If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I pay to pump my own water so why should some other person who has access to mains get it for free. Free water is a tax on the people that provide their own supply. bastard pressure vessel has to be replaced tomorrow at 500 snots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I pay to pump my own water so why should some other person who has access to mains get it for free. Free water is a tax on the people that provide their own supply. bastard pressure vessel has to be replaced tomorrow at 500 snots

Agree. I had to put a filtration system on my well at €1900. Why should every other hoor get it and have it filtered for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Agree. I had to put a filtration system on my well at €1900. Why should every other hoor get it and have it filtered for free.

+1. Although we never had our water tested and have been using it for over 70 years so don't think a filtration system was ever put in ours.

I prob should get it tested soon. Or else I'll be left with the cockroaches and docks like in the photo above:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭epfff

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    +1. Although we never had our water tested and have been using it for over 70 years so don't think a filtration system was ever put in ours.

I prob should get it tested soon. Or else I'll be left with the cockroaches and docks like in the photo above:D
    User has to pay
    never hear anyone complaining about paying for esb or phone why is water so different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

how does it work if there leaks?
    say u get a massive bill and then tell them that theres no way i used that much and they go and find leaks what happends then??

should they not check before to see if theres leaks and then but in the meters

epfff wrote: »
    User has to pay
    never hear anyone complaining about paying for esb or phone why is water so different

Maybe I should say that ours is our own well, it's covered us and our cattle for as long as we've been on this land and unless a meter can prove that we don't own the land right down to the source of the spring that fuels it, we will never pay for a well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

hugo29 wrote: »
    explain that one:D

It's not what you think. A guy called bob I met on the internet told me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Maybe I should say that ours is our own well, it's covered us and our cattle for as long as we've been on this land and unless a meter can prove that we don't own the land right down to the source of the spring that fuels it, we will never pay for a well.

Gonna have fun metering us we have five different points going into farm and two houses off the main line.

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Gonna have fun metering us we have five different points going into farm and two houses off the main line.

off wells? Or just them putting the meters in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

reilig wrote: »
    I'm glad to see it. We are on a scheme where a few of the other members are careless. They have leaks and won't. Fix them, troughs overflowing, filling slurry tanks with them for agitating and generally ensuring that others have poor pressure and unreliable service. When they are metered they won't be so careless. We already pay an annual charge so now those that use the most will have to pay the most. That's how it should be!!!

I don't have a problem paying for what I use, what peeves me off is a country that gets so much rain can't sort out a system where we re use what comes out of the sky,

It's called a well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I can't get over the number of ye with mains supply. 3 wells here. One of them is run from my own house ESB supply. Our ESB bill is exactly twice that of my SIL with a similar sized house and same number of kids but with a mains supply. Basically our water suppy is costing €1500+ annually just for electricity. The well at my house has become the main supply for the farm mainly due to location. The others are at very low points on the farm and far from centre so were costing a lot more to move water around. They are now backup and supply just a few points in their immeadiate vicinity plus my parents and one siblings houses.

TBH I think a bill for 2/2.5k per year would be good value for mains supply providing pressure was adequate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

reilig wrote: »
    I'm glad to see it. We are on a scheme where a few of the other members are careless. They have leaks and won't. Fix them, troughs overflowing, filling slurry tanks with them for agitating and generally ensuring that others have poor pressure and unreliable service. When they are metered they won't be so careless. We already pay an annual charge so now those that use the most will have to pay the most. That's how it should be!!!
    The fella from Irish Water was on Mat Cooper yesterday, those on private schemes will not have to pay the charge nor will they have meters installed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

naughto wrote: »
    say u get a massive bill and then tell them that theres no way i used that much and they go and find leaks what happends then??

If you see what they are doing. Their plan is to meter the water at the closest possible point to it entering your property. After that it's your baby. If you let it leak away, fine, but you'll be paying for the leaked water. They made it clear, water volume consumed will be payed for, delivery pressure is not a factor in the payment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

bbam wrote: »
    The fella from Irish Water was on Mat Cooper yesterday, those on private schemes will not have to pay the charge nor will they have meters installed.

