2 Elderly brother beaten to death in Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

dj jarvis wrote: »
    hold on a sec - so you are telling me its NOT in the interest of the professions he mentioned to keep the "justice" train rolling ???
    He may have worded it badly but the sentiment was 100% correct

its in the interest of the professions to keep these scum bags on the money'go'round - they dont give a flying f2uck about justice for family's or rehabilitation for the offenders

a reformed criminal does not buy the new merc for the real gangsters
    Fairly sure I heard a career criminal on some documentary a few days ago put it almost like that. Laughed Said he was keeping several lawyers employed.

And I think you will find that many gardai are not impressed with how the justice system sends these guys back out the revolving door after they bust their butts getting them before a judge. The usual nonsense : he signed up for rehab, he is on a course, here's a reference of his good character = he is puling the wool over the system:(.
    Very disheartening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

26 year old male arrested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Hitchens wrote: »
    26 year old male arrested

10/10 for the Gards if they lifted the right gouger all ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

RustyNut wrote: »
    10/10 for the Gards if they lifted the right gouger all ready.

I would be worried if they did not, there are at least 10 cctv cameras in the area where it occurred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Xenji wrote: »
    This thread was started about 2 brothers who were murdered and since it was made, that has been the only bit of new information made about their deaths in 6 pages.

As Hitchins said http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/man-26-arrested-in-connection-with-death-of-brothers-in-castlebar-1.1458878

What a lot of people forget is, while this is a sad news story that many will forget, for tens of thousands of old people living alone or in rural areas, it is another very real and constant worry, that with every eighth of hash or gram of smack and every closing of a garda station and cutback in services, looms more and more in their fears.

How many people have never had their home broken into by some drugee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Nally stopped this sort of thing a few years back, but it is creeping back in again. Is this the answer ?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Nally stopped this sort of thing a few years back, but it is creeping back in again. Is this the answer ?.

Nothing wrong with a good dose of fear and lead getting injected into scumbag types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

wil wrote: »

What a lot of people forget is, while this is a sad news story that many will forget, for tens of thousands of old people living alone or in rural areas, it is another very real and constant worry, that with every eighth of hash or gram of smack and every closing of a garda station and cutback in services, looms more and more in their fears.

Lol, meanwhile back in the real world......
    wil wrote: »
    How many people have never had their home broken into by some drugee?

Fuck loads.
    Most posters on this site, I'd wager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭bonzos

Time for the government to take the finger out and start asking simple questions like"how can you afford new cars,vans,4x4's...despite having never worked a day in your life"...I see young pikeys in Sligo everyday driving new BMW's and range rovers no questions asked! They even park them in the disabled spaces outside the SW office to add insult to injury. There seems to be a blind eye turned to a lot of things in this country meanwhile if the average joe is late on a VAT payment he gets hammered. I say start investigating the state funded traveller camp sites and a lot of crime will stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

This thread was started about 2 brothers who were murdered and since it was made, that has been the only bit of new information made about their deaths in 6 pages.

but it is directly connected to this tragedy and many others in the past,

how many times have you read about some low life killing someone while out on bail ?
    or some scrote with a life of crime behind him killing some poor person ?
    it is directly linked to the revolving door system , they just keep letting dangerous criminals out to commit more crime

and then you have the professions making a killing off these career criminals by them always re offending and spending a lifetime in court , all this paid for by us

if these people are dealt with properly in the first place then maybe they wont be out side more often to commit these murders

so tell me again how all the above points dont have some link with crimes like the 2 pensioners today ?

they guy that done this might be squeaky clean and just lost the head , but it will be very unusual if he has not got previous , and more than likely violent crime

all very relevant

and if you think i am de railing the thread , get a mod involved, its not your place to tell me what i can post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

dj jarvis wrote: »
    but it is directly connected to this tragedy and many others in the past,

how many times have you read about some low life killing someone while out on bail ?
    or some scrote with a life of crime behind him killing some poor person ?
    it is directly linked to the revolving door system , they just keep letting dangerous criminals out to commit more crime

and then you have the professions making a killing off these career criminals by them always re offending and spending a lifetime in court , all this paid for by us

if these people are dealt with properly in the first place then maybe they wont be out side more often to commit these murders

so tell me again how all the above points dont have some link with crimes like the 2 pensioners today ?

they guy that done this might be squeaky clean and just lost the head , but it will be very unusual if he has not got previous , and more than likely violent crime

all very relevant

and if you think i am de railing the thread , get a mod involved, its not your place to tell me what i can post

Did I tell you what you could and could not say, all I meant was that it was the first piece of real news related to the actual murders mentioned in the thread after the first post.

Relax man, your points are valid as are everyone elses here, but I am sure people have looked at this thread hoping to get actual information and the circumstances of this heinous crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

So does anyone think that man can be reformed?

I mean from, all accounts including our own Taoiseach, these elderly men were the nicest people you could meet and that man supposedly beat them to death.

So does anyone think that man can be reformed?

I mean from, all accounts including our own Taoiseach, these elderly men were the nicest people you could meet and that man beat them to death.

We should hope that he can be reformed, because like I said above - I can't see these guys being convicted of anything other than robbery and manslaughter. Which means back into the community they go.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    We should hope that he can be reformed, because like I said above - I can't see these guys being convicted of anything other than robbery and manslaughter. Which means back into the community they go.

as long as he shows remorse.......................:rolleyes:

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    They go too jail to hone their skills, the frogs son went in there to graduate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

If he's found guilty he should be given a suspended sentence ............. from the end of a rope.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

TBH and I'm sorry, but if someone is found proven without doubt to have beaten two defenseless elderly men to death and there exists no real mental pathology for which they've no real choice in their actions, I'd see them as worthless and I'd put the hood and rope around their head and neck, pull the lever and twist them off to oblivion and wouldn't be too concerned about it either. Actually no, better to have them rot away for life in a cell, with no hope of parole. If they can make themselves somehow useful in such a capacity then great, but otherwise damn them.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Did I tell you what you could and could not say, all I meant was that it was the first piece of real news related to the actual murders mentioned in the thread after the first post.

