Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

A Blind Man beat me... must improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

ncmc wrote: »
    Welcome back Ste! Great to hear you're getting back out there.

Can you share your secrets on how you beat your Boards addiction??? I could do with learning that particular skill :o

Thanks ;-)
    The only way is to Stop Running.. and you don't want to do that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Welcome back Ste! Great to hear you're getting back out there.

Can you share your secrets on how you beat your Boards addiction??? I could do with learning that particular skill :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Big Logger

Steroo wrote: »
    I put my runners on yesterday... and did 3 easy miles with no issues! ;-)
    Went back to Osetopath last week & she said it was okay to try. just not to push it at all.
    I've also been doing my Hot Yoga & the stretches are great... all core work & I come out dripping wet like I just climbed out of a swimming pool.

So I'll try another little run next week & go from there... hope I can still get on the DCM train but we'll play it by ear.
    If I can, I will be doing things differently, less obsessive & more flexible.. and listen to my body.. and more Core work. and less Boards probably too... only from stepping away did I see how much time I spent checking it on my phone etc... everything in moderation.

sounds like an excellent plan, i'd be confident of you enjoying your marathon if you adhere to your advice above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Good to hear you are having some improvement.Hope that continues. Take it easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭guinang

If I can, I will be doing things differently, less obsessive & more flexible.. and listen to my body.. and more Core work. and less Boards probably too... only from stepping away did I see how much time I spent checking it on my phone etc... everything in moderation.

I've taken that attitude too Ste. coming in to the new year I was constantly checking, rechecking and trying to read every log and thank every post. It's good to have that break to see how much time it consumes so you can put a little perspective on it.

Good to see you back running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,723 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

I've just left the book I'm reading in the sitting room so that when I sit down for a cup of tea I've something other than boards to keep my mind off the crap on tv! Gonna see if that helps me. It's a bit quieter around here these days too, which doesn't do any harm. Except I normally end up on DoneDeal looking at cars that I shouldn't be thinking about buying.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    I've just left the book I'm reading in the sitting room so that when I sit down for a cup of tea I've something other than boards to keep my mind off the crap on tv! Gonna see if that helps me. It's a bit quieter around here these days too, which doesn't do any harm. Except I normally end up on DoneDeal looking at cars that I shouldn't be thinking about buying.:eek:

What kind of tea now are we talking here?

blockic wrote: »
    What kind of tea now are we talking here?

Ehh.. Tetley?
    (Better than that Barry's $hite anyway)

Festival last weekend had me in a bad way for a week... Finally got out today for 3.7 miles ! No issues... Feeling optimistic again :)

Little Update.. not much to report but it's progress.

Thurs 4th: 5.6m Easy Jog
    Sat 6th - Cycle 8m
    Monday 8th - Cycle 13m
    Tue 9th - Cycle 22m
    Wed 10th - 3.7m @9.05 no issues & feeling good, followed by 11m Cycle to work & back again this eve.

Can feel my lower back is tight & right glute is tender-ish.

Weight is much the same as it was back in April/May so am happy with that.
    Still unsure what'll happen when I up the mileage... I probably should go back to the Osteopath for an update check up before I start back fully. I think I'll try Meno's plan over 12 weeks.

I'll head down to Clontarf Half this weekend & might see a few faces ;-) Was considering doing it as my first LSR back.. just jog around it for the buzz... but it'd be an expensive jog.

Thurs: 5.6m easy
    Today I woke up with an awful 'locked' back and neck... Then it eased and now my lower back is fkyed. Limping. So I think I'm a cyclist for the rest of the summer.

Luckily I hadn't gotten my hopes up ;)

Aw crap. :(

Aw crap. :(

Might see u later Dilbert... Good luck pacing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

That's awful Ste, you were doing so well. Has anyone been able to pinpoint why this is happening?

Cycling is probably nicer in this weather anyway, more of a breeze (I can't believe I just said that, I hang my head in shame at uttering such words in the running forum!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

Sorry to hear that Ste,

Your really have a tough run of bad luck as regards running at the moment,it has to improve at some stage.

Might see u later Dilbert... Good luck pacing

thanks for the encouragement! ;)

I was a bit late to spot ye! What happened your pace group ;)

That's awful Ste, you were doing so well. Has anyone been able to pinpoint why this is happening?

