Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving a bowl of fresh water outdoors could save an animals life

• 08-07-2013 1:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I want to post this here as After hours has a bigger audience than the Animal forum, but Mods feel free to move it if you see fit. There are a lot of free-roaming dogs, stray cats and ferals, not to mention the wild birds that will be desperate for water in this heat. Putting a bowl of fresh water out could mean the difference between life and death for an animal this week. It's a very small and free thing that all of us can do and it'll make a huge difference to a thirsty creature:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Tip: For comedic effect, leave the bowl covered in cling film

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

are these the same poxy cats who won't shut their faces every night?

a bowl of water over the head is what they need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

It has started...

OP, This was a bad idea... I mean... Oh man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

The last thing Ill be doing is leaving out water for the cat that's digging up my flower beds.
    A dropkick over the wall is good enough for him.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Stay fcuking classy AH. Well done OP but you won't get much love here from anyone other than wannabe comedians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

My dog has taken to knacker drinking WKD Blue and West Coast Cooler with the local kids. :(

Isn't it the owners responsibility of minding their own fecking animals?

Except birds - They tend to sh!te all over my car... Not impressed birds... not impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Jesus!

In fairness OP this isnt the Sahara,

And animals are not far away from any watersource regardless of where they are in the country. They are less than a couple of K if that from a sup of water.

Leave a bowl out.... ive heard it all.

Water doesn't just come out of taps, for the most part any animal who's free to roam is able to find water in Ireland.

In fact, most pets I've ever cared for have far preferred naturally occurring water to tap/bottle.

Surely if an animal was so incompetent at surviving, it's best to ensure it doesn't procreate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

My dog has begun luring the cats and dogs into his sex dungeon and is raping them.

What do I do now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Please be careful that the bowl isnt too deep or ...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

lkionm wrote: »
    My dog has begun luring the cats and dogs into his sex dungeon and is raping them.

What do I do now?

Wilfred?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

If you put a wee bit of jam around the edges and inside of that bowl you'll kill a shit-ton of wasps (note: a shit-ton weighs much much less than an actual ton.)

Do Wasps needs a bowl of water too?

Ah here, Can't animals /insects / outside things look after themselves anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

a lot of free-roaming dogs, stray cats and ferals
    Yes OP, you ARE posting in the right place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Yes, because it's not as if cats have claws that can tear cling film or anything. :pac:

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Wilfred?? :eek:

There is no getting in the way of a female terrier named Jack.
    She has a lot of frustration to work out.

I'm sorry man, come around for an iced latte and we can watch the dog orgy and high 5 and hopefully we can get an after hours orgy going.
    Everyone is invited as long as they bring their own bowls.

Yes, because it's not as if cats have claws that can tear cling film or anything. :pac:

Unless your cats are as stupid as mine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Stay fcuking classy AH. Well done OP but you won't get much love here from anyone other than wannabe comedians.

What's this "stay fcuking classy AH" nonsense about?

Why would you pigeon hole an entire forum with the posts of a few?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nemeses wrote: »

Wasps love it when you throw a bucket of water over their nest.:)

I'm sure he meant it in the way that we are all handsome bastards and we are role models for future generations of board users.

Right?

My dog orgy has been replaced with a battle of the mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Isn't it the owners responsibility of minding their own fecking animals?

Except birds - They tend to sh!te all over my car... Not impressed birds... not impressed.

I had a bird do that on my car once, while I was in it....
    Glass roof gave me a panoramic view of her in action....
    She was quite the kinky bird, unfortunately it didn't work out for us as she had a ronnie ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭calanus

Don't put the water for cats beside the one designated for birds...... There will be carnage!

It has only been a day or two OP but I agree with the sentiment. Although it might be a few days before we need to worry yet.

lkionm wrote: »
    I'm sure he meant it in the way that we are all handsome bastards and we are role models for future generations of board users.

Right?

My dog orgy has been replaced with a battle of the mods.

I for one have oddles of class and am quite handsome. My Mam is always on about how cute I am.

*farts, picks arse*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

would this not increase the risk of pets sharing the same water bowl as strays, and risk picking up diseases?

I for one have oddles of class and am quite handsome. My Mam is always on about how cute I am.

*farts, picks arse*

And I only racially abuse the fat kids on xbox.

We are all classy around here. We get the Reddit users to polish our monocles when they pop out at the sight of a comment we find mildly offensive, alas we are too pretty to press the report post button

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

celtic tiger ruined them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

A few, Mickey?

6 out of the 19 post before you're one that I've quoted were basically to the effect of "fúck them cats, can't stand them, they can go fúck themselves".

That's 6/19 = more than 30%.

For the record, many animals die at this time of year due to the heat. Whether it be from lack of water or being left in a car with the windows closed.

