young people that don't drink/smoke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

zenno wrote: »
    I see. Well that obviously wasn't a nice encounter, but it showed you as a sober person, how some drunk arseholes can be.

That's great, and that's what it's all about, boards.ie with all the many spacers and different (some sane people--excluding me) folks to directly talk to in all fields of hobbies or interests, it's a good spot indeed. :)

Yeah, lets say I put some skills to use ;) but yeah it wasn't fun at all, then my friend kinda turned on me for reacting, said friend is no longer my friend haha

Tis a very good spot indeed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

I drink fairly moderately. I dont go out to create a massive black spot in my memory.

As for smoking I dont mind people smoking around me but I would never smoke myself. My mates tried to make me once so I took the ciggy and ripped it apart to show them I dont smoke.Then they got it and they dont really give a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I've created a new religion and it's against them both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

Good look finding followers who are likeable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I drink. I'm drunk right now. It's great.

I don't smoke. Smokers are jokers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

1ZRed wrote: »
    I drink. I'm drunk right now. It's great.

I don't smoke. Smokers are jokers.

I had a few as well but i never get drunk, i have a limit. To be honest, the folk that don't drink were finding it hard to meet people on the weekend basically to get into a good group and enjoy a buzz of their liking, but i do agree this is the best place (boards.ie)
    This is the place where you will find sociably sober folk. :) Link - Deleted.

EDIT: Sorry for giving that link above, because in my opinion after reading some threads there i'm already depressed. Removing said link for the well-being of mankind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Gi joe!

I'm off my face right now, first time I've drank this month, bit of a mistake I think. Very dizzy now and going to be feeling awful tomorrow!

As for those who don't drink, fair play to you. It can be extremely difficult dealing with peer pressure with idiots off their face pressuring you to have just one. You have my respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭SlyBacon93

Smoke what? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Lyrical

I don't drink or smoke myself never have.I avoid going to clubs etc as you get the third degree as to why you don't drink and it gets tiresome after a while.In college when I tell people I don't drink I get funny looks,it's easier to just go with the flow and not correct someone when they presume you'll be going for a drink during the weekend.I found with a small number of people they assume because I don't drink I think I'm better than them.

It doesn't bother me what someone drinks or not I actually have admiration for people who go out and don't get totally hammered each time as it's easier imo if you're not drinking than going for a night out and to stop drinking before you get drunk when you're going for rounds with people etc .I actually lost a friend cause I told her to "be careful" because she was drinking two bottles of wine each day to get over breaking up from her boyfriend,she thought I was being judgmental and snobby to her about it and never let it go.Such is life :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

I drink but don't smoke, can't understand why people smoke at this day and age, I am also young at 19.

Edit: I am after having about 5 glasses of whiskey nice mellow buzz but smoking I cannot understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

stevek93 wrote: »
    I drink but don't smoke, can't understand why people smoke at this day and age, I am also young at 19.

Edit: I am after having about 5 glasses of whiskey nice mellow buzz but smoking I cannot understand.

kind of agree.

i understand having a smoke with a drink (coffee, beer, whiskey, tea whatever) because they sort of complement each other. but smoking 15/20/40+ cigarettes per day is just beyond me, other than relief from cravings i dont see what you would get out of that. a couple of beers or a spliff etc will give you a nice buzz at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I'm 26 coming 27 and I've never smoked or drank. I come from a drinking family and there was a lot of violence about the place growing so I ended up just hating it.

I'm also someone who's never had a girlfriend. Yes I must come across as a wierdo. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I've never smoked nor have I ever had any interest in alcohol. I'm 37 years old and my family still don't seem to be able to accept this. Anytime there's a family get together I have to listen to comments like "would you not have a drink?" and "go on, it will take you out of yourself" all night. It's incredibly irritating.

I usually end up having to take a sip of some alcoholic drink just to prove that I don't like it. Most recently I had to take a drink of my brothers wine to get him off my case because no amount of just saying "no, I don't want it" was working.

The only reason I was at this function was because it was a birthday party for my mother and it was a big milestone. I usually try to avoid family get togethers if I can because it's too frustrating having to explain all night that I'm not going to suddenly start drinking alcohol at this stage in my life.

I think what I should have done years ago was pretended to my family that I had a drinking problem, then told them I was quitting. If they thought I was a recovering alcoholic they might stop trying to shove drink down my throat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭Catphish

carzony wrote: »
    I was wondering if there was many young people who don't smoke/drink? and if so what has your reaction been to this?

I'v told several people I don't smoke/drink and they have look at me in disbelief.Maybe because i'm young? Makes ya wanna tell them to f.off really.
    Then absolutely you should. I think anybody that questions a non-drinker needs to take a long look in the mirror and question their own drinking.

Why else would you question a non drinker if you didn't have a healthy relationship with drink yourself?

I've never had an odd reaction towards me not smoking though. More often than not you'll get something like 'well done' or 'fair play to you', which doesn't bother me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I have a couple of friends that don't drink and at first I thought it was odd but I didn't mind, each to their own. However, if I'm out with them and nobody is drinking I feel strange and I don't want to drink too much and I'm always making sure I don't get too tipsy/ say something stupid etc.

I don't like that they can remember everything the next day and tell you in detail. I also don't like that one friend has serious control issues and so she refuses to ever try getting drunk, some people just really need to relax and let go.

I don't even drink a lot, maybe once a month, but it is good fun and a social lubricant. I could go out and not drink but it wouldn't be as much fun and I can't see the point in it. I don't like having friends silently judging me for getting drunk every once in a while just because they don't drink. I hate smoking and really don't like to be around smokers.

