Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy caught on camera stealing tip jar *Mod warning opening post*

• 18-07-2013 10:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭

Someone's got to know this guy.
    The cheek of him.
    While the worker is making coffee he robs the staff's tipjar.
    Happened in a coffee shop in Dublin 2.

Mod Note:

No names are to be posted in this thread, breaking this rule will result in a ban. Requests to name and shame will also result in mod action.

whoopsadaisydoodles

http://youtu.be/WQciNHlJxLw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I'm sure more peeps saw it on Broadsheet...

Still, he is a fcuking pr!ck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭MusicalMelody

What a cheeky bollox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Heston Blumenthal???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Heston Blumenthal???

Blumen Hestanthal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Bertie Ahern

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Thankful they are working in Ireland not in the US. Next time they will lock the tip jar to the desk.
    As for naming the guy iirc that is against boards policy

Mod

Reopened, see mod warning in opening post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Saw a similar video, some guy in Galway also robbed a tip jar.
    How bloody desperate do you have to be to do that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Pretty smoothly done in fairness but it's a total pikey move - literally taking a few euro out of the pockets of people who won't be earning that much anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Maybe it's negative tipping. Like the way some exams are marked negatively if you get something wrong you lose a point. Their service was so poor he tipped them -€23.56

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

What a lousy thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

NothingMan wrote: »
    he tipped them -€23.56

Clearly the jug has some monetary value also. Could've been an antique or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Its ok, it will turn out to be a paid actor like the Korean video snot eating girl thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭CatLou

Aww, I actually like that place :\ What a prick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Nice marketing campaign by these guys.

Yes I'm a cynic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

How desperate or how much a cnut do you have to be steal about maybe 30 euros of change from a coffee shop tipjar, especially from someone who is most likely on minuimn wage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

WTF lads and lassies? Are we gone that bad as a society.

The lousy theiving swine, I hope he breaks his bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭josip

These are the skills of the owner of that coffee shop who posted the video on YouTube originally.

2rwb3ao.jpg

I don't see coffee making in there but I see an awful lot of skills that would make me doubt the authenticity of that video.

Why don't either of the girls in the shop look up when he leaves without buying anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

josip wrote: »
    These are the skills of the owner of that coffee shop who posted the video on YouTube originally.

2rwb3ao.jpg

I don't see coffee making in there but I see an awful lot of skills that would make me doubt the authenticity of that video.

Why don't either of the girls in the shop look up when he leaves without buying anything?

I sincerely hope that this isn't a marketing ploy :confused:

In the piece in the Indo other places in town have had this fella pay them a visit too so it seems to be genuine......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

People seriously think this is a marketing ploy? FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,585 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Heston Blumenthal???

Apparently the snail porridge wasn't paying the bills. How the mighty have fallen. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

How desperate or how much a cnut do you have to be steal about maybe 30 euros of change from a coffee shop tipjar, especially from someone who is most likely on minuimn wage

30e is a handy steal - i'd imagine you'd get less from a mugging.
    3 or 4 similar jobs in quick succession and you are sorted for gear for the day.

honestly , assuming he was going to rob somebody - i'd rather than type of robbery than an old person getting mugged for their pension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Would this qualify as a particularly gratuity-less crime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

Hmmmm you reckon there was about 30 quid in it?........Interesting.

washiskin wrote: »
    I sincerely hope that this isn't a marketing ploy :confused:

In the piece in the Indo other places in town have had this fella pay them a visit too so it seems to be genuine......

Can you post a link to the Indo piece? (that bastion of responsible journalism)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Mason Storm

2rwb3ao.jpg

I can see why the coffee shop owner would do it, but why would the actor playing the thief agree to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

30e is a handy steal - i'd imagine you'd get less from a mugging.
    3 or 4 similar jobs in quick succession and you are sorted for gear for the day.

honestly , assuming he was going to rob somebody - i'd rather than type of robbery than an old person getting mugged for their pension.

On the contrary id say you'd get more than 30 euros from a mugging, you'd be stealing a whole wallet with a greather chance of their being 188 or more if you did it on dole paydays, so you would have more then just stealing some random change from a tipjar which couldnt be more then small money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

NothingMan wrote: »
    Maybe it's negative tipping. Like the way some exams are marked negatively if you get something wrong you lose a point. Their service was so poor he tipped them -€23.56

So it was you!! €23.56 is what you got??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

I can see why the coffee shop owner would do it, but why would the actor playing the thief agree to it?

seriously ...dont you know how the internet marketing works.... create a video which goes viral and if the internets people get outraged or feel sorry they share and hey presto the name and location of the shop are known by hundreds/thousands of people.... for free !!

its clever marketing/advertising ...but 99% of the time its not planned when something goes "viral" .... in this case...its possible that the person is a genuine thief...but its also possible that its created/staged so that the shop will get free advertising.

things to note: are the gardai involved ? if so, why is the CCTV not with them instead of uploaded onto the internets and if not...why not ?

if the gardai are not involved - then chances are higher that the people in the shop have sent out the video to warn others/create a buzz so they can get free advertising....if the gardai are involved then the CCTV evidence should have been given to them for their preparation of evidence for the DPP.

