Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking alone.....

• 13-07-2013 9:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭

Do you do it?
    Do you see anything wrong with it?

I've been drinking alone since earlier tonight as the gf is out. I'm pretty drunk at the minute.
    Personally I don't see anything wrong with it unless you're getting locked every night alone. As long as its in moderation I don't see it as a problem, but some people might see it as a bit weird or a sign of alcoholism.
    What do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I don't know, I guess I'd see it as wrong as I'd only drink alcohol to get drunk. I don't drink it because I like the taste of it.
    and wanting to be drunk on your own probably indicates deeper problems.

then again if you actually like the taste of what you're drinking and aren't doing it to get drunk then nah, don't see any issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Do you do it?

I've been drinking alone since earlier tonight as the gf is out. I'm pretty drunk at the minute.
    Personally I don't see anything wrong with it unless you're getting locked every night alone. As long as its in moderation I don't see it as a problem, but some people might see it as a bit weird or a sign of alcoholism.
    What do you think?

But that's not in moderation, innit? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

I think you worry too much, now drink up and open another one!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Tis grand. I often have a drink on my own. However, if you are in a bad place to begin with, then I wouldn't recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I always drink alone. People are arseholes, and I have to spend enough time with them when I'm working, why the fcuk would I want to have company when I'm enjoying myself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I sometimes drink alone, a few cans or bottles, usually wouldn't drink more than three or four, just chilling out watching a movie or listening to music, I would never drink to get drunk alone, usually drink much more slowly than I would if I was with others, often more than an hour for a can or a bottle. I've never been drunk alone, wouldn't imagine it to be very fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I'm doing it rite now too. I never usually do it and I don't know why. It takes the edge off everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

SV wrote: »
    I don't know, I guess I'd see it as wrong as I'd only drink alcohol to get drunk. I don't drink it because I like the taste of it.
    and wanting to be drunk on your own probably indicates deeper problems.

then again if you actually like the taste of what you're drinking and aren't doing it to get drunk then nah, don't see any issue.

Well I just like the taste of it so I decided to have a few while the sun was out. I didn't set out to get drunk but apparently that's what's happened. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I don't know how people drink alone. Isn't the point of the drinking to get merry and have fun? You need someone with you to talk to and have a laugh with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Nope, nothing wrong with it. The word alcoholic is thrown around far too easily nowadays. There's nothing at all wrong with having a few/a lot on your own if you're enjoying it.

Everything in moderation and it's grand, but I wouldn't see anything worrying about a few bottles after work most days to de-stress either.

Lars1916 wrote: »
    But that's not in moderation, innit? ;)

There'll be no logic in this thread.
    I'm afraid I'm gonna have to ask you to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I always drink alone. People are arseholes, and I have to spend enough time with them when I'm working, why the fcuk would I want to have company when I'm enjoying myself?

Your watching a porno ain't ya???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

I enjoy a few at the weekend alone, i stick on some music, turn on the tv to whatever talkshow happens to be on and take out the laptop and look at boards, on a sidenote awful shite on miriam o callahans show tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Do you do it?

What do you think?

I do it too mate, once every couple of weeks. Don't live with the girlfriend but she is out tonight with friends and I couldn't be bothered heading out so I am having an 8 pack of Guinness playing some first person shooter games online, downloading a film from the bay and browsing boards. Successful night in in my books. Not a thing wrong with it as long as its not too often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Yup, haven't had much but I'm pretty tipsy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

Do you do it?

What do you think?

I don't really see the difference? Getting locked in company or on your own is pretty much the same thing - you're locked either way - be it one night a year or every night of the week.

If you lock yourself away and do it, perhaps that would be different.

If you can't have a drink and enjoy your own company, there's something wrong with you in my opinion.

Have to work for a couple of hours in the morn, so will have 5 or 6 beers on my own tonight.

Sound out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

You should get her to go out more often, and get her to buy the cans, they taste better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Do you do it?

What do you think?

It all depends on what your definition of 'moderation' is. I am guessing that a health professional would tell you that is no more than two beers, but I'm sure most people feel they know better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Yup, haven't had much but I'm pretty tipsy

Tipsy maybe, pretty...never!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Do you do it?

What do you think?

Well ye see, it all depends on the individual. I actually prefer to drink alone sometimes just for relaxation purposes and it's great.

I find that drinking with people i know is more of a bother as they can't handle the drink and all hell breaks loose at times.

I wouldn't recommend getting very drunk all the time on your own as this is obviously not a good thing. At this moment i have a nice big shipment of beers by my side and need i say something relaxing as of the colour green and i am in heaven, all alone with my indulgences, but not to excess i dare say as i promptly ingest this fine beer to it's full satisfaction.

Tipsy maybe, pretty...never!:D

Oooooooh!

