Baby shot by muggers because his mother had no money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

The police and media have a hell of a lot to do with how the public view it too though. When you see a story like that with a quick arrest and charge of murder people are gonna assume its an open and shut case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The police and media have a hell of a lot to do with how the public view it too though. When you see a story like that with a quick arrest and charge of murder people are gonna assume its an open and shut case.
    The media is quick to make a dollar.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

bluewolf wrote: »
    Where

Specifically, I'm thinking about a 'new poster' with 24 posts who followed me to another thread with this lovely gem:
    @OH

While you have a point that KW has more personal experience in these matters OH, it could also be said that she is too emotionally involved to look at this rationally. As I mentioned earlier in this thread I read KW before giving the guy De'Marquise Elkins, who is accused of shooting a baby in the head, the benefit of doubt BECAUSE he was black. You wouldn't stand for that were the situation reversed, nor would I.

Oh, and this one:
    This is such bullsh1t. And coming from a poster who was recently giving a child killer the benefit of doubt purely because he was black. Have ya'll found out any more about Demarquis Elkins yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭Lisha

What possessed those parents! Truly disgusting.
    Words fail me really
    Thankfully the 2 teenagers have been vindicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭MOC88

...still waiting on Obama's statemnt to say it could have been one of his kids, or does that special treatment only apply if they're black?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

humanji wrote: »
    But there's a huge difference between death by inaction and death due to intent. While the first is awful, it's eclipsed by the latter. The numbers are irrelevant, as it's the act that is being discussed.

Depends if you believe there's no intent to allow so many deaths in Africa. I certainly do not.

**YOINK**

*edit* they were innocent?

Overheal wrote: »
    You know Wench when you bumped this thread I looked at the OP and first page and thought "13 and 17... and all these posters want the death penalty for them"

Thats why I never directly commented on this case back in March. The digital mob just heard 'baby shot' and wanted more people dead. Great bunch of lads and ladies in here. And look, now they're exonerated. So what now?

Just reminds me of that Irish fella in Oregon who went nuts and was shot by a local cop. After Hours was roaaaring about police brutality and due process for days. Then the 911 call audio was published, and suddenly nobody uttered another word about it.

I remember when this baby story first came out in the news. So many people judged these teenagers as guilty because they fit the 'type'. It wasn't the first time that a white mother falsely accused Black men for killing her child and it won't be the last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

This just further proves the point. The media portrays it as a baby killed in a mugging and the black kids are automatically guilty. Now evidence arises to contradict it and shine the light on the parents and the parents are automatically guilty. Whatever way the media wants to sell it is how people will view it. Someone is always guilty with or without a trial in the yes of the public.

And isnt assuming the parents are guilty at this stage little different than assuming the black kids were responsible in the beginning ? The trial is still ongoing and nobody convicted of the child's murder right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So his aunt says he was home with her. He must be innocent so.

Yet the same innocent teen was involved in another shooting and robbery 10 days earlier ,

This just further proves the point. The media portrays it as a baby killed in a mugging and the black kids are automatically guilty. Now evidence arises to contradict it and shine the light on the parents and the parents are automatically guilty. Whatever way the media wants to sell it is how people will view it. Someone is always guilty with or without a trial in the yes of the public.

And isnt assuming the parents are guilty at this stage little different than assuming the black kids were responsible in the beginning ? The trial is still ongoing and nobody convicted of the child's murder right ?

This is true, innocent until proven guilty.

Saying that, they found gun residue on the parents fingers. Plus the older daughter informed police that she suspected her mother, darn near the start of this investigation.

They are innocent until proven otherwise, but the Black youth were 'convicted' by the public with less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

Gatling wrote: »
    Yet the same innocent teen was involved in another shooting and robbery 10 days earlier ,

Right. Let's just pin every crime in the area on him then, eh? No, no, let's not bother with trials, obviously if he's committed one crime he must have committed every other.

There's simply no way they could be unconnected.

Right. Let's just pin every crime in the area on him then, eh? No, no, let's not bother with trials, obviously if he's committed one crime he must have committed every other.

There's simply no way they could be unconnected.

So he's got form for violent robbery but don't say that because were only blaming him on every thing ,

Really , like seriously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

Well you seem pretty quick to blame him on nothing more than the fact he was involved in another, unconnected crime. But that's hardly surprising, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I used the innocent teen's name,DeMarquis Elkins, in a way that suggested his guilt, on another thread.I was wrong,very wrong,even assh0lish about it.And KW suspicions were right all along.

The positives? That teens wrongly accused are now hopefully free to live their lives,and the killers will surely be brought to justice. Secondly,whereas many years ago the police would have been happy with the primary suspects,and it could well have been an open and shut case,with innocent lives ruined,at least now the cops are following through more thoroughly and justice will hopefully be truely blind.

Well you seem pretty quick to blame him on nothing more than the fact he was involved in another, unconnected crime. But that's hardly surprising, is it?

