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

The commentator tries too hard with all his cliches.

And Hayes came in last weekend when Mayo were ahead by 17 points saying "Well, Mayo are going to win this match."

The commentary is undoubtedly poor on TV3 but nothing is worse than Marty Morrissey. The man ruined an enjoyable game between Cork and Kilkenny today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

platypus wrote: »
    Monaghan ..... have a bit to do imo to be considered significantly ahead of Meath, Kildare, Laois etc

What does Monaghan have to do...beat Meath TWICE in the League, beat All Ireland Champions that beat Laois and come Saturday I am sure we will hopefully take Tyrone that beat Kildare. Considerably worse than Meath...cop yourself on, you have no knowledge of football if you think that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Nialler15

Timmyctc wrote: »
    I dont think he actually says it was a bad challenge, but it makes ye wonder what he is complaining about alright.

What is it with the Northern managers.....they are happy to dish it out constantly (donegal, kildare, and tyrone) but it goes against them and they are up in arms.

Mickey Harte comes across as holier than holy....ah poor Mickey. But what Tyrone did in the last 5 or 6 minutes yday is killing Gaelic football. They started this cynical fouling years ago and others have followed. Kildares gameplan is based around stopping the opposition play. Mc Geeney is a bluffer as far as Im concerned. He made limited progress the first few years but the last two he has gone miles back. I dont blame him for not walking away given the rumoured money he is on.

And as for Mc Guinness. He has a hard neck. Yeah McHugh got a bad injury but there was no dirt in it. It was just a bad collision that he came off the worst. They have no bother dishing it out Donegal but dont like to be on the receiving end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

I think Meath played well enough but didn't have enough in the end. Tyrone had too much. Their experience stood to them.

Neeson I dont know. Did you not think the referee gave Tyrone some extremely soft frees late on in scoring positions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭platypus

Podgerz wrote: »
    What does Monaghan have to do...beat Meath TWICE in the League, beat All Ireland Champions that beat Laois and come Saturday I am sure we will hopefully take Tyrone that beat Kildare. Considerably worse than Meath...cop yourself on, you have no knowledge of football if you think that..

Monaghan are better than Meath and Laois at the moment, I never said they were considerably worse. They had a massive result last Sunday and fair play to them, I hope they beat Tyrone too, if they put those two results back to back then they definitely have moved to a different level

My post wasn't really meant to be about individual teams, but to answer your question about Monaghan they need to consistently beat good second tier teams (for want of a better description ) in championship football to be considered far better than them imo. It's just an opinion though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Not sure if you are on a wind up but I'll bite if you are.

First of all, ulster teams beating other ulster teams tell nothing about the dominance or otherwise of the province. Lets look at their performances against other teams in qualifiers this year

Armagh beat Wicklow and Leitrim, lost to Galway
    Antrim lost to Louth
    Derry beat Sligo
    Donegal beat Laois
    Cavan beat London
    Fermanagh beat Westmeath
    Tyrone beat Offaly, Kildare, Roscommon, Meath

Tyrone had a very good result against Kildare, Fermanagh had a good result v Westmeath. Donegal and Tyrone both beat decent teams you would expect them to beat. Antrim lost a game you would expect them to, Armagh beat 2 Div 4 teams then lost a Galway team they probably should beat.

I don't see the huge signs of ulster dominance from these results, and ulster teams had some poor results outside the province last year along with Donegal handing out some mailings within ulster.They are the strongest province imo, but Leinster is pretty competitive too . Take the top 2 out of both provinces and not much between next 4-5 teams from either province . Maybe Monaghan and Cavan will kick on and prove your point, they are having great seasons, but both have a bit to do imo to be considered significantly ahead of Meath, Kildare, Laois etc

IMO Ulster teams knocking each other out tells me that we easily could have had more than 4 in the quarters. Derry and Down would both be worth their place in the last 8.

You talk about Meath, Kildare and Laois but sure who have they beaten this year in the qualifiers? Meath lost their first game. Kildare only beat Louth. Laois beat Carlow, Clare and Wexford. Hardly any world beaters.

I wouldn't see Leinster as competitive at all. I attended the Leinster semis and final. Dublin walked their semi and, after 55 minutes had far too much for Meath.

Lemlin wrote: »
    IMO Ulster teams knocking each other out tells me that we easily could have had more than 4 in the quarters. Derry and Down would both be worth their place in the last 8.

You talk about Meath, Kildare and Laois but sure who have they beaten this year in the qualifiers? Meath lost their first game. Kildare only beat Louth. Laois beat Carlow, Clare and Wexford. Hardly any world beaters.

