2 Elderly brother beaten to death in Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Wibbs wrote: »
    Retribution appeals on a gut instinct level, but when the blood cools you think maybe not as escalation is much more likely. Look at the feuds that can last for generations among Travellers for example.
    I've heard stories from the older people in town that when a local gets out of hand he gets ran from the town. They wouldn't get served anywhere are were open to being publicly beat if they ever showed up again.

Although they're only pushing the problem onto someone else I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Fussgangerzone

It's just so enraging. I'm sure there is a lot the gardai would like to do that they don't have the personnel to carry out. As for imprisonment, I don't think that's much incentive to the kind of people we're dealing with.

You need something like a panic button hooked up to five of your neighbours houses. Punitive justice won't bring anyone back to life, you need to catch these people before they've done their worst. And if you shot them and left them in a shallow grave, I don't think anyone would think less of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

How has that regime worked out for Russia??

It's a beacon of peace, traquility and law-abiding, non-alcoholic people?

Not much worse than here by the sounds of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Certain parts of society only understand being given money, or having money taken from them. Prison and anything similar is a waste of time and money.

Link crime to any and all payments from the state. Committing offences then changes when\if\how 'entitlements' are dispensed.

and yet if they got life , its infringing there human rights wtf

the problem is too many people know their human rights but not their human responsibilities

Irishcrx wrote: »
    The government would want to have a think about that and actually make changes , hell go home stick on Netflix and whack on 'Russia's toughest prisons' that is how to run a prison...

Apparently Russia actually has a really high rate of recidivism, so this isn't working for them. Their incarceration rate is about 7 times higher than ours, too.

Amalgam wrote: »
    Certain parts of society only understand being given money, or having money taken from them. Prison and anything similar is a waste of time and money.

Link crime to any and all payments from the state. Committing offences then changes when\if\how 'entitlements' are dispensed.

I agree with the sentiment here, but putting people with a willingness to commit crime in a position where they're desperately short of money mightn't work out well for the less dangerous members of society.

You're second guessing a failure of any initiative.

Believe me, you'd see a change in behaviour, I also think parents should be dealt the same way regarding their, 'little angels'. kick people down any lists and force an automatic reappraisal of all payments.

You need to place a 'burden' on ****ehawks. I'm not talking about prison. It has to be something that preoccupies their little minds. 'Where's me scraaaaatch..'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

It seems to me that our laws have the wrong priorities and are a throwback to the days of the landed gentry who, having plenty of bodyguards, were more concerned for their property than coming to bodily harm. Personally I would choose every window in my house being broken and everything in the house stolen over me, or one of my family, receiving a serious beating. I could replace everything in the house but I would never regain the confidence of feeling secure in my house or out on the street again and that would be a real tragedy versus making an insurance claim.

MY suggestion is vandals should be doing community service, thieves, fraudsters etc should pay compensation (reduce their pay / dole and pay it to the victim, seize assets etc) and prisons should be the sole reserve for dangerous criminals who need to be taken off our streets. The murdering bastards who perpetrated those cruel murders in Castlebar should never see the light of day again.

My condolences to the family and friends of those poor misfortunate gentlemen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

This is such a tragic waste of innocent lives, it's so sad. RIP to the two old men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

How has that regime worked out for Russia??

It's a beacon of peace, traquility and law-abiding, non-alcoholic people?

So is their population and Russia has a lot of other problems that are leading to that. I'd imagine if their prisons were like Ireland the rates would be much much higher than they are now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Masks. Lots and lots of masks.

as i have often heard somebody saying, its time to pull on the ballyclavas, (this how he pronounces it).

Amalgam wrote: »
    You're second guessing a failure of any initiative.

You need to place a 'burden' on ****ehawks. I'm not talking about prison. It has to be something that preoccupies their little minds. 'Where's me scraaaaatch..'
    I see your point.

Personally, I think we have a lot of uninhabited islands we could make better use of.

Xenji wrote: »
    I did not make specifics about names, and I tried to leave it vague as per the rules here, I do not know the people who did this and never claimed to, but from other instances around town it is one of two groups of people and I am sure the Gardai are already well informed as to who these groups are.

Moving scum from our cities to the smaller towns has not eradicated this cancer on society but has just spread it further.
    A lot of this transported scum was forced on a number of Mayo towns in the last two years.

