Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

kicking the booze for good

• 30-06-2013 08:33PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭

Hi All, As a 31yr old, i've had alcohol pretty much every week for the last 14 years, with the odd exception here and there. in recent weeks have cut down a lot and focused on other things, now i'm determined to kick the auld booze for good ,as its done me more harm than good overall.

The only thing is it might involve refraining
    from pubs altogether as the temptation might be too much.This to me is the most daunting aspect, facing social isolation.

Any thoughts/experiences are welcome :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Fair play to ya,i"ll drink to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Ya big quiter!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Fair play to ya,i"ll drink to that.

You are my boards.ie hero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

once you go beyond the usual heineken/carlsberg/guinness/bulmers beer is just too tasty to give up, your loss*

*but seriously best of luck with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Go out OP, you're sober!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Can't you just drink less than you did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Its the same here since the Premier League stopped and no more down the pub fir 12:45 KO of a Saturday or Super Sunday.
    Don't worry buddy only 7 weeks left and normal service resumes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

I gave up drinking forever, thousands of times.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

lufties wrote: »
    Hi All, As a 31yr old, i've had alcohol pretty much every week for the last 14 years, with the odd exception here and there. in recent weeks have cut down a lot and focused on other things, now i'm determined to kick the auld booze for good ,as its done me more harm than good overall.

from pubs altogether as the temptation might be too much.This to me is the most daunting aspect, facing social isolation.

I gave it up last year.. I don't miss it.. I just find pubs unbearably boring now, I prefer to be at home with my Son.

I still see my friends for coffee etc or of course if I'm invited to someones Birthday I'll be gracious and go for a few hours.. I don't feel that I'm 'socially isolated' at all.. I'm sure there are a few who now view me as being boring.. but I really don't care.. those are probably the very people who I look at and think 'thank God I gave up'.

Anyway.. My kid thinks I'm great craic altogether.. and that's all I give a sh1t about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Staying away from pubs is probably a good idea.

By the way, in the 'Soc' section there's a 'Non Drinkers Group' forum where people with experience in these matters might be able to help. Good luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

What a horrible thought, and decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

You have to balance it between what people think and the effect it has on your life. And the effect it has on your life is more important than what people think.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Good on ya man!

Don't mind these alcos :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Is it?

Maybe if more people made that decision the world would be a better place, myself included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Why horrible? Most people I know who have quit are delighted with their decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Thinking of giving it up too. Hangover from hell today, can't keep doing this to myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

I dont know what kind of drinker you are but i dont think you should necessarily stay away from pubs. Then it might only get to you more. Could you try and go for a night out and drink only lucozade(or whatever you fancy). First few times may be weird but like anything, you get used to it. If that dosent work then you should defintely stay out of pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

pharmaton wrote: »
    figure out what your reasons for drinking are, if it's just the social aspect you'll be needing something to replace it, if it's money decide to use it for something more useful, if it's a prop to get through life find someone to talk to about what you can do about that. Booze doesn't have to be bad, you just don't have to do it all the time, or realise you can do it in other environments that are not as conducive to abusing it.

cheers for that, i think its all them things incorporated, social and a method of stress relief. The depression after is unbearable, spending two days in bed after a session isnt normal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭eireannBEAR

have a kid you wont have time for a social life or a hang over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Sunhill

I wish you success. The only realistic road is complete abstension. If you can do it you'll always see it as one of the greatest achievements and one of the best decisions of your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Good luck with it but generally speaking I think people would find that tough. It might be better to just limit it to once a fortnight or something, which might be more realistic. But fair play to anyone who does completely give it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

best of luck with your endeavour op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

I love to drink. 2 and 3 day sessions, 36 hour benders. Love it.

Last year I stayed away from it for a few weeks. Then a few months. Was drunk twice in 8 months and had a 5 month dry stretch.

I've taken to having a bottle or a pint now and again and leaving it. Have had 4 pints in 4 months just to be social.

It's great being sober. Really great.

Pug160 wrote: »
    Good luck with it but generally speaking I think people would find that tough. It might be better to just limit it to once a fortnight or something, which might be more realistic. But fair play to anyone who does completely give it up.

have tried a few times and failed but am determined, wouldnt be a heavy drinker, on average 6 pints on a night out, a lightweight by irish standards :) but still too much imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

A lot of people seem to have this issue, it's not one I've ever dealt with myself, every weekend I see people on Facebook talking about their hellish hangovers and how they are never going to drink again... Until next weekend comes.

Drinking has always been a very casual thing for me, I might go out 5-6 times in the year at most and have a drink at home maybe once every month or couple of months, I think I've had a hangover once? If I had to give it up I don't think it would bother me but I doubt I would be going to the pub very often because without drink I find them hellishly boring places.

I never understood the attraction of going out every weekend, with the same people, doing the same thing in the same place week in and week out, some people think I am boring because of how little I go out, but I just think that the above sounds incredibly boring. It also sounds like a massive waste of money which is something I hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭phonypony

No, you can still go to pubs. You can start training for your new life now by drinking 7 or 8 pints of MiWadi and dusty 3 year old bottles of Becks blue from the back of the shelf. I did it for a few years. It drove me to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

If you want to offload any drink you have in your house, let me know.

Wouldnt want you to succumb to temptation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Have you tried finding mental fortitude in the humble thoughts of our saviour the lord God?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,880 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Have you tried finding mental fortitude in the humble thoughts of our saviour the lord God?

Didn't He change water into wine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Didn't He change water into wine?

Nah, that was his bastard son Jebus. He was a bit of a nutcase that lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Try here OP, lots of like minded folk.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Good luck man.

I was thinking the same but only until I cure this depression which has been at me for months and I have been trying to suppress with more alcohol. I would love to be able to go out and have a few fancy ones so you savour the taste more though

Alcohol is the solution and problem to all of lives problems. It is even worse when you are 23 and your friends are going or wanting to go out friday and saturday and drinking buckets which I loved until recently and I found it a way out for a while but it made it worse.

Christ, I got too serious there. Someone deflect attention with some traveler bashing

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    If you want to offload any drink you have in your house, let me know.

Wouldnt want you to succumb to temptation.

no bother man, but you can pay the post and packaging from hong kong ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

F**k that. Drink the non-alco stuff; it tastes nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Good luck to you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭Bluegrass1

The biggest problem is getting your former drinking buddies to accept the new you. Some people will complain like hell about you not drinking! How you deal with this is going to be crucial.
    Invent a medical problem. Say that you have to stay dry for a month because of tablets or whatever. Just keep it going for as long as it takes for people to forget you ever drank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Welcome to a world where you wake up on a Sunday, feel great, and go spend a load of money, that you wouldn't normally have, on stuff.

Bluegrass1 wrote: »
    The biggest problem is getting your former drinking buddies to accept the new you. Some people will complain like hell about you not drinking! How you deal with this is going to be crucial.
    Invent a medical problem. Say that you have to stay dry for a month because of tablets or whatever. Just keep it going for as long as it takes for people to forget you ever drank.

thanks for the heads up! feck them, if any mates desert me they weren't my mates in the first place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭Bluegrass1

thanks for the heads up! feck them, if any mates desert me they weren't my mates in the first place.

It is not that they will desert you, but will keep narking on. Why not have a pint or a short? Drinking water or a soft drink. Is that all?
    A lot of the time it will be your closest friends doing it. They may not think they are doing any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭sneakyST

Did the same myself a few years back. The drink was getting the better of me, so I decided to quit. It was hell for the first few weeks, especially when you are out and everyone around you is suddenly plastered.
    But then you discover some decent non alcoholic beers and you find yourself leaving at the stage where everyone has had too much. Wake up the next day feeling good and after a night out as well.
    Two years I stuck it out, now when I have a beer I enjoy one or two and that's it.
    Good luck with it OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

xzanti wrote: »
    I gave it up last year.. I don't miss it.. I just find pubs unbearably boring now, I prefer to be at home with my Son.

I still see my friends for coffee etc or of course if I'm invited to someones Birthday I'll be gracious and go for a few hours.. I don't feel that I'm 'socially isolated' at all.. I'm sure there are a few who now view me as being boring.. but I really don't care.. those are probably the very people who I look at and think 'thank God I gave up'.

Anyway.. My kid thinks I'm great craic altogether.. and that's all I give a sh1t about :)
    It's easy to listen gobsh1tes full of drink when you are one of them, when you aren't it's unbearable :D

sneakyST wrote: »
    Did the same myself a few years back. The drink was getting the better of me, so I decided to quit. It was hell for the first few weeks, especially when you are out and everyone around you is suddenly plastered.
    But then you discover some decent non alcoholic beers and you find yourself leaving at the stage where everyone has had too much. Wake up the next day feeling good and after a night out as well.
    Two years I stuck it out, now when I have a beer I enjoy one or two and that's it.
    Good luck with it OP.

cheers man, been hitting the gym and swimming pool a bit lately, also met a burd I like who's big into kung fu..i've no doubt its gonna be tough especially when i like nothing better than chilling with a few weissbiers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Hi OP. You may find the allure of the pub wears off when you quickly realise what utter ballcocks your friends (yes, even the really smart, interesting and articulate ones) spout, once you're the only sober one at the table...

I wouldn't be a heavy drinker. Maybe 2/3 pints max and never spirits, every other week or so. I'm normally ready to leave at least an hour before closing when the real sh1te talk kicks in.

Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

cheers man, been hitting the gym and swimming pool a bit lately, also met a burd I like who's big into kung fu..i've no doubt its gonna be tough especially when i like nothing better than chilling with a few weissbiers :)

Gonna be tough when she cracks open a can of 100% proof whup ass on ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I tried that once. They figured out I'd the clap in about 30 seconds!

Good luck OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Sunhill wrote: »
    I wish you success. The only realistic road is complete abstension. If you can do it you'll always see it as one of the greatest achievements and one of the best decisions of your life.

Absolute nonsense. I know loads of people (including myself) who can enjoy a couple of drinks and stop there. Not a problem unless you're an alcoholic

I tried that once. They figured out I'd the clap in about 30 seconds!

Good luck OP.

cheers, don't think i'll tempt fate on that front :)

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Absolute nonsense. I know loads of people (including myself) who can enjoy a couple of drinks and stop there. Not a problem unless you're an alcoholic

growing up i always thought an alcoholic was someone who drank a bottle of whiskey/vodka a day, had a liquid brekkie, and couldn't hold down a job. otherwise they were just 'fond of a sup':confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

You're drunk OP, go to sleep and you'll wake up tomorrow thinking more rationally about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

growing up i always thought an alcoholic was someone who drank a bottle of whiskey/vodka a day, had a liquid brekkie, and couldn't hold down a job. otherwise they were just 'fond of a sup':confused:

I lived with an alcoholic briefly. Put me off drinking a little to be honest, I probably drink less because of him