Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Western Rail Corridor (all disused sections)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,593 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Funny how Rosslare - Waterford is condemned, while the WRC wastes more money on how to make the unworkable...workable.
    yeah, funny isn't it, i suppose they have to condemn it seeing as it was closed to divert funds to the WRC, admiting that keeping it open after all instead of re-opening ennis athenry would be admitting, well, um, that they were wrong, so rosslare waterford was supposibly losing 1000000 or 2000000 per year (depending on which source you listen to but neither are believable to be honest) yet the WRC can lose 3000000 or more per year and shur its grand, can guarintee if rosslare waterford was in the constituency of one of these ministers either transport or anything to do with as such it wouldn't have been closed, but never mind we've got our HSTS running between galway and limerick so its all good, you hear that lads, HSTS, its all good

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭eastwest

Interesting point re the money - the ratios are the killer for the WoT though. How many kms do you get for €1 million for a greenway v's railway? You would create a National Greenway network with 100kms for the €100+ million that was spent on the short railway section between Athenry and Ennis.
    You could do it for a lot less. A basic greenway, grit surface on code 804 stone on top of the stone ballast on the wrc would cost €20,000 per km according to one firm estimate. In other words, around 1% of what it would cost to put a railway on the Claremorris-Collooney route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

eastwest wrote: »
    You could do it for a lot less. A basic greenway, grit surface on code 804 stone on top of the stone ballast on the wrc would cost €20,000 per km according to one firm estimate. In other words, around 1% of what it would cost to put a railway on the Claremorris-Collooney route.

Not to mention the money you could recoup by recycling the old rails as scrap metal, do I remember €10,000 per km mentioned at some stage :rolleyes:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,363 ✭✭✭dowlingm

More money going to consultants which could be going to initiatives to improve service. Does NTA publish that these reports will be done or do you have to have the inside track like Colman O'R to have your say?

Craughwell and Ardrahan are to all intents and purposes PSRs with no likelihood of significant uplift. The Ennis-Limerick section could use some work too to close crossings where short sightlines have reduced crossing speeds. There was some talk too about Limerick Yard needing some work to deal with a 5mph restriction.

We heard the siren song of Community Rail Partnerships in Rosslare too for all that came of it.
    4.2.4 After the separation of the IE Railway Undertaking function from the IE Infrastructure Manager there will be a track access charge imposed on the operator in lieu of any cost of infrastructure maintenance. This will have the perhaps unfortunate result of making the cost of infrastructure of the WRC transparent where at the moment it is probably buried in the overall cost of infrastructure maintenance for the region
    (emphasis added)

Had to hand type that as curiously difficult to cut and paste out of this report - deliberate or incompetence on behalf of the document creator, one wonders. In any case the day when the WRC's ongoing expenses are revealed will be a sad one in the world of WOT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Hungerford

dowlingm wrote: »
    More money going to consultants which could be going to initiatives to improve service. Does NTA publish that these reports will be done or do you have to have the inside track like Colman O'R to have your say?

The NTA displayed their usual innovative approach to consultation: they approached WOT directly and didn't tell anyone else about the consultation.

Cycling and walking are legitimate and smart forms of transport, not just leisure activities. One of the key aims of our campaign is to create safe and attractive routes to schools, industrial estates and sports facilities.

Greenways are smart transport infrastructure which just happen to be attractive to tourists.

The real tourist potential will only materialise when there is a network of joined up greenways threading around the country, opening access to places of interest ( yes we do have some of these in Tuam ), shops, services and greenway targeted accommodation.

Where we fall down in Ireland in not attracting cycling tourists is our lack of long cycle trails, trails that will provide enough distance for somebody to spend a week travelling around the country or the region on a bike. The Mayo greenway, or the proposed Collooney to Enniskillen greenway won't provide this kind of length, but if they were joined up via the wrc we might be close to getting started in the business.

The best chance of doing this in Ireland is to connect the existing short trail at Castlebar/Achill to Collooney via the disused line, using a minor road connection from the museum of country life to Kiltimagh. Pushing on to Enniskillen plus a branch to Sligo would give us one long trail, not a great length but maybe enough to attract the less energetic touring cyclists for a week, with access from Knock Airport.

The other option (and the more likely scenario) is to let the line rot and gradually fall into private hands, and to allow the proposed Dublin-Carlow and the Dublin-Galway cycle routes to develop. At that stage, it will be too late. The north west will have neither railway nor greenway, just the usual begging bowl out to chase the unachievable.