Hitting me where it hurts dude! Right when I let my fancy pants down! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭padz

ive had 3 beers alone since 9, a friend is goin to pop over, ive been browsing, reading news, checking my youtube subs and a few tunes, drinking alone is fine,i find you dont chug as much which is good...id be more concerned if i found myself drinkin in a pub alone during the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    It all depends on what your definition of 'moderation' is. I am guessing that a health professional would tell you that is no more than two beers, but I'm sure most people feel they know better.

Ara moderation schmoderation :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

I'm not normally a solo drinker. However the past 2 nights I've had 2 cans both evenings.

Someone wants to call me an alco after that, then they've got their own issues!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Lyssa

*clink*
    Cheers El Guapo ;)

I'm not drinking alone either, sure aren't I chatting to all you lovely people?? :pac:

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    I sometimes drink alone, a few cans or bottles, usually wouldn't drink more than three or four, just chilling out watching a movie or listening to music, I would never drink to get drunk alone, usually drink much more slowly than I would if I was with others, often more than an hour for a can or a bottle. I've never been drunk alone, wouldn't imagine it to be very fun.

That's not true. It's very rarely I'll drink enough to get drunk on my own but strangly, it can be a fair bit of fun when you're just relaxing to music or playing a game of FIFA :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You can be your own best company sometimes, listen to a few tunes watch a few docs or movies with drinks, get to know yourself :pac: with nobody there sh1te talking or annoying you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

I have no problems drinking alone. It's the same with travelling. If you come to a pub or country in a group you tend to stick with the group.
    But you can talk to new people when you are alone as long as you are not wearing a frown or feeling sorry for yourself because you think its not the norm to be drinking alone.
    Being comfortable in your own skin is the foundation of meeting new friends I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I am having a few beers right now by myself. As long as you're not getting ****faced I think it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Nowt wrong with a gargle on yer tod!
    Sometimes prefer it, to sitting talking bull**** just for the sake of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

I personally think it's worse to find someone to drink with just for self-validation, telling yourself you're NOT an alcoholic. I find a lot wrong with our drinking culture - if you enjoy a nice drink on your own, a lot of people can't fathom that you just enjoy a nice drink, the taste or the sensation. This, I'm sure, is much worse than just going to the pub/opening some bottles or cans and happily having a drink without being self-conscious and dancing around finding ways to drink.

If you need to be with people as a way of drinking comfortably, the attitude to the drink isn't healthy. I see nothing wrong with having a few beers while watching the telly. It's great! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

padz wrote: »
    ive had 3 beers alone since 9, a friend is goin to pop over, ive been browsing, reading news, checking my youtube subs and a few tunes, drinking alone is fine,i find you dont chug as much which is good...id be more concerned if i found myself drinkin in a pub alone during the day

Yeah I drink about a can every 50-60 mins when I'm on my own. If im in the pub it will be a pint every 30 mins.

Chug, chug, chug, chug!!!

I'm all alone. Might go flood the jacks and call the plumber so I have someone to talk to.

Phone the speaking clock! :pac:

Mylina wrote: »
    Phone the speaking clock! :pac:

At the tone, the time will be...

Actually, is that talking clock thing still going??

Dude, il ring ya. We can pretend to be long lost Siamese triplets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

A few drinks at home alone is okay once you don't do it everyday. I had a few drinks last night at home by myself and see no problem with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Dude, il ring ya. We can pretend to be long lost Siamese triplets.

Sure, post your number here, we'll ALL call you and pretend to be the plumber :pac::pac::pac:

(Don't, you wouldn't know what kind of weirdo's are around here... >.> <.< *twitch* )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

No its not strange at all.

Never had a drink in the house and always went out instead until I had kids. I still go out now but not as much and have been converted to the pleasures of having a few in the house.

Saying that getting sloshed by yourself the odd time indicates problems is ridiculous IMO.

My missus doesn't drink much so I'm grand to have a good few and not worry about getting up to the kids.

Wouldn't have more than one or two if I'm the only one in the house with the kids though.

Sure, post your number here, we'll ALL call you and pretend to be the plumber :pac::pac::pac:

(Don't, you wouldn't know what kind of weirdo's are around here... >.> <.< *twitch* )

Fill in the blanks 08 371 08

Talk soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭padz

Chug, chug, chug, chug!!!

ha this is not something i ever want to find myself doin alone
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQTjMzPL-og

Fill in the blanks 08 371 08

Talk soon!

Sure, I already have yours... am not pretending to be the plumber for you!! :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Fcuk, do ya?

C'mon, be my plumber! Jut ring me and flush the toilet! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭downwithpeace

I drink alone at times, start with some movie or tv show then migrate to the internet and some music. Drunk MMO is sometimes fun too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

You are never alone EL Guapo :D Microfcuk has a new alcoholic talk person now so no-one will feel lonely ever again... :pac:

This song reminds be about getting locked on jameson and singing along to it in a Jamaican accent.

Man, I hate being off the drink at the minute. I'd love a jameson :(

1ZRed wrote: »
    This song reminds be about getting locked on jameson and singing along to it in a Jamaican accent.

Man, I hate being off the drink at the minute. I'd love a jameson :(

Being off drink is a sign of weakness :p