I wouldn't see Leinster as competitive at all. I attended the Leinster semis and final. Dublin walked their semi and, after 55 minutes had far too much for Meath.

More of this Ulster BS. Ulster football set the blueprint for the malaise that is in football today. Teams trying to play football are being stopped by cynical fouling introduced by Ulster teams and continued to this day by said teams IE Tyrone, Donegal, Cavan.....and now Kildare too. Mayo guilty of it too last year. The Dubs have changed from that to playing more attack minded football this year and hopefully themselves and Kerry can win out against the negative ****e we are being told is football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭STB

Not sure if you are on a wind up but I'll bite if you are.

First of all, ulster teams beating other ulster teams tell nothing about the dominance or otherwise of the province. Lets look at their performances against other teams in qualifiers this year

Armagh beat Wicklow and Leitrim, lost to Galway
    Antrim lost to Louth
    Derry beat Sligo
    Donegal beat Laois
    Cavan beat London
    Fermanagh beat Westmeath
    Tyrone beat Offaly, Kildare, Roscommon, Meath

Tyrone had a very good result against Kildare, Fermanagh had a good result v Westmeath. Donegal and Tyrone both beat decent teams you would expect them to beat. Antrim lost a game you would expect them to, Armagh beat 2 Div 4 teams then lost a Galway team they probably should beat.

I don't see the huge signs of ulster dominance from these results, and ulster teams had some poor results outside the province last year along with Donegal handing out some mailings within ulster.They are the strongest province imo, but Leinster is pretty competitive too . Take the top 2 out of both provinces and not much between next 4-5 teams from either province . Maybe Monaghan and Cavan will kick on and prove your point, they are having great seasons, but both have a bit to do imo to be considered significantly ahead of Meath, Kildare, Laois etc

I dont think he is winding you up as he raised it before recently. Like you I tried to put that into perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Nialler15 wrote: »
    Neeson I dont know. Did you not think the referee gave Tyrone some extremely soft frees late on in scoring positions?

Yeah seen it there on TSG. Half of them were terrible.

Seriously week refereeing from Deegan.

Did anyone else think it was madness having the games in Croker yday? Only county it suited to travel was Meath. Galway Cork game should of been in Limerick and Tyrone Meath in Clones. dont know about the other one. The Isle of Man maybe.......who cares....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Nialler15 wrote: »
    More of this Ulster BS. Ulster football set the blueprint for the malaise that is in football today. Teams trying to play football are being stopped by cynical fouling introduced by Ulster teams and continued to this day by said teams IE Tyrone, Donegal, Cavan.....and now Kildare too. Mayo guilty of it too last year. The Dubs have changed from that to playing more attack minded football this year and hopefully themselves and Kerry can win out against the negative ****e we are being told is football.

You think cynical play was introduced by Ulster teams? The first cynical team I remember was Meath in the 90s but I'm sure there were others before.

Don't believe all the crap Spillane spouts because he isn't happy that his beloved Kerry struggled in the 00s to beat Tyrone. I've heard people often say Spillane's Kerry were no angels. I'm not old enough to remember them play.

I can see the irony though in Ciaran Whelan lecturing on cynical play in TSG. A man who didn't even make it past the throw in before he gave Crawford a dig one year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭platypus

Who do you take out to put Down and Derry in last 8?

Agreed on your comments about Leinster teams in qualifiers. I don't think you can judge these things fairly on one season of football though. IMO there is a top tier of 6-8 teams, the next 10-12 are pretty close together, it depends on form, injuries etc at a given time. At the moment Cavan and Monaghan are two of the form teams and as I said already having great years, they may show in next few weeks they are miles better than teams I mentioned.

As regards leinsters competitiveness, fair enough the dubs dish out hidings, Donegal have dished out a few in ulster. Standard in ulster probably higher, but not a huge gap imo

You think cynical play was introduced by Ulster teams? The first cynical team I remember was Meath in the 90s but I'm sure there were others before.

Don't believe all the crap Spillane spouts because he isn't happy that his beloved Kerry struggled in the 00s to beat Tyrone. I've heard people often say Spillane's Kerry were no angels. I'm not old enough to remember them play.

I can see the irony though in Ciaran Whelan lecturing on cynical play in TSG. A man who didn't even make it past the throw in before he gave Crawford a dig one year.

Were Meath in the 90's not just a physcial team? Mayo came looking for a fight that day and got their arses handed to them. Go back to 91 Meath werent dirty or cynical. They had some serious footballers they had no need to be. Flynn, Stafford, O Rourke....and some hard men like Lyons Mc Entee etc.