Drain the Shannon, anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

yeah, funny isn't it, i suppose they have to condemn it seeing as it was closed to divert funds to the WRC, admiting that keeping it open after all instead of re-opening ennis athenry would be admitting, well, um, that they were wrong, so rosslare waterford was supposibly losing 1000000 or 2000000 per year (depending on which source you listen to but neither are believable to be honest) yet the WRC can lose 3000000 or more per year and shur its grand, can guarintee if rosslare waterford was in the constituency of one of these ministers either transport or anything to do with as such it wouldn't have been closed, but never mind we've got our HSTS running between galway and limerick so its all good, you hear that lads, HSTS, its all good

Poor old Waterford - Rosslare lost the Beet traffic and had to go. It didn't matter that it had a passenger service. Nobody cared. I don't remember any fancy NTA reports into how it might work either. Funnily enough the "Priest" that blessed the WRC was adamant in 1982/3 that the WRC should form a cross country link to Rosslare.

Hungerford wrote: »
    The NTA displayed their usual innovative approach to consultation: they approached WOT directly and didn't tell anyone else about the consultation.

I honestly don't know the origins of this report. But (unless corrected) it looks very like WOT had some input to its inception. I would have liked to have seen input from more than just WOT, Irish Rail and the "Consultants" that completed the report. The entire document is amateur and out of touch with the reality of the situation. It's recommendations are more or less daft and built on fantasy.

Where we fall down in Ireland in not attracting cycling tourists is our lack of long cycle trails, trails that will provide enough distance for somebody to spend a week travelling around the country or the region on a bike. The Mayo greenway, or the proposed Collooney to Enniskillen greenway won't provide this kind of length, but if they were joined up via the wrc we might be close to getting started in the business.

The best chance of doing this in Ireland is to connect the existing short trail at Castlebar/Achill to Collooney via the disused line, using a minor road connection from the museum of country life to Kiltimagh. Pushing on to Enniskillen plus a branch to Sligo would give us one long trail, not a great length but maybe enough to attract the less energetic touring cyclists for a week, with access from Knock Airport.

The other option (and the more likely scenario) is to let the line rot and gradually fall into private hands, and to allow the proposed Dublin-Carlow and the Dublin-Galway cycle routes to develop. At that stage, it will be too late. The north west will have neither railway nor greenway, just the usual begging bowl out to chase the unachievable.

Drain the Shannon, anyone?

I alluded to this earlier. Those with an "interest" or those who are "stakeholders" (according to the NTA report) don't seem to care that the northern section spirals into undergrowth or someone's back garden. They will happily sit with that scenario rather than send a digger in for anything other than a railway.

The WRC north of Athenry will sink deeper and deeper into the ground, while politicians play games and the "stakeholders" and some rail enthusiasts bull**** themselves to death on the internet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

Hungerford wrote: »

I alluded to this earlier. Those with an "interest" or those who are "stakeholders" (according to the NTA report) don't seem to care that the northern section spirals into undergrowth or someone's back garden. They will happily sit with that scenario rather than send a digger in for anything other than a railway.

This is a recurring theme.

Despite an established history of practices that are hostile to cyclists, the NRA was appointed in 2009 to draft a proposed national cycling network. In 2010, the NRA produced a National Cycle Network Scoping Study. In this the author states, “A key aspect of project was to ensure that all stakeholders were engaged with the project and that their knowledge, expertise and assets were fully utilised”.

In their scoping study the NRA lists 15 stakeholders. They are all state or semi-state organisations. Nowhere in the list are there any cycling organisations, the cycling trade or cycling tourism operators. The Irish state has given responsibility for mapping a national cycling network to an agency that has a long record of creating hostile road-conditions for cyclists and who it seems does not consider cycling interests to be direct stakeholders in a cycle-network project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,363 ✭✭✭dowlingm

