toplessness why is it acceptable for men but not women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭littlemisshobo

telling you it would be the case... why not start a study... have ten men walk around a city and see what abuse they get... then do the same with ten topless women... bet I'm right... :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

telling you it would be the case... why not start a study... have ten men walk around a city and see what abuse they get... then do the same with ten topless women... bet I'm right... :P

Could be argued that it'll create a sense of normality. Sit next to something with a sound you aren't used to long enough and you'll not notice it as much as you did initially.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

You'd be hard pushed to find a farmer, builder, gardener or mechanic with their shirt on these days. Are they all knackers too?

Some guy working in a field/building site or other manual labour with his shirt off? - Fine.

Some F***wit strolling down the street in town with his shirt off? - Skanger!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

There are topless beaches on the continent that are open to the public but the rates of rape are not higher than average. The instances of neck strain in men is probably higher though.
    Men having exposure to women's boobs in public does not increase rape rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I see plenty of tits walking around Dublin any time i'm up there.

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    Some guy working in a field/building site or other manual labour with his shirt off? - Fine.

Yeah, but how else will he show off his 6 pack, scars and tattoo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Quin_Dub wrote: »

Totally agree. I remember once going to the butchers and he was topless, put me right off my giblets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

s it illegal for women to go topless

ianal but is it ? I thought there had to be intent to offend.

Anyway if it really is illegal for women why doesn't a womens group take a case under discrimination laws.

yeah but this isn't the continent with topless beaches... I've had my ass grapped and slapped so many times in a club... wearing JEANS...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

Cienciano wrote: »
    Toplessness isn't acceptable on the streets for blokes unless you're a knacker.

Or have a smoking hot body.

The world needs more hot guys showing off their bodies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Anybody who goes on holidays to a hot country 27degrees say men will walk around topless and it's perfectly acceptable. In Ireland 27degrees and they're knackers for doing it. Stupid.

It's ok at the beach you'd expect it there but walking around city streets topless is a bit knack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

yeah but this isn't the continent with topless beaches... I've had my ass grapped and slapped so many times in a club... wearing JEANS...

Well if you don't like it, may I suggest trying a nightclub other than Coppers every once in a while!

floggg wrote: »
    Or have a smoking hot body.

The world needs more hot guys showing off their bodies!

Yes, but it would be like going to a nudist beach. For every one hot bod there are 19 out of shape saggy horrors that leave a scarring image on the minds eye.

Perhaps some sort of licensing system would work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

ah you must be a new hobo then, give it till the end of summer and the smell of piss will put the lads right off

A thinly veiled 'I have a hot bot' post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 conor_dublin

Cienciano wrote: »
    Toplessness isn't acceptable on the streets for blokes unless you're a knacker.

Q.E.D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

There are topless beaches on the continent that are open to the public but the rates of rape are not higher than average. The instances of neck strain in men is probably higher though.
    Men having exposure to women's boobs in public does not increase rape rates.

First time I was on Valencia beach in Spain I was basically omgomgomgomgomgomgomgomg for 15 mins... After that all the boobs just become background noise....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

First time I was on Valencia beach in Spain I was basically omgomgomgomgomgomgomgomg for 15 mins... After that all the boobs just become background noise....

If the background noise was pervy 70s music.

I think it is ilegal for a woman to go topless, which is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

Toplessness in men not on the beach is not acceptable. It's so horribly chavvy.

hahaha no just lots of sleezy guys out there post!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Yeah, but how else will he show off his 6 pack, scars and tattoo?

Its always the ones with the crap, home/prisonmade tattoos. They always look like a toddler has drawn them on with a crayon before doing the needlework.

I still have a head on me like an over excited pigeon when I visit a topless beach. It never becomes back ground noise.

Must be a symptom of growing up in rural Ireland in the 80s where the local lassies considered sexy as having a v neck wooly jumper rather than a round neck one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I can't go topless because I would cause traffic accidents. I have had doctors and bra-fitters audibly gasp.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I can't go topless because I would cause traffic accidents. I have had doctors and bra-fitters audibly gasp.

If eh... ever you need support

It's only in Westernised societies that public boobs are unacceptable. The first reason is extended cold seasons and practicality, and the second is prevailing cultural attitudes.

Breasts in the West are increasing not used for their primary function - feeding children. The disgust shown on breastfeeding threads here is testament to the fact that people are often uncomfortable with the breast being used as anything other than an aesthetic primary sexual characteristic, rather than primarily a functional sexual characteristic.

I'd say most of this is to do with portrayal of boobs in the media, fashion, and the increasing sexualisation of society. The price you pay for Wonderbras and Maxim is in the commodification of boobs, and the price of a scarce commodity is always higher, so the less you see, the more you want to see.

Twenty minutes on a topless beach and abundance makes the experience dilute. A quick glimpse of side-boob in a bar when you haven't seen any in a long while means it's an event.

ETA: Western religions are pretty hot on sex guilt, further adding to the 'dangerous' element of boobs without rules :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I wasn't aware that it was illegal for women to walk around topless. I suggest a public protest that involves breaking this law.

Seriously though, what a bonkers law.

The Topfreedom movement have this nailed. There is a wiki article on it but NSFW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Candie wrote: »
    Breasts in the West

Great name for a porno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Isn't our prudishness about the naked body (as well as sex and probabaly a few other things) a hang up from Edwardian times?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    Isn't our prudishness about the naked body (as well as sex and probabaly a few other things) a hang up from Edwardian times?

More than likely, yes.