kicking the booze for good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

Here's a bit of practical advice that doesn't aim too high i.e. total abstinence..

Out early and home early. Avoid the pub before nine or at least half eight but be sure to be out of it (i.e. the premises :-) by midnight.

That should be your rule. You'll feel better in the mornings and you won't feel you've missed anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Welcome to a world where you wake up on a Sunday, feel great, and go spend a load of money, that you wouldn't normally have, on stuff.

I always think its strange that people cant enjoy a few drinks and still get up on sunday morning and you know... do stuff.

I like to have a few drinks, I also like to get up early on weekends and do stuff. Drinking has no bearing on my ability to enjoy life.

I do however understand that for some people alcohol does actually have a profound effect on their lifes and abilities to do anything, those people should quite rightly give it up as it does them no good.

But generalising drinkers as people who spend all their hard earned on alcohol and then being comatose the next day is laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

You should fit alcohol around your life not fit your life around alcohol.
    If that happen you need AA and not AH.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I read the Allen Carr book eight years ago and haven't touched a drop since and never will.

One day I was browsing my local bookstore in Edinburgh and came across Allens book. I didn't even realise that books were written about this subject, I didn't even realise what the self help section in a bookshop even was ? I browsed through the book thought what have I got to lose and bought it. Up until I started reading the book I thought the only way to beat drinking was the twelve steps thing that keeps popping up (which my father needed), but no. THIS WAS THE BEST EIGHT POUND THAT I HAD EVER SPENT IN MY ENTIRE LIFE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The book does not brainwash you at all, it just reminds you what our fickle brains have tricked us into thinking regarding alcohol. There is no great revelations inside, just things that we already know but have chosen to ignore/forget in favour of self destruction.

I also read the book.. I cannot recommend it enough for someone who wants to quit..

It is the opposite to brainwashing.. it is counter brainwashing..

As Stefan Idiot Jones said, it opens your eyes to the things which are right in front of you.

The man was a genius.

FYI, there are 2 versions of the book.. but both have pretty much the same message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Do not attempt kick booze into touch, it will only only explode off your foot and drench you in the amber goodness. Further compounding your alcoholism

I did it , some friends dropped off and others stayed, it actually acted as a great filter, getting rid of the dead wood in your life. I have not totally given up. In the last 2 years i have had about 6 pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I had my two pints in 2013 only last week. Going wild for the summer months. The pros are
    • No hangovers
    • loads of money
    • being more active and healthy

Quick the smokes as well so Im a right boring ****e!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Can anyone recommend a non alcoholic beverage to drink several pints of on a night out in a pub?

If you've ever had a few glasses of coke you know what I mean - bloody worse hangover than beer!

Sky King wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a non alcoholic beverage to drink several pints of on a night out in a pub?

Water :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I can't see the point of total abstention.

I've gone from heavy drinking sessions once or twice a week down to a few pints every couple of months, maybe a glass of wine once in a while with dinner.

The main reason I cut back was because I started getting up at 8am on the weekends to train and head to races.

I haven't really missed the drink at all, I do sometimes miss having a pint in my had at a party or in the pub but have recently discovered the "joys" of non-alco beer and cider. It doesn't taste half as nice as the real deal but psychologically it feels more relaxing than a glass of Coke/Fanta.

I still love my craft beers and intend brewing another barrel of cider at home but it'll just take me a long time to drink it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

MASSIVE WALL OF TEXT

You probably have some decent points, as a few posters quoted you, and agreed with you.

But fúck me that's hard to read.

I've read the Allen Carr book twice now, for the smokes. Still smoking. It's possibly due to the fact I speed read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Go with it, OP!

I'm not a non-drinker but I rarely drink these days. Used to drink most weekends, then just got sick of it, and cut way down with minimal effort.

You'll probably find it easier than you think once you start!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Yea i was a premiership drinker up to about 6 years ago, clinically obese @ 21stone and 6'5 major sleeping issues,mood swings everything.. started playing footie and getting fit after about 18 months I gave up drink for almost a year. After that had a rare pint or five but I always found the next day was an emotional come down almost post pill come down which i hadnt exp in about 10 + years. I have 4 beers (lefe) in the fridge now for two months untouched, when i have a beer i appriciate a beautiful drink but dont have to abuse it, myself and everyone around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

It's funny, this drinking lark.