I honestly don't know the origins of this report. But (unless corrected) it looks very like WOT had some input to its inception.
    In which case you have to ask why a local lobby group was able to solicit this report, and whether other localities will be able to solicit similar ones for Athlone-Mullingar, Drogheda-Navan, Midleton-Youghal, the West Cork Railway... :D

dowlingm wrote: »
    In which case you have to ask why a local lobby group was able to solicit this report, and whether other localities will be able to solicit similar ones for Athlone-Mullingar, Drogheda-Navan, Midleton-Youghal, the West Cork Railway...
    we'l never see these lines re-opened or train services re-instated on these lines within this century if ever, mind you i've often failed to understand why the west cork network was completely removed yet other lines which will never ever be re-opened were left, if the story about the group from west cork coming up to dublin is true i suspect it was probably to teach them and the people down there a lesson and to show them how serious CIE and mr andrews was about closing it for good, surely to god the main part of it might be viable in the future? ditto to the small branches of it as much as it would be nice to re-open them to.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭rainbowdash

we'l never see these lines re-opened or train services re-instated on these lines within this century if ever, mind you i've often failed to understand why the west cork network was completely removed yet other lines which will never ever be re-opened were left, if the story about the group from west cork coming up to dublin is true i suspect it was probably to teach them and the people down there a lesson and to show them how serious CIE and mr andrews was about closing it for good, surely to god the main part of it might be viable in the future? ditto to the small branches of it as much as it would be nice to re-open them to.

I doubt we will ever see a rail line reopened in the country again. Its going to be more closures if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

I doubt we will ever see a rail line reopened in the country again. Its going to be more closures if anything.
    I could see Navan and possibly even Youghal, depending on whether we ever get out of this depression or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Youghal? I can't see a case being made for that. Navan, meh, maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

corktina wrote: »
    Youghal? I can't see a case being made for that. Navan, meh, maybe.

Navan should have been completed before the money pit that is the western rail corridor.

serfboard wrote: »
    I could see Navan and possibly even Youghal, depending on whether we ever get out of this depression or not.
    The problem is that because of the way that Ireland has developed, trains don't take you where you want to go, particularly if you commute. Not many Navan commuters want to go to the centre of Dublin, it seems. If you look at the massive park and ride facility at Dunboyne you can see that it is mostly empty; almost nobody coming in to Dublin on the M3 bothers to park there and get a train to Connolly station. It's a flop, basically, much like the Ennis-Arhenry link. Because the Dunboyne line never delivered the numbers promised by the pro-rail lobby, it will never be extended to Navan. They have the M3, and a bus on that can give a far better service than a train ever can.
    Same is true in Galway, most of the employment is out in places like Ballybrit, and not in around the square where the train drops you. That is why a Tuam commuter service, particularly one that goes around the houses via Athenry, will never attract passengers; it needs to serve the areas where the jobs are, and it won't.
    Hard to get that across to the pro-rail lobby though; in their minds they seem to live in a different era, before people had cars and before buses were comfortable and fast.
    The more you look at it, the more the idea of a train service on the WRC, particularly on the northern section, is so far-fetched as to lie in the realms of fantasy. If there is one thing dafter than that, it is the idea that this same service would serve Knock Airport. I just can't see the average Knock user waiting around for a couple of hours for a train that will take him to Sligo at an average speed just above walking pace, by the time it negotiates all the crossings of roads and people's driveways.
    The other bit of fantasy is that a Sligo-Galway line would bring tourists to places like Claremorris. In fact, if it carried any tourists, they would have no reason to get off in these small places; the most that Claremorris cold expect from a rail link is being photographed from the train as it passed by.
    We'd all love to have trains on our doorstep, in case we ever decided to use them, but the reality is that we wouldn't, and there aren't enough of us in any case to sustain a service.
    Has nobody actually thought this pro-rail philosophy through?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭relaxed

The problem is that because of the way that Ireland has developed

That's it in a sentence.

Even taking Limerick - Galway, the line should have gone straight through limerick station, elevated above street level, across the Shannon and as straight as possible through Shannon, on raised embankment, no level crossings, on to Ennis, on a new alignment, through Gort, and as straight as possible to Oranmore,where it joins the old track.

Double track all the way with no speed restrictions and housing development focused in high density around the major towns.

Instead we get what we have, a train to Galway that starts off pointing to cork, and lots of obstacles and detours along the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭Markcheese

That probably didn't happen cos it would have cost billions , and while limerick and Galway are cities they're relatively small and wouldn't justify that level of investment... Sure for the money they've already spent on the western ghost train they could have put in place a fantastic coach service infra structure and let someone else run it cheaper and faster... (happened anyway)

