Which celebrity deaths have shocked you most?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Chris Benoit for what he did before he killed himself. Princess Diana, Stephen Gately, John Ritter and Owen Hart. Was watching the PPV live where he died and thought it was part of the show for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

Someone already mentioned Cormac McAnallen. He was my history teacher. I will never forget that day as long as I live!

Michael Jackson was another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Like a lot of people here Owen Hart, Eddie Guererro, Chris Benoit, Randy 'Macho Man' Savage, Dermot Morgan and Gary Speed.

Gary Speed's death did have an effect on me in a big way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

This is just from the top of my head,

Heath Ledger
    James Gandolfini
    Ronnie James Dio
    Dimebag Darrell
    Paul Gray
    Jimmy ''The Rev'' Sullivan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭gidget

Michael Clarke Duncan, Natasha Richardson, Christopher Reeve, James Gandolfini, Steve Irwin, , Stephen Gately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    Heath Ledger
    James Gandolfini

Most of them wash over me but the above two made me stop in my tracks.

Heath Ledger, for me, gave the greatest screen performance in the history of film in Brokeback Mountain.

James Gandolfini starred and spearheaded the greatest series ever committed to televison.

Both profoundly talented individuals and taken before their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Well seeing that no thread is complete nowadays without reference to our politicians...

Seamus Brennan
    Brian Lenihan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Hagar the Nice.

JFK,Ghandi and Jimi Hendrix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

Stuart Adamson.....Brandon Lee.....
    The list goes on....

David Smith,the man who brought an end to Ian Brady and Myra Hindley's unbelievable evil doings. He spent his last 30 or so years living in Galway,and is buried in Oughterard.Maybe not a celebrity,but a hero-maybe not a shocking death but still worthy of a mention.

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Michael Hutchence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Benoit for the circumstances surrounding it and Gary Speed for the fact i saw him chatting away as normal as ya like on tv the morning before, or maybe it was that morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Leslie Nielsen.. i was more saddened then shocked. Although it gave me an excuse to watch the Naked Gun and Airplane movies again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭CommanderC

Jade Goody.

So young :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭bradolf pittler

Game of thrones spoiler.
    Robb Stark
    Damn those dirty Lannisters!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Eddie Guerrero. Devastated, one of my favourite wrestlers, only a few months before he died I remember doing his whacky hand gesture in the school sports day. In a friends house and got a phone call from my mother telling me Eddie Guerrero was dead, I was totally speechless.

Heath Ledger, James Gandolfini and John Spencer were both pretty hard to take too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Jesus Christ.

Only had dinner with him the night before it happened. Still can't believe it. (we were so shocked we invented a daydream scenario where he rose from the dead a bit later on. Made us feel a lot better anyway.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭lindtee

Corey Haim. Anyone else i can think of have already been mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Slayer guitarist Jeff Hanneman was another death that hit me hard, took a while for it to sink in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

kraggy wrote: »
    For those of you who are in to the wrestling, do ye watch it as a sport or as entertainment?

When I was about 12, I thought it was real, and I'd be rooted to the spot every week. Stopped watching it in my teens but came back to it in my early twenties and appreciated it for the fact that it was essentially like soap operas for guys,with exextreme violence and crazy stunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭mad m

John Ritter....Aortic dissection, jaysus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Adam Yauch aka MCA from the Beastie Boys

Thise skinny white boys provide most of the soundtrack to my youth

Was pretty shocked by this myself. I had no idea he was as sick as he was. It really is terribly sad. He was very young, only in his 40s, if I remember right? Mad to think it's over a year since he died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭RED PASSION

James Gandolfini
    Aryton Senna
    Michael Jackson
    Heath Ledger
    Jill Dando

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Also, Jeff Buckley! Such a tragic death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Gary Moore never expected him to die the way he did and way before his time. Also Rory Gallagher gone but not forgotten. Ronnie James Dio was another that I could not believe as I was looking forward to seeing him and with Heaven and Hell supporting Iron Maiden.

Voltex wrote: »
    Who's Elvis?

There's a guy works down the chip shop, swears he's Elvis

Kirsty McCall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

FREDDIE MERCURY

Still hope it's not true!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Michael Crichton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭jvrk

Bernie Mac was a comedic genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

- Senna. Saw the crash live in 94. I had seen worse crashes and thought he would live. Heard the news that eve on the radio in the car of the confirmed death. Was just getting into the sport as a teen and was gunning for him as the underdog with Schumey cleaning up the wins eary in the 94 season.
    - Christopher Hitchens when he finally passed. I knew it was coming but not as soon as it did.
    - Diana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,691 ✭✭✭Nailz

Chris benoit, wwe pro wrestler. Killed his wife and child and then himself. Couldn't believe it.

James gandolfini seemed very close to home too for some reason.

Dimebag Darrell abbot from pantera, shot dead on stage is another.
    These for me also. Will add a few here also...

Christopher Hitchens, although it was somewhat expected due to having cancer for almost 2 years, it still came as a shock when I heard it as I was quite the follower of his, loved his work.

Jeff Hanneman, guitarist for Slayer, just this year. Came out of the blue, was the last piece of news I expected to hear that day. Similar sort of impact as Dimebag's death. Got up at 5 o'clock in the morning in Hong Kong were I was staying at the time to get a flight to Japan, and my brother text me from home and told me out it, basically spent the entire journey listening to Slayer in disbelief; that included a connection via Shanghai too.

Gary Speed also, never really followed him that closely as a footballer, but he was ever-present when growing up with the sport, and the circumstances in which he'd died contributed somewhat to how it impacted everyone. Young man as well, never nice to hear such news...