Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is your hangover worth it?

• 21-07-2013 12:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭

woke up today, feeling like death. Vomiting, even coughed up what looks like some blood, head spinning, so dehydrated yet barely having the energy to pour water down my throat. Still wearing the same clothes I went out in, covered in grass now mind, can't remember why but perhaps I crawled home, it's been done before. Not to mention the damage done to the wallet. Fairly standard Sunday morning after the rollover from Friday and Saturday night. Fairly standard Sunday morning every weekend for the last 7 or so years. I ask myself - Is it worth it? Is life meant to be like this, where feeling like **** from Sunday till Wednesday (until I start to feel normal again and can recycle and repeat) is normal?

I think I'll try to take a night off next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭SYLT

Mental stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

I really don't think it's worth it to be that hungover for a few days, just for a few hours of drunkenness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

No, that hangover is not worth it.

A normal one is. You need to tone it down mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

How is it worth it to feel so terrible for so long when you don't even know what you've done on a night out? If you were partying with Hunter S. Thompson it might be worth it, if you're falling over into a pool of your own vomit, not so much.

Drink less; you'll feel better afterwards, and you'll actually be able to remember whether you had a good night or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭danbrosnan

I didn't touch a drink in four years, recently had a few nights out that went on to weekends out... And no way in a million years is it worth, life is so much better sober... A million times better... The problem in Ireland is we think that just staying off the drink for a weekend is gonna solve the problem and I am afraid it will not...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭Encrustment

My friend woke up this morning with blood on his tshirt and shoes. He has no idea where it came from, he has no cuts or bruises. He's also a peaceful guy and would never fight. We're thinking possible nose bleed? Anyway he's in a worse state than you so I hope that gives you comfort.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

woke up today, feeling like death. Vomiting, even coughed up what looks like some blood, head spinning, so dehydrated yet barely having the energy to pour water down my throat. Still wearing the same clothes I went out in, covered in grass now mind, can't remember why but perhaps I crawled home, it's been done before. Not to mention the damage done to the wallet. Fairly standard Sunday morning after the rollover from Friday and Saturday night. Fairly standard Sunday morning every weekend for the last 7 or so years. I ask myself - Is it worth it? Is life meant to be like this, where feeling like **** from Sunday till Wednesday (until I start to feel normal again and can recycle and repeat) is normal?

I think I'll try to take a night off next weekend.

If that's kind of state you get in every weekend then I don't feel anything but pity for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Jesus that sounds like a bad one. Few less pints and keep away from the shorts maybe. I was out til 4 last night but feeling grand today mainly because I didn't drink like a lunatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,454 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

kylith wrote: »
    If you were partying with Hunter S. Thompson it might be worth it, if you're falling over into a pool of your own vomit, not so much.
    Considering Hunter is dead 8 years now, if he was partying with him he has a whole set of other issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Have you tried not being a lightweight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Go on the cure, will clear up that cough of blood....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I've woken up the same a good few times mate.
    Now I've changed. Instead of going out at night I tend to head out at about 2 or 3 in the day. Then have few pints and head home for about 10 or 11 and stopped me having the worst hangovers. Plus seem to have more craic in the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

I've woken up the same a good few times mate.
    Now I've changed. Instead of going out at night I tend to head out at about 2 or 3 in the day. Then have few pints and head home for about 10 or 11 and stopped me having the worst hangovers. Plus seem to have more craic in the day

But dont you miss the drunken horney women then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I've been wondering that recently just weighing up morning after blues, weight, finances etc. Thankfully I never get sick or feel too rough but still think I'd benefit from cutting it out altogether.

But what youve described is entirely different - crawling home, vomiting blood - seriously?

You need to cop on and seriously cut back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

If that's kind of state you get in every weekend then I don't feel anything but pity for you.

What's the air like up there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Refreshingly sober I'd say! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Specialun wrote: »
    But dont you miss the drunken horney women then?

I've a woman at home. Rather go home and see my gf than look at drunken teens getting sick on temple bar wearing what I assume is more a belt than a skirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

No One Looks Back On Their Life And Remembers The Nights They Got Plenty Of Sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

No it isnt worth it if you cant even remember what happened. Vomiting blood? You might want to get that checked out. I don't want to sound preachy but if you get into such a state to cause a hangover this bad every weekend then you could be doing some serious damage to your health. Either way chalk it up to experience and stop drinking so much on a night out. It is possible to enjoy yourself and have a few drinks without going completely overboard.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,434 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

This. ^^^
    To give a non AH answer, No it is not normal and it sounds like the OP has a drink problem that he will be addressing one way or another soon enough.
    I would suggest that PI would be a more appropriate forum for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭123 LC

No One Looks Back On Their Life And Remembers The Nights They Got Plenty Of Sleep.

True, but no one looks back on their life thinking I wish I had more hangover days. - If you're not hungover on a Sunday you can do stuff, therefore making memories :)

But he is going to look back and remember the nights... That he couldn't remember?

Look I know this is AH. But the tolerance towards blatant alcohol problems is a national embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Ireland: where not being an alcoholic means you're a "dry ****e."

OP, you should drink less. Drinking alcohol can be great as long as you manage it to a reasonable extent. Get drunk, but not so much that you don't know what's going on. Being a bit drunk can be really good fun, and I don't want to deprive you of that, but there's no point in drinking so much that you don't have fun (or can't remember having it) and you spend all of your money.
    Drink lots of water before you go to bed to minimise the strength of your hangover.
    Find a nice balance where you might still have to suffer a hangover, but it's not so bad, and it's worth it because of the fun you had the previous night.
    That's the problem with this country: too many people go out simply to drink, and assume that somehow fun will result from this drinking. You need to think like most of the rest of the world and go out to have fun, and use alcohol to enhance that fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Ireland: where not being an alcoholic means you're a "dry ****e."

