Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

I agree Denvir did well and will be unlucky not to start again, only reason I mentioned him is that it was actually Kelly who was meant to start last weekend but he picked up a hamstring strain before the game and so had to be changed.
    Don't think Doherty will be dropped as even though his end product was generally terrible his actual defending was pretty solid. I also don't think Walsh be starting senior games til next year at the earliest even though he gets bigger, stronger and faster (somehow) every time I see him.

Yeah, I agree about Walsh but out of those subs, I think he is probably the closest to the starting lineup at the moment.

As for Denvir, sometimes injuries to other players present opportunities as it did for him and he took it. Hard luck on Kelly but Denvir has earned his place for Saturday, Kelly has not. Kelly should have to wait for an opportunity of his own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Right so, all set for Saturday. Can't turn your nose up at three games for that price in Croker :) Hopeful of a bit of fight against Cork. They've done well considering a start like that in the Championship!

Don't fancy the hurlers to win at all. Haven't seen anything from them all year that gives them favourites tag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    So what price would you have them? You think Clare should be favourites?

I`d have it 50/50 at least Clare have shown something in the games they`ve played. Both teams at 11/10 and the draw 10/1? Either way wouldnt be confident betting on us in this one.
    Edit; Or Clare either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Will there be more tickets available on ticketmaster anytime soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

sonnky wrote: »
    Will there be more tickets available on ticketmaster anytime soon?
    Doubt it, think they have to deliver their tickets so there wouldn't enough time. There's tickets on gaa.tickets.ie though if you want to purchase online. Just had a look at them and they're selling tickets in the Hogan for section 333, compared to 301 in the Cusack. Probably yer best bet for decent set of tickets, if you buy them on the day you'll be in the corner or the Davin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

h2005 wrote: »
    I`d have it 50/50 at least Clare have shown something in the games they`ve played. Both teams at 11/10 and the draw 10/1? Either way wouldnt be confident betting on us in this one.
    Edit; Or Clare either.

Fair enough. Well there's great value for you anyway if you think its 50/50, there's 6/4 Clare in a couple of places. Ladbrokes shops if you don't have a/c's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I'm a bit more optimistic looking at the Cork team. Paudi Kissane is a very intelligent footballer and I can't really understand why he's lost his place. O'Connor also has his critics but he pops up with scores and is a good free taker, not having him is a plus. I'd worry slightly at midfield, as Cork look strong there. Hopefully Conroy and Flynn can break ball, to which our half forwards and backs must be lightning sharp.

Same team named for the footballers. No surprise really.

And if things are not going well after 20 minutes, pretty sure Shane Walsh will be first forward on. Keith Kelly (if fit) will be first back on.

Same team named for the footballers. No surprise really.

And if things are not going well after 20 minutes, pretty sure Shane Walsh will be first forward on. Keith Kelly (if fit) will be first back on.

I think the main areas of issue are the HB(in particular) and HF lines.

I think we can at least rest easy that there are more solid options coming up through the under age for these lines in particular.

We could be the dark horse next year.
    Though that's not a massive claim given our previous tradition and underachievement to date.

We could be the dark horse next year.
    Though that's not a massive claim given our previous tradition and underachievement to date.

Dont think we are the dark horse at all.

While this Galway team has 3 wins in a row, they are still in a fairly bad state at the moment :-(

Hopefully, they will provde me wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Same team I'd have picked so I'm happy. Keep Walsh as the impact sub because they'll need him for sure. Denvir and O'Neill definitely warrant their positions. Really looking forward to this.

Slyvie Linnane slated AC publicly, article over on HS.

Obviously he is entitled to his opinion more than most, but I never understand why former players slate managers and players of their own county days before a big championship game. I agree with what he said (basically we don't have a settled defence) but there was no need for that now, he's only piling on the pressure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

THFC wrote: »
    Slyvie Linnane slated AC publicly, article over on HS.

Obviously he is entitled to his opinion more than most, but I never understand why former players slate managers and players of their own county days before a big championship game. I agree with what he said (basically we don't have a settled defence) but there was no need for that now, he's only piling on the pressure.

Sour grapes at the son not being involved perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Didn't he have a cut at Galway under McIntyre as well? Sounds like a bit of a Babs Keating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭westmidlands

Some big changes on the senior hurling team to face Clare on Sunday. Thoughts?

1. Colm Callanan 2. Kevin Hynes 3. Fergal Moore 4. Johnny Coen 5. Shane Kavanagh 6. David Collins 7. Jason Grealish 8. Aidan Harte 9. Andy Smith 10. David Burke 11. Conor Cooney 12. Jonathan Glynn 13. Damien Hayes 14. Joe Canning 15. Niall Burke

The team submitted at 3 on Sunday probably won't be the same but there are some big changes. No Tan, Cyril or Skehill

1. Colm Callanan 2. Kevin Hynes 3. Fergal Moore 4. Johnny Coen 5. Shane Kavanagh 6. David Collins 7. Jason Grealish 8. Aidan Harte 9. Andy Smith 10. David Burke 11. Conor Cooney 12. Jonathan Glynn 13. Damien Hayes 14. Joe Canning 15. Niall Burke

Hope Callanan has a great game. Skehill's puckouts have been dubious and Callanan has better form at club level.

The team submitted at 3 on Sunday probably won't be the same but there are some big changes. No Tan, Cyril or Skehill

Hope Callanan has a great game. Skehill's puckouts have been dubious and Callanan has better form at club level.

I like that forward line and think its closest to Galway strongest 6.