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

The problem is that because of the way that Ireland has developed, trains don't take you where you want to go, particularly if you commute. Not many Navan commuters want to go to the centre of Dublin, it seems. If you look at the massive park and ride facility at Dunboyne you can see that it is mostly empty; almost nobody coming in to Dublin on the M3 bothers to park there and get a train to Connolly station. It's a flop, basically, much like the Ennis-Arhenry link. Because the Dunboyne line never delivered the numbers promised by the pro-rail lobby, it will never be extended to Navan. They have the M3, and a bus on that can give a far better service than a train ever can.
    Same is true in Galway, most of the employment is out in places like Ballybrit, and not in around the square where the train drops you. That is why a Tuam commuter service, particularly one that goes around the houses via Athenry, will never attract passengers; it needs to serve the areas where the jobs are, and it won't.
    Hard to get that across to the pro-rail lobby though; in their minds they seem to live in a different era, before people had cars and before buses were comfortable and fast.
    The more you look at it, the more the idea of a train service on the WRC, particularly on the northern section, is so far-fetched as to lie in the realms of fantasy. If there is one thing dafter than that, it is the idea that this same service would serve Knock Airport. I just can't see the average Knock user waiting around for a couple of hours for a train that will take him to Sligo at an average speed just above walking pace, by the time it negotiates all the crossings of roads and people's driveways.
    The other bit of fantasy is that a Sligo-Galway line would bring tourists to places like Claremorris. In fact, if it carried any tourists, they would have no reason to get off in these small places; the most that Claremorris cold expect from a rail link is being photographed from the train as it passed by.
    We'd all love to have trains on our doorstep, in case we ever decided to use them, but the reality is that we wouldn't, and there aren't enough of us in any case to sustain a service.
    Has nobody actually thought this pro-rail philosophy through?

I know we are straying slightly OT, but I'll quickly make a point or two about Navan. It's viability and relevance got very mixed up in a period whereby a Government promised everything. Noel Dempsey was a massive culprit in dragging the whole thing out. Ultimately the project was budgeted at half a billion. Irish Rail committed huge acts of either complacency or outright disinterest in relation to the M3s physical impact on the alignment. They were aided by MCC. Dempsey didn't do his homework and talked it up despite the rising amount of facts that suggested the reopening wasn't going to happen.

The WRC was a smaller and cheaper project in the West of Ireland and this fact seemed to be used as a reason for reopening instead of hard economic facts. Once I heard the cost of reopening the Navan line, I knew the writing was on the wall, despite the positive reports that it would cover its operating costs. Navan was doomed because the corridor could not justify a rail and road investment. Furthermore there are reports out there drawn up by both Irish Rail and MCC (late 90s) that demonstrate they were happy to go along with Pace park and ride and the M3 based on the fact that Pace - Navan had no centres of population in between. As I already mentioned Irish Rail allowed the NRA to steamroll a motorway and associated roads through what turned out to be a preferred railway route. The WRC didn't have big issues like this. That said the period from 2000 to 2008 was one of build railways everywhere. Five years later and the railways that exist are struggling to hold on. I love railways. But Im realistic.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Navan should have been completed before the money pit that is the western rail corridor.

I'm not a WRC fan and once thought that Navan should have been ahead of the WRC. However both railway projects are shrouded in different types of incredible controversy. The WRC one got all the attention. We know what went on. The Navan issue never became a huge story despite a blatant mishandling of the project and gross incompetence from Irish Rail, MCC and the then DOT. Both railway projects are perhaps the biggest "wrong way to do it" railway stories in Ireland.

Markcheese wrote: »
    Sure for the money they've already spent on the western ghost train they could have put in place a fantastic coach service infra structure and let someone else run it cheaper and faster...
    they did that, their called roads, the stations and shelters all ready mostly exist, so thats enough infrastructure for busses, we don't need any of that fancy stuff for road transport. if the railway was built to a proper speed cutting out the little small stations then maybe it would be used but as the saying goes we are where we are.

Rail services in remote communities or in thinly populated areas don't work anywhere else in Europe; they never worked in Ireland, and they aren't working on the Ennis-Athenry route.
    Ministers or politicians who promise to deliver these kinds of daft projects with public money are irresponsible.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

they did that, their called roads, the stations and shelters all ready mostly exist, so thats enough infrastructure for busses, we don't need any of that fancy stuff for road transport. if the railway was built to a proper speed cutting out the little small stations then maybe it would be used but as the saying goes we are where we are.

That's nonsence.

A huge amount of the bus stops and setup is geared towards when the road network was a lot different. It's old and now outdated and needs relocating.

Relocation of bus stops (for min cost compared to rail), rejigging timetables, streamlining services etc would make a huge different to the quality of service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Youghal should have been done at the same time as Midleton but in the present recession it's unlikely to happen.