Ours is a council scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭gazahayes

naughto wrote: »

We're on a local council scheme here and have been metered for the last 5 years or so. In the first year got a bill for just under 1,000 for a 3 month period the charges are calculated at €1.17 per m3 after the first 56 meters per year. There was a bad leak I didn't know about had that fixed and another one burst. They had put in a new well close by which had risen the pressure and put more strain on the pipes. I told them I had it fixed and they just took 2 readings from then and calculated it back over the period think it brought it down to about 150.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

If you see what they are doing. Their plan is to meter the water at the closest possible point to it entering your property. After that it's your baby. If you let it leak away, fine, but you'll be paying for the leaked water. They made it clear, water volume consumed will be payed for, delivery pressure is not a factor in the payment.

and rightly so, the water that leaks on your property still has to be paid for by someone. Cant understand how there will be something like 1500 jobs in this department, will it even pay for itself after all those guys are paid for. Stick in a CEO, numerous heads of departments, senior mangers, unsenior managers, tea makers and the average wage will be well over 50k

You would want to make sure it's right outside your gate, council take the opinion that anything from the meter in is yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

we had a leak a few years ago- it was on the councils side.... it was running onto our land, rang them numerous times, they arrived on a friday evening at half 4 to fix it, i assume they where getting overtime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Disapointing morning scanned the cows fifty five percent conception rate. All split and starting on meal today

Do You run a bull chippy, Going scanning me self in a hour, calves to be dosed too,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

gazahayes wrote: »
    We're on a local council scheme here and have been metered for the last 5 years or so. In the first year got a bill for just under 1,000 for a 3 month period the charges are calculated at €1.17 per m3 after the first 56 meters per year. There was a bad leak I didn't know about had that fixed and another one burst. They had put in a new well close by which had risen the pressure and put more strain on the pipes. I told them I had it fixed and they just took 2 readings from then and calculated it back over the period think it brought it down to about 150.
    Had the same problem myself in a tillage field and they let me off but said that they allow everyone one mistake but I can tell you I look at the meters regularily now to make sure they're not spinning.
    I have had meters on all my land since I started farming in 1975

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Anyone going to reseeding event in kilbeggan Thursday no idea of location have to meet at church car park for further instructions.

lost a suckler cow during the night, i assume it was tetany:mad: they have buckets with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Anyone going to reseeding event in kilbeggan Thursday no idea of location have to meet at church car park for further instructions.
    I'm told that it's near the church, (walking distance)

whelan1 wrote: »
    lost a suckler cow during the night, i assume it was tetany:mad: they have buckets with them

:( Sorry to hear that whelan, is the calf old enough to continue with the rest?

Calves wont eat the new nuts we got them so now down to mixing and slowly lowering the percentage of creep to nuts.
    Gave ourselves more work in the long run as we only got the creep for the twins we had and then kept getting that as the place that stocked it was 1 & 1/2 miles from us.

Our neighbour also got a hedgecutter in this morning......isn't that illegal at this time?!:confused:

Cows scanned, all in calf bar one, and one set twins again
    The cow that is empty, i think she was bulled around 02nd July, scanner man says she could be in calf, its hard to tell in first few weeks (up to 4) anyone else second that opinion,

Dosed calves too, do these companies try to make the pour ons harder to use, have to say the bb are a pleasure to handle, big dopey lambs,

ye scanning only accurate after 28-35 days, if she hasnt been in heat on the 3 weeks you are probably laughing. Just spent half an hour pulling ragworth, alot easier since the rain

whelan1 wrote: »
    ye scanning only accurate after 28-35 days, if she hasnt been in heat on the 3 weeks you are probably laughing. Just spent half an hour pulling ragworth, alot easier since the rain

I bring nap sack sprayer out every evening now, far easier than pulling the yokes

what ya spraying them with? prefer to pull them and get the roots out of the ground