Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

1chippy wrote: »
    My bull is out of ionesco too. he actually looks very like yours. ours is only one star for milk too but 4.5 stars as maternal and five stars for terminal. His mother is a navarin cow and when i went to look at her she had a serious elder so i wouldnt pay too much heed to the star ratings for the milk. i cant understand how an animal with only 1 star for milk can be classed as 4.5 for maternal.
    That's good, my lad is 4.5 star maternal and terminal. He's out of a fieldson alfy cow too but she is dry at the moment. He showed her to me alright and shes a fine cow and he said she has plenty of milk too. I can't understand how they can have such a high maternal value with one star for milk myself to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

What's she like for milk towzer? He only has one star on icbf and he was advertised as a maternal bull when he came out at first.

She has loads of milk but that comes from the maternal side. Her grandmother was a Simmental I bought from a dairy farmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Milk only makes up 9% of the new Maternal Index. You really do need to look at the invididual traits, not the overall ones.

http://www.icbf.com/publications/files/Intro_of_new_terminal_maternal_beef_indexes.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

limo_100 wrote: »
    I bought a new boy aswel hes by nuef x LOUXOR hes not massive but hes a muscle machine. have him 2weeks 9cows bulled

Best pedigree cow I have is Neuf. Anything that she breeds is top class. Loads of milk, great feet, easy calved but piles on teh muscle at about 8 weeks. You can't go too far wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

I bought a new boy aswel hes by nuef x LOUXOR hes not massive but hes a muscle machine. have him 2weeks 9cows bulled

throw up a pic

pakalasa wrote: »
    Milk only makes up 9% of the new Maternal Index. You really do need to look at the invididual traits, not the overall ones.

http://www.icbf.com/publications/files/Intro_of_new_terminal_maternal_beef_indexes.pdf

I do alright pak but often wondered why they calculate it that way.

Well wear, your man I bought the bull off had a few cows by neuf aswell and he had great praise of them. He had a Carmorn copilot heifer out of one of them and if she was any longer she'd be late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

throw up a pic

I bought a lim also. 15 months, son of Wilodge Cerberus. Very quiet so far, and cows seem to be keeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Milton09

Feb '12 heifer of ADX doing well on poor enough grazing.

67oi.jpg
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭limo_100

Milton09 wrote: »
    Feb '12 heifer of ADX doing well on poor enough grazing.

67oi.jpg
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

one for the bull no dought and is she off a sim cow??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

What price did ye pay for these limousin bulls lads? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Milton09

one for the bull no dought and is she off a sim cow??

Shes off an LM cow but there is sim connections through her mother, grandmother and great grandmother :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

pakalasa wrote: »

Legs in fairness to him has been spouting that muscle in the genes is more important than milk for a long time. And there aint too much wrong with his stock.

A neighbour reckons you need milky cows for Autumn calving. Makes sense really.

heres a pic of my new lad used to do all ai but struggled to catch them this year he'll be there 3weeks at the weekend as of today 10cows bulled.
    v90a.jpg
    6qg8.jpg
    3m7s.jpg
    mlbi.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

Lovely stock, here's spring born bull calf off the same bull
    http://imageshack.us/a/img541/4936/lwql.jpg
    towzer2010 wrote: »
    I tried BZB Part bull for the first time last year and here is the calf. Born September on her own with no problem. The cow is back in calf to the same bull calving in September.

260972.JPG

This is her with her mother. I'm very happy with her colouring because amazingly round here that's what sells best although I'm probably going to keep her for breeding. I've tried BZB on three other cows, 2 chx and one red LM so hopefully they will keep this colouring.

260974.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Two Blue heifer calves that werent really up to much , but the grass and milk is showing in them now . They are powering .

A PB Castleview Casino heifer calf il keep as replacement weaned and on grass .
    She is a bit on the light side but i hope will strengthen up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Two Blue heifer calves that werent really up to much , but the grass and milk is showing in them now . They are powering .

nice ones

Have a few Castleview Casino X breds. None of them big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Got IBR done this am. All the rush since Feb over. Time to put on weight with the cows now!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

They're good breeders - not big cows, but do people still go for big cows that are hard fed?

I'd be more inclined to choose a smaller cow who puts the feed into her milk over a cow that puts it all on her back, is hard fed and hard on ground!

Casino cows are well able to throw out big calves and fatten them along with that!

Have a few Castleview Casino X breds. None of them big.
    reilig wrote: »
    They're good breeders - not big cows, but do people still go for big cows that are hard fed?

I'd be more inclined to choose a smaller cow who puts the feed into her milk over a cow that puts it all on her back, is hard fed and hard on ground!

Casino cows are well able to throw out big calves and fatten them along with that!

How do ye find them for docility ?????
    Have a few crossbred castleview calves aswell and there all fairly flighty .

nice ones

Thanks Van ,
    Ballyfinn Borat and Maserati are sires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

delaval wrote: »
    Got IBR done this am. All the rush since Feb over. Time to put on weight with the cows now!!!!

Are you able to do the cows Like that without running them up a crush?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Thanks Van ,
    Ballyfinn Borat and Maserati are sires

which calf is the BBQ calf 1 or 2? and what type of cow? thanks

calves fighting for places them seem to really mop up stewarts pedigree 3 calf crunch. Do any of the rest of use that crunch??
    ahe4.jpg
    nq7i.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Muckit wrote: »
    Are you able to do the cows Like that without running them up a crush?

That is a crush. They stand as in parlour really handy for AI, scanning, blood testing etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Punishment for more escapees !

couple of bucket fed calves enjoying the good day
    zged.jpg
    l9ka.jpg
    ivgz.jpg

couple of bucket fed calves enjoying the good day
    zged.jpg
    l9ka.jpg
    ivgz.jpg

Damn good calves. Fair play to you.

thanks i think they did well first time trying calf rearing. Some of them are jan born and others are April born. there just holding on for abit of after grass but i think there triving well