Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,920 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Celtic reported to UEFA for fans setting off fireworks during the Cliftonville game. The fireworks, flares, smoke bombs etc need to be knocked on the head now.

http://www.uefa.com/uefa/disciplinary/index.html

Any ideas who we will try to bring in to replace Hooper? The talk of Doyle seems to be gathering pace but it's not a signing I'd be overly happy with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

RoryMac wrote: »
    Celtic reported to UEFA for fans setting off fireworks during the Cliftonville game. The fireworks, flares, smoke bombs etc need to be knocked on the head now.

http://www.uefa.com/uefa/disciplinary/index.html

Any ideas who we will try to bring in to replace Hooper? The talk of Doyle seems to be gathering pace but it's not a signing I'd be overly happy with.

Artjoms Rudņevs, we were beaten to him by Hamburger SV but they are in the process of signing Jelavic and he's available for the right price, media speculating £5m. I say we should look to loan him first with an option to buy. He hits the ground running, paying a fee will be an easy decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,738 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Rudnevs said in Bild today that he has no interest in going to Scotland. He would have been great for you though. Why we are even considering selling him is beyond me.

Here's the tweet - https://twitter.com/BILD_HSV/status/360361806654480385
    "Nach Schottland will ich nicht. Ich möchte in der Bundesliga bleiben"
    (I don't want to go to Scotland. I want to stay in the Bundesliga.)

Oat23 wrote: »
    Rudnevs said in Bild today that he has no interest in going to Scotland. He would have been great for you though. Why we are even considering selling him is beyond me.

Here's the tweet - https://twitter.com/BILD_HSV/status/360361806654480385
    "Nach Schottland will ich nicht. Ich möchte in der Bundesliga bleiben"
    (I don't want to go to Scotland. I want to stay in the Bundesliga.)

Nuts, really wanted Celtic to get him last year too. I found it strange that he's even available aswell. Surely they can play him & Jelavic in the same team?

Kevin Doyle it is, FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

I appreciate that it's of little interest to you guys but it looks like Hooper's sale is going to net a much needed £160k for Southend United which will probably keep us going for another month.

Strong statement from the club about the 'Green Brigade' section of the ground.
    THE Directors and Board of Celtic Football Club are responsible for the safety of all supporters, and this is their primary objective.

For some time the Club has been under close scrutiny by the Glasgow City Council Safety Advisory Group with regard to serious safety concerns within Section 111. The Safety Advisory Group is responsible for recommending the annual renewal of the General Safety Certificate which determines the safe spectator capacity of Celtic Park and allows the stadium to operate.

The Safety Advisory Group’s primary concerns, which are shared by the Club include:

• Overcrowding of Section 111 resulting in unsafe congestion.
    • The refusal of spectators to comply with the direction of safety stewards.
    • The unsafe lateral movement of spectators blocking aisles.
    • ´Moshing´ – mock fighting/jostling – causing crowd disruption and damage to seating (131 damaged at Tuesday’s night’s match).
    • The ´body surfing´ of young people over the heads of spectators.

Regrettably, all of the above concerns were evident at Tuesday night’s fixture against Cliftonville FC. In addition, three fireworks were exploded within Section 111, causing the Match Referee to require a stadium announcement to be made instructing such behaviour to stop. As a result of this unprecedented step by a match official, Celtic FC will now be the subject of a disciplinary action for contravention of the UEFA Safety and Security Regulations.

Following the events of last Tuesday’s match, the Club’s position was to close Section 111, but following discussions between the Club’s Supporters’ Liaison Officer and representatives of the ‘Green Brigade’ that decision has been reviewed and the section will remain open. However, the situation will be monitored at both the Celtic FC v Borussia Monchengladbach match on Saturday 27th July, and the Celtic FC v IF Elfsborg match on Wednesday, July 31.

The Club is keen to work with spectators in Section 111 to resolve safety concerns. However, it should be understood that failure to stop this unsafe behaviour will require the closure of this area in Celtic Park.

The Club recognises the many examples of good support for the team emanating from this part of the ground and in particular the efforts of the ‘Green Brigade’ in organising positive displays which are commended. However, the unsafe aspects of spectator behaviour in Section 111 require to be addressed with immediate effect.

The Directors and Board of Celtic Football Club consider their responsibilities with regard to Spectator Safety to be of paramount importance. We will continue dialogue with representative of fans in this area to resolve these serious safety concerns however this unsafe behaviour must stop.

http://www.celticfc.net/newsstory?item=4330

Someone should email the club about safe standing and when is it coming in, for the craic!

Any one think it would be worth us having a look at Charlie Austin? I know he failed his medical at Hull but he wouldn't be the first player to fail a medical and then move on without a problem(Hartson). His record is very good 41 goals in 82 games for Burnley.

