Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you score in your last round? ... 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

You have admitted that course management cost you probably 5/6 shots today and in hindsight poor decisions off the tee were he main cause of this.

I played this morning and was spraying the driver all over the course. Took out the 3 wood on the 8th and didn't use the driver for the rest of the day. My course management from the 8th was so much better from there on in.

Results were 3 over from the 1st to he 7th where I hadn't a clue where it was going to go to 3 under for the last 11 where I managed to put the ball in play.

Need to find out now why I was blocking the driver today, but still managed to hack it round by taking it out of the bag.

It's swings and roundabouts with me, half the time... the reason I decided to hit driver on 14 was because I had hit my two best drives of the day on 12 and 13... but I still should have made myself stick to the gameplan, which was '3-iron off 14'. Thing is, even a good drive can run through the fairway there if it's not tight to the left (as my provisional did, right into the middle of the apple trees... anyone want a Granny Smith??)... and on 4, I was never comfortable with my approach shot - it was a slightly downhill/sidehill lie and a blind approach - I'd have been better off tucking the ego away and punching a SW down to the water-front and another SW would have me home there. It's a card-wrecking hole and bogey is fine there for a 15 handicapper... if only this 15 handicapper had a brain! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    It's swings and roundabouts with me, half the time... the reason I decided to hit driver on 14 was because I had hit my two best drives of the day on 12 and 13... but I still should have made myself stick to the gameplan, which was '3-iron off 14'. Thing is, even a good drive can run through the fairway there if it's not tight to the left (as my provisional did, right into the middle of the apple trees... anyone want a Granny Smith??)... and on 4, I was never comfortable with my approach shot - it was a slightly downhill/sidehill lie and a blind approach - I'd have been better off tucking the ego away and punching a SW down to the water-front and another SW would have me home there. It's a card-wrecking hole and bogey is fine there for a 15 handicapper... if only this 15 handicapper had a brain! :)

We are all guilty of that. Ego is the golfers biggest handicap. Keep it going and keep enjoying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

41 points off 6 this morning in Tullamore. Played very solidly, drove the ball well and struck all my irons nicely. Putted well too apart from 2 *3 putts. That will be my handicap target of 5 reached too so happy days.

GOLFSHOT-71_zps72641489.png

9/13 Fairways
    14/18 Greens
    33 Putts

3 Birdie
    11 Pars
    4 Bogeys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

Had a nett 79/39 points off 11 in Druids Heath today off the singles.

All around game was good

Had 3 birdies
    7 pars
    7 bogeys
    One trouble bogey

Went up to 11 last week and quickly back to 10.

Held some really great putts and got some really good up and downs for par.

Topped a drive on 12 which caused me a triple, ball into the deep stuff, tried to pitch out, still in the deep stuff. 3 wood from 280 into the GUR and breast for up and down for the 6 but scrapped the putt.

On 14 I put a ball in the bunker short of the green but the bunker was in bits and the ball ended up in a crevasse where the water ran down so I had to take an unplayable. Managed to get up and down for a 4.

15 was nice, 3 iron off the tee and 7 iron into 8 feet and missed the eagle by a hair again. Got the birdie though.

Ball striking was in general good and bunker/chipping was good. Need to practice pitching though as on 18 I sent one from 45 yards out straight over the pin. Had a good 25 footer for a birdie and got it thanks god!!

Happy though and hope it marks a return to form as I've not been playing well and my handicap has been slipping which I really wasn't happy about

More importantly, first time I played a round with 1 ball in ages!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭mag

Playing in the mid-am this week in the grange so looking forward to that

good luck in it. am giving it a miss this yr myself, have played in it the last 5 yrs. watch the greens!! lightenin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Finished with two nice pars but I fear it might be a .1 back... although it's p*ssing rain now and I'm home with the feet up so hopefully the downpour continues :D (sorry AJ, if you're out there!!)

I'm down in Mayo for the week. Applying after sun to my pink legs at the moment :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

YayaBanana wrote: »
    41 points off 6 this morning in Tullamore. Played very solidly, drove the ball well and struck all my irons nicely. Putted well too apart from 2 *3 putts. That will be my handicap target of 5 reached too so happy days.

GOLFSHOT-71_zps72641489.png

9/13 Fairways
    14/18 Greens
    33 Putts

3 Birdie
    11 Pars
    4 Bogeys

Super shooting. Congrats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Got out for another round in Mulranny GC this morning!
    Sun splitting the rocks, fairways brown, my legs getting pinker.

The gentle upward curve continues.

