If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

whelan1 wrote: »
    DId anyone read the letter in the letters page of the journal where a farmer sold heifers to some one and didnt get paid for months.... now who in this day and age sells stock or hands over the cards without having the money in your pocket, only way they got paid was the said they would go outside local mass with placards saying what he did:eek::eek::eek:

A few years a go I was at a party in Ballinrobe in Mayo one night and got talking to a farmer and when he heard where I was from asked me about a man from my town. Now this man would be a bit odd but has good stock. Anyway the farmer had bought 12 saler heifers from the man from my town and paid by cheque. 9 months later the cheque still wasn't cashed and the farmer was doing up his accounts so he rang to see what was the problem and was told that the dog had eaten the cheque....:mad::mad::mad: He was still pissed off for ringing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I had a similar one yesterday. I bought a cow and calf off a lad last September. Wrote a cheque and all was grand. He rang last night to ask me would I mind re-writing it as it was out of date.I thought the
    fcuking thing had been cashed. I am now €1400 worse off than I thought. The calf may go to the mart to recoup some of it shortly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

I had a similar one yesterday. I bought a cow and calf off a lad last September. Wrote a cheque and all was grand. He rang last night to ask me would I mind re-writing it as it was out of date.I thought the
    fcuking thing had been cashed. I am now €1400 worse off than I thought. The calf may go to the mart to recoup some of it shortly.

i know i hate that, i suppose we should know exactly whats in and out of account but I had same thing with a spreader i bought, he never cashed cheque and rang me a 11 months later to rewrite it,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

reilig are you selling your sub soiler on adverts?

Yea,

One of those things that I had great dreams for. Intended turning it into a mole plough. Put it on the back burner and have now accepted that it will never be done. Bettee getting rid of it than letting it gather dust!

If I can get enough for it I might invest in a mole plough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

towzer2010 wrote: »
    A few years a go I was at a party in Ballinrobe in Mayo one night and got talking to a farmer and when he heard where I was from asked me about a man from my town. Now this man would be a bit odd but has good stock. Anyway the farmer had bought 12 saler heifers from the man from my town and paid by cheque. 9 months later the cheque still wasn't cashed and the farmer was doing up his accounts so he rang to see what was the problem and was told that the dog had eaten the cheque....:mad::mad::mad: He was still pissed off for ringing...

You would be surprised how long some people take to present cheques for lodging. in the 11 set of account there were a good number that werent cashed for up to 6 months after being drawn. Went into a guys house a couple of years ago that I had bought animals off about 2 months earlier. Talking away and he says "sure I still have that cheque here", guy proceeds to put out a roll of cheques from the jug in the middle of the table:eek: my cheque was for 27k. Free credit was all I was thinking. Some fellows must be rolling in cash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

anyone i write a cheque for who doesnt cash it within a month, i ring them, i just say, if you dont cash that cheque soon i might not have the funds in my account to fulfil it, always works... think 6 months is too long for a cheque to be valid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I've forgotten about small cheques a few times, but mostly because a bank isn't convenient to me, they get, ahem, "filed" with some other papers, then I discover them when I'm looking for something else. Be handy if the mart could just stick them into my account, don't know if that's possible or not.

loads of garda checkpoints round here in last few weeks, they also set up a checkpoint outside the local dole office and took a good few cars off people for no tax, one lad was fined 4k:eek: cars where being towed away to local station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

We used to pay the lad who works for us by cheque, one time the mother was doing the accounts and realised he hadn't cashed a cheque in six months! She wasn't happy as you just assume the money has gone. Needless to say she started doing it online after that!

In other news I didn't quite make it to nz, plane got delayed leaving Abu dabui so I missed my flight from Sydney to Christchurch, thankfully they have put me up in a hotel for the night and given me money for meals etc. all good I thought, had a shower then went down for dinner, kitchen closes at ten and I got down at half ten, ripping. Worst of all I have $60 for dinner and they won't let me buy alcohol with it! Looks like ill have to hit room service. Got $25 for breakfast but the breakfast doesn't start till after I have to check out. Every silver lining has a cloud!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

silage knocked yesterday bailing to morrow.1st time since i was fit to drive a tractor that i will not be drawing bales(pain specialst warned not to long story)i usually draw all summer cos some one is allways looking for a hand not any more sadly.winter feeding for my brother is out now as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

loads of garda checkpoints round here in last few weeks, they also set up a checkpoint outside the local dole office and took a good few cars off people for no tax, one lad was fined 4k:eek: cars where being towed away to local station.