His price will have come down too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,738 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Dempsey wrote: »
    Nuts, really wanted Celtic to get him last year too. I found it strange that he's even available aswell. Surely they can play him & Jelavic in the same team?

Kevin Doyle it is, FFS!

The only way I see us affording Jelavic is to sell someone. But selling Rudnevs to fund it doesn't solve the problem we currently have (only having 1 striker).

RoryMac wrote: »
    Any one think it would be worth us having a look at Charlie Austin? I know he failed his medical at Hull but he wouldn't be the first player to fail a medical and then move on without a problem(Hartson). His record is very good 41 goals in 82 games for Burnley.

His price will have come down too

If the price is right I'm sure Celtic would go for it but I wouldnt be comparing him to Hartson but moreso to Demba Ba. Wasnt Hartsons problem his size in most medicals that he failed? Whereas Austin & Ba is a joint that will turn into a right mess if there is another injury there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Austin has a serious recurring shoulder injury as well as the knee problem which caused the medical to fail. I doubt most clubs would be able to get insurance on him which is why the Hull deal collapsed. I imagine he'll take a free transfer somewhere next summer.

Top player, btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Carroller

Hooper passes his Norwich medical! Best of luck to him, Hope he lights it up in the premier league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭cardwizzard

Carroller wrote: »
    Hooper passes his Norwich medical! Best of luck to him, Hope he lights it up in the premier league.

Its the only pass he has completed the last year lol.....

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

All the best, Gary. Some tremendous goals for Celtic, a superb finisher without doubt, just never quite the overall package I'd have liked him to have become. Always seemed to have a tendency to get a bit lax in games when things were not going his way, but aside from that he was fantastic for us.

I genuinely hope both himself and Vic excel in the Premiership and show the world the type of players Celtic can acquire and improve.

One of my favourites from Hooper:

Us signing a player before the deadline for the Elfsborg match is looking unlikely at this stage.

St.Johnstone beat Rosenborg over 2 legs tonight, fair play to them.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Us signing a player before the deadline for the Elfsborg match is looking unlikely at this stage.

Great result for them. At least they showed up, did Hibs leave the dressing room? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

massive result for St. Johnstone, fair play. Rosenborg have fairly imploded in the last 10 or so years, i remember when they had some fantastic European teams, and were in a domestic situation not 100 miles away form our own.

PauloMN wrote: »
    All the best, Gary. Some tremendous goals for Celtic, a superb finisher without doubt, just never quite the overall package I'd have liked him to have become. Always seemed to have a tendency to get a bit lax in games when things were not going his way, but aside from that he was fantastic for us.

I genuinely hope both himself and Vic excel in the Premiership and show the world the type of players Celtic can acquire and improve.

He's a quality finisher and hopefully will do well in the EPL, his work-rate wasn't great at times but I suppose his job was mainly to get on the end of balls into the box.

I think we really need to find a similar player to replace him as Stokes & Sammy prefer to go wide or deep to pick up the ball. Maybe Balde is the player but I still think we're a little short up front. It would be a big ask to expect Watt to provide the goals in Europe.

I don't think Doyle fits the bill either, hopefully the talk about him being signed are just rumors

I dont think Cup losers should get the European Spot just because the other club has done the double. They clearly werent of the required standard to do Scottish Football justice and help improve the coefficient. Remember the fiascos when Dunfermline and Gretna got places in European Competition despite the situations they were in? This result is right up there with those.

Just thinking, ~€21m made from 2 players that cost less than €4m combined. Is it already the best summer Celtic ever had for player sales?

True, the european spot should go to the next team in the league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Just thinking, ~€21m made from 2 players that cost less than €4m combined. Is it already the best summer Celtic ever had for player sales?

Has to be surely.

How much money will Lennon get to spend is the question. He'd be lucky to get 5million tbh..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Has to be surely.

How much money will Lennon get to spend is the question. He'd be lucky to get 5million tbh..

Do you mean 5 million sterling or 5 million euro? Lenny should get to spend at least 15 million sterling this transfer window in my view. Celtic have signed Van Dijk and Balde for a rough total of 5 million sterling, Mouyokolo was free I think. Factoring in potential salaries, Celtic should be in a position to spend another 6 to 7 million sterling on incoming transfers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Lennonist wrote: »
    Do you mean 5 million sterling or 5 million euro? Lenny should get to spend at least 15 million sterling this transfer window in my view. Celtic have signed Van Dijk and Balde for a rough total of 5 million sterling, Mouyokolo was free I think. Factoring in potential salaries, Celtic should be in a position to spend another 6 to 7 million sterling on incoming transfers.

I always go by sterling when talking football!

Six or seven would be great but can't see that
    being spent. Maybe two more young players for a couple of million like amido and van Dijk.