Total misinterpretation. I've posted before about being teetotal for months at a time and how I very rarely drink anything more than a beer or two at a time these days. But I do love to drink. I just love my life more.

I was remarking on the supercilious and condescending tone of the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Quazzie wrote: »
    Considering Hunter is dead 8 years now, if he was partying with him he has a whole set of other issues
    If there's one person for whom death would be no impediment to a good time, it's Hunter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Lol, young adults and their stupid high tolerances for alcohol. Ever since turning thirty my tolerance for alcohol has gone through the floor. It's like being a teenager again, four pints and I'm legless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭SolarFlash

People are drinking like crazy now cuz of the weather. It's very bad in Galway lot of fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Katgurl wrote: »
    Look I know this is AH. But the tolerance towards blatant alcohol problems is a national embarrassment.

Couldn't agree more. I know people who will automatically decline a social arrangement the the basis that it's on a sunday because "they'll be fit for nothing" after their saturday night, like they don't have any choice in the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Don't get them so, yes, very worth it

ScumLord wrote: »
    Lol, young adults and their stupid high tolerances for alcohol. Ever since turning thirty my tolerance for alcohol has gone through the floor. It's like being a teenager again, four pints and I'm legless.

So true! I used be able to do ten hour drinking shifts no problem. NOw three or four drinks can sneak up on and have their wicked way with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Bassfish

OP, in the first instance do you have to go out every weekend? A night out is always better when you haven't been out in a while.
    Also it's a great thing when drinking when you know the critical point at which you've had your full and you'll still be ok the next day. In my younger days that's when I'd decide I needed shots. Now I'll get to a certain point and say right that's me, time for chips and a dirty kebab. Always glad the next day that I stopped when I did.

There's been many times I've woken up on a Sunday and thought god why did I do that to myself? But I've never woken up fresh and clear headed and thought god I wish I got polluted last night!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

It's great tho, cos nights out are now relatively cheap!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭corklad12

light weight!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I'm only 26 and am starting to get worse hangovers with less drink. Especially i hate when you spend the entire next day puking your guts up! Thankfully i never really went to crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I hate when you deliberately go easy on the drink and end up with a fking hangover anyway.

You can't take the risk that this might happen you OP so might as well get tore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

If you're blacking out when you're going out, then yeah. It's not really worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

SYLT wrote: »

Mental stuff.

Jaysis.Felt hungover just watching that video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

In the 30s and find I can drink as much if not more without getting as drunk, but the hangovers are bloody epic if I go overboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,295 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

That sounds a bit extreme. If you had those symptoms and hadn't been drinking you'd be going to a doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Sounds a bit disgusting and pathetic tbh. I certainly don't think it's normal. But it's your life so only you can weigh up whether the drunken nights are worth it. To me it seems pretty obvious they aren't.

get thee to an open meeting of AA. You'll hear how you are going to end up, if you dont stop the nonsense and look after yourself.

Blackouts are not considered a good night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Yes. But I find that when your over 30 + you actually enjoy a good night out without having to stumble around plastered at the end of the night.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The hangovers i can put up with, as you've no choice in the matter. What makes me want to give up drinking is the clinging to the toilet bowl having only lid down for 30 seconds, talking to Huey and Burt. It's my stomach that's not able for it anymore.

Saying that though, i'm a bit seedy myself, but i only had 2 pints, 5 cans and 2 rum & cokes. And chinese. Twas a tasty chinese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Alcohol is not a drug - it's a drink.

Cop on people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I was out Thursday and Friday night and woke up with a bad hangover yesterday. My hangovers are very bad, not so much the sickness but the depression and convincing myself I made a fool of myself the night before, though 99.99% of the time I haven't.

But yet I convince myself that I've to avoid certain people and establishments.

My hangovers last 2 days, the first one thinking the world is going to end, and the second one hoping it's going to end.

I never get depressed when I haven't been drinking. It isn't worth it and I usually stay off it for several weeks after a couple of nights on the beer followed by a couple of days hungover.

It is great craic while you're at it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Boofle

Henlars67 wrote: »
    I was out Thursday and Friday night and woke up with a bad hangover yesterday. My hangovers are very bad, not so much the sickness but the depression and convincing myself I made a fool of myself the night before, though 99.99% of the time I haven't.

But yet I convince myself that I've to avoid certain people and establishments.

My hangovers last 2 days, the first one thinking the world is going to end, and the second one hoping it's going to end.

I never get depressed when I haven't been drinking. It isn't worth it and I usually stay off it for several weeks after a couple of nights on the beer followed by a couple of days hungover.

It is great craic while you're at it though.

So true :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

No hangover is as bad as been fried from taking speed in my younger, more stupid days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Boofle

Why do hangovers get so much worse the older you get?! I wouldn't even drink a lot but the next day is just horrendous - sore tummy etc. It's really not worth it most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Cop on people.

Because Alcohol is a substance that cannot be abused. It's not like there are meetings for it similar to Narcotics Anonymous.

Alcohol is a legal drug, just because it is legally available does not mean it is not a drug. Nicotine is also a legal drug. If Marijuana becomes legalized does that mean it is no longer a drug?

Well done on telling people with a more intelligent understanding of the subject matter than you to cop on! I could say the same to you but i think the irony would be lost on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭fibonaccii

Cop on people.

lol. I hope that was a joke.