Relax man, your points are valid as are everyone elses here, but I am sure people have looked at this thread hoping to get actual information and the circumstances of this heinous crime.

well there is the issue , the news media can provide that

what happens here is debate and points of view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭rusheen

The prisons are too nice ,
    re-offenders should be throw into a cell with about 20 others .

40 previous convictions , 5 previous prison terms , over ten years and so people get a suspended sentence thats the type of nonsense happening oh and free legal aid plus all the other unnecessary expenses .
    The world is changing Red Tape got us nowhere . Common sense and listen to what the majority of people want

rusheen wrote: »
    The prisons are too nice ,
    re-offenders should be throw into a cell with about 20 others .

40 previous convictions , 5 previous prison terms , over ten years and so people get a suspended sentence thats the type of nonsense happening oh and free legal aid plus all the other unnecessary expenses .
    The world is changing Red Tape got us nowhere . Common sense and listen to what the majority of people want

they'd rather listen to the 'do-gooders' :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Wibbs wrote: »
    TBH and I'm sorry, but if someone is found proven without doubt to have beaten two defenseless elderly men to death and there exists no real mental pathology for which they've no real choice in their actions, I'd see them as worthless and I'd put the hood and rope around their head and neck, pull the lever and twist them off to oblivion and wouldn't be too concerned about it either. Actually no, better to have them rot away for life in a cell, with no hope of parole. If they can make themselves somehow useful in such a capacity then great, but otherwise damn them.

That's what should happen, if you've no mental illness or reason for your action other than "I waz tryin to rob dem an dey woke up so I had 2 kill dem" then you should suffer what you put your victim through.

You'll get some who'll say that they can be shown the error of their ways and be reformed, a few years in the Joy, watching TV, working out in the gym, playing playstation, having the craic with the lads, drugs, posing for Facebook photos with guns, and they'll walk out a model citizen helping old ladies across the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Really really awful. Did this sort of thing happen to old and vunerable people 20 years ago? Something has gone badly wrong over the last while in Ireland. I am so angry at this news. I can't even imagine what sort of filth did this.

woodoo wrote: »
    Really really awful. Did this sort of thing happen to old and vunerable people 20 years ago? Something has gone badly wrong over the last while in Ireland. I am so angry at this news. I can't even imagine what sort of filth did this.

I take it you are here for the gathering, this has being going on since the late eighties, or even earlier, it came to a halt when Nally showed them what the scum can expect, when they invaded your home. Hopefully someone under threat will take them on. You can't go to jail for that now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

WooDoo, if you try just a little bit I'm sure you can imagine.

Don't forget they have the same rights as you do, woodoo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I take it you are here for the gathering, this has being going on since the late eighties, or even earlier, it came to a halt when Nally showed them what the scum can expect, when they invaded your home. Hopefully someone under threat will take them on. You can't go to jail for that now.

I don't remember hearing much about it but maybe i just didn't pay attention to the news back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭yoloc

Ireland is ****ed. Real sorry to hear what happened to these fellas and how anyone can do such a thing is beyond me. I would think with this guy being 26, he's prob be off his head on drugs and just looking a quick buck and rob these 2 fellas. Why he killed them is just out of order. Just a pity the way this country is at the moment because if things had of been better, this young lad would prob be in employment with alot going for him in life(thats if hes unemployed) but now we have him go do such a daft thing and went and murdered 2 helpless old men.

yoloc wrote: »
    Just a pity the way this country is at the moment because if things had of been better, this young lad would prob be in employment with alot going for him in life(thats if hes unemployed) but now we have him go do such a daft thing and went and murdered 2 helpless old men.

absolute bull ****

how afraid and helpless they both must have felt

what a sad way for their lives to be ended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭yoloc

absolute bull ****

how afraid and helpless they both must have felt

what a sad way for their lives to be ended

Yes i understand its not the done thing to do when unemployed but our government has created a bad system we live in and this sort of stuff happens. Not only has this scum bag ruined the victims family with these murder's, his own family will be devastated to. Will agree that he should never be aloud to walk the streets again as if it were up to me, id lock him up and throw away the key.

Let's try to be logical for a second.

If this is just a burglary gone bad let's think. The vast majority of burglars actually don't look for confrontation. Otherwise the number of murders would be closer to the number of burglaries. This is a freak occurance involving at least one person completely losing their ****. They're not thinking logically, they're not thinking about how they're going to do 5 fewer years in prison than AH would recommend. This is either calculated (doubtful) or it's a few moments of insanity that the law can't prevent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Pollydee

yoloc wrote: »
    Yes i understand its not the done thing to do when unemployed but our government has created a bad system we live in and this sort of stuff happens. Not only has this scum bag ruined the victims family with these murder's, his own family will be devastated to. Will agree that he should never be aloud to walk the streets again as if it were up to me, id lock him up and throw away the key.

Decent people do not beat other defenceless people to death, regardless of their personal circumstances or unemployment status. This economy is tough for everyone but it takes a certain type of person to see murder as an option. I am no fan of the government or the previous ones who laid the foundations for our economic troubles but to say that they have any blame in this is stretching it a bit