I'm starting a postgrad at DCU in September, and was checking out the cost of student gym membership. I was dismayed to see that it's 195 euro per academic year.

Now, I don't drink often these days, as I said in my first post in the this thread. But maybe 2-3 nights a year, I get fairly mouldy, with a handful of other nights where I'd be a bit tipsy.

The cumulative cost of these nights would soar well above 195 euro. And I was baulking at paying that price to access facilities that will benefit my health?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

It's funny, this drinking lark.

I'm starting a postgrad at DCU in September, and was checking out the cost of student gym membership. I was dismayed to see that it's 195 euro per academic year.

Now, I don't drink often these days, as I said in my first post in the this thread. But maybe 2-3 nights a year, I get fairly mouldy, with a handful of other nights where I'd be a bit tipsy.

The cumulative cost of these nights would soar well above 195 euro. And I was baulking at paying that price to access facilities that will benefit my health?

Try this yoke
    http://rethinkingdrinking.niaaa.nih.gov/toolsresources/AlcoholSpendingCalculator.asp

Good luck op but quitting drinking wouldn't be for me. It's just too much fun going out on the beer. I'd have a good session most weeks and more often than not twice a week and a few beers here and there through out the week too. The thought of hitting the pub at 6 on a Thursday or friday straight after work or having an all day session planned of a saturday would get a man through the hump of the week.

The odd week with no beer planned feels so much longer without going out to look forward to.

You have the big events then like Christmas and the Galway races etc that you would miss out on so much craic if you aren't on the beer throughout them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Gerry T

April, haven't read the full thread but what about non-alcoholic drinks. You can still go to the pub, not look out of place as the drink looks the same and you drink much slower-if you stay out of rounds you will save a fortune. Maybe have a night of drink once a week or just weekends. Its about control, if you don't think you can control yourself to have a system then I would say stop all together before the problem gets much worse.

--Kaiser-- wrote: »

Eep!

Even only putting down 10 drinking days a year (that's probably about right), and factoring in home drinking, it's still $503/year (~E386)! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

Kind of pointless if you've to pay for water and soft drinks too. You're down money either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

Sky King wrote: »

If you've ever had a few glasses of coke you know what I mean - bloody worse hangover than beer!

7-Up and ginger ale mixed in a pint glass with lots of ice. Not too sweet so you should be able to do about three of them no bother.

listermint wrote: »
    I always think its strange that people cant enjoy a few drinks and still get up on sunday morning and you know... do stuff.

I like to have a few drinks, I also like to get up early on weekends and do stuff. Drinking has no bearing on my ability to enjoy life.

I don't think people are saying they can't function the next day if they've had a few drinks. I know I can. Lots of people can have a couple of midweek beers and be grand the next day in work.

But ya know how it is, so many people's a "few" is not a few. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Good luck op but quitting drinking wouldn't be for me. It's just too much fun going out on the beer. I'd have a good session most weeks and more often than not twice a week and a few beers here and there through out the week too. The thought of hitting the pub at 6 on a Thursday or friday straight after work or having an all day session planned of a saturday would get a man through the hump of the week.

The odd week with no beer planned feels so much longer without going out to look forward to.

You have the big events then like Christmas and the Galway races etc that you would miss out on so much craic if you aren't on the beer throughout them.

I hear you man cheers, I was the same when I was in my twenties, all day saturday or/and sunday sessions, absolute bliss. now in my thirties, I have realised life is passing me by getting on the sauce every weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

xzanti wrote: »
    I gave it up last year.. I don't miss it.. I just find pubs unbearably boring now, I prefer to be at home with my Son.

I still see my friends for coffee etc or of course if I'm invited to someones Birthday I'll be gracious and go for a few hours.. I don't feel that I'm 'socially isolated' at all.. I'm sure there are a few who now view me as being boring.. but I really don't care.. those are probably the very people who I look at and think 'thank God I gave up'.