However, Hynes number 2?????:confused: Jamesie O'Connor suggested on Newstalk last night that Niall Donohue could be named at full back. I thought we might see him named in the corner. I dont think Hynes is suited to corner back at all.

And Kavanagh number 5? Kavanagh is definitely better suited to a central position. I thought he played well against Dublin so dont understand the logic of switching himself & Collins.....

I agree with ya InchicoreDub about Kavanagh. He was fairly lambasted for the Dublin game when everything around him was crumbling. I don't think it's even worth considering who'll play where in that backline until 3 on Sunday afternoon.

Also if you're heading to Croker tomorrow you have probably heard that Jones's Rd is flooded. Keep an eye tomorrow morning just in case. Would hate to hear about people finding out about this when they're driving past Enfield tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭MfMan

I like that forward line and think its closest to Galway strongest 6.

However, Hynes number 2?????:confused: Jamesie O'Connor suggested on Newstalk last night that Niall Donohue could be named at full back. I thought we might see him named in the corner. I dont think Hynes is suited to corner back at all.

And Kavanagh number 5? Kavanagh is definitely better suited to a central position. I thought he played well against Dublin so dont understand the logic of switching himself & Collins.....

It might be if Cooney and the 2 Burkes would show any bit of form; don't forget 4 of these started v. Dublin, and Glynn has a lot to prove at senior level, had a very poor league campaign and, like Donnellan, is shocking awkward. Glennon, who had a fine league, rather unlucky to lose out.

Skehill perhaps a bit unlucky, 'only' made one mistake for Dublin's goal and his teammates were beaten everywhere he pucked the ball out. Defence probably won't play to position, but Moore and Collins' form has to improve. Big day for Grealish and the new midfield pairing. But why has it taken management at least 8 competitive games this year to figure out that Tan won't follow his man at midfield and Joe Cooney simply isn't good enough? Even McIntyre wasn't this slow to learn from his mistakes.

A Clare win still won't be any kind of surprise but the changes, particularly in midfield, show that Cunningham & co. have finally the courage to be slightly more proactive.

Some big changes on the senior hurling team to face Clare on Sunday. Thoughts?

Happy enough tbh, AC always said he picks on form, and Callanan is certainly the in form keeper. Skehill needs a reality check imo. I can only presume Kavanagh is picking up Conlon and Coen picking up Kelly. Moore at 3 and Collins at 6 doesn't make much sense otherwise. Good to see Grealish being given a chance, but what the matter with Donoghue and TOR does anyone know? Harte is there to provide cover for the defence, Tannion dropped was the right call, but he'll be an excellent impact sub along with Donellan.

As for the forwards, about time seeing JG starting a game. Hayes will presumably be a 3rd midfielder with the other 5 forwards interchanging. Interesting Cooney at centre forward again, as we all know he's been tearing it up at club level, and indeed at Fitzgibbon level, but for some reason he's never really performed for Galway. Hopefully tomorrow is his day.

Can't really complain about the team, the changes that were needed to be made were made.

Anyone think we could see Hynes out around the middle this Sunday? Think he would be better suited out the field myself.

MfMan wrote: »
    It might be if Cooney and the 2 Burkes would show any bit of form; don't forget 4 of these started v. Dublin, and Glynn has a lot to prove at senior level, had a very poor league campaign and, like Donnellan, is shocking awkward. Glennon, who had a fine league, rather unlucky to lose out.
    Glennon was shocking so far in the championship. He was anonymous for the last two games and I was so impressed by his League showing that I though he'd be in contention for an All-Star. Glynn is owed a start.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Is the Galway v Cork match on the RTE website ?

ignore above

Got myself a stream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Great run by Galway in the qualifiers. Couldn't get over the line today unfortunately but a huge amount for Mulholland and the young side to build on for 2014. Even in defeat today, the future looks as promising as as it has for a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭nagirrac

Great effort from Galway. The goal always looked like coming for Cork and they finished stronger. Some shot from Meehan, he is a class act. Young team so great hope for the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭diarmo06

Howya lads, thought I'd be here for the clare match tomorrow but will be travelling. Can't figure out will that game be streamed live on RTE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

nagirrac wrote: »
    Great effort from Galway. The goal always looked like coming for Cork and they finished stronger. Some shot from Meehan, he is a class act. Young team so great hope for the future.

That was some goal from Meehan, that and the Mickey Newman penalty were 2 outstanding pieces of skill.

As a man that doesn't really follow football, he's a player I'd love t see in Croke Park in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

I was thinking last week that Collins could be an option for 6 for Galway.
    If Glynn plays on Pat O' Connor, we'll (Clare) be in trouble, O Connor is weak in the air. If Galway have any brains, ye'll exploit our HB line, won't be overly difficult.
    I think Niall Burke is wasted at corner forward, better outside. The further away from goal Joe is the better from a Clare pov

Never felt better after a defeat. Great showing from Meehan, Army, Conroy and Martin. Cummins was great before he hurt himself. Sadly Flynn was cleaned out but he still had a good match. Backs were caught out but their runs were sharp. Breathnach saved them a few times after a ropey first half.

They really turned a bad start into a superb run. Cork just had so much class on their bench and they pulled away. They're in great shape for next year. Shame they couldn't hold the lead but that's sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭O.A.P

Unlucky not win today., but I said a while back that we needed a good run in the qualifiers to make a team or if not send us too the bottom.
    I'm relived and proud at the same time.
    Galway ABU :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Well, I suppose it wouldn't be a real campaign for Galway unless they lost their last match of the season by a point :pac:

Tough luck lads, there were audible gasps in Carrick as the scores were coming through. Hopefully it's downwards (against the Ros, of course) and upwards after that for Galway next year.