An actor playing a thief would do it as it is paid work for an advert (if its fake of course) ... why would any actor play the role of a bad guy/girl in any film/tv series etc .... because they get paid !!

If it is fake then:
    If he was brought in from the UK, he'd have no concerns about being recognised.
    If he's domestic and things turned out nasty he'd just announce that it was a setup.
    If he's a struggling actor, any kind of exposure is good for him.

Has the footage been handed over to the guards?
    Has the owner registered a complaint with them or just posted a video on YouTube?
    Where he doesn't ask for anyone's help identifying the guy, just says "Watch this..."

If it's not fake then I'm guilty of casting dispersions on the owner's character and I apologise in advance.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

What makes me a little suspicious is that it's pretty high quality footage, do small coffee shops really invest so well in security equipment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

What makes me a little suspicious is that it's pretty high quality footage, do small coffee shops really invest so well in security equipment?

Electronic equipment gets cheaper and better as time passes. Welcome to 2013!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

This was my first thought. You don't always see small establishments like this with security cameras, let alone HD ones. I've seen Banks with lower quality footage than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

This was my first thought. You don't always see small establishments like this with security cameras, let alone HD ones. I've seen Banks with lower quality footage than this.

Have you seen the ancient pcs and monitors they use in banks?

If it's a viral campaign they should have cleaned their disgusting floor first..

petes wrote: »
    So it was you!! €23.56 is what you got??

It wasn't a theft, it's negative tipping ffs! The service was terrible and my coffee was only hot, I like it really hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

pretty slick maneuver !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Looks like the guy who knocked the kid's scooter in Firhouse last year!!

Was he driving an Audi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He has quite a distinguishable tattoo on his left forearm which someone might recognise.

You sound like you're on crime call :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

LizT wrote: »
    You sound like you're on crime call :pac:

Am I not? :confused:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

srsly78 wrote: »
    Electronic equipment gets cheaper and better as time passes. Welcome to 2013!

It's still not so cheap that every little coffee shop has or indeed needs one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

If it is fake then:
    If he was brought in from the UK, he'd have no concerns about being recognised.
    If he's domestic and things turned out nasty he'd just announce that it was a setup.
    If he's a struggling actor, any kind of exposure is good for him.

Has the footage been handed over to the guards?
    Has the owner registered a complaint with them or just posted a video on YouTube?
    Where he doesn't ask for anyone's help identifying the guy, just says "Watch this..."

If it's not fake then I'm guilty of casting dispersions on the owner's character and I apologise in advance.

I never even though it might be fake, then you got me thinking.....he just opened his new shop on Pembroke street on Monday and then he released this and got interviews in paper !?!?! hhmmmmmmm:rolleyes:

Am I not? :confused:

Maybe in the most wanted section :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

gaz wac wrote: »
    I never even though it might be fake, then you got me thinking.....he just opened his new shop on Pembroke street on Monday and then he released this and got interviews in paper !?!?! hhmmmmmmm:rolleyes:

Owner is a long time Boards member and has helped out numerous people on the coffee forum over the years. Video footage is a different branch to the new one on Pembroke St. He put the new cameras in before christmas to prevent theft - I dont notice any 'branding' visible in the vid.

Lads in the tinfoil hats/conspiracy theory forum might agree with you!

According to the owner, “I don’t know if it’s true or not, but a few other cafes have contacted me and said that it looks like someone who stole our tips. Maybe he makes a career visiting cafes and lifting tip jars.”
    Burritos and Blues replied to the video on Twitter, writing that “our tips were robbed recently!”, and Coffee Angel replied that “someone from Clement & Pekoe also said he’s paid them a visit”.
    Following on from the social media reaction, Karl, who initially “wasn’t going to bother” reporting it, has organised to drop the CCTV footage into Pearse Street Garda Station this evening. “They said to bring in the copy, they may know him”.

I hope for his sake it's not fake, otherwise he'll be wasting the guard's time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

In relation to what the Guards "could" do about it.

Facial recogntion wouldnt be great as there isnt a good quality frontal image available. Depending on the tech the guards have available they could build a composite and run that through some DB;s and then further refine using the forearm tatoo, if the guy has an existing record. if he doesnt then they dont really have much to go on.

Probably best for the owner to keep an eye out over the coming days, coffee runs tend to be part of a pattern, if this guy doesnt know he;s been spotted he may pass by at the same time each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

minotour wrote: »
    In relation to what the Guards "could" do about it.

Facial recogntion wouldnt be great as there isnt a good quality frontal image available. Depending on the tech the guards have available they could build a composite and run that through some DB;s and then further refine using the forearm tatoo, if the guy has an existing record. if he doesnt then they dont really have much to go on.

Probably best for the owner to keep an eye out over the coming days, coffee runs tend to be part of a pattern, if this guy doesnt know he;s been spotted he may pass by at the same time each day.

For thirty quid or so ?

I myself believe its a Mod cause the Mod warning given in the first post.

I'm lookin' at you Whoopsybollocko.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

In the interests of balance, their coffee is way over hyped.

If you're at the South Anne Street cafe, just walk on by and go to fixx across the road like. Much better & there's seating.

mattjack wrote: »
    I'm lookin' at you Whoopsybollocko.

I thought for a second that was gonna say Whoopsybollocks and thought "here come's the ban".. :pac: