Spanish students on public transport...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

AlekSmart wrote: »
    I deal with them quite effectively on the bus by using a few suitable Spanish words like "Arriba Arriba...subit arriba,por favor" or such like .....being Spanish,the concept of an Upper Deck on a Bus can take a while to percolate down,so they tend to crowd around the bottom of the stairs and peer up in expectation of seeing Franco's Ghost at the top.

We kept Spanish Students for several years,but after having combined robbery/assaults perpetrated on them on three seperate occassions we decided to end it.

I could'nt imagine inflicting the young locals who "have the craic"nightly around my local shops,on the Spanish,as the endless grunting,cursing,and spitting might not be as easily tolerated by them as it is by us.

The Spanish Kids generally tend to find it easier to enjoy life for what it is,without having to slurp down litres of rotgut and whip out a blade to prove it.

Sounds like the plot of Hostel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 clank :o)

I was on a nearly empty bus earlier - blissed out, as the bus was actually doing a good job of getting to its destination promptly for once but then I got that dreaded sinking feeling when I saw what looked like twelve of "them" waiting to get on at the next stop - sure enough they boarded, came upstairs & sat down beside me.... I was genuinely shocked when they chatted away normally to each other and didn't make a complete holy show of themselves!

well done small group of spanish students on the 11 - relatively well behaved and almost mannerly...unbelievable! hats off to you all! bravo!

I'm very impressed for once, maybe some exchange teacher has gotten through to some of them after all these years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

They're harmless. Annoying perhaps, but all well brought up kids. It's not like you feel you're at risk of being stabbed when you see a herd of them. I'd far rather be on the bus with a bunch of Spanish students than a group of Irish teenagers heading to Portmarnock to get drunk, wreck the place and beat the heads off each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

McCrack wrote: »
    Are they? I'm not a bus wanker so I couldn't say.

You've not heard of the DART or LUAS then, I guess. Not all public transport users are bus ****. But you're right about the bus users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

They're harmless. Annoying perhaps, but all well brought up kids. It's not like you feel you're at risk of being stabbed when you see a herd of them. I'd far rather be on the bus with a bunch of Spanish students than a group of Irish teenagers heading to Portmarnock to get drunk, wreck the place and beat the heads off each other.
    couldn't agree more. They are annoying, they make it harder to walk the streets because they are in large groups, but so do irish people.
    I find them a lot more pleasant than some of our thugs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

IrishExpat wrote: »
    It's a loud language, no question.

That said I'd look closer to home before criticising a large number of students coming over an injecting a sizeable amount of cash into our economy.

I've had many uncomfortable trips on Irish public transport with loud, aggressive behaviour and a few attempts at intimidation while waiting for LUAS/Bus - all from our very own, home grown, Irish variety scumbag.

I'll take happy, chatting students over a junkie out to cause trouble.

Here in Madrid you just quickly get used to the volume and zero concept of queuing up and walking 4 abreast to take up the footpath, and do like-wise.

It's not a loud language, the Spanish are loud. Peruvians, for example, are nowhere near as loud. Same goes for Argentinians and Bolivians. They like to be heard so they shout. When I speak Spanish, I don't suddenly talk louder. But like you, I don't even notice anymore.

Saying that, I was walking home from the Madrid Gay Pride last night and the centre was packed full of mainly teenagers and people in their early twenties and everything was ridiculously civilised. I was the drunkest person there by a long shot (and I wasn't that drunk). No one puking on the streets, no one unable to walk...I was about to say there were no fights but there was actually one but it might've been the first I've seen on the streets of Madrid in 4 years. Their idea of Knacker Drinking (botellon) is ridculously civilised in comparison; I often wonder are they drinking at all. It's not seen well here to be baloobas in public.

I've taught loads of them over the years and they've almost all been really lovely and very copped on. Besides from the volume and the getting in way thing (which is cultural and can be annoying if you're not used to it) they can't be any worse than your average teenager from anywhere and in fact, I'd say they're better than most actually.

Oh and the teens coming to Ireland are the rich ones - they're spending big bucks in our country btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,411 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Most of the spanish birds have serious potential though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

McCrack wrote: »
    Are they? I'm not a bus wanker so I couldn't say.
    You don't **** buses,glad to hear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

dd972 wrote: »
    I'd rather have them walking towards me blocking my path than the type of young blokes who killed that young Pole in Coolock in the early hours a year or two back.

Another factor with young Spanish or Italian exchange trippers is that the Milan's and Madrid's down in Southern Europe have great big plaza's for posing,people watching and coffee drinking that are more suited for those activities than Westmoreland Street.

You mean like the Front Square in Trinity?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

You mean like the Front Square in Trinity?

Nah,Too Small....I'd suggest Smithfield would be an ideal location for this Spanification process....once it has been adapted for civilized use ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

It's not a loud language, the Spanish are loud. Peruvians, for example, are nowhere near as loud. Same goes for Argentinians and Bolivians. They like to be heard so they shout. When I speak Spanish, I don't suddenly talk louder. But like you, I don't even notice anymore.

