Overdue for major solar storm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Will my nintendo ds work after this solar storm?
    How about my tv?
    Playstastion?
    Ipod?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

wil wrote: »
    Aaaaaaah Zombie Laptop:eek:

Get away out of that. My laptops one of them new eco-friendly wind-up versions ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Also, wouldnt it only damage electronics which have electricity going through them at the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Gathering twigs and dry wood as we speak. Bring it on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

When does this solar thingy happen?

Usually on a Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Ah, why would food and bodies be rotting everywhere? Or am I missing something here?
    Well in theory the EMR would be so great it would interfere or potentially destroy all electronic devices which pretty much control everything these days. Probably the only car you could drive would be a 1945 Morris Minor and everybody wouldn't fit in, so the marauding crowds after living off defrosted burgers for a week would be roaming the streets looking for an ice cream van in a Faraday cage,
    I mean haven't you seen that Nicholas Cage movie where the rays left him so deranged he hasn't made a sane movie since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

wil wrote: »
    Well in theory the EMR would be so great it would interfere or potentially destroy all electronic devices which pretty much control everything these days. Probably the only car you could drive would be a 1945 Morris Minor and everybody wouldn't fit in, so the marauding crowds after living off defrosted burgers for a week would be roaming the streets looking for an ice cream van in a Faraday cage,
    I mean haven't you seen that Nicholas Cage movie where the rays left him so deranged he hasn't made a sane movie since.

But surely we'd figure it out, I mean, wouldnt we be provided with rations and such? Would society break down so fast? It'l be grand I'm sure.

Also, are you suggesting that at some point in time there was a sane N.Cage movie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Ah sure it will be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I have camping gear at the ready OP but only because i STILL havent taken all the stuff out of the back of the car from my camping trip last summer. coming on a full year now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭Doop

we all got millennium candles in 2000! (by free i mean we paid for them)
    between that and the expired nuclear fallout tablets we be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

But surely we'd figure it out, I mean, wouldnt we be provided with rations and such? Would society break down so fast? It'l be grand I'm sure.

Also, are you suggesting that at some point in time there was a sane N.Cage movie?
    I'm sure the mods have some sort of backup plan ready to roll, perhaps a semaphore based AH forum. There will be a sticky on it soon.

Or maybe it's too late with those rays getting stronger, the evidence being I haven't made a sane post in ages:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Ok, so I think we all agree then that it'l be grand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Lads, I think its already happening .. LOOK OUTSIDE..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nemeses wrote: »
    Lads, I think its already happening .. LOOK OUTSIDE..
    I am outside. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I've played Fallout and have tons of books that I've been meaning to read. I genuinely think I'd get on fine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

If only they'd made a film about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Calm down people, God just appeared to me and said it's not gonna happen.
    Phew, panic over. It's just chicken licken up to his "sky falling" crap again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

I'm sorry...I don't know what a solar storm is.. :o

(I know what a tracker mortgage is though if that helps!)
    When you find out about google, it can be one of the first things you look up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭mossy95

Super-Rush wrote: »
    If only they'd made a film about this.

The last Assassin creed was kinda on about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Jericho.

Be great, no work for a while I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Corkfeen wrote: »
    I've played Fallout and have tons of books that I've been meaning to read. I genuinely think I'd get on fine...

Yes nothing like a post-apocalyptic video game to prepare you for survival of the fittest.

I am outside. . .

Then open yer eyes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

Well I'm only going by what I've read, apparently this solar storm is supposed to happen every 100 years or so but hasn't happened since back in the 1850s I think, AFAIK it took out the entire telegraph system at the time, so fook knows what it would do nowadays if it blasted us.

Provide a link, please. Not saying you didn't read it but it's impossible to tell whether it's plausible or not. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Us culchies will survive and conquer. In a nuclear apocalypse type situation, we have the skills to dominate.

Fcuk you, fancy citypeople.

Muahahahahaha.

I always thought culchies were cockroaches :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Didn't we have a solar maximum last year?
    As far as I heard, the reason it didn't cause the widespread destruction that was predicted isn't because the storm wasn't as powerful as expected, but simply because electrical infrastructure has vastly improved over time and is far less susceptible to damage than it was a couple of decades ago when this happened last. I'm open to correction on that, but it makes enough sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

In addition, Baker said, satellite communications—also essential to many daily activities—would be at risk from solar storms.

"Every time you purchase a gallon of gas with your credit card, that's a satellite transaction," he said.

This worried me a little. If the storm was to happen and the worst case happened that all electronic devices were shutdown, would our money be safe. When the grid eventually gets back up and running will our money that exists mostly in digital form still be there?

So yeah, Did anyone get the video camera out yet for this or is it all over now?