Anti social behavior, what annoys me about this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Any kind of resolution.

Complain to the Garda Ombudsman for a start. This is harassment and threatening behavior, for the Gardai to do nothing as you claim is a deriliction of duty.

If more people complained to the ombudsman about incidents like these we might see far fewer infuriating threads to the effect that "Someone is doing something illegal to me, Gardai won't act because it's not a mass murderer or out of date tax disc" :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Wan bullet bang bang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Owldshtok

Wan bullet bang bang.

2 bangs = 2 bullets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Was just lying in bed and heard voices outside, my heart started pounding in my chest and I broke out in a cold sweat, that's it once I get some money together I am going moving out, I can't live like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

dj jarvis wrote: »
    because Irish people are pussys

no doubt the legion of ****tards who plague these threads will be on trying to convince you , that in fact YOU are the problem !!

Sure dont you know that every scum bag is just a poor soul whos daddy did not hug them enough , and mammy has a drinky poo problem , so they have licence to make others lives hell , we must nurture these individuals

give it time , they are coming , you can smell their self deluded posts winging there way here right now
    Highly doubtful. It's a myth that people who don't see everything in black and white would defend low-lives like this.

OP, I presume there isn't a management company? Any time there have been ****-bag neighbours here (and it's nearly always been the same house because of an asshole of a landlord who doesn't care, and lives in the South of France) enough complaints to the management company have always gotten them turfed out.

Highly doubtful. It's a myth that people who don't see everything in black and white would defend low-lives like this.

OP, I presume there isn't a management company? Any time there have been ****-bag neighbours here (and it's nearly always been the same house because of an asshole of a landlord who doesn't care, and lives in the South of France) enough complaints to the management company have always gotten them turfed out.

It's a ghost estate, more than half the houses are empty, the management company haven't been paid in years so they will certainly be doing nothing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭yoloc

conorhal wrote: »
    Iv'e become convinced that the only way to address this problem is to institute a local, volunteer, micro-judicial system for estates.
    Any cachement area of a thousand people could elect a local judge and officer of the peace that was given the power to hand out limited sentences for minor offences at a comunity level, think judge Judy holding court in every parish but with a locally elected sherriff that could summon or detain defendents based on a complaint from a member of the community.
    This judge could impose a fine or sentence an offender to say 24 hours detention in the drunk tank for anti-social behaviour or apply creative 'restorative justice' sentences like requiring an offender to clean up the local park or stay out of the local bar for a year..

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭yoloc

Welcome to the western society! Sit back and enjoy it while you can because your along time dead remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

There is a family of scumbags living in my estate, they are literally the biggest wasters you have ever met. They terrorise people on a daily basis, engage in all kinds of anti social behaviour, in the last few days I have been verbally abused and was threatened that I was going to be killed, my crime? I honestly have no idea. They have literally stated that they own the place and they can do whatever they like to who they like, the guards do nothing, it's almost like they are afraid or them as well.

They are recieving rent allowance, I know this for a fact, that means that the "taxpayer" are paying for them to live here making everyone else's life hell, I have not had it nearly as bad as others. People like this deserve nothing, I think everyone has a story about anti social behavior but this is gone beyond the joke, the PRTB is a long and tedious road and I am honestly a bit afraid to make a compliant because they will get me if they find out its me, which they will. Has anyone else had to deal with anything like this? Any kind of resolution.

They've been listening to too much rap music and watching too many films about gangsters in the hood. They want their own little area to 'own' so they can feel like they're something special.

I've lived in Limerick, Dublin and Longford. So I know a scumbag and anti social behavior when I see it! Since I've moved to limerick I've had a few run ins with some undesirable folk, the last episode being on Tuesday..

I finished work at around 11pm. I usually catch a bus back into town, but missed it. When I got to the stop, I did however see a Spanish girl get harassed by a young gentleman. He sat at the busstop shouting at her. It was clear she was uncomfortable as she hurried away from him. I asked her was she ok. She told me through broken English that she needed to get to town to go home, I explained that the bus was probably gone and that I wouldn't mind walking her home..

