Drinking alone.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

I personally think it's worse to find someone to drink with just for self-validation, telling yourself you're NOT an alcoholic. I find a lot wrong with our drinking culture - if you enjoy a nice drink on your own, a lot of people can't fathom that you just enjoy a nice drink, the taste or the sensation. This, I'm sure, is much worse than just going to the pub/opening some bottles or cans and happily having a drink without being self-conscious and dancing around finding ways to drink.

If you need to be with people as a way of drinking comfortably, the attitude to the drink isn't healthy. I see nothing wrong with having a few beers while watching the telly. It's great! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

padz wrote: »
    ive had 3 beers alone since 9, a friend is goin to pop over, ive been browsing, reading news, checking my youtube subs and a few tunes, drinking alone is fine,i find you dont chug as much which is good...id be more concerned if i found myself drinkin in a pub alone during the day

Yeah I drink about a can every 50-60 mins when I'm on my own. If im in the pub it will be a pint every 30 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Chug, chug, chug, chug!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I'm all alone. Might go flood the jacks and call the plumber so I have someone to talk to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Lyssa

El Guapo! wrote: »
    I'm all alone. Might go flood the jacks and call the plumber so I have someone to talk to.

Phone the speaking clock! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Mylina wrote: »
    Phone the speaking clock! :pac:

At the tone, the time will be...

Actually, is that talking clock thing still going??

Dude, il ring ya. We can pretend to be long lost Siamese triplets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

A few drinks at home alone is okay once you don't do it everyday. I had a few drinks last night at home by myself and see no problem with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Dude, il ring ya. We can pretend to be long lost Siamese triplets.

Sure, post your number here, we'll ALL call you and pretend to be the plumber :pac::pac::pac:

(Don't, you wouldn't know what kind of weirdo's are around here... >.> <.< *twitch* )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

No its not strange at all.

Never had a drink in the house and always went out instead until I had kids. I still go out now but not as much and have been converted to the pleasures of having a few in the house.

Saying that getting sloshed by yourself the odd time indicates problems is ridiculous IMO.

My missus doesn't drink much so I'm grand to have a good few and not worry about getting up to the kids.

Wouldn't have more than one or two if I'm the only one in the house with the kids though.

Sure, post your number here, we'll ALL call you and pretend to be the plumber :pac::pac::pac:

(Don't, you wouldn't know what kind of weirdo's are around here... >.> <.< *twitch* )

Fill in the blanks 08 371 08

Talk soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭padz

Chug, chug, chug, chug!!!

ha this is not something i ever want to find myself doin alone
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQTjMzPL-og

Fill in the blanks 08 371 08

Talk soon!

Sure, I already have yours... am not pretending to be the plumber for you!! :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Fcuk, do ya?

C'mon, be my plumber! Jut ring me and flush the toilet! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭downwithpeace

I drink alone at times, start with some movie or tv show then migrate to the internet and some music. Drunk MMO is sometimes fun too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

You are never alone EL Guapo :D Microfcuk has a new alcoholic talk person now so no-one will feel lonely ever again... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

This song reminds be about getting locked on jameson and singing along to it in a Jamaican accent.

Man, I hate being off the drink at the minute. I'd love a jameson :(

1ZRed wrote: »
    This song reminds be about getting locked on jameson and singing along to it in a Jamaican accent.

Man, I hate being off the drink at the minute. I'd love a jameson :(

Being off drink is a sign of weakness :p

I was off drink... Until this evening.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Well I'm off it because I'm not in the best of health atm, so yeah, you'd be fookin right about that! :p

1ZRed wrote: »
    Well I'm off it because I'm not in the best of health atm, so yeah, you'd be fookin right about that! :p

:(
    Feel better soon :)

You are never alone when you have Jesus........in juice form!

I was off drink... Until this evening.... :D

Good woman/man :p

You are never alone when you have Jesus........in juice form!

Ye don't say.

After all that, i forgot to add in the pint of beer :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I do it about once a year. Go on a solo bender indoors when the wife's away. It's great and worth the morning/day after. The creativity increases as does one's self awareness. And the spontaneous bursts of singing are a treat for my hound.

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    I do it about once a year. Go on a solo bender indoors when the wife's away. It's great and worth the morning/day after. The creativity increases as does one's self awareness. And the spontaneous bursts of singing are a treat for my hound.

Now this ^ is a man of the wild, a real true hero on all standings, that's what it's all about.

We have a genius here folks, an astonishing human being that know's the real insights of alcohol in all it's goodness. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

Most of the time I go to the pub, actually, I'd go in on my own for a couple of pleasant pints, but sure in the right pub you're never alone! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

That's for the old blues guys

is a well worn path to self destruction. Replaying House of the Rising Sun over and over in your head as you remember a lost love, accidentally soiling your pants in the process. Just think how cheesy Gary Moore looked doing it