People need to bear in mind that they can't just turn on the tap when they're thirsty. And that they're covered in hair which means their body tempearture shoots up rapidly.

Also, it's not a case that animals are always near a water supply in this country. The ocean doesn't count, it's got salt.

The OP has good intentions. So just accept it for what it is.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Rechecks first 4 replies before my post.
    Caluculate rate of "no fcuks given" at 75%.
    Compares this to apparent 100% required to pigeon hole an entire forum.
    Attempts to insert "Close Enough" meme.
    Fin.

kraggy wrote: »
    A few, Mickey?

6 out of the 19 post before you're one that I've quoted were basically to the effect of "fúck them cats, can't stand them, they can go fúck themselves".

That's 6/19 = more than 30%.

For the record, many animals die at this time of year due to the heat. Whether it be from lack of water or being left in a car with the windows closed.

People need to bear in mind that they can't just turn on the tap when they're thirsty. And that they're covered in hair which means their body tempearture shoots up rapidly.

Also, it's not a case that animals are always near a water supply in this country. The ocean doesn't count, it's got salt.

The OP has good intentions. So just accept it for what it is.
    Rechecks first 4 replies before my post.
    Caluculate rate of "no fcuks given" at 75%.
    Compares this to apparent 100% required to pigeon hole an entire forum.
    Attempts to insert "Close Enough" meme.
    Fin.

A lot of people don't want stray or wild animals in their back garden.

They just decide instead of saying that, they'll add some deadpan humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

They just decide instead of saying that, they'll add some deadpan humour.

No, it's called thankswhoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I just filled a basin with water and left it on the shed roof.

Now theres a herd of buffallo swimming in it :eek:

EDIT: No..not buffallo. Its little birds having a wash :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Cats have ignored it so far. Flouride probably.

On this I will have to disagree. In that case every wannabe witty post would be classed as one.

Boo, down with humour.

kraggy wrote: »

Firstly I'd like to see your source for lots of Irish animals dying of thirst.

Secondly, the ocean is not the only water found in nature. That's ridiculous.

Thirdly, there's a lot of water in food, any animal that's getting a meal is getting water too, and if they were desperate they could ingest water through plants. They already eat plants for their digestion anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

So, let me see if I have this right......

A thread suggesting people to keep an eye out for thirsty creatures in warm weather has some senior mods ready to knife each other?

I now understand the dynamic of what happened at that Brazilian football match last week where the ref's head ended up on a stake.......

http://images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130427122541/yogscast/images/5/56/Well_that_escalated_quickly.jpg

Larbre34 wrote: »
    So, let me see if I have this right......

A thread suggesting people to keep an eye out for thirsty creatures in warm weather has some senior mods ready to knife each other?

I now understand the dynamic of what happened at that Brazilian football match last week where the ref's head ended up on a stake.......

http://images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20130427122541/yogscast/images/5/56/Well_that_escalated_quickly.jpg

We are hardly ready to knife each other.

<_<
    >_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Only got 3 thanks.

Let this be a lesson to you in striking the right tone of tetchy moralizing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

We are hardly ready to knife each other.

<_<
    >_>

Pistols at dawn?

Yeah, well so is your face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I want to post this here as After hours has a bigger audience than the Animal forum, but Mods feel free to move it if you see fit. There are a lot of free-roaming dogs, stray cats and ferals, not to mention the wild birds that will be desperate for water in this heat. Putting a bowl of fresh water out could mean the difference between life and death for an animal this week. It's a very small and free thing that all of us can do and it'll make a huge difference to a thirsty creature:)

I left out a bowl of water for a stray cat who was taking a nap in my garden yesterday - poor little thing drank the whole lot in one go.

I might make a little makeshift bird bath today too.

It's nice to be nice people! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

I left out a bowl of water for a stray cat who was taking a nap in my garden yesterday - poor little thing drank the whole lot in one go.

I might make a little makeshift bird bath today too.

It's nice to be nice people! :)

Food and drink, that cat's being well looked after

Pistols at dawn?

Kisses with Dawn.

And what about the fish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

if it dies from a week of semi-warm days in ireland, then its fciked during winter!
    also if thats the case, french and spanish and basically any country south's animals are fcuked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

I've seen wasps drinking out of a bowl of water on a hot day.
    Fact.

Made me surprisingly close to having sympathy for them.

I've seen wasps drinking out of a bowl of water on a hot day.
    Fact.

Made me surprisingly close to having sympathy for them.

Wasps can go <--Insert Rage of text--->

No time for them contrary fella's...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Forget bowls of water for the animals, we need to setup parasols for the ginger kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Meh, animal lovers. They'll go out of their way to leave out some water for random stray animals but will step over a dying homeless person without a thought.

Probably because most "Homeless" people here aren't actually homeless....