The fine upstanding member of society at the bus stop was hollaring throughout, and became somewhat more aggressive in his calls as he realized I would walk her home. I asked the girl (Daniela?) her accent was strong and her English was fairly dodgy, but we chatted. I tried to make sure she was ok, she told me that she had never met that man before, that she was a student here for 2 months to learn English, the usual stuff. Things were going well, but the walk is damn long (takes up on 50 minutes to get from work to my place by foot)...

After 20 minutes or so, I hear the lad from the bus stop call at us, and call again, and again... He had seemingly been following at a distance. He was walking pretty quickly to try to catch up. The girl had no idea who he was, or what he was talking about.. As he drew nearer I told Daniela to walk faster and we'd try to stay ahead of him, but he did the same of course. When he eventually caught up, he started shouting ''TINA!!'' and other drunken nonsense at her. I calmly tried to explain that this was not Tina, and that he was mistaken, of course Mr. hoody didn't like this. I did my best to keep us walking and neutralize the situation, but what can you do when you have some drunk scumbag shouting at a poor girl who barely speaks English? At this point she was crying and holding onto my arm...

Yerman then eventually started to square up to me, as I knew rightly was going to happen. He started pushing against me, making threats, so I have him trying to assault me on one arm and a crying girl on another. Eventually he took a swing at me, and another, both I managed to dodge.. I really didn't want to get into a fistfight with a drunk at the side of the street, I kept telling him I had no interest in fighting him which seemed to piss him off even more. He came at me again and I just pushed him away.

Two men passed by and tried to ignore the situation, but I called out to the one nearest us and asked him to please lend me a hand, which he did eventually... I explained the situation to him all the while I still had that idiot trying to push me and fight me, but thankfully he eventually admitted defeat and knew he wouldn't get anywhere with the two of us guys.

After about 10 minutes of bravado and death threats he walked away. Still then of course threatening to find the girl and follow me after I dropped her home to ''bash my skull in'' etc. So at this point I tried to call a taxi or two, none would answer me.. So a bit of a pickle we were in, it was obviously too dangerous to walk her any further in to town, and to make matters worse she wasn't totally sure where she lived anyway... Eventually I managed to get a hold of a friend of mine who had a car, and when I explained the situation was happy to pick us up and drop the poor thing home.

All in all it wasn't the sort of craic you want to be at after 9 hours of work on the hottest day of the year.. Some spot eh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

yoloc wrote: »
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Perhaps you'd like to explain what's so funny about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

I've lived in Limerick, Dublin and Longford. So I know a scumbag and anti social behavior when I see it! Since I've moved to limerick I've had a few run ins with some undesirable folk, the last episode being on Tuesday..

I finished work at around 11pm. I usually catch a bus back into town, but missed it. When I got to the stop, I did however see a Spanish girl get harassed by a young gentleman. He sat at the busstop shouting at her. It was clear she was uncomfortable as she hurried away from him. I asked her was she ok. She told me through broken English that she needed to get to town to go home, I explained that the bus was probably gone and that I wouldn't mind walking her home..

The fine upstanding member of society at the bus stop was hollaring throughout, and became somewhat more aggressive in his calls as he realized I would walk her home. I asked the girl (Daniela?) her accent was strong and her English was fairly dodgy, but we chatted. I tried to make sure she was ok, she told me that she had never met that man before, that she was a student here for 2 months to learn English, the usual stuff. Things were going well, but the walk is damn long (takes up on 50 minutes to get from work to my place by foot)...

After 20 minutes or so, I hear the lad from the bus stop call at us, and call again, and again... He had seemingly been following at a distance. He was walking pretty quickly to try to catch up. The girl had no idea who he was, or what he was talking about.. As he drew nearer I told Daniela to walk faster and we'd try to stay ahead of him, but he did the same of course. When he eventually caught up, he started shouting ''TINA!!'' and other drunken nonsense at her. I calmly tried to explain that this was not Tina, and that he was mistaken, of course Mr. hoody didn't like this. I did my best to keep us walking and neutralize the situation, but what can you do when you have some drunk scumbag shouting at a poor girl who barely speaks English? At this point she was crying and holding onto my arm...

