Online porn block for England

waiting for the angry mob because they can't get off in England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Blisterman wrote: »
    It sets a very dangerous precedent in my opinion.

First it'll be porn. Then it'll be "extremist websites" i.e. Stormfront, BNP. Then we can look forward to the definition of extremist websites becoming ever increasingly broad, just as it has done for incitement to hatred laws.

I'm far from a conspiracy theorist, but I've been to China and I've seen how it works there. All under the guise of protecting people.

It's already started through Facebook and Twitter being more controlled and monitored social media than what we had previously. People embraced those more corporate platforms in their masses so maybe they'll be able to be coaxed to believe all this is a good thing for them as well.

There's a school of thought that the human masses needs that sort of control under the guise of freedom to be truly happy. I don't like it and I won't follow suit but I'm very aware that 9 out of 10 people will always follow the "think of the children" sentimentality over serious thought on the wide reaching potential implications.
    If we were smart and thoughtful enough as a people to rise above things like this veiled behind emotion and propaganda we'd have been smart and thoughtful enough to not elect the kind of morons into government who'd propose something so ridiculous like Sherlock, Riley, Shatter, Cameron, Bush etc.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

old_nick wrote: »
    nice try

I did no such thing as click but windows are there for all to see amongst the general adult material on most of the free sites

Eh, you do know you are actually obligated to report on it right? That's all the other guy was asking about.
    type in jenna jameson on xhamster etc and lumped in there amongst the expectant stuff is something altogether different

sure your bombarded with pop up windows on all those sites and its never ever of well known porn stars

Yeah, you get things coming back with results for "jenna" and for "jameson" as separate queries and then a whole raft of Japanese stuff that seems to come up regardless of what you search for.

But if your problem is with what's on that website, don't use it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 old_nick

porn is very destructive , im guilty of watching it every once in a while and due to only getting the interent as late as 1999 , was twenty before I ever saw hardcore , cant really say its done me any good tbh

I would see it as incredibly harmfull to young teenagers , im with the uk government on this one

if they block it , how come most of the free porn sites have kiddie stuff slipped in amongst the general material

im talking redtube , xvideo , 4tube , xhamster

anywhere you have free material , you have less regulation and security

Those are highly profitable porn sites generating huge revenue from being some of the most visited sites on the web. I highly doubt they'd tolerate child porn putting themselves in a difficult legal situation, I've certainly never seen anything like that or heard of anyone even mentioning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

The thing you have to remember is that underage kids aren't interested in porn until they hit puberty anyway and by then where's the harm?
    When I was fourteen I found a hardcore porno mag that showed 2 girls sucking and fcuking a guy. That mag was responsible for me milking myself dry everyday for years. If I was 10 when I found it I probably would have had a look, thought to myself "eeew, weird" and that was it. Kids on the internet are going to seek out things they're interested in.
    In Amsterdam there is nudity on telly in the early evening. There are racy commercials on bust stops and there are women sunbathing topless in the parks as kids walk by and play. Nobody bats an eyelid. Yet in prudish countries like Ireland, England, America this would cause riots in the streets.
    When I was younger than 14 I used to love going round to my mates house on Sunday as his folks always had the full gamut of tabloids. So it was a case of ogling Samantha Fox or Maria Whittaker or Linda Lusardi on page 3. I could only ever fantasise about touching those boobs. The thought of sex never entered my head as the concept was completely alien to me. Then we'd just go out and do what interested us like kicking a ball or listening to Madness.

Eh, you do know you are actually obligated to report on it right? That's all the other guy was asking about.

Yeah, you get things coming back with results for "jenna" and for "jameson" as separate queries and then a whole raft of Japanese stuff that seems to come up regardless of what you search for.

But if your problem is with what's on that website, don't use it.