What do you make of Doyle if he were to sign? From reading the forums a lot of fans wouldn't be pleased. If he can stay fit then I reckon he could do a job. Hoopers goals will be missed, anyone that signs will be doing well to get near his record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Carroller

THE Directors and Board of Celtic Football Club are responsible for the safety of all supporters, and this is their primary objective.

For some time the Club has been under close scrutiny by the Glasgow City Council Safety Advisory Group with regard to serious safety concerns within Section 111. The Safety Advisory Group is responsible for recommending the annual renewal of the General Safety Certificate which determines the safe spectator capacity of Celtic Park and allows the stadium to operate.

The Safety Advisory Group's primary concerns, which are shared by the Club include:

Overcrowding of Section 111 resulting in unsafe congestion.
    The refusal of spectators to comply with the direction of safety stewards.
    The unsafe lateral movement of spectators blocking aisles.
    'Moshing' - mock fighting/jostling - causing crowd disruption and damage to seating (131 damaged at Tuesday's night's match).
    The 'body surfing' of young people over the heads of spectators.

Regrettably, all of the above concerns were evident at Tuesday night's fixture against Cliftonville FC. In addition, three fireworks were exploded within Section 111, causing the Match Referee to require a stadium announcement to be made instructing such behaviour to stop. As a result of this unprecedented step by a match official, Celtic FC will now be the subject of a disciplinary action for contravention of the UEFA Safety and Security Regulations.

Following the events of last Tuesday's match, the Club's position was to close Section 111, but following discussions between the Club's Supporters' Liaison Officer and representatives of the "Green Brigade' that decision has been reviewed and the section will remain open. However, the situation will be monitored at both the Celtic FC v Borussia Monchengladbach match on Saturday 27th July, and the Celtic FC v IF Elfsborg match on Wednesday, July 31.

The Club is keen to work with spectators in Section 111 to resolve safety concerns. However, it should be understood that failure to stop this unsafe behaviour will require the closure of this area in Celtic Park.

The Club recognises the many examples of good support for the team emanating from this part of the ground and in particular the efforts of the "Green Brigade' in organising positive displays which are commended. However, the unsafe aspects of spectator behaviour in Section 111 require to be addressed with immediate effect.

The Directors and Board of Celtic Football Club consider their responsibilities with regard to Spectator Safety to be of paramount importance. We will continue dialogue with representative of fans in this area to resolve these serious safety concerns however this unsafe behaviour must stop.

Seems the board are clamping down hard on the green brigade! While I support the green brigade and the atmosphere yet bring they really need to follow the rules as the rest of the stadiums attendance does!

being spent. Maybe two more young players for a couple of million like amido and van Dijk.

What do you make of Doyle if he were to sign? From reading the forums a lot of fans wouldn't be pleased. If he can stay fit then I reckon he could do a job. Hoopers goals will be missed, anyone that signs will be doing well to get near his record.

I rather not see money spent for the sake of it tbh. We had enough dross hanging around collecting a wedge in recent seasons. The best of youth and development squad players should be relied on to fill the fringe of the squad. We should be doing more to integrate them into first team football anyways. If this isnt the best time to be doing that, then when is?

We need 2 strikers, left winger, left back imo. Of those, a first team striker is really required. I'd like them to push the boat out for that but the rest should be only signed if the right player comes along and Lennon should promote youth in the gaps in the squad until he gets the right player at the right price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭cardwizzard

Yeah I agree, no point spending the few bob just for the sake of it. Of course we all want the team to keep on improving and its a fine line between bringing players in and giving youth a chance. But if a signing doesnt improve the team its a waste of time, and all signings arent guaranteed of course.

But thats Neil's problem :-)

I would take a gamble on Doyle so long as his wages were reasonable. Doyle was a good player a couple of years back, he could return to form if given a new lease of life at Celtic. He'd be a gamble that might pay off. Doyle would be fairly cheap I'd imagine and his wages would have to be normal for Celtic as well, otherwise no deal.

That would leave us with a few million still to spend on a couple of young players.

NL: We're trying to push the button on one or two players. We've brought three players in but an attacking player is a priority now. (LB)
    Celtic Football Club ‏@celticfc 1h

"Could bringing a striker in depend on Champions League qualification?" NL: No. (LB)

Please dont be Doyle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭magherakid

Alison Robbie ‏@AlisonRobbie
    Lennon says finding a new striker "isn't as easy as some think" & he has a wage structure he won't be breaking. So no big signing ahead!

magherakid wrote: »
    Alison Robbie ‏@AlisonRobbie
    Lennon says finding a new striker "isn't as easy as some think" & he has a wage structure he won't be breaking. So no big signing ahead!

Did Alison Robbie say all that or did you just add your own tuppence worth? Who is Alison Robbie anyway?