Mens Clothes Have Gone Crap.

As for skinny jeans.....nooooooooo thank you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭ulinbac

The most annoying thing is the size. I'm medium in some and large in others (jumpers, t-shirts etc.). Different brands seem to have different measures.

Atm I have a a good few pairs of suit trousers. 2 suits of one brand 32" waist, 1 of another 34", and 2 of another brand 36. The 36 are a cheaper brand than the others though. Still thats 4 inches in the difference!

I fit into all of them basically the same!!! In jeans, chinos and shorts its a mix between 32/4.

Lesson is no more cheap suits as you get what you pay for in that area of mens clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Style wise, I fear for the future of man. I can't seem to find clothes that aren't either M&S old man clothes or pink t-shirts with a 70's shot of the miami skyline plastered on the front.

I laughed :pac:

So, so very true chief.
    That_Guy wrote: »
    Trying to find men's section in shops these days is difficult enough. You'd sooner find Jaysus.

Indeed.

The number of times I've entered shops muttering to myself: "Where is the fcuking men's section?" Then, of course, you end up having to tramp up about three flights of stairs. FFS.
    bgrizzley wrote: »
    Is there anything to be said for a nice cardigan?

Frankly, unless you are over the age of say, 55, if you're cutting about in a cardigan the game is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

OP, if you want decent quality clothes, go to a proper menswear shop rather than fashion chains.

You'll spend a bit more, but you'll get far more wear out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I buy all my t shirts in TK maxx. Brand names, good quality and half the price of high street retailers. I have a 'quiksilver' t shirt I bought there about 5 years ago which I still wear regularly which has kept its original shape/size and the colours on it are still vivid and bright. I wouldn't buy those €3 ****e t-shirts they sell in penny's, complete waste of money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

CJC999 wrote: »
    I wouldn't buy those €3 ****e t-shirts they sell in penny's, complete waste of money!

I bought a handful of those t-shirts last year for the gym and for traveling/camping and they're as good as new despite the serious abuse they go through.

They're genuinely some of the best t-shirts I own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

1ZRed wrote: »
    The quality just isn't there, thin tshirts and overall poorer quality and they just don't last as long in my experience. Anyone who throws down an A&F or similar clothing a lot of the time haven't even bought one thing off them.

Sure there's a markup in branded clothing but there's a massive difference between a branded shirt and a cheap one from Penneys, you can see it, but most importantly you can feel it.

As far as clothes go, I take it you're 30+ OP and styles change. I find clothes hard to find because I'm fussy and I'm not into the more common skinny jeans look, but there's still good clothes to be found that'll still look well. But it's undeniable that you get what you pay for.

Hardly, I've clothes from all sorts of brands/shops.

You'd pickup that Abercrombie and Hollister stuff in the US for half nothing and at some of the Outlet centers on the Continent e.g:
    http://www.mcarthurglen.com/nl/designer-outlet-roermond/en/

If you think that the 'brand' is guaranteeing you better quality or fit then you are fooling yourself. All of these companies are just putting out contracts to have their clothes manufacturered by the cheapest bidder to give themselves the best margin.

They spend massive amounts of money on advertising.

Check the quality of the fit, the stitching and the materials (e.g. if its 100% cotton or has synthetic materials)

A lot of the stuff in Penneys is junk but some of it is ok, same for H&M and other stores too though, i wouldn't say one particular brand has a very good level of quality over another.

Besides, Penneys (Primark) are in Germany now also, if it was all junk they wouldn't survive in Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

a nice pair of nylon Farah slacks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

Frankly, unless you are over the age of say, 55, if you're cutting about in a cardigan the game is over.

hold on there one second, Mr-Spaceman. i doubt this well dressed young man is anywhere close to 55...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

hold on there one second, Mr-Spaceman. i doubt this well dressed young man is anywhere close to 55...

Gay folk are able to pull off styles that the rest of us shouldn't go near.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

The hardness of your water could be the issue if clothes get destroyed after a few washes

Just be more careful when you p iss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

clothes that aren't either M&S old man clothes or pink t-shirts with a 70's shot of the miami skyline plastered on the front.
    Heh yeah, or jeans that look like they were pulled out from under a skip. (fair play if you like them, but I can't get onboard with it.)
    Clothes shops over here lost my interest a few years back when I couldn't find anything without raggy letters sewn onto them... usually supporting "College Football Number 49" or other such vagueness. And I'm not dressing for a weekend on a yacht either... so that's the high end stuff out.

I get my clothes on amazon now, the selection is huge and I don't have to listen to music I don't like or suffer the "help" of sales people. Of course it helps to be a perfect medium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

You mean you don't wear a suit everywhere except when engaged in sports? What kind of lackadaisical hippie are you, anyway?

I just knew before opening that pic that it would be a gay - or at least meterosexual - bearded, speccy hipster. Good enough for him I suppose.

Meanwhile, the rest of us don't give two fcuks for the trustafarian, sheep-following, art school twat 'look'.

BBDBB wrote: »
    a nice pair of nylon Farah slacks

And a Pringle golf jumper. Just to complete the 80s football casual style.

Threads made to last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

I'm in my mid 30s and think the choice of clothes out there have multiplied greatly in the last 10-15 years. I'm old enough to remember when you had none of the UK or international chains in Ireland so you either had to go for Penneys or Dunnes (both of which were really crap then - Penneys have since upped their game trendwise) or else the independent menswear shops which were astronomically overpriced. There really wasn't that much variety.