I don't like your insinuation that I looked at illegal material , I done no such thing , im saying their are windows slipped in amongst the general material on those sites

to report it I would surely need to examine the material by clicking the windows , im not that way inclined , leave pete townsend to the research , the cops didn't buy his research story

Downlinz wrote: »
    Those are highly profitable porn sites generating huge revenue from being some of the most visited sites on the web. I highly doubt they'd tolerate child porn putting themselves in a difficult legal situation, I've certainly never seen anything like that or heard of anyone even mentioning it.

yeah well some people are less observant than others , like I said , type in jenna jameson on one of those sites and it wont entirely be her stuff which shows up on two dozen windows

im not saying anymore about it , too many cheap paedo jokes being lobbed about

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I don't like your insinuation that I looked at illegal material , I done no such thing , im saying their are windows slipped in amongst the general material on those sites

to report it I would surely need to examine the material by clicking the windows , im not that way inclined , leave pete townsend to the research , the cops didn't buy his research story

Eh... you implied you had seen or knowledge of it:
    if they block it , how come most of the free porn sites have kiddie stuff slipped in amongst the general material

im talking redtube , xvideo , 4tube , xhamster

anywhere you have free material , you have less regulation and security

I was not in any way insinuating you had gone searching for it. Nor was the other guy.

porn is very destructive , im guilty of watching it every once in a while and due to only getting the interent as late as 1999 , was twenty before I ever saw hardcore , cant really say its done me any good tbh

I would see it as incredibly harmfull to young teenagers , im with the uk government on this one

Why? Do you consider parents incapable of preventing their children accessing something destructive despite all the filters out there?

I've had the internet since I was 12 and grew up with Porn, it's hard to say if its harmful or not but I'd view it as something every teenager engages with. My brother is 8 years older than me and would have gone through his teenage years without the internet, I recall finding his shoebox under the bed some years later filled with cutouts from page 3's in newspapers and playboys.
    I remember as an 8 or 9 year old being invited to a friends house in the neighbourhood when his parents were away for the afternoon to watch the porn vhs tapes he found in his dads wardrobe.
    I was just under the impression that lads have been accessing porn with or without the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Smudge_pot

I've been following this story for a while now in the Sunday Times, who are actively campaigning for this block. Some of the stories about how online porn affects teenagers' perception of sex, and what is acceptable and what is not, are horrific. I see this block only as a good thing. Yes, people here complain that parents' should take responsibility for their children and install these blocks themselves - but many parents won't, and what are you supposed to say about their children who could end up with a distorted view of sex and relationships? 'It's their own fault because their parents didn't regulate their internet usage'? A lot of use that will do them.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

It's already started through Facebook and Twitter being more controlled and monitored social media than what we had previously. People embraced those more corporate platforms in their masses so maybe they'll be able to be coaxed to believe all this is a good thing for them as well.

Facebook and Twitter are websites and are responsible for what their users see and they should put in measures to keep inappropriate stuff away from their sites. The web is not owned by any ISP and it should not be down to them or the government what sites you decide to go an visit.

Eh... you implied you had seen or knowledge of it:

I was not in any way insinuating you had gone searching for it. Nor was the other guy.

how can you know what another poster implied ?

to notice a window on an adult site is not in my book the same as viewing it , im talking about one second observance , not thirty second viewing , I did not click on any of those windows , they startle me

maybe it wasn't illegal stuff , some go in for the teen thing ( not me ) and the actors look incredibly young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Smudge_pot wrote: »
    I've been following this story for a while now in the Sunday Times, who are actively campaigning for this block. Some of the stories about how online porn affects teenagers' perception of sex, and what is acceptable and what is not, are horrific. I see this block only as a good thing. Yes, people here complain that parents' should take responsibility for their children and install these blocks themselves - but many parents won't, and what are you supposed to say about their children who could end up with a distorted view of sex and relationships? 'It's their own fault because their parents didn't regulate their internet usage'? A lot of use that will do them.

This is the same for everything that kids shouldn't have access to then, surely? Total ban on alcohol and tobacco because some parents buy them for their teenagers. What are you supposed to say about children who could end up with destructive relationships with alcohol when they get older because their parents didn't regulate their alcohol intake? Alternatively, we could encourage parents to act responsibly and parent their kids and not ban everything for everyone because some people may fall foul of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

For the people who are saying that parents won't know how to install firewalls what about these options:

1) Contact a computer repair shop. Say "Can ye help me to set up a porn blocker on my computer please?"

2) Sit in the room while your child is online. Not close enough to read the screen, but just close enough to make sure they're not looking at boobies.

Problem solved, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

how can you know what another poster implied ?

to notice a window on an adult site is not in my book the same as viewing it , im talking about one second observance , not thirty second viewing , I did not click on any of those windows , they startle me

maybe it wasn't illegal stuff , some go in for the teen thing ( not me ) and the actors look incredibly young

So what youre saying is, it isnt child porn and its just 18/19 year olds who look a bit young?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭BurnsCarpenter

This is the same for everything that kids shouldn't have access to then, surely? Total ban on alcohol and tobacco because some parents buy them for their teenagers. What are you supposed to say about children who could end up with destructive relationships with alcohol when they get older because their parents didn't regulate their alcohol intake? Alternatively, we could encourage parents to act responsibly and parent their kids and not ban everything for everyone because some people may fall foul of it.

But they're not talking about a total ban - it's just a simple opt-in system.

So what youre saying is, it isnt child porn and its just 18/19 year olds who look a bit young?

stop making snide comments

So, yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭BurnsCarpenter

kylith wrote: »
    For the people who are saying that parents won't know how to install firewalls what about these options:

1) Contact a computer repair shop. Say "Can ye help me to set up a porn blocker on my computer please?"

2) Sit in the room while your child is online. Not close enough to read the screen, but just close enough to make sure they're not looking at boobies.

Problem solved, no?

Until they go down the road to their friend Johnny's house, whose parents are idiots. And they are exposed to the full spectrum of hardcore stuff.

So, yes?

are you an off duty guard , if not , enough with the interrogation

Why? Do you consider parents incapable of preventing their children accessing something destructive despite all the filters out there?

I've had the internet since I was 12 and grew up with Porn, it's hard to say if its harmful or not but I'd view it as something every teenager engages with. My brother is 8 years older than me and would have gone through his teenage years without the internet, I recall finding his shoebox under the bed some years later filled with cutouts from page 3's in newspapers and playboys.
    I remember as an 8 or 9 year old being invited to a friends house in the neighbourhood when his parents were away for the afternoon to watch the porn vhs tapes he found in his dads wardrobe.
    I was just under the impression that lads have been accessing porn with or without the internet.

page three is benny hill stuff , huge difference between that and hardcore porn , I saw page three before I was ten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭vard

I don't disagree with the ruling. But what happens when pedophiles can no longer get their fix on the internet? Will they venture out towards schools. Do we risk actually endangering more children through this?

are you an off duty guard , if not , enough with the interrogation

This isnt an interrogation. You said that there was child porn on these websites without backing it up, then went on to say maybe it isnt so I tried to clarify that it was just people in their late teens which is legal. You start to get defensive.

Maybe you should calm down, I'm sure the gardai wont be breaking down your door for viewing 19 year old kelly on her webcam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

vard wrote: »
    I don't disagree with the ruling. But what happens when pedophiles can no longer get their fix on the internet? Will they venture out towards schools. Do we risk actually endangering more children through this?

Eh... child porn was illegal before this.. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Do you really fancy calling Eircom and asking them to connect your porn?
    Until they go down the road to their friend Johnny's house, whose parents are idiots. And they are exposed to the full spectrum of hardcore stuff.

How would this stop that? If Johnny's parents opt in then they'll still be exposed to the hardcore stuff.

Sure you can, metaphorically speaking, keep all your booze locked in a strong box in the attic, but every time they go round to Johnny's house he could be feeding them vodka from the stash his folks keep beside the sofa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

Its a moot discussion. Who manages the internet in most households? You think Daddy's gonna opt in to this? And as for the default option, he wont be long undoing that some Saturday afternoon when they are all out.....

I do think blunt filtering at ISP level is a disturbing trend, I'm reminded of Senator Amidalas comment on the fall of democracy. "So this is how liberty dies... with thunderous applause"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

Immediate fail. Download from a torrent site will sort it.

Its the equivalent of deleting a shortcut to uninstall a program. Its harder to access but its still there.

And its very hard to find CP on Google since they actively combat this.
    The internet works a bit more like this and the people who access databases of this stuff arnt stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Jaysus, there's some amount of crap in this thread already....why is there an automatic link between porn and pedophilia for some people on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Hmm, maybe I should have made myself clearer. This is already in place. Most ISPs will provide a system where you can block all sites deemed to be not suitable for kids. My parents had a system like that for a while recently and didn't even notice it until it was mentioned to them when upgrading their wifi deal.

My worry is that by having the government involved in making policy for stuff like this will lead to far stricter control and bans. It starts out as an opt-in system that's accepted and gets stricter over time. It sets a precedent for government intervention in how we use the internet that I'm not comfortable with.