Unconnected violent robbery using a firearm ,
    Murders a baby in a violent robbery using a firearm 10 days later

No connection at all there

Really ,

Seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

What's the motive suggested for the parents doing this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Unconnected violent robbery using a firearm ,
    Murders a baby in a violent robbery using a firearm 10 days later

No connection at all there

Really ,

Seriously

...so because two violent crimes happen in an city it has to be the same person?

Immediately after the shooting, Glassey said West began asking questions about how long it would take her to collect the insurance money. West’s daughter also told both media and police that her mother made conflicting statements to her, regarding the child’s death - including different stories about who was shot first. West’s inconsistencies and suspicious behavior caused her own daughter to tell police and reporters that she suspected her mother was not telling the truth about how the infant was killed. CBS News reported several days later that police had not followed up with Glassey, nor had they taken her statement.

Read more: http://www.addictinginfo.org/2013/07/24/new-evidence-in-georgia-infants-death-points-to-parents-not-two-black-teens/#ixzz2a52loNmX

Insurance apparently ,
    All that been said is somebody claims GSR (gunshot residue) was found on the clothing of the mother who was actually shot herself,the gun used was fired twice beside the mother and once point blank into the baby's head ,
    So GSR is expected to be found

crockholm wrote: »
    I used the innocent teen's name,DeMarquis Elkins, in a way that suggested his guilt, on another thread.I was wrong,very wrong,even assh0lish about it.And KW suspicions were right all along.

The quotes that I posted in this thread were from 'The Rad Runner'. Are you saying that you made those statements under that screen name?

Makes sense since you and 'The Rad Runner' seem to be the only ones who use 'KW' so frequently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭cometogether

All the **** that I got because of this thread. People finding it hard to believe that a White woman would falsely accuse Black men for the death of her child. Like I said, it has happened before!

Tbh I don't really see where race enters it in this particular case. Glad the truth has come out though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

The THREAD TITLE possibly needs to be amended

Glad the truth has come out though.

What's the truth considering no trial has happened

Tbh I don't really see where race enters it in this particular case. Glad the truth has come out though.

It's the same mentality that labels Trayvon Martin as a thug. The same mentality that President Obama spoke about, how people looked their doors when he crossed in front of their car or how older White ladies clutched their purses when he stepped into elevators with them. For a very long time, the American media has painted Black men as the thug who commits atrocious crimes, and we have been taught, since early ages, that we should be suspicious of Black men.

As I've written in other threads, there is a long history of white females being viewed as the victims of Black male crime. Our country has been programmed to look at crimes like this and automatically perceive the Black man as guilty.

It's the same mentality that labels Trayvon Martin as a thug. The same mentality that President Obama spoke about, how people looked their doors when he crossed in front of their car or how older White ladies clutched their purses when he stepped into elevators with them. For a very long time, the American media has painted Black men as the thug who commits atrocious crimes, and we have been taught, since early ages, that we should be suspicious of Black men.

As I've written in other threads, there is a long history of white females being viewed as the victims of Black male crime. Our country has been programmed to look at crimes like this and automatically perceive the Black man as guilty.

Well in the Trayvon Martin case it was the opposite really! Having said that I do recognise what you mean, but I don't know if its applicable to this particular case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Insurance apparently ,
    All that been said is somebody claims GSR (gunshot residue) was found on the clothing of the mother who was actually shot herself,the gun used was fired twice beside the mother and once point blank into the baby's head ,
    So GSR is expected to be found

....your power to selectively filter information is disturbing...
    ...........revealed gun powder on the hands of both Sherry West and the baby’s father, Louis Santiago. Santiago claimed that he was nowhere near the scene of the shooting

I was thinking the exact same thing but was afraid to say it.

We don't get wall to wall news about a white baby being killed like we do when a Mexican defends himself against a 17 year old black gang banger.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-yFeqfaCBB8w/UeVZn-6VevI/AAAAAAAAQHU/2BDuFb8whvE/s1600/Trayvon_Martin.JPG

Since when has George Zimmerman been Mexican?

Nodin wrote: »
    ....your power to selectively filter information is disturbing...

What's disturbing no facts about the gsr have actually been produced for a trial ,
    As I already said mother shot in the leg ,
    2 gun shots discharged beside her
    1 shot point blank to a baby's head
    There's going to be gsr on both victims and I'll guess that it would have transfered to anybody who held or hugged both victims ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Super-Rush wrote: »
    http://news.sky.com/story/1068545/georgia-baby-buggy-shooting-two-arrested

Jesus christ what has the world come to?

Not much shocks me these days but this is fucking unbelievable.

I hope that these two bastards are executed.

In the same boat. Thats almost surreal...

I was thinking the exact same thing but was afraid to say it.

We don't get wall to wall news about a white baby being killed like we do when a Mexican defends himself against a 17 year old black gang banger.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-yFeqfaCBB8w/UeVZn-6VevI/AAAAAAAAQHU/2BDuFb8whvE/s1600/Trayvon_Martin.JPG

Since when was he in a gang?