I remember Levis 501s were 50 old punts 20 years ago - you can get infinite fits and cuts of good looking jeans in all the chains out there now (Jack'n'Jones, Zara, H&M, River Island, TK Maxx or even Next for much less than 50 euro nowadays). They aren't all the skinny fit either. You do have to be slim though to avail of most options as I agree the choices for larger guys would not be as good. I've jeans and tops from all those stores for several years and that have gone through countless washes and they are still fine and in shape.

I don't know why some go on about how awful Jack'n'Jones are - ok, they are not designer label clothing but their range of shirts, jeans, tees are perfectly fine imo, the quality is grand and will look good on any guy with a decent body shape. Ted Baker, Reiss, Debenhams, Massimo Dutti, Arnotts etc have great choices for 30somethings upwards if you want to spend a little more. Online shopping expands your options even more. I don't think mens clothing have gotten worse at all and while the metrosexual OTT type clothes maybe get more publicity, there is far more "safer" mainstream selection that just that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Shopping for mens clothes is easier than ever, granted you have the money

A lot of fcukn trendy labels around now as well as the classics

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭Black Leather

Some branches of Penny's have a better selection than others. They are good for basic items such as shirts, tee shirts, underwear, and socks. Penny's at the moment have some nice light slim-fitting tee shirts for €2.50! Their jeans are not great and do not fit well.

I like River Island and Topman for their wide selection of skinny jeans and leather jackets. So there are good menswear shops out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Heh yeah, or jeans that look like they were pulled out from under a skip. (fair play if you like them, but I can't get onboard with it.)
    Clothes shops over here lost my interest a few years back when I couldn't find anything without raggy letters sewn onto them... usually supporting "College Football Number 49" or other such vagueness. And I'm not dressing for a weekend on a yacht either... so that's the high end stuff out.

I get my clothes on amazon now, the selection is huge and I don't have to listen to music I don't like or suffer the "help" of sales people. Of course it helps to be a perfect medium.
    Ya why do half the T-shirts in some shops, seem to be have emblems for obscure US college football teams? Is there some well-hidden majority of US football supporters in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Ya why do half the T-shirts in some shops, seem to be have emblems for obscure US college football teams? Is there some well-hidden majority of US football supporters in Ireland?

I'm pretty sure a lot of those are fictional colleges that don't exist?

I can't imagine why anyone would want to be mistaken for a US tourist....but that's just me.

UCDVet wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure a lot of those are fictional colleges that don't exist?

I can't imagine why anyone would want to be mistaken for a US tourist....but that's just me.

I don't even think them guys are aware its us college, or indeed anything at all is just such casually accepted motifs are inscribed in our unconscience

one thing I will say is never find yourself amidst the finest boutiques (online) because then you will feel even less adequate a pauper! And most of it is fashionista crap anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

I'm not a fan of asshole chic as the majority of Irish men appear to like these days.

Does it give you Le Freak?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

professore wrote: »
    They fit fine when you buy them .... they SHRINK vertically and EXPAND horzontally after a few washes -

Thats the problems i find with polo's and t shirts. They end up looking like a tent hanging out around your waste.

The best clothing is often most the most understated, and unassuming.

Particularly in the price department :O hanes or fruit of the loom will do the job, for the time being. I could be the best dressed bank robber in town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

razorblunt wrote: »
    This is completely incorrect, Penney's is poor quality, washes poorly, fits poorly (if you're not a hanger shape) and generally smells like crap after a while. I'm not saying you have to buy A&F and there's definitely a premium for branding but some clothes makers are better than others.

It's like saying a Dacia is the same as an Audi, but people aren't bright enough to realise the difference.

No, it's like saying that a VW is the same as an Audi, which is correct. Both made in the same country under the same conditions by the same manufacturer, yet people pay a premium for a slight design change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Why is it that when you pick out a collared shirt with the right collar size, the rest of it balloons out like a tent as if it were designed for the morbidly obese?

My last big clothes purchase was march 2012 when I was in america. Filled my suit case with A&F and hollister stuff. I wear the polo's and t-shirts to work everyday and going out so I work through all my stuff fairly quickly and so they get washed very regularly. These are all more or less like new still, and holding their shape extremely well despite all the wear and washing.

I am also still wearing a few A&F t-shirts which are older and are still in good condition so people saying they don't make quality clothes are talking nonsense.

Are people respecting the washing instructions? Most high quality branded clothes nowadays are supposed to be washed at 30 degrees I bet people are blitzing them in the washing machine at high temps.
    No, it's like saying that a VW is the same as an Audi, which is correct. Both made in the same country under the same conditions by the same manufacturer, yet people pay a premium for a slight design change.

The first analogy was much better. Cheap unbranded clothes are in general crap quality, crap fit and crap designs. You pay a premium for a much better product overall. If you believe the same quality of materials and quality of design go into cheap clothes as branded clothes you obviously have no experience with proper clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Why is it that when you pick out a collared shirt with the right collar size, the rest of it balloons out like a tent as if it were designed for the morbidly obese?

Because Irish people in general have bigger bellies and backsides.

Go shop on the Continent, all the Dutch clothes (Same brands) have no Ar$e in them and the legs are too long.