Whip IT, if I could limit my brain farts to only 2 per round I'd be happy :) just the 3 today so not too bad.

33 points off 18.
    17 points on the front, 16 back.
    4 pars
    9 bogeys
    3 DB's
    2 Blanks

Falling in love with the driver again.
    Iron were ok, 'twas hard to keep anything on the green, still didnt play smart links golf.
    Happy enough.

(Next post will be a high 30's I promise.... Fell like I'm bringing this thread down :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

worst in a long time today. 28 points, 98 blows in some v.heavy downpours.

Started with 7 points from the first two. 4 putt scratch, and so it went.
    Only missed one fairway on the front 9 but what a miss it was - at least 100 yards right - scratched that one by dunking it in the water after a very solid recovery from the drive. 17 points at the turn (10 points from the final 7 of those 9).

8/13 fairways, and long all day. Each miss was a real problem though.
    3 GIR which might go to explain a few things.

The downpours interfered, I was (despite myself) level 2's before the first 20 minute wait for the pouring rain to pass.

I feel like my ball striking has improved immeasurably over the summer, there is a really different sound from the club, and a big score is still lurking in there. Thought for the first two holes that it might have been today, and then had 16 holes as it slipped away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

Nozebleed wrote: »
    had my best ever round of golf today...+4 around citywest 44pts off 12 (73 strokes) (2 birdies,4 bogeys,1 double and 11 pars) the last 2 months or so have been a nightmare,i managed to perfect a snap hook! so i took a 3 week break from the game and i have to say its worked wonders. i started the year on 16.8 and set a target of 11.5. before todays round i was 11.7. could be single figures soon....

following my best ever round..i was cut 1.4. from 11.7 to 10.3. played a medal today off back sticks and shot +10! not bad...goin the right way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭jamok

Booked Knightsbrook on golfnow.ie on an hour and a half notice and used 25% coupon got it for 10.50 so I was already a happy man.

Been hitting the ball pretty well of late but was getting to familiar with the places I was playing so this was a nice change.

After turning 38(+2) I was hitting the ball as good as ever and felt a real chance at going low on the back Nine but as we walked off the Ninth a MASSIVE downpour came and we had to hide under a tree for 10 mins I was afraid this would upset the rhythm but I managed to shoot a 34(-2) on the back to finish level par 72.

The course itself was in good condition the greens were as always completely different to anything I play on being USGA standard greens but were the best i have played them in the 6 or so times. The back nine has drainiage slits on the fair way that will help if we get a heavy winter like last. All in all very happy with everything. 9/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,632 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Played in the club classic today in athlone. Team event, 2 scores to count. Had i been playing my own card, I would have shot +1 for the round with 4 birdies, 3 bogeys and a double for 40 points.

but it was a team event, so we werent even close to anything, lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

86 strokes for 73 nett around Rathcore in monthly medal. Tale of two 9s with 11 over out and 3 over back in. Birdie birdie finish meant driving home smiling! Hopefully a little cut on the back of it. Played with a guy from here thoscon and his mate for first time and it was a pleasure to play with a low handicapper and two sound blokes to boot!

2 Birdies
    4 Pars
    8 Bogies
    4 Doubles
    36 Putts
    71% FIR
    39% GIR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

79 today in Millicent GC, +6 first time playing to my handicap in weeks, but finished bogey , double so ruined the day for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Monthly Medal today at Portsalon, shot a 78 (net 63, 15hcp). First time ever breaking 80!! putter finally started to work and general game was good, couple of chip in's that steadied the boat early on. Silly double on the last which just left a sour taste, but delighted with 99% of the game today. Nice big cut coming:D

7XkLbn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

Senna wrote: »
    Monthly Medal today at Portsalon, shot a 78 (net 63, 15hcp). First time ever breaking 80!! putter finally started to work and general game was good, couple of chip in's that steadied the boat early on. Silly double on the last which just left a sour taste, but delighted with 99% of the game today. Nice big cut coming:D

7XkLbn.jpg

26 putts , love the pro stats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

the lawman wrote: »
    86 strokes for 73 nett around Rathcore in monthly medal. Tale of two 9s with 11 over out and 3 over back in. Birdie birdie finish meant driving home smiling! Hopefully a little cut on the back of it. Played with a guy from here thoscon and his mate for first time and it was a pleasure to play with a low handicapper and two sound blokes to boot!

2 Birdies
    4 Pars
    8 Bogies
    4 Doubles
    36 Putts
    71% FIR
    39% GIR

Was a pleasure to play with you today and fair play on a super birdie birdie finish to hopefully get cut .As for meself 77 nett off 8 was fairly brutal hopefully the lesson on Thursday will sort me out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭coddlesangers

79 gross in my 2nd attempt to get my handicap reinstated...pain in the h@le.

