Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overdue for major solar storm

• 01-07-2013 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Ahoy,

Apparently Earth is overdue for a massive Solar storm which will demolish all electronics on Earth, just wondering if anyone here has basically camping gear at the ready in case this happens?

What would the majority of us do if there was a total power out? How many of us have candles and matches?

Kinda scary when this thing is apparently incoming, and by all accounts will demolish all electronics bar those left in a Faraday cage :)

Do you have the knowledge to light a fire etc. if this madness goes down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Sure it wouldn't be much of a difference for the citizens of Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

Plenty of petrol and stray dogs around my area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Us culchies will survive and conquer. In a nuclear apocalypse type situation, we have the skills to dominate.

Fcuk you, fancy citypeople.

Muahahahahaha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

I'll just google the answer.

I have a dongle I can use with my laptop while the battery lasts so it'll be grand like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

"overdue". This phrase is thrown around about everything and its bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Im fine, I have my tinfoil hat force field

darlett wrote: »
    I'll just google the answer.

I have a dongle I can use with my laptop while the battery lasts so it'll be grand like.

What's good will the dongle be if you have nothing for it toconnect with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

someone's spent too much time watching Revolution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

A

I'm no scientist, but I reckon matches will still work...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Exactly. Just like my gfs period.

Oh shit....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

It would be nice to actually see the center of our galaxy and stars a lot clearer without city lights so there's a positive! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Im not sure if I would have no hopes of a job after all electronics are destroyed or if it would be a golden age for people who can rebuild them.

If it is the second I'll live like a king with a jurassic park style fence around my house to keep out the lesser fire wielding people.

I have a backlit keyboard, which should keep me going for a couple of hours.

What's good will the dongle be if you have nothing for it toconnect with?

It'll be ok. I ll use the USB port on the laptop. Theres three of them so even if I'm watching a movie on a hard drive no problemo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

scudzilla wrote: »
    Sure it wouldn't be much of a difference for the citizens of Cork
    We would survive and prosper while the rest of the country has to fall back on cannibalism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Its about as worrying as getting killed by a pigeon that got a heart attack and fell out of the sky. Could happen but its not gonna happen, so I wont be wearing a hard hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Well I'm only going by what I've read, apparently this solar storm is supposed to happen every 100 years or so but hasn't happened since back in the 1850s I think, AFAIK it took out the entire telegraph system at the time, so fook knows what it would do nowadays if it blasted us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Us culchies will survive and conquer. In a nuclear apocalypse type situation, we have the skills to dominate.

Fcuk you, fancy citypeople.

Muahahahahaha.

I suppose when you've reached your level of inbreed mutation nothing short of a Super Nova would be required to wipe you out.

Well either that or Bath Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

I'm sorry...I don't know what a solar storm is.. :o

(I know what a tracker mortgage is though if that helps!)

Anyone who watches it is spending too much time watching it. Its absolutely shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I'd actually love to experience some catastophe, or a zombie outbreak. I've seen enough movies to know I'd do ok I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Russia Today had a pr!ck on regularly who went on about 2012 (or was it 2011) as being the year, using calculations & sh!t that could pin-point the date.

Russia Today also had pr!cks on regularly that said George W. Bush would find a way of calling off the 2008 US presidential elections, declaring an emergency government, pr!cks on regularly that assured us that silver was going to sky rocket in value ($100 per ounce was a low estimate) in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011.., the Amero was a sure thing by 2010... etc. etc. etc.

I suppose when you've reached your level of inbreed mutation nothing short of a Super Nova would be required to wipe you out.

Well either that or Bath Day.

Na, we all have cheap petrol generators left over from the boom:)

We ain't as slow as the way we walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

krudler wrote: »
    I'd actually love to experience some catastophe, or a zombie outbreak. I've seen enough movies to know I'd do ok I reckon.

