Guy caught on camera stealing tip jar *Mod warning opening post*

What makes me a little suspicious is that it's pretty high quality footage, do small coffee shops really invest so well in security equipment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭srsly78

What makes me a little suspicious is that it's pretty high quality footage, do small coffee shops really invest so well in security equipment?

Electronic equipment gets cheaper and better as time passes. Welcome to 2013!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

This was my first thought. You don't always see small establishments like this with security cameras, let alone HD ones. I've seen Banks with lower quality footage than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,156 ✭✭✭srsly78

This was my first thought. You don't always see small establishments like this with security cameras, let alone HD ones. I've seen Banks with lower quality footage than this.

Have you seen the ancient pcs and monitors they use in banks?

If it's a viral campaign they should have cleaned their disgusting floor first..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

petes wrote: »
    So it was you!! €23.56 is what you got??

It wasn't a theft, it's negative tipping ffs! The service was terrible and my coffee was only hot, I like it really hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

pretty slick maneuver !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Looks like the guy who knocked the kid's scooter in Firhouse last year!!

Was he driving an Audi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He has quite a distinguishable tattoo on his left forearm which someone might recognise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

He has quite a distinguishable tattoo on his left forearm which someone might recognise.

You sound like you're on crime call :pac:

LizT wrote: »
    You sound like you're on crime call :pac:

Am I not? :confused:

srsly78 wrote: »
    Electronic equipment gets cheaper and better as time passes. Welcome to 2013!

It's still not so cheap that every little coffee shop has or indeed needs one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

josip wrote: »
    If it is fake then:
    If he was brought in from the UK, he'd have no concerns about being recognised.
    If he's domestic and things turned out nasty he'd just announce that it was a setup.
    If he's a struggling actor, any kind of exposure is good for him.

Has the footage been handed over to the guards?
    Has the owner registered a complaint with them or just posted a video on YouTube?
    Where he doesn't ask for anyone's help identifying the guy, just says "Watch this..."

If it's not fake then I'm guilty of casting dispersions on the owner's character and I apologise in advance.

I never even though it might be fake, then you got me thinking.....he just opened his new shop on Pembroke street on Monday and then he released this and got interviews in paper !?!?! hhmmmmmmm:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Am I not? :confused:

Maybe in the most wanted section :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

gaz wac wrote: »
    I never even though it might be fake, then you got me thinking.....he just opened his new shop on Pembroke street on Monday and then he released this and got interviews in paper !?!?! hhmmmmmmm:rolleyes:

Owner is a long time Boards member and has helped out numerous people on the coffee forum over the years. Video footage is a different branch to the new one on Pembroke St. He put the new cameras in before christmas to prevent theft - I dont notice any 'branding' visible in the vid.

Lads in the tinfoil hats/conspiracy theory forum might agree with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,068 ✭✭✭✭josip

According to the owner, “I don’t know if it’s true or not, but a few other cafes have contacted me and said that it looks like someone who stole our tips. Maybe he makes a career visiting cafes and lifting tip jars.”
    Burritos and Blues replied to the video on Twitter, writing that “our tips were robbed recently!”, and Coffee Angel replied that “someone from Clement & Pekoe also said he’s paid them a visit”.
    Following on from the social media reaction, Karl, who initially “wasn’t going to bother” reporting it, has organised to drop the CCTV footage into Pearse Street Garda Station this evening. “They said to bring in the copy, they may know him”.

I hope for his sake it's not fake, otherwise he'll be wasting the guard's time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

In relation to what the Guards "could" do about it.

Facial recogntion wouldnt be great as there isnt a good quality frontal image available. Depending on the tech the guards have available they could build a composite and run that through some DB;s and then further refine using the forearm tatoo, if the guy has an existing record. if he doesnt then they dont really have much to go on.

Probably best for the owner to keep an eye out over the coming days, coffee runs tend to be part of a pattern, if this guy doesnt know he;s been spotted he may pass by at the same time each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

minotour wrote: »
    In relation to what the Guards "could" do about it.

Facial recogntion wouldnt be great as there isnt a good quality frontal image available. Depending on the tech the guards have available they could build a composite and run that through some DB;s and then further refine using the forearm tatoo, if the guy has an existing record. if he doesnt then they dont really have much to go on.

Probably best for the owner to keep an eye out over the coming days, coffee runs tend to be part of a pattern, if this guy doesnt know he;s been spotted he may pass by at the same time each day.

For thirty quid or so ?

I myself believe its a Mod cause the Mod warning given in the first post.

I'm lookin' at you Whoopsybollocko.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

In the interests of balance, their coffee is way over hyped.

If you're at the South Anne Street cafe, just walk on by and go to fixx across the road like. Much better & there's seating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

mattjack wrote: »
    I'm lookin' at you Whoopsybollocko.

I thought for a second that was gonna say Whoopsybollocks and thought "here come's the ban".. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Radiosonde

Corkbah wrote: »
    An actor playing a thief would do it as it is paid work for an advert (if its fake of course) ... why would any actor play the role of a bad guy/girl in any film/tv series etc .... because they get paid !!

There is a slight difference between portraying Hitler in a movie, and "playing" a thief on viral security camera footage...seriously, this is not going to be faked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

It kind of is.

I work in a very small retail shop and our video quality is surprisingly high. It's a great deterrent and the occasional time we have a serious crime (someone coming in and pickpocketing the tourists or something) we have footage and stills to hand over to the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Corkbah

Radiosonde wrote: »
    There is a slight difference between portraying Hitler in a movie, and "playing" a thief on viral security camera footage...seriously, this is not going to be faked.

not going to matter to an actor ... how many fair city, corry and eastenders actors have been ridiculed on the street because of the current plot in their work.

work is work where most actors are concerned.....I'm not saying its a fake ...or real !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

it would cost less that 200 euro. The average smartphone has this quality!

This is not faked, don't be so cynical. Some people start conspiracy theories from nothing!

As for somebody recommending Fixx, they are correct except in this weather the place is boiling. They don't have air conditioning on

EyeSight wrote: »
    it would cost less that 200 euro. The average smartphone has this quality!

This is not faked, don't be so cynical. Some people start conspiracy theories from nothing!

I am going to have to say quote or GTFO here :P

I put in my own system over here and it cost me more than that, and that's without having to pay anyone to install it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭winston82

A common thief would have known a camera was there, even a non-seasoned thief would have known the camera was there. He would have known his face was captured on it for easy recognition.

This is a set-up, plain and simple.

Case closed, next.

• Moderators Posts: 52,294 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

winston82 wrote: »
    A common thief would have known a camera was there, even a non-seasoned thief would have known the camera was there. He would have known his face was captured on it for easy recognition.

Case closed, next.

I think not, Horatio. There are plenty of thieves that have been caught because they have a moment of opportunity and forget about the cameras (assuming they notice them in the first place).

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭greenheart

If this is real he is scum. Most of the country is struggling to get by, doesn't matter how desperate he was that is a really low thing to do.
    I'm losing sleep over my bills at the minute but I'd rather be left sitting in the dark than lose my morals like that.

He didn't need to take the actual jar... that's just lower than low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

winston82 wrote: »

Case closed, next.

is that right my dear winston ;)