Anyway.. My kid thinks I'm great craic altogether.. and that's all I give a sh1t about :)

That boring feeling will pass in another few years. Ive been 11 years sober now and love going to clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭secondrowgal

lufties wrote: »
    Hi All, As a 31yr old, i've had alcohol pretty much every week for the last 14 years, with the odd exception here and there. in recent weeks have cut down a lot and focused on other things, now i'm determined to kick the auld booze for good ,as its done me more harm than good overall.

The only thing is it might involve refraining
    from pubs altogether as the temptation might be too much.This to me is the most daunting aspect, facing social isolation.

Any thoughts/experiences are welcome :)

Good luck with it lufties!

I gave up the gargle in Jan for the month because I had (a) poisoned myself with it over the Christmas and (b) never actually given up drink since I started drinking in my teens.

Wasn't worried about it at all, and pre-empted all the "are you pregnant" smart alecs by telling everyone in advance that I was going to do it. Not a bother. No hassle from anyone, no "go on, have one" rubbish, etc. Had no problem staying out late (in fact probably stayed out later than I usually do as I am a bit of a lightweight when I have a few drinks in me, and generally scoot off home!).

It was ... interesting... when everyone else was getting a bit tipsy, and I am not sure that I could put up with that all the time, but it was fine for the 4 weekends or so that I was out.

One thing I did notice is how TIRED I was! Yes, even though I was heading to bed sober, and at a reasonable time, I was just wrecked! Just goes to show you that you may be quite exhausted but drinking can mask it and give you false energy. I might also have put down being tired to having been out the night before on the beer, but when I wasn't drinking I could see that actually I was just plain wrecked.

It was great having full weekends, early days and nights, etc., but I like my vino so not sure I would give it up for good.

Have pretty much stayed on only drinking at the weekend though. Gave up the week night glasses (turning into a bottle :eek:) of wine, and that's perfect for me at the moment.

So maybe you might want to give it a trial run and see if you want to go off it completely, and fair dues, or if you would rather have an odd beer/wine occasionally. Only you can find out for yourself.

Best of luck!

kjl wrote: »
    That boring feeling will pass in another few years. Ive been 11 years sober now and love going to clubs.

Funnily enough I don't mind clubs so much.. once it's a nice place.. I love music..

The odd time myself and my OH will take a drive into Town (Dublin) and go for dinner and maybe hit Dandelion or somewhere.. He still has a few drinks socially.

It's so nice to be able to walk by the taxi queues and hop into the nice warm car :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

i drank very heavily up til' recently. i dont miss it at all. i smoke weed and have never been happier. i know a few friends who switched to the green stuff after giving up boozing and they smoke a cheeky one on a night out and a red bull and it's a WAY more fun buzz than drinking. you're chattier, no hangover, can actually put up with the drunks cos they just become a funny thing to laugh at/with.

i find that drinking takes away the "happy" feeling after the one too many whereas you'd be laughing the night away otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Heartland

Just wondering if the people on this thread who don't drink anymore still manage to score in pubs and clubs? It seems to me that meeting someone when out is nearly always about the alcohol. I'd love to find that it's still possible to hook up without it but does anyone have any actual experience of it?

Heartland wrote: »
    Just wondering if the people on this thread who don't drink anymore still manage to score in pubs and clubs? It seems to me that meeting someone when out is nearly always about the alcohol. I'd love to find that it's still possible to hook up without it but does anyone have any actual experience of it?

Yes, of course it's possible to score without being drunk....is it possible to score without the other party being drunk....depends on how ugly you are I suppose

One thing I did notice is how TIRED I was! Yes, even though I was heading to bed sober, and at a reasonable time, I was just wrecked! Just goes to show you that you may be quite exhausted but drinking can mask it and give you false energy. I might also have put down being tired to having been out the night before on the beer, but when I wasn't drinking I could see that actually I was just plain wrecked.

It's not 'false energy', it's just energy. You're body will preferentially use alcohol as an energy source while you have it in your system