Do you even prep bro?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Er, wasn't the premise of that show that trillions of nanobots are stopping the electricity, but seemingly the solar storm is very similar to the EMP effect of a nuke, basically demolishes the majority of electronic devices.

Hopefully it won't do that :)

krudler wrote: »

Yeah but in reality with all food rotting and bodies decomposing everyone would die of disease after about a year whether or not ya knew what ya were doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

When does this solar thingy happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

darlett wrote: »
    It'll be ok. I ll use the USB port on the laptop. Theres three of them so even if I'm watching a movie on a hard drive no problemo.
    Aaaaaaah Zombie Laptop:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Yeah but in reality with all food rotting and bodies decomposing everyone would die of disease after about a year whether or not ya knew what ya were doing.

Ah, why would food and bodies be rotting everywhere? Or am I missing something here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

Will my nintendo ds work after this solar storm?
    How about my tv?
    Playstastion?
    Ipod?

wil wrote: »
    Aaaaaaah Zombie Laptop:eek:

Get away out of that. My laptops one of them new eco-friendly wind-up versions ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Also, wouldnt it only damage electronics which have electricity going through them at the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Gathering twigs and dry wood as we speak. Bring it on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

When does this solar thingy happen?

Usually on a Sunday.

Ah, why would food and bodies be rotting everywhere? Or am I missing something here?
    Well in theory the EMR would be so great it would interfere or potentially destroy all electronic devices which pretty much control everything these days. Probably the only car you could drive would be a 1945 Morris Minor and everybody wouldn't fit in, so the marauding crowds after living off defrosted burgers for a week would be roaming the streets looking for an ice cream van in a Faraday cage,
    I mean haven't you seen that Nicholas Cage movie where the rays left him so deranged he hasn't made a sane movie since.

wil wrote: »
    Well in theory the EMR would be so great it would interfere or potentially destroy all electronic devices which pretty much control everything these days. Probably the only car you could drive would be a 1945 Morris Minor and everybody wouldn't fit in, so the marauding crowds after living off defrosted burgers for a week would be roaming the streets looking for an ice cream van in a Faraday cage,
    I mean haven't you seen that Nicholas Cage movie where the rays left him so deranged he hasn't made a sane movie since.

But surely we'd figure it out, I mean, wouldnt we be provided with rations and such? Would society break down so fast? It'l be grand I'm sure.

Also, are you suggesting that at some point in time there was a sane N.Cage movie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Ah sure it will be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I have camping gear at the ready OP but only because i STILL havent taken all the stuff out of the back of the car from my camping trip last summer. coming on a full year now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭Doop

we all got millennium candles in 2000! (by free i mean we paid for them)
    between that and the expired nuclear fallout tablets we be grand

But surely we'd figure it out, I mean, wouldnt we be provided with rations and such? Would society break down so fast? It'l be grand I'm sure.

Also, are you suggesting that at some point in time there was a sane N.Cage movie?
    I'm sure the mods have some sort of backup plan ready to roll, perhaps a semaphore based AH forum. There will be a sticky on it soon.

Or maybe it's too late with those rays getting stronger, the evidence being I haven't made a sane post in ages:D

Ok, so I think we all agree then that it'l be grand :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Lads, I think its already happening .. LOOK OUTSIDE..

Nemeses wrote: »
    Lads, I think its already happening .. LOOK OUTSIDE..
    I am outside. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I've played Fallout and have tons of books that I've been meaning to read. I genuinely think I'd get on fine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

If only they'd made a film about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Calm down people, God just appeared to me and said it's not gonna happen.
    Phew, panic over. It's just chicken licken up to his "sky falling" crap again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

I'm sorry...I don't know what a solar storm is.. :o

(I know what a tracker mortgage is though if that helps!)
    When you find out about google, it can be one of the first things you look up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭mossy95

Super-Rush wrote: »
    If only they'd made a film about this.

The last Assassin creed was kinda on about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Jericho.

Be great, no work for a while I'd say.