I'm heading back to get my form stamped from the guards now and Im going to tax it . If I was on the dole I could probably afford to tax it for the full year :D

moy83 wrote: »
    I'm heading back to get my form stamped from the guards now and Im going to tax it . If I was on the dole I could probably afford to tax it for the full year :D
    i'd say there was a massive queue in our local garda station today, check point was just up the road last night, spoke to 1 lad who said he was heading in to tax his 3 vehicles today:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Sure they did no checkpoints when they were in dispute over croke park 2 and now they are in Haddington road they are back on stream and want to make up for lost time.

i'd say there was a massive queue in our local garda station today, check point was just up the road last night, spoke to 1 lad who said he was heading in to tax his 3 vehicles today:D

There was a que last night in our station but I think it was a big family getting passports or something . I was in it about twenty minutes when the father rang in a panic because a heifer made her way onto the main road so I had to leave it but Ill deffo get it done today . Im four months without it on the jeep now and got away but its pushing it to go any longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

There was a que last night in our station but I think it was a big family getting passports or something . I was in it about twenty minutes when the father rang in a panic because a heifer made her way onto the main road so I had to leave it but Ill deffo get it done today . Im four months without it on the jeep now and got away but its pushing it to go any longer

I had 29 on the run early this morning, they went about 3k from the field they were in and stopped 500m from main road to graze a guys lawn. Fucpin driven out by some dogs:mad:, and I carry the insurance costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

just do it wrote: »
    Cows in for scanning. Not optimistic :(

Pessimism justified. On a 2 day holiday now though so it's a case of "chin up old boy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Pessimism justified. On a 2 day holiday now though so it's a case of "chin up old boy"

**** it. Did it turn out that bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

**** it. Did it turn out that bad!

25% empty. On holidays now, will give my opinion later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

25% empty. On holidays now, will give my opinion later

Enjoy the hol. Leave it all behind, for a few days.

I had 29 on the run early this morning, they went about 3k from the field they were in and stopped 500m from main road to graze a guys lawn. Fucpin driven out by some dogs:mad:, and I carry the insurance costs

29 would make good tracks . Our one strolled out a gap in a wall that was knocked by a neighbours dog going into our place ! He turned her out on the main road , w@nker .
    Some que in the tax office , bout thirty in front of me

29 would make good tracks . Our one strolled out a gap in a wall that was knocked by a neighbours dog going into our place ! He turned her out on the main road , w@nker .
    Some que in the tax office , bout thirty in front of me

The dog or the neighbour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i have 5 sucklers on one of the roadways at the moment, dont know who owns them:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Talking to a guy on a farm today as he was rowing up grass to bale into silage. He started into a rant about conditioner mowers - Now it wasn't my usual rant about wilting etc. His view was that conditioner mowers do not properly allow for the natural reseeding of meadows. WFF? I hear you say.

Well, he took the time to show me his meadow. It was long stemy stuff which had a nice purple head on it when cutting it. He had cut it with a disc mower, shook it out once an then was rowing it up. He got down on his knees and bekoned me to look at the ground that had been cleared of grass - the disc mowing and the tedding had caused a good bit of grass seed to fall off the stem and be spread all over the ground. This, he referred to as natural reseeding. He is aware that only some of it will grow, and that it will need the right conditions to grow, but his view is that the conditioner mower does not allow for this natural reseeding and that continual cutting of "old meadow" with a conditioner mower does not allow/allows for very little of the grass seed to be spread and thus allows for very little new grass to come up.

When you think about it, he does have a point. I took a picture of it with my phone which I will upload later. You can clearly see a huge amount of grass seed which has fallen off the stem and is spread evenly over the cut ground.

What do you think? Fact or fiction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

The boss says that too he reckons more in hay making for shaking out seed reseeding naturally not as hard on land.must be something in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

reilig wrote: »
    Talking to a guy on a farm today as he was rowing up grass to bale into silage. He started into a rant about conditioner mowers - Now it wasn't my usual rant about wilting etc. His view was that conditioner mowers do not properly allow for the natural reseeding of meadows. WFF? I hear you say.

Well, he took the time to show me his meadow. It was long stemy stuff which had a nice purple head on it when cutting it. He had cut it with a disc mower, shook it out once an then was rowing it up. He got down on his knees and bekoned me to look at the ground that had been cleared of grass - the disc mowing and the tedding had caused a good bit of grass seed to fall off the stem and be spread all over the ground. This, he referred to as natural reseeding. He is aware that only some of it will grow, and that it will need the right conditions to grow, but his view is that the conditioner mower does not allow for this natural reseeding and that continual cutting of "old meadow" with a conditioner mower does not allow/allows for very little of the grass seed to be spread and thus allows for very little new grass to come up.

When you think about it, he does have a point. I took a picture of it with my phone which I will upload later. You can clearly see a huge amount of grass seed which has fallen off the stem and is spread evenly over the cut ground.

was just thinking the same thing meself this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

reilig wrote: »

But the grass police on here, will tell you, cut the stuff before it seeds.
    Conditioned cut or not, won't make a difference, if you subscribe to that school of thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

ifj.jpg

The incident occurred yesterday when a cow fell off a cliff at Rosscarbery Pier but was rescued by local swimmers who were attending water safety lessons.
    The swimmers successfully aided the cow to swim across the pier to the edge of the beach.

The dog or the neighbour?

The neighbour , he is the fella whose dog I shot awhile back so he was probably delighted to do something out of the way on me !

Reload! :cool:

Better not but Im putting up the ugliest piece of barbed wire fencing he will ever see outside his back garden .
    It would have bee easier to put the heifer back into the garden then out onto the road