Yerman then eventually started to square up to me, as I knew rightly was going to happen. He started pushing against me, making threats, so I have him trying to assault me on one arm and a crying girl on another. Eventually he took a swing at me, and another, both I managed to dodge.. I really didn't want to get into a fistfight with a drunk at the side of the street, I kept telling him I had no interest in fighting him which seemed to piss him off even more. He came at me again and I just pushed him away.

Two men passed by and tried to ignore the situation, but I called out to the one nearest us and asked him to please lend me a hand, which he did eventually... I explained the situation to him all the while I still had that idiot trying to push me and fight me, but thankfully he eventually admitted defeat and knew he wouldn't get anywhere with the two of us guys.

After about 10 minutes of bravado and death threats he walked away. Still then of course threatening to find the girl and follow me after I dropped her home to ''bash my skull in'' etc. So at this point I tried to call a taxi or two, none would answer me.. So a bit of a pickle we were in, it was obviously too dangerous to walk her any further in to town, and to make matters worse she wasn't totally sure where she lived anyway... Eventually I managed to get a hold of a friend of mine who had a car, and when I explained the situation was happy to pick us up and drop the poor thing home.

All in all it wasn't the sort of craic you want to be at after 9 hours of work on the hottest day of the year.. Some spot eh..

Did you get her number!?

I have a girlfriend, so it wasn't really my motive, she did want me to come in for a while thou, but I refused. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The worst thing for me is somebody who start's off in a proper family and fall's into the gutter. Kid's who were raised properly abandoning their class because they think it's 'cool' to be a layabout who aspires to nothing.

To see the way they change their accent and demeanour is very sad. Many mother's hearts are broken I'm sure. The saddest thing in life is wasted talent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

I have a girlfriend, so it wasn't really my motive, she did want me to come in for a while thou, but I refused. :rolleyes:

Ah I'm only joking, fair play to you though, a lot of people would have just walked by, who knows what could have happend if you didn't stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I'm not normally a man for violence but why didn't you just lamp him one. Soon as he swings for you all bets are off.

Meh, no need to stoop to his level unless totally necessary. I was more interested in making sure he got nowhere near the lady to be honest. It took 20 odd minutes before we met anyone else so lord knows what would have happened to her if I hadn't been about.

I really just don't understand those arseholes thou, why give the poor thing abuse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 kennyboy9563

The worst thing for me is somebody who start's off in a proper family and fall's into the gutter. Kid's who were raised properly abandoning their class because they think it's 'cool' to be a layabout who aspires to nothing.

To see the way they change their accent and demeanour is very sad. Many mother's hearts are broken I'm sure. The saddest thing in life is wasted talent.

the above quote describes perfectly the situation I am in with my eldest son, the last 2 years have been hell. Unfortunately I think we have lost him to the dark side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Lofty123

Remove these people's "rights" for persistent anti social behavior, specifically the right to housing or rent allowance. Transfer all local authority housing to housing associations, who would enforce tenancy agreements. Change the law, or constitution, have a referendum if necessary, I'm sure most people would support such a change.
    The threat of eviction and homelessness has a sobering effect(pun not intended).
    I don't care where they go, it would only take a couple of high profile cases to change attitudes

Many of these people have never worked, and never will. Social Welfare should be asking them what they are doing to find work, and if the responses are unacceptable reduce or cancel their benefits. They seem to be able to do this to ordinary unemployed people who are actively seeking work. My wife has had two such interviews in the last 3 months, even though she has found employment on a CE scheme but cannot start because she has been awaiting Garda clearance for over 10 weeks!

Such views will no doubt be unpopular with the politically correct brigade, but until they live in this situation like we did and thousand of families are, their views are irrelevant and should be ignored.

OK, rant over, feel a little better now. We lost our house 15 years ago because of scum like these, and it still hurts!

