Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

After the woeful start this morning I got my lights in! yay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Just found out I've become an Uncle for the 1st time :D

Sister had a baby girl at 5 so am delighted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

renofan wrote: »
    Just found out I've become an Uncle for the 1st time :D

Sister had a baby girl at 5 so am delighted!

I didn't read the so in that sentence and thought it was harsh not telling you for 12 hours :P

Congrats to your sister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Gah lost my car keys at work left them in the same spot as always.

Brother has to come 15 miles to pick me up with the spare.

Feeling suitably paranoid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Matt green army Transit + dpm's = a very very warm dgt and boiling troops elsewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

Gah lost my car keys at work left them in the same spot as always.

Brother has to come 15 miles to pick me up with the spare.

Feeling suitably paranoid
    I have them!

I wish. Would love a go in the focus st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

dgt wrote: »
    Matt green army Transit + dpm's = a very very warm dgt and boiling troops elsewhere!

'Charlie's got use pinned down well, we're dropping like flies here man' :pac:.

Hal1 wrote: »
    'Charlie's got use pinned down well, we're dropping like flies here man' :pac:.

Dude that's freaky! :eek:

Our Transit driver is called Charlie, we were talking about the antics we got up to earlier in the evening and he said "When pinned down with that GPMG it won't be long before you's are dropping like flies...." :eek: :eek: :eek:

From YLYL

hyundai-is-clever.jpg

It has a nice personality :P

How sinfully lazy does one have to be to hop into their car, travel about 60metres down the road, pull into a gate to watch a tractor turning hay then drive back home after a few mins? The field in question can be seen very clearly from their back garden and all :confused:

And no they're not farmers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

To the lads doing the track day tomorrow- are ye all set?

I may not be able to make the afternoon track day session, I have to get down the country to Dingle for a stag. I'm sure the session in the morning will tempt me to stay on for the whole day though!

Just checked all fluids there, got some benzina and will do the tyre pressures later this evening. Averaging 18.2 mpg today :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Whats the aftrrnoon session tomorrow? Is it open or only for those on the course?

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Whats the aftrrnoon session tomorrow? Is it open or only for those on the course?

Hi Gary- the day is split- training day in the morning 09:30 - 13:00 then from 14:00 - 17:30 is just a normal open track. Anyone can do either the morning or afternoon session or both. Full international circuit. Priced €50 for the morning training session. €100 / €120 for the afternoon session depending if you pay in advance or on the day itself.

OSI wrote: »
    Won't be doing the afternoon session myself.

Were you told to be there for 9:30 Veloce? Says 10 on their website.

Yeah it says 10 on the website. One of the guys over on backroads said it was 09:30. Think I will just head there for 09:30 just in case- what do you reckon? What will you be driving OSI?

EDIT: just rang Mondello. They told me 09:30.

Might try get a bit of testing in tomorrow so...

Ah very nice I thought I read on here before you had a GTI- my avatars are not loading for whatever reason! Yep I'll be in the 350.

OSI wrote: »
    I'll enjoy starting at the back of it :(:P

In all seriousness there's probably not a whole lot of a difference between them. The zed is a whale of a car!

I'm looking forward to it now- the weather is expected to stay as good as today if not even hotter.

Just bare in mind the weather at the minute will be very unkind to tyres in track conditions

Yeah I know. I was hoping for cooler conditions. The cats in the zed are below the foot well and it can very pretty warm inside the cabin. No point in having the a/c on going around the track as it switches off on full application of the accelerator pedal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

How sinfully lazy does one have to be to hop into their car, travel about 60metres down the road, pull into a gate to watch a tractor turning hay then drive back home after a few mins? The field in question can be seen very clearly from their back garden and all :confused:

And no they're not farmers!

Parked outside Halfords in Dundalk today dgt? Wine coloured 406 there.

Not me! Would have been on Monday though :pac:

Another boardsie spotted me today ironically ;)

My battery randomly went flat at a main set of traffic lights today :o then started again just as the lights went green, new start/stop feature perhaps?

Just a tip to all, never use this stuff:

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_756129_langId_-1_categoryId_212371

It's rubbish at cleaning, you need to use several times the recommended amount and there's absolutely no lather with it.
    Worst thing is, it destroyed my wool mitt! After two washes, the mitt has crumbled into sh1te. I know it was that shampoo too, as I switched back to a Simonz wash and it was perfect. Back to the Carplan and the mitt started disintegrating again.

Just a tip to all, never use this stuff:

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_756129_langId_-1_categoryId_212371

It's rubbish at cleaning, you need to use several times the recommended amount and there's absolutely no lather with it.
    Worst thing is, it destroyed my wool mitt! After two washes, the mitt has crumbled into sh1te. I know it was that shampoo too, as I switched back to a Simonz wash and it was perfect. Back to the Carplan and the mitt started disintegrating again.

Seen that stuff in the Naas branch and thought it looked a bit dodge alright

Arse, I have a litre of that stuff.... :(

You'd probably get more use out of it as a toilet cleaner :pac:

I'll give you 5 more if you want!

Just putting it out there, I'd love to work for the likes of clean car or detailing shed, any idea how to go about it? Other than send cv's

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Toasted, maybe pm Kopperberg and Lime? I know he posted about getting into valeting a while ago?

Got a new phone today Nokia Lumia 920k, it's fecking huge.

Getting a quote tomorrow to get the alfa bodywork fixed, hoping it will be ok :)

OH is looking to sell his 03 1.8 Citroen C5, it's mechanically sound, has had a recent service, is pretty clean internally and has some scratches on the outside.

Any idea on price to pitch it at? Mileage is 130k

Stheno wrote: »
    Toasted, maybe pm Kopperberg and Lime? I know he posted about getting into valeting a while ago?

Got a new phone today Nokia Lumia 920k, it's fecking huge.

Getting a quote tomorrow to get the alfa bodywork fixed, hoping it will be ok :)

OH is looking to sell his 03 1.8 Citroen C5, it's mechanically sound, has had a recent service, is pretty clean internally and has some scratches on the outside.

Any idea on price to pitch it at? Mileage is 130k

Good idea :) thank ya, also, if the bodywork is a decent price could you sent their number my way? :)