Forced hard labour has a better chance of modifying this mentality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The Death Penalty is the only answer to these type of people, Prison right now is like going on holidays and prison should mean atrocious conditions where you are lucky to get out alive, cram them in and feed them mulched newspaper, for the more serious offender one bullet to the brain is the cheapest solution. Until we change our justice system to a proper system of punishment then nothing will change and the only hope for justice in Ireland now is vigilantism, and this is a sad reflection on our society who has sided with the criminals for far too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

I've always been of the opinion that once you kill someone, in an intentional act of violence rather than an actual accident, then you are permanently removed from society. No cruelty, no extra hardship, just a cell in a prison till you die. Don't care how much it costs the state, you're gone and the rest of us are safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

It takes a special kind of scumbag to attack an elderly person, it's literally starting to feel like the Wild West, every man for himself. I would be willing to bet that the perpetrators of this crime have a rap sheet as long as their arm, the justice system is leaving down the ordinary, decent people of Ireland. I know that America isn't the kind of country that you want to be looking at for tips on how to stop crime but we really need something like the three strikes system to get career criminals of the street and away from the rest of us.

I feel so sorry for those two men, and now the family that are left behind will have to go through the courts and hear every gruesome detail only for the murdering bastards to get a slap on the wrist.

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    It takes a special kind of scumbag to attack an elderly person..

Deaf and partially sighted too.

They must have known their attackers. It doesn't make much sense to kill someone like that. Even a scumbag will weigh up risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Saab Ed wrote: »
    I've always been of the opinion that once you kill someone, in an intentional act of violence rather than an actual accident, then you are permanently removed from society. No cruelty, no extra hardship, just a cell in a prison till you die. Don't care how much it costs the state, you're gone and the rest of us are safer.
    Might as well do the death penalty then. It's cheaper and there's no possibility of parole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

ScumLord wrote: »
    Might as well do the death penalty then. It's cheaper and there's no possibility of parole.

Thats great so long as you are 100% certain you are executing a guilty person, ever heard of a miscarraige of Justice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Nah. An eye for an eye leaves everyone blind. There's always room to row back if you've got the wrong man. Not much point saying sorry to a corpse. Anyway I personally don't believe any of us have the right to take a life. Just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Personally I'd find life with no parole worse than the death penalty.
    I wouldn't be able to hack being locked up forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Thats great so long as you are 100% certain you are executing a guilty person, ever heard of a miscarraige of Justice?
    and they might show remorse as well :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Rotten thieving scumbags!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Sympathies with the family and friends of these 2 gentlement - horrible death. Home is where you should be safest

Stories like this make me glad my Nana died years ago. My heart goes out to the family and friends of these men.

Thugs are being allowed to terrorise and kill our elderly folk. Everyday they are being robbed and beaten, and now heres another two murders.

Enda calls it an act of savagery

Well Guess what Enda , good people are living with this savagery every day, while you and yer mates do f*** all, only give out memos to the press, same old ****e all the time.
    Put on your big boy pants and man the **** up to the criminal elements in this society.

Shame on you Kenny, shame on you. This is your backyard, and the buck cant be passed any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Jake1 wrote: »
    Stories like this make me glad my Nana died years ago. My heart goes out to the family and friends of these men.

Old people were being beaten to death years ago as well know you. Nothing new here
    Jake1 wrote: »
    Shame on you Kenny, shame on you. This is your backyard, and the buck cant be passed any more.

I'll assume you wouldn't be raising hell if Mayo had much a higher police coverage than the rest of the state then?

mike65 wrote: »
    Old people were being beaten to death years ago as well know you. Nothing new here

Sure, they were, and they still are, but in greater numbers it seems. Becuase its happened before, I cant be pissed off at it? Tough ****. I am pissed off.

I'll assume you wouldn't be raising hell if Mayo had much a higher police coverage than the rest of the state then?

Mayo, Sligo Dublin, wherever it just needs to stop Mike, I dont think it really matters where in the country??? What coverage in whichever cities, just tackle the damn crime and sentence accordingly.
    Sorry that offends you Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Doesn't offend me I just couldn't see a logical position in your post. So more Guards everywhere then, all day and all night I take it, as it only takes a short time to invade a home and do something terrible.

mike65 wrote: »
    Doesn't offend me I just couldn't see a logical position in your post. So more Guards everywhere then, all day and all night I take it, as it only takes a short time to invade a home and do something terrible.

What would you suggest ?