I suppose I do view someone who doesn't drink at all as a boring dry balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭a0ifee

I'm 17 and I don't drink, I don't have any real intention to ever drink because I have absolutely no interest in it but like each to their own! I'm sure all my friends drink and I don't care and they don't care that i don't drink :pac: if anyone was hassling me about I'd just ignore them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭FueledByAisling

I've never smoked and I rarely drink, but when I do it's not in excessive amounts. The whole idea of it all never really appealed to me and at the end of the day, I'm doing my health some favors! There seems to be a stigma with people not drinking. People stare at me like a freak of nature when I inform them that I'm not drinking, it makes me feel guilty sometimes but at the end of the day I'm not drinking to satisfy some spa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Maybe because i'm young?
    Living at home with mammy and daddy young? There are plenty of people that abstain until they leave home or go to another country. Then they go cracked altogether, worse than of their other friends could ever hope to be.

It's always the quiet ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I've never smoked and I rarely drink, but when I do it's not in excessive amounts. The whole idea of it all never really appealed to me and at the end of the day, I'm doing my health some favors! There seems to be a stigma with people not drinking. People stare at me like a freak of nature when I inform them that I'm not drinking, it makes me feel guilty sometimes but at the end of the day I'm not drinking to satisfy some spa.

Agreed. It never really appealed to me either. There's nothing unusual about people who don't smoke. A non drinker however might get called a dry shyte. Even if you do drink but drink very little instead of getting smashed can be just as bad.

I remember years ago before they introduced the smoking ban. Going into bars and clubs back then was a fecking nightmare. Smoke everywhere, burning the eyes out of ye. The smell off your clothes the following morning. That was what turned me off the whole thing more than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭carzony

ScumLord wrote: »
    Living at home with mammy and daddy young? There are plenty of people that abstain until they leave home or go to another country. Then they go cracked altogether, worse than of their other friends could ever hope to be.

It's always the quiet ones.

When I was 19 I went out to 21st and stuff like that but I very quickly realised that it wasnt for me. I actually couldnt believe how boring it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I both drink and smoke.

I've a bit of a bad reputation for drinking, so I'll have to try and rein that in.
    Strangely, despite the reputation for drinking, someone who didn't know I smoked saw me and said "are you old enough?!". You don't think I'm old enough to smoke, but drinking's fine?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

I'm 26 and I don't drink or smoke. Neither has ever appealed to me so I just don't bother with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

I'm 20 and for certain periods of the year, around 2 months of the year, maybe a little more. I have to stay of the drink for sport. I still go town sober, just usually have a coffee or redbull halfway through the night to perk myself up. The reaction you get is always "How could you do that? Couldn't go town sober myself". I can understand the mentality, I definitely have more fun when I'm on the tear. As for smoking, I know a lot of people who don't smoke at all, sober or when drinking.

Oisín

• Moderators Posts: 52,296 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

I had my first drink a few weeks after my 18th and didn't think much about it. Then didn't drink until I was about 20. I also didn't drink for about 2 years when I was around 26.

The two experiences were quite different with regards to other peoples attitude when out for a night with them. the 18-20 crowd had quite a few people that were paranoid (at times downright hostile) when they realised that I wasn't drinking. Seemingly they presumed I was taking notes to be used against them at a later date :rolleyes:

The second time was a much better experience. Pretty much every respected my choice and sometimes would wonder why I wasn't drinking. It was just a personal challenge to see how long I could go without have alcohol.

If people want to drink (or not), then let them do whatever they want. There's no harm in having more young people that are willing to do something even if it means not falling in with the majority.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Pretty Polly

I'm 24 and i've never been in a nightclub sober! All my friends drink so on a night out it's the normal thing to do. There's often an unhealthy mix of vodka and shots and a random brandy. I've been in bars where i've drank coke for the night and that's never bothered me.

So i've been thinking and i've decided that my next 'big' night out is going to be an alcohol free night, well for me anyways. I know i'll feel much better the next day and its quiet likely that I wont feel the need to scoff a big mac on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭SolarFlash

I'v told several people I don't smoke/drink and they have look at me in disbelief.

just shows how crazy this country has gone, ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Shamrock231

19, don't drink or smoke and haven't any intentions of starting purely from a health point of view.

Most annoying thing is people automatically put it down to "Fair play for keeping your pledge!", despite the fact that I'm a full on atheist... :rolleyes: My friends all know, others when they find out will question it then and there, but if I meet them again they just know I don't and get don't really care.

Certainly rare for people my age not to drink, I'm one of only 2 in my group of about 20-30 friends, so that probably leads to many being surprised to find out I don't drink, but I can't say it's ever been an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭bluemagpie

And then there are the popular idiotic comments from some people...

Never trust a person who doesn't drink
    - I must have missed the class that determined the link between alcohol and trust

They are silently judging me
    - or are you judging them?

They remember everything the next day and can relay it in acute detail
    - you're not that interesting love

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

bluemagpie wrote: »
    And then there are the popular idiotic comments from some people...

Never trust a person who doesn't drink
    - I must have missed the class that determined the link between alcohol and trust

They are silently judging me
    - or are you judging them?

They remember everything the next day and can relay it in acute detail
    - you're not that interesting love

I can honestly say I've never heard anybody say anything like that and I have a few friends who don't drink. You might be hanging around with the wrong sort of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭bluemagpie

I can honestly say I've never heard anybody say anything like that and I have a few friends who don't drink. You might be hanging around with the wrong sort of people.

I'm delighted for you, have a read through the whole thread and you may find your first such case. But you see sometimes I have a nasty habit of talking to people other than my friends when I go out, so indeed perhaps they were the 'wrong sort' ;)