Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

Thoughts on getting a mechanical over my G15?

logitech-g15-gaming-keyboard-2007.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

In a word: Yes. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Yes

Damn it.. Future investment so I guess

Pro-tip: If you're unsure about spending money, don't ask anyone here. There is always something worth buying.

Serephucus wrote: »
    Pro-tip: If you're unsure about spending money, don't ask anyone here. There is always something worth buying.

I reckon I could sell the G15 for €60 or so.. Could get myself that brown mech :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Demand that logitech release a mechanical version of the G15 or whatever their high end gaming keyboard is at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭deceit

Serephucus wrote: »
    Don't listen to him, buy everything that's recommended on here. You will be very happy with it all but just don't look at your bank account afterwards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭-( i )- Wicker

Don't forget one of these to go with that new monitor

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Don't forget one of these to go with that new monitor

May as well pay a few quid more for a slightly longer one.

Some of the 'reviews' are pretty funny actually, this is my personal favourite :pac:
    Many people think that a cable is a cable. But what they don't understand is how much research goes into creating a cable that costs roughly the price of most people's home entertainment systems.

You see, it all goes back to Young's experiment, or the double-slit experiment, where physicists determined that matter and energy could be either waves and/or particles. This discovery is at the heart of quantum mechanics, and has revolutionized the study of physics.

So, what's unique about this particular cable is that it ensures perfect wave-particle duality, and that 12 meters happens to be the ideal length to maximize phlogiston flow through copper. With this, each bit that is transmitted from one end of the cable to the other has an equal chance of being a wave or a particle at the other end, as the bits are phlogisticated when they enter the cable and dephlogisticated when they leave it.

This may sound common, as though any old cable - even that $5 AmazonBasics cable - should be able to accomplish it, but only appropriately designed cables offer this characteristic. In addition, this cable is custom-tuned to the appropriate deferent and epicycle frequencies of the HD TV ration, 1920 x 1080. (As such, you definitely do not want to use this when watching anything in 720p; plain old DVDs just look terrible.)

In any case, if you understand the above, you'll know why you need this cable. If not, go for the $5 AmazonBasics cable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

I once almost bought a cubic zirconia cable, but remember the two main differences: the white diamond HDMI cable should refract white light as shades of gray; and the cubic zirconia cables are not brought to you by African warlords. Support your local warlord, only buy real diamonds.

Hahahaha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Portlawslim

Nolars wrote: »
    Every feckin time I read this thread I want to order a bloody keyboard.

That happened to me, ordered it last week:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Danger781 wrote: »
    I reckon I could sell the G15 for €60 or so.. Could get myself that brown mech :pac:

Arent the G15s the ones that actually sought after? AFAIK Linus has one and wont let go of it.

ED E wrote: »
    Arent the G15s the ones that actually sought after? AFAIK Linus has one and wont let go of it.

Who is Linus and why won't he let it go :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭Revoker88

Has anybody bought one of the refurbished h100's from overclockers.co.uk? At £40 they might represent good enough value for me to buy one

Friend of mine got one. He has it, but he's waiting on other parts before he installs it. Seems fine though.

EoinHef wrote: »
    Has anybody bought one of the refurbished h100's from overclockers.co.uk? At £40 they might represent good enough value for me to buy one

The short term warranty is extremely off putting. Although, watercooling in general seems off putting to me.

I can only imagine what would happen should it ever leak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭Revoker88

Ye 90 days doesnt seem that long at all, there just so dam expensive brand new! Might be making myself a small media build so was thinking could replace cm hyper evo 212 in gaming rig with one of the h100's. Nobody here seems to use the h60 or h80 so unsure about either one of them as an alternative.

EoinHef wrote: »
    Ye 90 days doesnt seem that long at all, there just so dam expensive brand new! Might be making myself a small media build so was thinking could replace cm hyper evo 212 in gaming rig with one of the h100's. Nobody here seems to use the h60 or h80 so unsure about either one of them as an alternative.

I don't see the appeal of water cooling other than the fact that it looks awesome.

Air cools just as well unless you're going for a custom loop of some sort.

Unless you are overly concerned about noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Squaredude

http://www.rockstargames.com/V/
    This better be coming out on PC

Squaredude wrote: »
    http://www.rockstargames.com/V/
    This better be coming out on PC

it will but because its rockstar it will need a supercomputer to run the game due to how **** they are at porting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭beno619

NTMK wrote: »
    it will but because its rockstar it will need a supercomputer to run the game due to how **** they are at porting

Max Payne 3 was a good port right ?

beno619 wrote: »
    Max Payne 3 was a good port right ?

better than GTA4 but iirc the game was done by a rockstar studio that has a history of pc porting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Squaredude

Could be cool with co-op. It would be nice if they waited another generation though. Seems like a lot in the game, but there's probably a lot of corners cut to run on current hardware.

There's no wait GTA V is actually going to run on the PS3, surely? The difference in quality is nuts. Snowball's chance in hell something with 256MB of RAM will run that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,719 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

maplin uk have 3D printers for sale

Not sure would I even use one but if I had the money id buy it in a second

You could get a loan then print a gun, rob a bank and pay the loan back.

... Or not pay back, since you're a badass with a gun now and nobody will mess with you.

£700... not as bad as I thought.
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/3d-printer-velleman-k8200-783902

Guy I work with built himself a 3D Printer.. And is now using the 3D printer to print parts for another 3D printer :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 xzx

:):):):):D:D:D:D:P:P:P:P