In Newport today, the idea a greeway would not bring and support jobs is not supported by the amout of places selling food, drink and icecream to cyclists.

The WRC may not have as stunning of views as some of the Great Westren Greenway route (it's great but not every bit if it is stunning!), but the WRC route has and advantage of being completely in state ownership and far more intact than the GWG. The GWG has some minor and major flaws -- including notable missing bits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭corktina

any photos?

corktina wrote: »
    any photos?

I'll upload the lot later to a flickr slideshow later, but here's some for now... A random selection from between Westport to about 6km past Newport (we left late and had to get back to Westport for the train)...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

Another letter to the times today

On your bike? Not any time soon
    http://www.irishtimes.com/debate/letters/on-your-bike-not-any-time-soon-1.1454219
    <snip>
    Germany has 75,000km of dedicated cycleways; Ireland has less than 100km, spread over two locations in Mayo and Limerick. Over five million Germans take cycling holidays each year but few if any of them come here; why would they? We don’t have even one off-road cycle trail long enough to cater for a week or a fortnight-long holiday, and nobody is going to spend a week cycling up and down the Mayo Greenway like a demented hamster in a wheel.

However I don’t share Mr Quinn’s optimism that anything will be done to bring full-length cycle trails to the west any time soon. The key strip of publicly-owned land suitable for this kind of tourist and amenity development is the disused light railway from Claremorris to Collooney, but the chances of this being used for leisure purposes are nil to zero.

A power bloc of county councillors in western counties that comprises the “inter-county railway committee” has not only blocked any initiatives to develop this asset but has even vetoed discussion of uses other than rail for the route – a motion at the May meeting of Roscommon County Council to simply open a debate on this issue was roundly defeated.
    <snip>

Another letter to the times today

On your bike? Not any time soon
    http://www.irishtimes.com/debate/letters/on-your-bike-not-any-time-soon-1.1454219

A remarkable letter that is more alarming than one could realise. To digress for a moment - In a time where Ireland needs to generate money in any way possible, I am always drawn back to the precarious nature of it's Tourism industry. I live abroad in a place that is extremely dependent on Tourism to keep the local economy alive. While Ireland isn't as dependent, the comparisons are educational. Ireland has consistently trotted out the same tourist product for generations. It's old, it's tired and seems afraid of real change. The American green trouser brigade have gone. The days of Americans flying in on Aer Lingus 747s and camping out in posh hotels all over Ireland are over. The market is very different yet the marketing of the product is the same. We see ads based on the "craic in the pub", "the trad session" and of course the "scenery". It's never changed. None of it. Yet there awaits us, a massive tourism market if we think differently, use our resources and tap into it.

I've been back in Ireland on business for the last few weeks and I feel like a tourist so I can benchmark it against where I live in terms of a tourism product along with my other travels. It's bizarre! Where I live they will move heaven and water to facilitate a tourism product because the kickback is financial reward for the economy both local and national. While I have expressed a don't give a damn attitude to whether the WRC is developed into a greenway or not (its not my fight) I know it shouldn't reopen as a railway. However I do see the merits of doing something with it as I alluded to a few posts back. The general Greenway concept is literally just one concept that can begin a change in the Irish tourism product. And for the record it doesn't have to just be about walkers and cyclists. While Greenways generally suggest to people that its about the fit and healthy getting involved, I think thats a limiting factor to a facility that can have so many other appealing factors. For example the Segway concept is growing and I can't for the life of me understand why this concept has not been rolled out on the few Greenways we have. Greenways provide a perfect environment for Segways. This is just one example of how the Greenway concept can be developed as a tourism product. There are many more and I'm not bothered getting into it now because I am shocked by the attitude from those against the Greenway idea for the WRC. This alignment has wonderful potential to deliver a really clever tourism product to the region compared to a multi million euro railway that we don't need. That said, one only has to visit the West of Ireland to see that they are still trotting out the same old and tired tourist product. It's getting embarrassing and that's from the mouths of tourists I've talked with. In the minds of those against the WRC Greenway, that's okay as they can't see the problem. Its always been that way so why change it. The railway represents something different to them. Its about the pound of flesh and entitlement that they think they deserve. That is a very inward way of thinking and highlights the same west of Ireland begging bowl mentality that prohibits them from actually forging their own future. They don't see what they have. They only see what they think they should have.