Happy with the score as it included an 8 and a pair of 6's, take those away etc etc etc. Lots of 3 stabs as well, irons were working very well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

thoscon wrote: »
    Was a pleasure to play with you today and fair play on a super birdie birdie finish to hopefully get cut .As for meself 77 nett off 8 was fairly brutal hopefully the lesson on Thursday will sort me out .

No doubt at all T. You catch 90% of shots so pure and that was your off day!!

Enjoyed it and talk soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Russman

39pts today off my "new" handicap of 6 after yesterday's ESR. Spoiled a little by not scoring on the 18th - level par after 17 and hit an horrific tee shot into country that Bear Grylls would more comfortable in !! An ugly triple.

Play was solid enough, only one 3 putt and only had to chip out sideways on 2 occasions. Long lag putting is a bit of an issue at the moment but the two biggest keys were that a) my misses were mostly still in play, and b) the firm conditions meant I didn't have to use the driver much.

Stats wise: 4 birdies, 28 putts, 10 greens & 8 fairways hit (that's a lot of fairways for me !!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭Gin77

Tramore open 39 pts (20hcp) which included 2 scratches, 11 bogeys, 4 pars, 1 Birdie. Nothing to brag about just my hcp is going the right direction off 19 now. Happy about my mental game didn't get stupidly aggressive with shots. First time using my new scotty fastback putter with a fat ping grip, that helped me a lot putting from off the green. Missed a lot of greens on the wrong side made it difficult. Lots of room for improvement though, can't wait to get out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Shot 94 today around sillogue which was my third card for handicapping.
    Without question my best round ever. All the better since it was off the whites, and I finished par par. I even had a 9 on one of the par 5's :pac:
    Get my handicap tomorrow now and there will be no stopping me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,632 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Parred the first today in Athlone with a great up and down and then on the second, hit an 8-iron into 3 feet to setup a handy 2!

And that's where the good golf ended.

Hung on in the end for 34 points, but on a day where there was fantastic run on the ball, great greens and a lot of golfers out there shooting 40+ points, it's a guaranteed .1 and getting back towards 6 once again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

75 gross in Moyvalley JSC today. Level par thru 13 then 3 bogeys in a row. Best round of the summer so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭mag

75 gross in Moyvalley JSC today. Level par thru 13 then 3 bogeys in a row. Best round of the summer so far.

that should have a chance to win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

mag wrote: »
    that should have a chance to win?

Maybe. Course is playing easy enough though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Quahog217

Shot 75 gross today off 7.

5 bogeys, 2 birdies and the rest pars.

Driving was terrible so happy with the score. The putting made up for it thank god.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

played a classic in Castlebearna yesterday with my bro in law and 2 lads off here, thanks a million for the company and the very enjoyable day out.

Nerves got the better of me on the first two holes and I managed to loose my ball on both feckin holes off the tee. Head went down and I thought it was going to be one of those days after I hit my tee shot on the index 3 third wayyyy left....but...got back on the green and 2 putts for a score, then the golf started!! I think i hit all bar one of the rest of the greens in regulation and only the putter was stone cold I could have had the round of my life!! Played 16 holes 12 over and had 5 or 6 feckin 3 putts as i couldn't get the pace of the greens at all.
    2 hi-lights were almost driving the green on the par 4 13th, hitting the longest drive of the day on the par 5 16 (268m uphill!) and hit my second shot to 8 foot leaving a tricky downhill eagle putt - which i feckin missed!!
    Driving was great apart from first 2, measured a few over the 265m mark, short game ok but putter was very bad for a change.
    Still, was well happy at the end of the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

Scored an 87 today (par 72)

The round consisted of:
    2 birdies (on par 5s)
    7 pars
    5 bogeys (1x 3-putt, rest were chip+2-putt)
    3 double bogeys (2x 3-putts and a 4-putt)
    & +6 on a par 4...(put two balls in the water)

lots of room for improvment!
    Used my 3-wood off the tee for every par 4 & par 5, very happy with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭neddynasty

Played Charleville on Saturday. Had 86 strokes. Front 9 was only average with 2 disasterous holes. Played the back 9 in 3 over which I was delighted with. Birdie on 10, bogeyed the next 4 and par'd the last 4. Don't have an official handicap but usually play of 18 in my work society. That works out at 39 points but I it was only a friendly game on Saturday.