Garda Oath

• 02-07-2013 01:41AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭

I just got sent this video by a friend. The guy in it is asking some Garda do they know their Oath of Office. The Reply from the members involved is shocking to say the lest.

Im a very big advocate of people knowing their rights regarding the law of Ireland and feel that as irish people we should understand irish law a lot better than we do already, but this guy asks what looks like senior Garda about their oath of office and the response is shocking to say the lest. I know it appears the guy is under the influence of drink but the response of these Garda is shocking and un-educated to say the lest.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BmqTCDyNcYE&feature=c4-overview&list=UUHYMIu6SD45fHKnmdety7_A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

At least you say it's shocking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭madchild

FLAHVINS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

The only shocking thing about this whole thing is that i watched it in its entirety. I wouldn't deal with that spanner either feel like 2 minutes of my life have been wasted.... Thanks op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

What's shocking?? the guard cant even understand what fella is shouting and has to ask him repeatedly to repeat it.

The morons that post videos like these only portray themselves in a bad light, I cant see any wrong doing by the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Dey doan even no dere oan oats!

Looked to me like a guard doing his best to ignore a bell end who was doing his best to piss off a guard.

Calm guard - 1
    Bell end - 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I don't see the problem here. The guy with the camera seems to be acting the eejit to me, but that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If that lad keeps talking about oats like that won't be long til he's doing porridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Of Oats and Porridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭carzony

To many of these **** garda utube vids lately.. They really can't do anything without getting filmed :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I wonder if he is a first year law student trying to show off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

If that lad keeps talking about oats like that won't be long til he's doing porridge.
    Now its opportunities for quips like that make these threads worthwhile!

Got any more vids OP?

I also love how he is cursing at the guards and then claims he broke not laws. Fair play to the guy in the longford jearsy and the guards for dealing with the matter with a fool yelling his head off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I haven't seen the video nor have I properly read the op but is this some freeman shíte?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

Sorry I cant see the funny side of all this. It is pretty sad that some one asks Police if they're acting under their Oath and they don't even know what the person is talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭kc90

At least you say it's shocking

...to say the lest

I haven't seen the video nor have I properly read the op but is this some freeman shíte?

Im the OP and dont know what you mean by "freeman ****e"
    Can you please explain your post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Sorry I cant see the funny side of all this. It is pretty sad that some one asks Police if they're acting under their Oath and they don't even know what the person is talking about.

Awh, you upset no one else joined in on your f**k da POlice attempt? Ah well, better luck next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

I dont see the funny side either. Another idiot spouting freeman bullshít and wasting Garda time.

Awh, you upset no one else joined in on your f**k da POlice attempt? Ah well, better luck next time.

I honestly dont have that attitude Im a law abiding person. But just thought it was sad what happened at the start of the video.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Its pseudo legal jibberish most scummers try to use to confuse Gardai. They work of some misinterpretation of old style law crap thats not relevant to anything today to try and argue people cannot be held legally responsible for anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭chuckster

I just got sent this video by a friend. The guy in it is asking some Garda do they know their Oath of Office. The Reply from the members involved is shocking to say the lest.

Im a very big advocate of people knowing their rights regarding the law of Ireland and feel that as irish people we should understand irish law a lot better than we do already, but this guy asks what looks like senior Garda about their oath of office and the response is shocking to say the lest. I know it appears the guy is under the influence of drink but the response of these Garda is shocking and un-educated to say the lest.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BmqTCDyNcYE&feature=c4-overview&list=UUHYMIu6SD45fHKnmdety7_A

What is shocking about it? Some absolute dope, who I would imagine has nothing to do with the situation, ranting his head off at Guards.
    Maybe if he could speak proper english and pronounce his words they would have undertsood him. even at that they should have still ignored the tosser.

You go roaring at a Guard on the street about breakfast cereal and see what reaction you get!

I dont see the funny side either. Another idiot spouting freeman bullshít and wasting Garda time.

So someone asking a police officer of the Irish state if they are acting under irish law and confirm that, is bull****, How is that wasting anyones time? accountability of all state organisations is surely the way to go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Jester252 wrote: »
    I wonder if he is a first year law student trying to show off.

I wonder if this is a failed attempt at getting thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

So someone asking a police officer of the Irish state if they are acting under irish law and confirm that, is bull****, How is that wasting anyones time? accountability of all state organisations is surely the way to go?

Just lol

Be it the guards or the pizza delivery guy they don't engage with the drunken fool yelling his his head off who has nothing to do with the situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Horse dealers trying to buy oats.
    What's new here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Gladly.

First of all, I must explain that I'm hammered because I'm off on holidays in the afternoon. Just in case I ramble or start sentences with words that don't go there.

Anyway, the freeman shíte mentioned earlier refers to people who, during interactions with enforcers of the the law, think that they are beyond their (the enforcers) jurisdiction. They often claim that they "don't consent" or "don't stand under" or even recognise that the enforcers (AGS) have power over them.

You'll often hear them ask AGS for their oath or ask to see his hat because an arrest, while legal, can only be "lawful" if the Gárda is wearing his hat correctly... or so they believe.

They are grade A loons and their ideas have become fashionable over the last 4 years. The CT and Legal Discussion forum have loads of material on them. I'd recommend reading more here on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Thank God he wasn't wearing a GAA jersey.

Or was he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Gladly.

First of all, I must explain that I'm hammered because I'm off on holidays in the afternoon. Just in case I ramble or start sentences with words that don't go there.

Anyway, the freeman shíte mentioned earlier refers to people who, during interactions with enforcers of the the law, think that they are beyond their (the enforcers) jurisdiction. They often claim that they "don't consent" or "don't stand under" or even recognise that the enforcers (AGS) have power over them.

You'll often hear them ask AGS for their oath or ask to see his hat because an arrest, while legal, can only be "lawful" if the Gárda is wearing his hat correctly... or so they believe.

They are grade A loons and their ideas have become fashionable over the last 4 years. The CT and Legal Discussion forum have loads of material on them. I'd recommend reading more here on boards.

Do you mean oath or do you mean reading you your rights?? Why did the cops come around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭MooShop

No wonder the Gards didn't reply.

When I started watching that video, which I expected to be some Freeman/Common Law BS, I couldn't understand what the guy was spouting either.

I was full sure he was saying "Are you on your own?" The Garda repeatedly asked him to repeat himself and duly ignored the bumbling idiot as not to inflame the situation. Later on in the video, he asks the Garda "Are you on your yoath?"

However, at no point OP do I hear the Garda state that he doesn't know his oath. He just ignored a drunken idiot that was trying to cause trouble and dealt with the member of that group who was willing to co-operate and talk to the Gardai without shouting abuse at them.