If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

moy83 wrote: »
    Around here a spalpeen was an orphan that came out of the orphanage to live and slave on the farm !

Was known as a home boy around here. Did the cooking, cleaning and light farm work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

reilig wrote: »
    Was known as a home boy around here. Did the cooking, cleaning and light farm work.

There is a good joke about the husband , wife and spalpeen in bed and a brown bread but I'm fecked if I can remember it right . Anyone know it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

towzer2010 wrote: »
    Did you tell him where to go.........

..to find the boss? :)
    husband bought a pair of steel cap boots off him for 30 euro , he was looking 80 euros at the beginning ..... i just walked away and left them to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

whelan1 wrote: »
    husband bought a pair of steel cap boots off him for 30 euro , he was looking 80 euros at the beginning ..... i just walked away and left them to it

Did he get a receipt?................

i was giving out saying now he has bought off them once they will keep coming back... they had a socket set for 150 ,he had them down to 70....also oxide paint and body warmers ( really needed for this weather)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭epfff

Did he get a receipt?................

Vat receipt I hope
    used to tolerate them until one of them got smart with me when I was having a bad day
    now run without ever asking their business
    you are only attracting vermin round the place dealing with them
    they contribute nothing to society
    there would be a picture of p nally over the secarate heart light here if the wife let me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭flutered

epfff wrote: »
    Vat receipt I hope
    used to tolerate them until one of them got smart with me when I was having a bad day
    now run without ever asking their business
    you are only attracting vermin round the place dealing with them
    they contribute nothing to society
    there would be a picture of p nally over the secarate heart light here if the wife let me
    could you not use his image as the screen saver on your fone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

i was giving out saying now he has bought off them once they will keep coming back... they had a socket set for 150 ,he had them down to 70....also oxide paint and body warmers ( really needed for this weather)

Your man is mad in the head to be giving them the light of day.
    If you throw out bread - you'll have rats.

They'll be of the opinion he's a handy touch, and when he isn't they'll help themselves.

do you not think i know that, i normally tell them to fook off, only mickey connors gets business from me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

Called here one day,asked for the boss,Said his gone to the garda station to renew the gun licence,"Good luck Boss",They couldn't get out off the yard fast enough!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

iam glad he found the boss man so

this is the man that does no faming and has his wife out slaving away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

hoseman wrote: »
    Called here one day,asked for the boss,Said his gone to the garda station to renew the gun licence,"Good luck Boss",They couldn't get out off the yard fast enough!!!

Its about the only time I get away with calling myself the boss ha, my dad doesn't want to deal with them at all, so when they ask for the boss I say I'm the boss now, and give them a very blunt blank "no I'm utterly not interested in anything at all you have to offer", I just turn around and walk off usually, but I'll stand outside the door looking at them, to make sure they actually leave! Some dodgy ones around us though, definitely not worth doing any business in the slightest with them, it will only draw them, or their friends back into the yard again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

moy83 wrote: »
    Around here a spalpeen was an orphan that came out of the orphanage to live and slave on the farm !

http://www.irishpage.com/songs/spailpin.htm

Spailpin aparrenty referrs to a bird that falls out of a nest, you can see the association with an orphan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

bbam wrote: »
    Your man is mad in the head to be giving them the light of day.
    If you throw out bread - you'll have rats.

They'll be of the opinion he's a handy touch, and when he isn't they'll help themselves.

+1 to all of that - the brethern will soon know what is in your place.

If you "run" them enough times, they soon won't come back.

They love you taking a photo of their vehicle or writing down the reg plate :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

nashmach wrote: »
    +1 to all of that - the brethern will soon know what is in your place.

If you "run" them enough times, they soon won't come back.

They love you taking a photo of their vehicle or writing down the reg plate :D

Ah stop that drives them mad , taking the reg of the hiace :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

did he sell pyjamas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

jayus am wrecked, went to table quiz last night, left pub at fcuking 3-30 am and place still in full swing, oooohh my poor head, cant wait to go back tonight:D

on the subject of the travelling salesman, old man many moons ago caught one of them looking in a shed while the other one was trying to distract him, he stuck the grape up his rear end and chased him out of the yard, never seen a one since and thats 30 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

First boards message off my new smart phone. Big fingers no likey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Muckit wrote: »
    First boards message off my new smart phone. Big fingers no likey

No turning back now! A few weeks and you won't know how you lived without it ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Which one did you get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

just do it wrote: »
    No turning back now! A few weeks and you won't know how you lived without it ;):D

Welcome to the 21st century

On smartphones - which app do ye lads use for here?

Thanks.

Thanks.

Just use the browser for here.

For pics I have the photobucket app.

Thanks.

Just the web page on safari browser

reilig wrote: »
    Just use the browser for here.

For pics I have the photobucket app.
    stanflt wrote: »
    Just the web page on safari browser

Thanks lads, must be just me then.

I find the Firefox browser on the phone (HTC) painful to use.:o

Thanks lads, must be just me then.

I find the Firefox browser on the phone (HTC) painful to use.:o

Time to get the cheque book out nach and upgrade to I phone

stanflt wrote: »
    Time to get the cheque book out nach and upgrade to I phone

Not an Apple fan, Stan :cool:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

Thanks.
    whatsapp is a must
    viber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Smart phone great for reading but not for contributing. Takes much longer to type.

naughto wrote: »
    whatsapp is a must
    viber

Have it, but unless you are making a lot of calls abroad, it won't save you a lot. With o2 prepay these days you can get all calls to landlines and other networks for €10 per month. Text bundles for €5 for 250 and as much internet as you'll use for €10 per month. I know of people getting bills of €70 or €80 per month for much less!