Leaving a bowl of fresh water outdoors could save an animals life

• 08-07-2013 02:45PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I want to post this here as After hours has a bigger audience than the Animal forum, but Mods feel free to move it if you see fit. There are a lot of free-roaming dogs, stray cats and ferals, not to mention the wild birds that will be desperate for water in this heat. Putting a bowl of fresh water out could mean the difference between life and death for an animal this week. It's a very small and free thing that all of us can do and it'll make a huge difference to a thirsty creature:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Tip: For comedic effect, leave the bowl covered in cling film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

are these the same poxy cats who won't shut their faces every night?

a bowl of water over the head is what they need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

It has started...

OP, This was a bad idea... I mean... Oh man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

The last thing Ill be doing is leaving out water for the cat that's digging up my flower beds.
    A dropkick over the wall is good enough for him.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Stay fcuking classy AH. Well done OP but you won't get much love here from anyone other than wannabe comedians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

My dog has taken to knacker drinking WKD Blue and West Coast Cooler with the local kids. :(

Isn't it the owners responsibility of minding their own fecking animals?

Except birds - They tend to sh!te all over my car... Not impressed birds... not impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Jesus!

In fairness OP this isnt the Sahara,

And animals are not far away from any watersource regardless of where they are in the country. They are less than a couple of K if that from a sup of water.

Leave a bowl out.... ive heard it all.

Water doesn't just come out of taps, for the most part any animal who's free to roam is able to find water in Ireland.

In fact, most pets I've ever cared for have far preferred naturally occurring water to tap/bottle.

Surely if an animal was so incompetent at surviving, it's best to ensure it doesn't procreate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

My dog has begun luring the cats and dogs into his sex dungeon and is raping them.

What do I do now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Please be careful that the bowl isnt too deep or ...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

lkionm wrote: »
    My dog has begun luring the cats and dogs into his sex dungeon and is raping them.

What do I do now?

Wilfred?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

If you put a wee bit of jam around the edges and inside of that bowl you'll kill a shit-ton of wasps (note: a shit-ton weighs much much less than an actual ton.)

Do Wasps needs a bowl of water too?

Ah here, Can't animals /insects / outside things look after themselves anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

a lot of free-roaming dogs, stray cats and ferals
    Yes OP, you ARE posting in the right place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Yes, because it's not as if cats have claws that can tear cling film or anything. :pac:

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Wilfred?? :eek:

There is no getting in the way of a female terrier named Jack.
    She has a lot of frustration to work out.

I'm sorry man, come around for an iced latte and we can watch the dog orgy and high 5 and hopefully we can get an after hours orgy going.
    Everyone is invited as long as they bring their own bowls.

Yes, because it's not as if cats have claws that can tear cling film or anything. :pac:

Unless your cats are as stupid as mine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Stay fcuking classy AH. Well done OP but you won't get much love here from anyone other than wannabe comedians.

What's this "stay fcuking classy AH" nonsense about?

Why would you pigeon hole an entire forum with the posts of a few?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nemeses wrote: »

Wasps love it when you throw a bucket of water over their nest.:)

I'm sure he meant it in the way that we are all handsome bastards and we are role models for future generations of board users.

Right?

My dog orgy has been replaced with a battle of the mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,338 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Isn't it the owners responsibility of minding their own fecking animals?

Except birds - They tend to sh!te all over my car... Not impressed birds... not impressed.

I had a bird do that on my car once, while I was in it....
    Glass roof gave me a panoramic view of her in action....
    She was quite the kinky bird, unfortunately it didn't work out for us as she had a ronnie ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

Don't put the water for cats beside the one designated for birds...... There will be carnage!

It has only been a day or two OP but I agree with the sentiment. Although it might be a few days before we need to worry yet.

lkionm wrote: »
    I'm sure he meant it in the way that we are all handsome bastards and we are role models for future generations of board users.

Right?

My dog orgy has been replaced with a battle of the mods.

I for one have oddles of class and am quite handsome. My Mam is always on about how cute I am.

*farts, picks arse*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

would this not increase the risk of pets sharing the same water bowl as strays, and risk picking up diseases?

I for one have oddles of class and am quite handsome. My Mam is always on about how cute I am.

*farts, picks arse*

And I only racially abuse the fat kids on xbox.

We are all classy around here. We get the Reddit users to polish our monocles when they pop out at the sight of a comment we find mildly offensive, alas we are too pretty to press the report post button

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

celtic tiger ruined them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

A few, Mickey?

6 out of the 19 post before you're one that I've quoted were basically to the effect of "fúck them cats, can't stand them, they can go fúck themselves".

That's 6/19 = more than 30%.

For the record, many animals die at this time of year due to the heat. Whether it be from lack of water or being left in a car with the windows closed.

People need to bear in mind that they can't just turn on the tap when they're thirsty. And that they're covered in hair which means their body tempearture shoots up rapidly.

Also, it's not a case that animals are always near a water supply in this country. The ocean doesn't count, it's got salt.

The OP has good intentions. So just accept it for what it is.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Rechecks first 4 replies before my post.
    Caluculate rate of "no fcuks given" at 75%.
    Compares this to apparent 100% required to pigeon hole an entire forum.
    Attempts to insert "Close Enough" meme.
    Fin.

kraggy wrote: »
    A few, Mickey?

6 out of the 19 post before you're one that I've quoted were basically to the effect of "fúck them cats, can't stand them, they can go fúck themselves".

That's 6/19 = more than 30%.

For the record, many animals die at this time of year due to the heat. Whether it be from lack of water or being left in a car with the windows closed.

People need to bear in mind that they can't just turn on the tap when they're thirsty. And that they're covered in hair which means their body tempearture shoots up rapidly.

Also, it's not a case that animals are always near a water supply in this country. The ocean doesn't count, it's got salt.

The OP has good intentions. So just accept it for what it is.
    FutureGuy wrote: »
    Rechecks first 4 replies before my post.
    Caluculate rate of "no fcuks given" at 75%.
    Compares this to apparent 100% required to pigeon hole an entire forum.
    Attempts to insert "Close Enough" meme.
    Fin.

A lot of people don't want stray or wild animals in their back garden.

They just decide instead of saying that, they'll add some deadpan humour.