Lofty123 wrote: »
    Remove these people's "rights" for persistent anti social behavior, specifically the right to housing or rent allowance. Transfer all local authority housing to housing associations, who would enforce tenancy agreements. Change the law, or constitution, have a referendum if necessary, I'm sure most people would support such a change.
    The threat of eviction and homelessness has a sobering effect(pun not intended).
    I don't care where they go, it would only take a couple of high profile cases to change attitudes

Many of these people have never worked, and never will. Social Welfare should be asking them what they are doing to find work, and if the responses are unacceptable reduce or cancel their benefits. They seem to be able to do this to ordinary unemployed people who are actively seeking work. My wife has had two such interviews in the last 3 months, even though she has found employment on a CE scheme but cannot start because she has been awaiting Garda clearance for over 10 weeks!

Such views will no doubt be unpopular with the politically correct brigade, but until they live in this situation like we did and thousand of families are, their views are irrelevant and should be ignored.

OK, rant over, feel a little better now. We lost our house 15 years ago because of scum like these, and it still hurts!

I am a pretty liberal person and I certainly don't think that your views should be unpopular or tHat they aren't PC. It's all well and good being PC about such issues that is until someone like I am currently dealing with moves in and starts making your life hell.

We are lucky enough to have rent allowance in this country, why should people who make others lives hell not be excluded from it, why should they be helped out with their rent so they can terrorise their neighbours, bring down property prices in the local area and wreak the asthetic of the area. I believe that RA is being handed over to the local authorities by the HSE in the coming years, this will mean that people can complain directly to the local authority regarding anti social behavior instead of having to go through the long and hellish process of a PRTB complaint. If someone has their rent allowance taken from them over antisocial behavior then they shouldn't be allowed to get it back for say 5 years, I think anything shorter is only a slap on the wrist, they should be excluded from LA housing lists for the same ammount of time, if they can't house themselves and their children the kids should be removed from their care. We need to get tough on scumbags and take our country back from them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Owldshtok wrote: »
    2 bangs = 2 bullets

Bullets and all went straight over your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,007 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Only one way to sort this out and that is to hit the landlord in the pocket.
    ah the old "hit someone in the pocket crap" why should the landlaurd be hit in the pocket, its up to the local authorities/housing associations to make sure anti-social families are where possible housed away from decent people
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/landlord-fined-30k-for-tenants-actions-217217.html
    Landmark case in link showing residents suing landlord and winning.
    they should have got nothing, its the scum causing the damage so they should be made to pay whatever way possible, this landlaurd should pay them nothing
    Find out who owns the house and get the ball moving by ensuring that the landlord is paying his due tax.
    if such information isn't all ready accessible then forget about it
    Hit the landlord where it hurts and they will deal with the scummers or pay the consequences.
    well if i was one and they tried to hit me in the pocket i wouldn't bother dealing with the scum and they wouldn't be hitting me in the pocket either as if they did i'd pay the scum money to intimidate the residents until they do back down or leave, i'm not being hit in the pocket for others doings.
    If the scummers ramp up their actions then they will only be providing ammunition and evidence that the landlord will have to pay for.
    why will he have to pay for it, why should he, he's being payed to house these people by the state so its the states problem here.
    Short term pain = long term gain.
    or long term pain
    Use your biggest advantage, your brain. Log everything, report everything and get as much evidence as you can and go after the landlord.
    why should they be allowed to go after the landlaurd who is just being payed to house these people by the state?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Back in the day when "vigilante" groups cough cough would sort this out, it worked and all.
    different times though in fairness, if people tried it these days such scum would probably kill them their families their kids and so on, its not like the old days where one could sort their problems by having a fist fight and that would be it, these days scum have no limits to what they will do to you if you try anything on them

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

ah the old "hit someone in the pocket crap" why should the landlaurd be hit in the pocket, its up to the local authorities/housing associations to make sure anti-social families are where possible housed away from decent people

they should have got nothing, its the scum causing the damage so they should be made to pay whatever way possible, this landlaurd should pay them nothing

if such information isn't all ready accessible then forget about it

well if i was one and they tried to hit me in the pocket i wouldn't bother dealing with the scum and they wouldn't be hitting me in the pocket either as if they did i'd pay the scum money to intimidate the residents until they do back down or leave, i'm not being hit in the pocket for others doings.

why will he have to pay for it, why should he, he's being payed to house these people by the state so its the states problem here.

or long term pain

why should they be allowed to go after the landlaurd who is just being payed to house these people by the state?

