Is your hangover worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Bassfish

OP, in the first instance do you have to go out every weekend? A night out is always better when you haven't been out in a while.
    Also it's a great thing when drinking when you know the critical point at which you've had your full and you'll still be ok the next day. In my younger days that's when I'd decide I needed shots. Now I'll get to a certain point and say right that's me, time for chips and a dirty kebab. Always glad the next day that I stopped when I did.

There's been many times I've woken up on a Sunday and thought god why did I do that to myself? But I've never woken up fresh and clear headed and thought god I wish I got polluted last night!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

ScumLord wrote: »
    Lol, young adults and their stupid high tolerances for alcohol. Ever since turning thirty my tolerance for alcohol has gone through the floor. It's like being a teenager again, four pints and I'm legless.

It's great tho, cos nights out are now relatively cheap!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭corklad12

light weight!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I'm only 26 and am starting to get worse hangovers with less drink. Especially i hate when you spend the entire next day puking your guts up! Thankfully i never really went to crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I hate when you deliberately go easy on the drink and end up with a fking hangover anyway.

You can't take the risk that this might happen you OP so might as well get tore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

If you're blacking out when you're going out, then yeah. It's not really worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

SYLT wrote: »

Mental stuff.

Jaysis.Felt hungover just watching that video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Lol, young adults and their stupid high tolerances for alcohol. Ever since turning thirty my tolerance for alcohol has gone through the floor. It's like being a teenager again, four pints and I'm legless.

In the 30s and find I can drink as much if not more without getting as drunk, but the hangovers are bloody epic if I go overboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

That sounds a bit extreme. If you had those symptoms and hadn't been drinking you'd be going to a doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Sounds a bit disgusting and pathetic tbh. I certainly don't think it's normal. But it's your life so only you can weigh up whether the drunken nights are worth it. To me it seems pretty obvious they aren't.

get thee to an open meeting of AA. You'll hear how you are going to end up, if you dont stop the nonsense and look after yourself.

Blackouts are not considered a good night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Yes. But I find that when your over 30 + you actually enjoy a good night out without having to stumble around plastered at the end of the night.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,099 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The hangovers i can put up with, as you've no choice in the matter. What makes me want to give up drinking is the clinging to the toilet bowl having only lid down for 30 seconds, talking to Huey and Burt. It's my stomach that's not able for it anymore.

Saying that though, i'm a bit seedy myself, but i only had 2 pints, 5 cans and 2 rum & cokes. And chinese. Twas a tasty chinese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Alcohol is not a drug - it's a drink.

Cop on people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I was out Thursday and Friday night and woke up with a bad hangover yesterday. My hangovers are very bad, not so much the sickness but the depression and convincing myself I made a fool of myself the night before, though 99.99% of the time I haven't.

But yet I convince myself that I've to avoid certain people and establishments.

My hangovers last 2 days, the first one thinking the world is going to end, and the second one hoping it's going to end.

I never get depressed when I haven't been drinking. It isn't worth it and I usually stay off it for several weeks after a couple of nights on the beer followed by a couple of days hungover.

It is great craic while you're at it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Boofle

Henlars67 wrote: »
    I was out Thursday and Friday night and woke up with a bad hangover yesterday. My hangovers are very bad, not so much the sickness but the depression and convincing myself I made a fool of myself the night before, though 99.99% of the time I haven't.

But yet I convince myself that I've to avoid certain people and establishments.

My hangovers last 2 days, the first one thinking the world is going to end, and the second one hoping it's going to end.

I never get depressed when I haven't been drinking. It isn't worth it and I usually stay off it for several weeks after a couple of nights on the beer followed by a couple of days hungover.

It is great craic while you're at it though.

So true :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

No hangover is as bad as been fried from taking speed in my younger, more stupid days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Boofle

Why do hangovers get so much worse the older you get?! I wouldn't even drink a lot but the next day is just horrendous - sore tummy etc. It's really not worth it most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Cop on people.

Because Alcohol is a substance that cannot be abused. It's not like there are meetings for it similar to Narcotics Anonymous.

Alcohol is a legal drug, just because it is legally available does not mean it is not a drug. Nicotine is also a legal drug. If Marijuana becomes legalized does that mean it is no longer a drug?

Well done on telling people with a more intelligent understanding of the subject matter than you to cop on! I could say the same to you but i think the irony would be lost on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭fibonaccii

Cop on people.

lol. I hope that was a joke.

I'm not far off 30 now and I'd drink my early 20's self under the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

It's bad OP but im sure there is unfortunately a few hundred people like you this morning.

Step back from it and make a conscious decision to only got out once a week and only drink pints etc..

If your at that for 7 years, your insides will be beginning to get fked up by now, so ye need to cut it down for that reason alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

fibonaccii wrote: »
    lol. I hope that was a joke.

Alcohol makes me feel like **** for days. the Buzz itself isnt even that good and turns me into an angry prick sometimes. And id be in bed and feel like absolute crap for days and spend a fortune. Other stuff however.... i dont feel as bad and am actually fine on monday. funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭cometogether

When the low lasts longer and has a larger impact on your life then perhaps you need to start asking questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Drinking is a young lads/lasses game.
    No, it's not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Mr Keek

A hangover for the large large part is essentially dehydration, the latest hot weather is really effecting people, they need to double water intake.

Hangovers are not worth it.But can be managed. Drink plenty water, get a pint of iced water with your round every now an then. Get water in the shop on your way home. Have a pint of water before ya gonto bed, and keep a bottle by the bed for when you wake up at night.

In the morning, have an ernergy drink/lucazade in the fridge.

This is my routine, and its working for me.

OP, what you have is not a hangover, they are warning signs of a serious problem. I really hope you are taking poetic licence to make you post more interesting. If what you described is true, you need to have a word with yourself and seek professional medical advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I only get really bad hangovers sbout every three months these days even though I drink most weekends.. No way I could deal with that every week.

Had about 10 pints last night but wasnt too bad this morning. Made sure I ate beforehand and had loads of water and some pain killers when I got home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

The only benefit from a hangover is the horn next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

No its not worth it.
    I'm like you OP. I do have a pounding headache, totally dehydrated and constant vomiting...even if I drink water. It literally doesn't go until the day after the hangover.
    I really shouldn't drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭danbrosnan

Cop on people.

Ethanol is a drug and actually is a commodity also.. it is traded all over the world and is the highest selling drug in the world...

Ethanol kills all the time... Its the single biggest killer in the world today...

In Ireland we are just so stupid when some one kills somebody drink driving, we blame the person and not the chemical processes, that being forged over centuries to create the biggest drug in the world today..

Yes and that is ethanol, in lay mans terms : alcohol...