Cycling is probably nicer in this weather anyway, more of a breeze (I can't believe I just said that, I hang my head in shame at uttering such words in the running forum!)

Thanks lads its grand, as I say I didn't really think I'd get back into it without issues. Still no real pin point to the cause... Overtraining; poor posture; weak core; tight psoas.. It all seems deep rooted with no quick fix. Back to osteopath on Tuesday for her costly opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Sorry to hear that Ste. Good luck with your recovery.

Nuts. Not good fella. Best of luck with the recovery (and the bank balance with all these costly visits)

guinang wrote: »
    Nuts. Not good fella. Best of luck with the recovery (and the bank balance with all these costly visits)

Thanks Gerry. Good job on sat in that heat!! Gave u a shout

Ahhhh...that was you on the promenade with the little young lad about 1/2 mile from the finish? I thought it was a lad I used to play football with but then I think I was pretty out of it at that point.

guinang wrote: »
    Ahhhh...that was you on the promenade with the little young lad about 1/2 mile from the finish? I thought it was a lad I used to play football with but then I think I was pretty out of it at that point.

Ha ha I knew you were a bit dazed.. From the heat... Although you looked comfortable compared to others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Any improvement Stephen?

Ah Beef, someone misses me yay! ;-) here is my update (rant)...
    I've been back to Osteopath & it was a little improved.. and I found a lot of hip opening (yoga) stretches, Psoas & lower back & Glutes Stretches.
    Can't afford any more Specialists! there is no quick fix for me I've learned.

Only last night I really felt free movement around the Hips again. been doing a bit of Cycling.
    I could try a run tonight & I'm sure I'd get a few miles but the problem is not fixed... I've a weak core, poor balance/stability & it all needs to be fixed & strengthened up before I make a comeback to distance running. Last night while reading 'Born to Run' I found a little line that sank in.. 'Run Strong before you Run Long'... so that's my Aim. I am joining my local Gym (189 for 14 months & all classes included) and I plan on doing a lot of Core work/Strength while also keeping on top of Cardio on bikes/Cross Trainer & also Swimming (which I am trying to improve). so that's me for the next few months!
    I miss the running so much, depresses me at times ;-( But then I remember there are people Sick & in a bad way... and then I watched the Disabled athletes last week & copped myself on.
    My log will be Quiet but I keep an eye on your logs & am delighted to see so many making progress ;-)
    Thanks for asking & best of luck.

I could try a run tonight & I'm sure I'd get a few miles but the problem is not fixed... I've a weak core, poor balance/stability & it all needs to be fixed & strengthened up before I make a comeback to distance running. Last night while reading 'Born to Run' I found a little line that sank in.. 'Run Strong before you Run Long'... so that's my Aim. I am joining my local Gym (189 for 14 months & all classes included) and I plan on doing a lot of Core work/Strength while also keeping on top of Cardio on bikes/Cross Trainer & also Swimming (which I am trying to improve). so that's me for the next few months!

Good to hear from you Stephen. That's a great quote and your strategy for the next few months looks bang on for you after all your troubles....take your time, get it sorted once and for all and then get back in the game...if that takes 6 months or whatever, so be it...think long term although I know how hard that can be at times.

3.9 miles nice and easy no issues.

Joined local gym this week, did a bit of core work and swimming. Pilates next week!

3.9 miles nice and easy no issues.

Joined local gym this week, did a bit of core work and swimming. Pilates next week!

Nice one! Easy, Easy, Easy!! :) ... I swear by the Pilates, going to start back up myself this week too.

blockic wrote: »
    Nice one! Easy, Easy, Easy!! :) ... I swear by the Pilates, going to start back up myself this week too.

Yea heard great reports, worth a shot. I will keep it to one run a week for next while! You're looking good for Chicago ;)

2 weeks since last run approx.. did a Pilates Class & bit of Cycling & Swimming.
    Got out for a run last night & felt fairly okay, back felt tight. Pushed the pace a bit mid way & felt nice to be running again.. but found my fitness is definitely faded a bit. I'll go out again later in the week but at an easier pace.
    5.38m at avg 9.02