The difference between those teams and the ulster teams is that the Ulster teams have n interest in football. Donegal the All Ireland Champions in their last two first halves have scored 5 points.....( open to correction if thats wrong) That tells a lot of the story. Stop the opposition play and we will score the minimum.

Yes its winning football but where is the spectacle?

Was reading the Sunday World today ( I swear I didnt buy it) and Spillane was taking about how much he loved the Monaghan v Donegal game. He likes defensive football, but only when its played by teams that have the ability to execute it. i.e NOT Laois, Antrim etc who reduce the game to sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Did anyone else hear Jim McGuinness's comments on the Sunday game tonight.I wonder has he given up the job with Celtic and considered a career in comedy , I nearly died laughing after that interview

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Did anyone else hear Jim McGuinness's comments on the Sunday game tonight.I wonder has he given up the job with Celtic and considered a career in comedy , I nearly died laughing after that interview

The Mark McHugh incident was a 50-50 ball that was an unlucky situation.

I would have liked to seen the other incidents he referred to however. They should have showed them to us to see if there was some validity in what he was saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Easily amused :rolleyes:

It's a well known fact that our top players get targeted, Dublin went out to murder Lacey a few years back.

Lacey, Mc Glynn, Mc Hugh and Mc Brearty get a particularly rough time from opposition players, most teams cant deal with their fitness levels so they go out to hurt them.

It's not a Donegal against the world mentality either, it happens other teams too.

Mind games maybe, but it still is a serious issue in football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

The best thing Horan can say now is nothing. Just sit back and smile. Jim is not as smart as he thinks he is ...

curry-muff wrote: »

It's a well known fact that our top players get targeted, Dublin went out to murder Lacey a few years back.

Lacey, Mc Glynn, Mc Hugh and Mc Brearty get a particularly rough time from opposition players, most teams cant deal with their fitness levels so they go out to hurt them.

It's not a Donegal against the world mentality either, it happens other teams too.

So you think McHugh was targeted by Gollogly last week? McGuinness saying he doesnt want to take away from the Ulster Champions then issuing a big BUT sounds like someone not used to loosing (which we in Monaghan unfortunately are :( )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

But Donegal are the masters at this kind of cynical fouling slowing up the game and taking out players.Live by the sword die by the sword I don't have an ounce of sympathy for Donegal in this instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Daft comments, I'm sure he's not happy about Mark McHugh's unfortunate injuries and he's out to protect him, but the challenge in the Ulster final was for a clear 50/50 ball.

Him complaining about supposed blatant 3rd man tackles was hilarious, the height of hypocrisy on his part, he was no better himself as a player. I find Jim McGuinness a very hard man to like with his whinging and general carry on.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Jim Corr... is that you Jim ;)

Murder... its not tiddly winks, in fairness Donegal lads complaining about hard tactics.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

Reminded me of Rafa's Rant..., facht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

yop wrote: »
    Jim Corr... is that you Jim ;)

Murder... its not tiddly winks, in fairness Donegal lads complaining about hard tactics.....

Was it not you in here yday saying the draw was fixed to give Mayo the hardest match or something Jim ? :P

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Jimmy's whingeing matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Podgerz wrote: »
    Was reading the Sunday World today ( I swear I didnt buy it) and Spillane was taking about how much he loved the Monaghan v Donegal game. He likes defensive football, but only when its played by teams that have the ability to execute it. i.e NOT Laois, Antrim etc who reduce the game to sh1te.
    He has a point there There are many teams who just have numbers back They havent worked out all o the teamwork aspects in retreat and in counter atttack Watched Galway Cork n Meath Tyrone Plenty of excellent football Sean Kavanagh Eamon Wallace Mickey Newman Michael Meehan The standard of foot passing has never been higher I seen many passes land into a players arms over 35/40 yards Sean Armstrong hit a pass so good it kinda suprised Meehan when it came direct to him like a bullet through a crowded pitch

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Was it not you in here yday saying the draw was fixed to give Mayo the hardest match or something Jim ? :P

Nah, it was Dublin the easiest match ;) that a FACT though, (someone mention Rafa) :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭SM746

But Donegal are the masters at this kind of cynical fouling slowing up the game and taking out players.Live by the sword die by the sword I don't have an ounce of sympathy for Donegal in this instance.

Maybe your correct but can you answer me one thing? when is last time a Dgl player concussed a fellow player or put a player in hospital from actions on a gaelic pitch?

SM746 wrote: »
    Maybe your correct but can you answer me one thing? when is last time a Dgl player concussed a fellow player or put a player in hospital from actions on a gaelic pitch?

You do understand the definition of "Cynical fouling" dont you...... we aren't talking WWF here or anything.