Because the lazy, greedy landlord is benefiting from the state to house people who are ruining other residents quality of life. They are the only ones who can deal with it quickly by evicting the people causing the trouble. Would it not be a good idea to protect your investment as a landlord? Either way the law has ruled that the Landlord is responsible if they do not take action.

it would only take a couple of high profile cases to change attitudes
    doesn't work like that with these vermin, if they want to cause trouble they will do it no matter what, move them somewhere else, they will do the same.
    1. why bring up the PC brigade? it makes you sound like you have no argument or point when you actually do
    2. why should they be ignored? nobody is forcing you to agree with them but their intitled to their views, nobody forces the government to agree with them either but obviously the government feel your ideas while for the most part are good just for whatever reason wouldn't practically work

Because the lazy, greedy landlord is benefiting from the state to house people who are ruining other residents quality of life. They are the only ones who can deal with it quickly by evicting the people causing the trouble. Would it not be a good idea to protect your investment as a landlord? Either way the law has ruled that the Landlord is responsible if they do not take action.
    these residents shouldn't have got any money though, the landlaurd being told to evict them should have been all that was awarded, yes of course i want to protect my investment, but i don't see why i should be held responsible for other peoples doings, if people came to me and had genuine complaints about someone i was renting to then yes i would evict, but if they took me to court and tried to get money out of me and hold me responsible for what these scum are doing well then i will strike back whatever way i can

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

There is a family of scumbags living in my estate, they are literally the biggest wasters you have ever met. They terrorise people on a daily basis, engage in all kinds of anti social behaviour, in the last few days I have been verbally abused and was threatened that I was going to be killed, my crime? I honestly have no idea. They have literally stated that they own the place and they can do whatever they like to who they like, the guards do nothing, it's almost like they are afraid or them as well.

They are recieving rent allowance, I know this for a fact, that means that the "taxpayer" are paying for them to live here making everyone else's life hell, I have not had it nearly as bad as others. People like this deserve nothing, I think everyone has a story about anti social behavior but this is gone beyond the joke, the PRTB is a long and tedious road and I am honestly a bit afraid to make a compliant because they will get me if they find out its me, which they will. Has anyone else had to deal with anything like this? Any kind of resolution.

they do own the place until someone shows them they don't.

one thing i've learned in life is there's more than one way to skin the cat!! use your head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur.

Nothing ever changes in this country with regards to this issue.

The government keep them in houses and booze money, the Gardai leave them to it because they don't want the hassle and the powers that be pretend that there isn't a problem.

I'd honestly be in favour of an armed and more heavy handed police force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

these residents shouldn't have got any money though, the landlaurd being told to evict them should have been all that was awarded, yes of course i want to protect my investment, but i don't see why i should be held responsible for other peoples doings, if people came to me and had genuine complaints about someone i was renting to then yes i would evict,

If you read the article posted by Forest Demon, you would see that the local residents had raised the issues with the landlord but he did nothing about it, even though these issues were going on for years.

The residents had no choice but to complain to the PRTB.

They were dead right too.
    but if they took me to court and tried to get money out of me and hold me responsible for what these scum are doing well then i will strike back whatever way i can
    Cross them off your Christmas card list, I suppose.

I'd honestly be in favour of an armed and more heavy handed police force.
    who would achieve nothing apart from making the scum 10 times worse, believe me, if the government felt ireland needed a fully armed police force we would have it, an armed police force to deal with anti-social behaviour is overkill, when armed responce is required we have units all ready who will respond, their out probably on a daily basis all though its not reported as its not news worthy