Only thing I can think of is Spains glorious history as an EMPIRE has left a genetic marker on it's people ?
    Saying that, I was walking home from the Madrid Gay Pride last night and the centre was packed full of mainly teenagers and people in their early twenties and everything was ridiculously civilised. I was the drunkest person there by a long shot (and I wasn't that drunk). No one puking on the streets, no one unable to walk...I was about to say there were no fights but there was actually one but it might've been the first I've seen on the streets of Madrid in 4 years. Their idea of Knacker Drinking (botellon) is ridculously civilised in comparison; I often wonder are they drinking at all. It's not seen well here to be baloobas in public.

A comparison which is worryingly all too common when we refer to major Irish events,even National ones such as St Patricks Day.

Ourselves and certain elements of UK Yoof culture appear to have veered off,in developmental terms,from the rest of the world ?

I've taught loads of them over the years and they've almost all been really lovely and very copped on. Besides from the volume and the getting in way thing (which is cultural and can be annoying if you're not used to it) they can't be any worse than your average teenager from anywhere and in fact, I'd say they're better than most actually.

Oh and the teens coming to Ireland are the rich ones - they're spending big bucks in our country btw.

Muchos Gracias...sez I at any rate.....:)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,691 ✭✭✭Nailz

No worse than the Chinese, I'd have the Spanish over them any day, in spite of the mildly annoying loudness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

SpaceTime wrote: »
    D4 accented 'gouys' who sound like BOD,

Slightly OT; isn't it great that all these D4 guys base their accent on a Northsider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

In my experience, *any group* of people on public transport tend be loud, obnoxious, and oblivious to the other commuters. And it'd doubly true if they are young.

I didn't find the groups of Spanish students to be any worse than the groups of UCD students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Are they loud? Yes
    Do they take up the most of the path in large groups? Yes
    Are they annoying to try and get passed? Yes
    Are they the worst thing in Dublin during the summer? Hell no.

They are worth a small fortune to us every year, you never see them without some sort of bag in their hand indicating they have spent some money that day. Even on the crap novelty stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I also believe that <comment denigrating Irish students> and <politically correct comment about how non-Irish students are great>.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Only thing I can think of is Spains glorious history as an EMPIRE has left a genetic marker on it's people ?

Nah I wouldn't say that it's it. My theory is that they spend a lot of time outside on the street and shout to be heard. There's also something theatrical about them and they like to "perform" when they speak. It's part of their culture. I get the impression they like to be seen and heard. The idea of waiting for someone to finish wait they're saying is completely alien to them, so they tend to shout over that person and then obviously another person will shout over them until it's a mess of noise and I suppose they just get to used to saying everything as loudly and as quickly as possible to stop someone butting in. I'd say it's a combination of all these but I can't be sure.

The spanish are worse.
    No the Irish are worse.
    No the Chinese are worse.

Jaysus lads, can we not all just get along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

The spanish are worse.
    No the Irish are worse.
    No the Chinese are worse.

Jaysus lads, can we not all just get along.

Its the Chinese-Spanish that are the real problem:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

They get our Boozed Up Abroad resort tourists and we only get a few kids that talk loudly on the bus.

Result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Irish adults go to Poland, piss, puke and "sing" in town squares = characters and Best Fans In The World™.

Spanish teenagers talk loudly and skip queues at public transport = worse than Hilter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Whenever you get a big gang of young teens together without a teacher to tell them to shut up, they are going to get loud.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Irish adults go to Poland, piss, puke and "sing" in town squares = characters and Best Fans In The World™.

Spanish teenagers talk loudly and skip queues at public transport = worse than Hilter.

There is no doubt about it that we have a few idiots amongst our own and we can be under no illusions but enough Irish people knock ourselves to be honest so that path has been well trodden before. Sometimes we knock ourselves even when we've done well....hell i suppose im even knocking us now for knocking us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Its in their nature to be as they are.
    I remember when we lived in Spain it was not uncommon for our neighbours to open their window and call out a neighbours name and when they got a reply a brief exchange would follow. They all did it, who needed a phone.
    In some of the local restaurants and cafes the noise could reach incredible levels and often it was a case of shouting to be heard, its just what it was and you went with the flow of how they do things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

They seem to love sitting in the middle of footpaths. Apart from the fact they're blocking peoples way, why would anyone sit on the ground where someone has most likely hawked up phlegm and dogs have crapped?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

There's also something theatrical about them and they like to "perform" when they speak.
    Yep, sometimes to comical, if sweet levels. I knew a Spanish lass a few years back who when on the phone would hook same between her shoulder and ear, just so she could keep waving her arms about while talking. :)

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,194 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

porsche959 wrote: »
    They're pretty annoying and they don't appear to understand the concept of a queue but on the other hand at least they're not physically threatening and openly yobbish, unlike a fair cross-section of Irish youth, particularly, frankly, those from less desirable areas.

Not always, someone can have a posh accent and a rich mammy and daddy and still be a total skanger who would like nothing better than to start trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...worse than zombies. I've stopped taking buses for fear of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭neaideabh

I went to college in France for a semester and was living in a student residence with students of diverse nationalities... French (obviously!), Irish, English, German, Spain, Russia.... from anywhere basically.

From this experience, I can safely say that that the Spanish were the most annoying, loud, inconsiderate nationality! And most people there were of the same opinion! Nice people on their own but as a group.... Arrgh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The Spanish speak like machine gun fire,. breathe for Gods sake.

The Spanish are grand, well rounded types. A healthy dose of facism along with a dollop of democracy.